LibGuides: Copyright: Home

Compendium of U.S. Copyright Office Practices, 3rd Edition (US Copyright Office) (In-Depth)

Compendium of U.S. Copyright Practices
U.S. Copyright Office - Circulars
Note: You will come across circulars from 2011 and 2021. Internally they refer to other circulars, some of which have changed numerically. Always refer to the main list of circulars on the U.S. Copyright Office website.

Copyright (Basics)

The Basics of Copyright Law Just Enough Copyright for People Who Are Not Attorneys or Intellectual Property Experts by Mitchell Zimmerman
Center for Media & Social Impact (American University)
Best practices for copyright issues in the visual arts
Copyright & Fair Use (Stanford )
Copyright Advisory Network
"A community of librarians, copyright scholars, policy wonks"
Copyright Advisory Services
from Columbia University. Includes a Fair Use Checklist, Copyright Quick Guide, and Model Permission Letters
Copyright Alliance
Copyright Basics (US Patent and Trademark Office)
Copyright Basics Circular 1 - 2021 (U.S. Copyright Office)
Copyright Clearance Center
Copyright Crash Course (University of Texas)
Copyright in Education Flowchart "Can I use material I found online for teaching or school work?" This illuminating infographic answers the question in a step-by-step guide, identifying what material can - and cannot - be used for teaching or school purposes. For example, the flowchart suggests that readers who need media to present their research or to assist with teaching might first consider creating their own media. If they can't do that, they might search for Public Domain materials. If they can't find what they're looking for in the public domain, they might search for Creative Commons. If that doesn't work, they can then think about whether they might claim Fair Use. The infographic also includes a section on licensing one's own media, a section on how to think about whether it might be feasible to claim fair use, and instructions for how to ethically and legally claim fair use in certain circumstances.
Copyright Overview (Purdue University)
Patents, Trademarks & Copyrights from National Paralegal College
Teaching Copyright When California passed a law in 2006 requiring schools that accept technology funding to educate their students about copyright, plagiarism, and Internet safety, many states considered following suit. However, to date there are few online curricula that help educators to present copyright law in a way that is both balanced and thought provoking. Enter Teaching Copyright, which boasts five lessons that seek to teach students the basics of copyright while encouraging their creativity and curiosity. Lessons cover such topics as copyright and the rewards of innovation, the intricacies of fair use, free speech, public domain, and a review of what students already know. The last lesson takes students through an entertaining and educational mock trial that helps them master the principles of fair use.
U. S. Copyright Office
University of Chicago Press - Author's Permission and Fair Use Guidelines
The University of Chicago Press -Permissions Guidelines

Copyright Timeline

Copyright Timeline: A History of Copyright in the United States (Association of Research Libraries)
Timeline of Copyright Milestones (US Copyright Office) Prior to the Statute of Anne, which was passed in England on April 10, 1710, the rights of authors and publishers to control the copying and distribution of their work went largely unacknowledged. However, after that landmark law, a number of nations instituted copyright laws similar to the ones we know today, including laws passed in the post-Revolutionary War United States. On this page from the Library of Congress, readers will find an excellent timeline of copyright milestones, from the age of scribes prior to the invention of the printing press in the 15th century to the age of the Internet. Along the way they may enjoy perusing entries about the Universal Copyright Convention, held in Geneva, Switzerland in 1952, the amending copyright laws in 1980 to include computer programs, and the 1998 law that extended copyright protection to the life of an author plus 70 years after the author's death. Indeed, this excellent compilation helps take "the mystery out of copyright," and offers a comprehensive look at copyright law through the ages.
United States Copyright Office A Brief Introduction and History

"Works Made For Hire"

Works Made for Hire (Circular 30 - copyright.gov)

Works Not Protected By Copyright

Works Not Protected By Copyright (Circular 33 - copyright.gov)

Transfer of Copyright Ownership / Terminations

How Long Does Copyright Last?

How to Obtain Permission to use a Copyrighted Material

Publication

Chapter 1900 (copyright.gov)

International Copyright Relations of the United States

International Copyright Relations of the United States (Circular 38A - copyright.gov)

Mandatory Deposit

Getting Started with Your Research

Citation Styles
by Ross Sempek Last Updated May 8, 2024 588 views this year

Where to Look up Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window A general knowledge database focused on scholarly research that covers topics like science, art, biology, history, politics, literature, and more.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window Full text law journals, covering criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Access to a comprehensive selection of the most prestigious legal publications.
Open Access Journals from DOAJ This link opens in a new window
Index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window A highly specialized database of full-text electronic resources especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.

DVD

What do you think? [videodisc] : a cutout conversation by University of Richmond, School of Law. Intellectual Property Institute.
Call Number: DVD KF2995.W583 2006
Publication Date: 2006?

Streaming Video

Copyright Warning
In this film, lawyer Angela Perry discusses how businesses can avoid unwittingly violating copyright law, and the dangers of downloading and using copyrighted material. She also discusses how copyright holders can protect their copyrights.
Other People's Footage: Copyright & Fair Use
This documentary explores the three questions that are crucial in determining fair use exemptions for documentary filmmakers. It presents illustrative examples from nonfiction films that use pre-existing footage, music, and sound from other individuals' creations without the need to seek permission or pay fees. Through on-camera interviews with noted documentarians, film and legal experts, the documentary also reviews relevant court cases and clarifies fair use issues.
Crash Course - Intellectual Property - Playlist

Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists: Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research

March 13, 2020

This statement was prepared by several dozen academic librarians and copyright officers at universities around the US.

It is available to read at https://tinyurl.com/tvnty3a

CSI Copyright Policy

CSI Copyright Website

Copyright Manual
A manual for educators, students, staff, etc. on copyright in various contexts. Also includes information regarding copyright, public domain, and fair use.

Copyright News (NewsNet)

NewsNet
NewsNet is the Copyright Office’s notification system. It includes alerts on new Copyright Office website postings and other announcements.

Related LibGuides

Citation Styles
by Ross Sempek Last Updated May 8, 2024 611 views this year
Communication
by Allie Beard Last Updated Jul 24, 2024 259 views this year
Academic Integrity
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Aug 29, 2023 65 views this year
Education
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Dec 5, 2024 342 views this year
News & Journalism
by Allie Beard Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 8 views this year

Ask Here

Reed C. Hepler

Email Me

Contact:

CSI Library
GRM 119

2087326503