Instruments for New Music : Sound, Technology, and Modernism by
A free ebook version of this title is available through the UC Press Open Access Program. Visit www.luminosoa.org to learn more.Player pianos, radio-electric circuits, gramophone records, and optical sound film these were the cutting-edge acoustic technologies of the early twentieth century, and for many musicians and artists of the time, these devices were also the implements of a musical revolution. "Instruments for New Music" traces a diffuse network of cultural agents who shared the belief that a truly modern music could be attained only through a radical challenge to the technological foundations of the art. Centered in Germany during the 1920s and '30s, the movement for new instruments encompassed a broad spectrum of aesthetic orientations, from the exploration of microtonal tunings and exotic tone-colors to the ability to compose directly for automatic musical machines. It involved composers, inventors, and visual artists, including Paul Hindemith, Ernst Toch, Jorg Mager, Friedrich Trautwein, Laszlo Moholy-Nagy, Walter Ruttmann, and Oskar Fischinger. Patteson s fascinating study combines an artifact-oriented history of new music in the early twentieth century with an astute revisiting of still-relevant debates about the relationship between technology and the arts."
Instruments in the History of Western Music by 
Musical Instruments : craftsmanship and traditions from prehistory to the present by 
Musical instruments from the Renaissance to the 19th century by The musical instruments of Joseph Haydn : an introduction by 
The Orchestra by 
The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments by 
The ultimate encyclopedia of musical instruments by 
Brass Instruments : their history and development by 
Fanfares and Finesse : A Performer's Guide to Trumpet History and Literature by
Unlike the violin, which has flourished largely unchanged for close to four centuries, the trumpet has endured numerous changes in design and social status from the battlefield to the bandstand and ultimately to the concert hall. This colorful past is reflected in the arsenal of instruments a classical trumpeter employs during a performance, sometimes using no fewer than five in different keys and configurations to accurately reproduce music from the past. With the rise in historically inspired performances comes the necessity for trumpeters to know more about their instrument's heritage, its repertoire, and different performance practices for old music on new and period-specific instruments. More than just a history of the trumpet, this essential reference book is a comprehensive guide for musicians who bring that musical history to life.
Horns and Trumpets of the World : An Illustrated Guide by
Humanity has blown horns and trumpets of various makes and models, lengths and diameters since prehistoric times. In Horns and Trumpets of the World, the eminent scholar Jeremy Montagu surveys the vast range in time and type of this instrument that has accompanied everything in human history from the war cry to the formal symphony, from the hunting call to the modern jazz performance. No work on this topic offers as much detail or so many illustrations—over 150, in fact—of this remarkable instrument. Montagu’s examination starts with horns constructed from such unusual materials as seaweed, cane, and bamboo, and continues the journey of exploration through those of shell, wood, ivory, and metal. The chronological scope of Horns and Trumpets of the World is equally vast: it looks at instruments of the Bible and from the Bronze and Iron Ages respectively before diving headlong into those from the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, and Classical periods, and, following the Industrial Revolution, those that have appeared in the modern era. Drawing on the many instruments from the author’s own extensive collection, Montagu offers details, including measurements, at levels rarely seen in other surveys of this world of instrumentation. Horns and Trumpet of the World should appeal to not only scholars and collectors, but professional brass players and manufacturers, as well as museums and institutions with a vested interest in our musical heritage.
The Early Violin and Viola : A Practical Guide by
This practical guide is intended for all violinists and viola players who wish to give - or to understand and appreciate - historically aware performances of early music for their instruments. It comprises discussion of the literature, history and repertory of the violin and viola, the myriad relevant primary sources and their interpretation, and the various aspects of style and technique that combine to make up well-grounded, period performances. It also considers various related family instruments, contains practical advice on the acquisition of appropriate instruments, and offers suggestions for further reading and investigation. Many of the principles outlined are put into practice in case studies of six works composed c.1700–c.1900, the core period which forms this series' principal (though not exclusive) focus. Music by Corelli, Bach, Haydn, Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Brahms is examined with a view to recreating performances as faithful as possible to the composer's original intention.
An Encyclopedia of the Violin by 
The Violin by 
The Violin-Makers of the Guarneri Family (1626-1762) by 
Violin Making, Step by Step by 
Clarinet Acoustics by 
The Early Clarinet : A Practical Guide by
This practical guide is intended for all clarinettists with a desire to investigate music of earlier periods. It contains practical help on both the aquisition and playing of historical clarinets, while players of modern instruments will find much advice on style, approach and techniques which combine to make up a well-grounded, period interpretation. The book presents and interprets evidence from primary sources and offers suggestions for further reading and investigation. Most importantly, a series of case studies which include the music of Handel, Mozart and Brahms helps recreate performances which will be as close as possible to the composer's original intention. As the early clarinet becomes increasingly popular worldwide, this guide, written by one of the foremost interpreters of early clarinet music, will ensure that players at all levels - professional, students or amateurs - are fully aware of historical considerations in their performance.
The Flute by 
New Directions for Clarinet by Oboe and the Bassoon by 
Early Keyboard Instruments by 
Early Keyboard Instruments : A Practical Guide by
Early Keyboard Instruments covers a wide range of performance issues on keyboard instruments relevant to the music from c.1700–c.1900. It includes descriptions of the harpsichords, clavichords, pianos and other stringed-keyboard instruments used by performers of the period as well as aspects of technique such as harpsichord registration, piano pedalling and keyboard fingering. Aspects of the notation of keyboard music are discussed, as is articulation, embellishment, tempo flexibility and rubato. A substantial chapter is devoted to case studies, illustrating how the aspects of performance discussed in the rest of the book are worked out in practice, whether playing on period instruments or on the modern piano.
88 Keys: the making of a Steinway piano by Harpsichords and clavichords by 
A Natural History of the Piano : the instrument, the music, the musicians--from Mozart to modern jazz, and everything in between by Organs of the world by 
Piano by The Russell Collection and other early keyboard instruments in Saint Cecilia's Hall, Edinburgh by 
The Piano by 
Theory and Practice of Piano Construction by 