Access thousands of ebooks online at ProQuest Ebook Central
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research
This classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.
Nursing Leadership
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year", The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice.
Key Concepts in Nursing
Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment
Career Clarity for Nurses by
As a travel nurse, Karen Wade spent years working side-by-side with nurses in facilities across the country where she felt and heard about almost universal job stressors. With her doctorate in organizational psychology and years of experience helping people and organizations optimize their wellbeing and effectiveness, in Career Clarity for Nurses, Karen teaches nurses how to:
Use their emotions effectively to manage stress while increasing their focus and a state of calmness
Transform difficult relationships with coworkers into supportive ones
Embrace their unique path to self-care and optimal health
Uncover what they really want from their job that will make their career direction obvious and natural
Know if they can be happy in their current nursing job or need to transition to another role
Care Planning in Mental Health: promoting recovery by
Care planning and delivery are essential parts of everyday practice for all mental health practitioners. This new edition of Care Planning in Mental Health: Promoting Recovery moves away from a professionally-oriented model of care planning towards the active promotion of the personal narrative as being central to planning effective mental health care. It outlines essential concepts linked to the recovery process which is carried out in partnership with people with mental health problems and those closest to them.
New to this edition:
A stronger, more explicit focus on recovery A unique interpretation and explication of the recovery process A greater promotion of the centrality of personhood Examples drawing on a range of international perspectives and experiences Enhanced user-friendly pedagogy, including practical case illustrations and first-hand accounts throughout
Care Planning in Mental Health: Promoting Recovery is an ideal resource for anyone involved in the field of mental health care. It is also a valuable learning resource for students studying mental health care and the qualified and experienced practitioner wishing to gain a fresh approach to planning recovery-focused care.
Clinical Assessment and Monitoring in Children by
Assessment and monitoring are fundamental aspects of the care of the acutely ill child, especially in high dependency areas and critical care units. Clinical Assessment and Monitoring in Children is a practical, introductory guide which provides detailed information on assessment and monitoring techniques, including physical assessment, physiological monitoring and an appraisal of additional assessment tools to enable practitioners to develop effective skills. The book adopts a physical systems approach, discusses assessment strategies and tools (starting with the least invasive and moving to the more complex) and examines how to analyse and apply the information to provide ongoing care. Each chapter explores physical assessment and examination whilst maintaining the focus on the child and the family. Clinical Assessment and Monitoring in Children assumes no prior knowledge, and provides the knowledge and skills needed to underpin decision-making and provide effective evidence-based care. This is an invaluable resource for all health care practitioners involved in caring for children. Key Features: * Explores assessment and monitoring of children from 0 - 16 years * Draws upon National Service Frameworks and clinical practice guidelines * Adopts a system by system approach * Provides knowledge and skills needed to underpin decision-making and provide effective evidence-based care * Includes hints on trouble-shooting and gaining the child and family's co-operation * Includes case studies and suggested further reading
Creating and Sustaining Civility in Nursing Education by
Its no secret that disruptive behaviors are creating problems in colleges and universities. Some academics believe its a necessary evil, but as schools work to recruit new faculty and nurse educators, the question of whether faculty work in a civil culture or hostile environment becomes a real issue. In nursing, the risk assumed by not addressing uncivil behavior reaches well beyond the college campus and can negatively impact patient safety, nurse recruitment and retention, and commitment to the profession. Because nursing programs are places where students (and faculty) provide direct care to patients through clinical experiences, uncivil and disruptive acts must be addressed so that such behaviors do not spiral into aggression and jeopardize the learning and practice environment. This book will feature original research based on polling questions, stories, empirical evidence to provide an overview of academic incivility and to describe a wide range of evidence-based strategies to recognize, prevent, and address incivility in nursing education and transition to practice.
Day Surgery: Contemporary Approaches to Nursing Care by
The evolution of day surgery has heralded a new era of medical, anaesthetic and nursing knowledge, skills and practice. Day Surgery: Contemporary Approaches to Nursing Care explores the familiar concepts within nursing, such as evidence-based practice, patient-centred communication, management, practice development and models of care, and uses these theoretical constructs to provide a comprehensive overview of contemporary services and nursing approaches within day surgery. This book is written with the intention of providing nurses working in day surgery with a comprehensive applied text that can be used as a reference when caring for patients. Day Surgery: Contemporary Approaches to Nursing Care: Provides a comprehensive overview of nursing approaches in day surgery Utilises models of care Includes evidence based practice Provides practical advice on management of day surgery services including setting up and implementing nurse led services in the area.
Emergency Nursing: The Profession, the Pathway, and the Practice. by
With over 136.3 million patient visits to the Emergency Department, emergency nurses are not only in high demand but a continuously growing segment of the nursing profession. Emergency nurses find themselves in high-risk, faced-paced, physically and emotionally demanding, and difficult situations on a constant bases, which many nurses will describe as both stressful and surprisingly, extremely fulfilling. But there are so many variables, moving pieces, and different roles when it comes to emergency nurses. How do you begin to understand or know if this is the right career for you when there is so much to know? Emergency Nurse: The Profession, the Pathway, and the Practice provides students, new nurses, and existing emergency nurses the tools and information they need to pursue and sustain a successful career in emergency healthcare. Author Jeff Solheim informs readers about the career opportunities that exist within emergency nursing, introduces nurses to the emergency department and how it differs from other healthcare settings, and explains the challenges and patient populations that emergency nurses will face on a regular basis. Filled with fun facts, notes, and practical advice, this book is a fantastic resource for a nurse eager to learn more about emergency care.
Evidence-Based Practice, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by
The idea of evidence-based practice for nursing has grown out of the evidence based medicine movement. Evidence-based practice requires nurses to learn new skills in order to use a different process for clinical decision making. Nursing is gradually building its base of knowledge. More and more clinical intervention studies are being conducted and published in the literature. This comprehensive new issue of Nursing Clinics, Guest Edited by Alyce Schultz, explores this new movement and where it is leading nurses. It includes topics such as: Creating an Evidence-Based Practice Mentoring Program within an Academic Medical Center, Renewing the Spirit of Nursing By Embracing Evidence-Based Practice, and Evidence-Based Policies and Procedures.
Family-Focused Nursing Care by
Nurses have a unique role in redefining the way we view partnerships in healthcare— Transitioning from individualized to family-focused care is not only advocated by the Institute of Medicine; it's becoming a way of life. Families want their perspectives and choices for their loved ones to be heard. Try searching for family-focused nursing resources, and you may be surprised. Recent evidence-based research and strategies for family-focused nursing texts are hard to find. That's why we've made it our priority to deliver the most up-to-date educational resource to help nurses meet the goal of empowering patients and their families—throughout the entire nursing process.
First Year Nurse by
Your first 100 days at a new job could be daunting--unless you go in prepared. A collection of valuable advice and personal accounts, First Year Nurse places the wisdom and warnings of hundreds of experienced nurses right at your fingertips. Best of all, you'll be inspired by the compassion, insight, and enthusiasm you'll find on every page of this charming, helpful book.
Expert Guidance and Advice
How to start off your nursing job on the right foot Tips to help you plan and prioritize on the job Effective ways to communicate with your colleagues Advice on coping with challenging patients How to keep your energy up and stress down Tips on time management and avoiding burnout Guidance for professional growth
Guidelines for Nursing Excellence in the Care of Children, Youth, and Families by
Children and youth have an identified health care home (medical home) / Barbara Velsor-Friedrich and Patricia V. Burkhart -- Children, youth, and families receive care that supports growth and development / Leigh Small and Terri H. Lipman -- Children, youth, families, and health care providers are partners in decisions, planning, and delivery of care, including appropriate community services / Janet A. Deatrick and Roberta S. Rehm -- Cultural values, beliefs, and preferences are integral to family-centered care / Mary Lou de Leon Siantz, Jill F. Kilanowski, and Tami L. Thomas -- Family concerns are recognized as a priority, and family strengths are respected and supported in the care of children and youth / Linda A. Lewandowski and Martha Swartz -- Children, youths, and families have high-quality, affordable, and accessible health care / Judith A. Vessey, Cindy Smith Greenberg, and Amanda J. Lulloff -- The child's, youth's, and family's needs are identified, prioritized, and services are offered / Bonnie Gance-Cleveland -- Children, youth, and families receive care that optimizes wellness, promotes and maintains physical and mental health, and prevents disease and injury / Sharon Tucker, Bernadette Mazurek Melnyk, and Mikki Meadows-Oliver -- Pregnant adolescents and women, children, youth, and families have access to genetic and genomic testing and genomic appropriate counseling / Madalynn Neu and Pamela Burk. Children and youth receive care that is delivered in a physically and emotionally safe environment / Anne L. Turner-Henson and Marilyn J. Krajicek -- Children's, youth's, and families' privacy and rights are protected / Ann Marie Rhodes and Martha Dewey Bergren -- Children and youth with acute, critical, or chronic needs and their families receive the full range of services / Nancy Blake -- Children and youth with disabilities and/or special health care needs and their families receive the full range of services / Cecily L. Betz and Kathleen J. Swain -- Children, youth, and families receive appropriate palliative and/or hospice care / Margaret M. Mahon -- Children, youth, and families receive appropriate prevention and community referral services / M. Cynthia Logsdon and Rita H. Pickler -- Children's, youth's, and families' health risk behaviors and problems are identified and addressed / Eileen K. Fry-Bowers -- Children, youth, and families are fully informed of the process, outcomes, and alternatives to care, including quality of life / Cecily L. Betz.
Medicines Management for Nurses by
Medicines Management for Nurses at a Glance is the perfect companion for study and revision for pre-registration nursing and healthcare students. Combining superb full colour illustrations with accessible and informative text, it provides an easy-to-read and supportive guide to the key pharmacological knowledge nursing students and registered nurses need to know. Divided into three sections, the first introduces key topics within clinical pharmacology and medicines management including, numeracy, pharmacokinetics, routes of administration, and pharmacodynamics. The second and final sections cover the management of medicines for common medical conditions, drug interactions, side effects, and safe and effective prescribing. Written specifically for nurses, it covers the fundamentals of pharmacology as they apply to nursing practice. Breaks down complex concepts in an accessible way, providing helpful overviews of all key pharmacological topics. Includes practical issues relating to practice, and is written to support the Essential Skills Cluster of the NMC, and the content of the BNF. Includes content relevant to each of the four fields of nursing, and covers drugs for specific groups such as children, pregnant and breastfeeding women, and the elderly. A companion website is available at www.ataglanceseries.com/nursing/medicinesmanagement featuring interactive multiple choice questions.
The Nurse's Reality Shift by
Despite dramatic scientific and technological advances since the advent of professional nursing in the 19th century, a close analysis shows that modern nurses face many of the same challenges as earlier nurses, including: inconsistent educational and licensing standards, incomplete or inconsistent facility-based training, including technology, excessive patient loads, staffing shortages, long shifts and overtime and colleague bullying. These and a host of other issues continue to strain front-line nurses and threaten retention rates. While analyzing the past and using modern survey techniques to give voice to current issues, The Nurse's Reality Shift sheds light on why nurses are where they are and, more importantly, how nurses can approach the future in a different way. This book asks the hard questions the nursing profession must answer to move past its recurring challenges and offers practical solutions and a road map for moving forward.
The Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Transitioning to the Professional Nurse Role by
Graduating from nursing school is a massive accomplishment, but those next steps-passing boards and starting a demanding new job as a nurse-can seem daunting. Never fear: This book will help any new nurse map out a clear path from commencement to successful career. A Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Transitioning to the Professional Nurse Role is a straightforward how-to guide to confidently enter professional practice. From ethical issues to continuing education to coping with stress, authors Cynthia M. Thomas, Constance E. McIntosh, and Jennifer S. Mensik provide practical strategies and tools to help you reach your greatest nursing potential.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by
For all undergraduate- and graduate-level courses across the Nursing curriculum, especially clinical courses. This easy-to-use guide gives students instant access to information needed to write thorough, individualized care plans based on the most recent NANDA-approved nursing diagnoses. Nursing Interventions Classifications (NIC) and Nursing Outcome Classifications (NOC) are incorporated throughout. The guide presents diagnoses associated with medical, surgical, psychiatric, perinatal, and pediatric patient populations. Each Plan of Care includes: definition of nursing diagnosis, defining characteristics, related factors, suggestions for use, suggested alternative diagnoses, expected outcomes and evaluation criteria, NIC/NOC taxonomy, and suggested nursing actions.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: an evidence-based guide to planning care by
The 10th edition of the Nursing Diagnosis Handbook makes formulating nursing diagnoses and creating individualized care plans a breeze. Updated with the most recent NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, this convenient reference shows you how to build customized care plans in three easy steps: assess, diagnose, plan. Authors Elizabeth Ackley and Gail Ladwig use Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC) and Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC) to guide you in creating care plans that include desired outcomes, interventions, patient teaching, and evidence-based rationales.
Unique! Care Plan Constructor on the companion Evolve website offers hands-on practice creating customized plans of care. Alphabetical thumb tabs allow quick access to specific symptoms and nursing diagnoses. Suggested NIC interventions and NOC outcomes in each care plan. Recent and classic research examples promote evidence-based interventions and rationales. NEW! 4 Color text NEW! Includes updated 2012-2014 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses NEW! Provides the latest NIC/NOC, interventions, and rationales for every care plan. NEW! QSEN Safety interventions and rationales NEW! 100 NCLEX exam-style review questions are available on the companion Evolve website. NEW! Root Causing Thinking and Motivational Interviewing appendixes on the companion Evolve website.
Nursing Health Assessment by
• Perfect your assessment skills; • Differentiate normal from abnormal findings; • Validate your assessment findings; Bridge the gap from classroom to clinical…from theory to application. Dillon delivers with the assessment information most likely to be needed in the clinical setting, focusing on the relationships among the various body systems. Bulleted lists and tabular presentation make the information easily accessible; full-color photographs and step-by-step assessment techniques make the content easy to follow. Excellent as a stand-alone assessment tool or as an accompaniment to any assessment text!
Nursing in Today's World: trends, issues and management by
This popular, readable text presents the basic concepts underlying professional nursing and seeks to prepare students for the realities of contemporary issues affecting the profession and overall delivery of health care. Fully updated to cover today,,s evolving topics, this edition has a completely revised table of contents to help students better understand the nurse,,s role in health care. The text addresses key needs of today,,s instructors, particularly with the addition of a new chapter on safety concerns as well as new information related to evidence-based practice, coverage of health care reform, and more! Example inserts assist students to see the concepts applied in the work situation.Critical thinking exercises allow students to apply concepts through class discussion, small group work, or other interactive classroom activity. Communication in Action models assist students in developing their expertise in communicating with the health care team. First person approach engages students so they actually read this book. Colorful illustrations catch student interest and provide a learning opportunity for those who learn best from visual aids.
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by
Nursing theory and the discipline of nursing -- A guide for the study of nursing theories for practice -- Choosing, evaluating, and implementing nursing theories for practice -- Florence Nightingale's legacy of caring and its applications -- Early conceptualizations about nursing -- Nurse-patient relationship theories -- Dorothy Johnson's behavioral system model and its applications -- Dorothea Orem's self-care deficit nursing theory -- Imogene King's theory of goal attainment -- Sister Callista Roy's adaptation model -- Betty Neuman's systems model -- Helen Erickson, Evelyn Tomlin, and Mary Ann Swain's theory of modeling and role modeling -- Barbara Dossey's theory of integral nursing -- Martha E. Rogers science of unitary human beings -- Rosemarie Rizzo Parse's humanbecoming paradigm -- Margaret Newman's theory of health as expanding consciousness -- Madeleine Leininger's theory of culture care diversity and universality -- Jean Watson's theory of human caring -- Theory of nursing as caring -- Transitions theory -- Katharine Kolcaba's comfort theory -- Joanne Duffy's quality-caring model© -- Pamela Reed's theory of self-transcendence -- Patricia Liebr and Mary Jane Smith's story theory -- The community nursing practice model -- Rozzano Locsin's technological competency as caring in nursing -- Marilyn Anne Ray's theory of bureaucratic caring -- Troutman-Jordan's theory of successful aging -- Barrett's theory of power as knowing participation in change -- Marlaine Smith's theory of unitary caring -- Kristen Swanson's theory of caring.
Patient Education, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by
This issue of Nursing Clinics of North America will focus on Patient Education. Article topics will include legal, ethical and social issues in patient education, assessing patient learning styles, patient teaching and health outcomes, tools to measure patient teaching, designing patient education, and roles for patient educators.
Promoting Health in Children and Young People by
Promoting the health and wellbeing of children and young people is a vital part of every child nurse's role. Promoting Health in Children and Young People provides practical guidance on everyday health issues such as preventing obesity, dental health, skin care and prevention of diseases and infections. It explores best practice for nursing children with chronic illnesses such as asthma, cancer, diabetes and disabilities, and gives guidance on promoting the health of adolescents looking at issues of sexual health, smoking, drugs and alcohol. Each chapter discusses key health promotion messages, relevant government policy and health promotion activities. This accessible text provides nurses with the skills and knowledge to transform the NSF into everyday health promotion practice. * Provides a clear skills-based approach to undertaking health promotion practice * Emphasises the role of the nurse in promoting good health in children and young people * Discusses guidance from recent policy developments including the National Service Framework for Children * Illustrated with diagrams and boxes highlighting key points
Second Generation QSEN by
This issue of Nursing Clinics of North America, Guest Edited by Joanne Disch, PhD, RN, FAAN, and Jane Barnsteiner, PhD, RN, FAAN, will focus on Second Generation Work with QSEN, with article topics including: Second Victim; Interprofessional education for QSEN; The Quality Burden; New technologies for teaching quality and safety; Creating Academic/Clinical Partnerships; Incorporating QSEN into Pre-Licensure Programs; Innovative Strategies for Embedding QSEN; Gaining Senior Level Support for QSEN; and Nursing Internships to Promote Quality and Safety.
Successful Nurse Communication: Safe Care, Healthy Workplace, & Rewarding Careers. by
Develop the skills and techniques you need to communicate effectively with patients, families, and colleagues while examining the critical role communication plays in assuring the safe and ethical practice of nursing. You'll explore all of the critical ways your ability to communicate successfully can positively impact not only nurse-client, nurse-family, and colleague-colleague relationships, but also your ability to make the work environment less stressful and to manage professional and personal challenges.
ABG Interpretation for Nurses by
Arterial blood gases (or ABGs) are some of the more difficult lab tests to understand in all of medicine. Sure, there are normal results given along with the test values, but it doesn't end there. What does a certain pH in the blood mean? Where does the bicarbonate level come from? These components, along with other values, need to be understood so you can interpret them. Basically, the ABGs are a test of the arterial blood that check the oxygen levels, the carbon dioxide levels, the acidity (or pH) of the blood, the oxyhemoglobin saturation, and the bicarbonate. If you have a fancy blood gas analyzer, you can get a methemoglobin level, a carboxyhemoglobin level, and sometimes just a hemoglobin level. Each of these lab tests reveal crucial values that are important in caring for patients in the intensive care unit (ICU) and other hospital settings. If you do not know what oxyhemoglobin saturation means (or any of these values), never fear! By the time you finish this guide, you will be an old pro!
Victims of Abuse, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by
This issue of Nursing Clinics of North America, Guest Edited by Sharon Stark, PhD, RN, APN-C, will focus on Victims of Abuse, with topics including: Types of Abuse ; Interpersonal Violence; Child Abuse; Elder Abuse; Bullying; Substance Abuse and Violence; Domestic Violence; Abuse in Nursing Homes; Nurses as Victims of Abuse; Issues of abuse in military deployment and military families; Abusive Behavior in the Workplace; The Relationship Between Abuse and Depression; Meeting the 2015 Millennium Development Goals With New Interventions for Abused Women; Community Services/Prevention; and Educational Considerations.
Nursing and Addictions, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by
This issue of Nursing Clinics of North America is Guest Edited by Al Rundio, RN, at Drexel University and will focus on Addictions. Article topics will include Office-Based Opioid Treatment, Addictions and Pregnancy, Peer Assistance, Relapse Prevention for Addictions, Adolescents and Addiction, Use of Photo Voice in Addictions, Health Promotion and Prevention Strategies, Maintaining Sobriety and Recovery, and SBIRT (Screening Brief Interventio and Treatment.)
Evidence-Based Practice in Dementia for Nurses and Nursing Students by
"This essential textbook on dementia care introduces the knowledge that nurses need, including the evidence base for practice and the guidance to transfer this newly acquired knowledge into everyday practice. Each of the 25 chapters are written by experts in the field of dementia care and are grounded in thoroughly researched, up-to-date evidence, have a direct bearing to nurse practice, and use case studies to give examples of application of the evidence to practice.
Nursing 2019 Drug Handbook by
THE #1 Drug Guide for nurses & other clinicians... always dependable, always up to date! Look for these outstanding features. Completely updated nursing-focused drug monographs featuring over 3,650 generic, brand-name, and combination drugs in an easy A-to-Z format. 37 brand-new FDA-approved drugs in this edition, including 33 complete monographs--tabbed and conveniently grouped in a handy "new drugs" section for easy retrieval. More than 8,000 clinical updates--new dosages and indications, Black Box warnings, adverse reactions, nursing considerations, clinical alerts, and patient teaching information. NEW logos highlighting biosimilar drugs and drugs with genetic-related considerations. NEW appendix--Ophthalmic drugs: Indications and dosages. Special focus on U.S. and Canadian drug safety issues and concerns. Photoguide insert with images of 462 commonly prescribed tablets and capsules.
Emergency Nursing at a Glance by
•Includes all aspects of emergency care, including trauma, minor injury, triage processes, patient assessment, common emergency presentations, as well as legal, ethical and professional issues.
•Covers care of adults, children, and those with learning disabilities and mental health conditions
•Presented in the bestselling at a Glance format, with superb illustrations and a concise approach
Care of the Imminently Dying by
Palliative care is an essential element of our health care system and is becoming increasingly significant amidst an aging society and organizations struggling to provide both compassionate and cost-effective care. Palliative care is also characterized by a string interdisciplinary approach. Nurses are at the center of the palliative care team across settings and populations. The seventh volume in the HPNA Palliative Nursing Manuals series, Care of the Imminently Dying provides an overview of symptom management when a patient is reaching the end of their life. This volume covers delirium and the advantages of early diagnosis, determining the presence of dyspnea, death rattle, or cough, urgent syndromes that may appear the end of life, palliative sedation, and the withdrawal of life-sustaining therapies. The content of the concise, clinically focused volumes in the HPNA Palliative Nursing Manuals series is one resource for nurses preparing for specialty certification exams and provides a quick-reference in daily practice.
Dying with Dignity by
"Providing a thorough, well-researched investigation of the socio-legal issues surrounding medically assisted death for the past century, this book traces the origins of the controversy and discusses the future of policymaking in this arena domestically and abroad"-- Provided by publisher.
Fast Facts for the Hospice Nurse, Second Edition by
This book is for nurses who are seeking to specialize in hospice, those who work in long-term care settings, post-acute care settings, acute care setting, and those who are seeking to enhance their knowledge of end-of-life care within other specialties"--
Hospice Nursing by
Hospice nursing is not for the fainthearted. As Margaret R. Crawford, BSN, touches on in her new guide to this particular specialty, it takes inner strength to be able to walk up to a hospice patient's door every day.
Crawford stresses that it isn't simply the technical aspects of hospice nursing that make it challenging, but the emotional attachments and anxieties that may emerge.
In Hospice Nursing , Crawford covers
the reasons someone would choose hospice nursing; the importance of self-care; the day-to-day routine of a hospice nurse; the admission conversation; different ways to treat and comfort patients with small children or patients with addictions; the complex relationships between nurses, patients, their families, and coworkers; the need to recognize and plan for burnout; and other basic challenges nurses must face.
While hospice care may be demanding, Crawford is also quick to say that it can also be incredibly rewarding. As a nurse or caretaker, you are committed to making a difference in someone's life. Hospice care allows you to help alleviate the suffering of others. If this is something you are interested in pursuing, Crawford has all the information you need to get started.
Palliative and End of Life Care, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by
This issue of Nursing Clinics, Guest Edited by Mimi Mahon, features subject topics such as: Understanding Children's Involvment in Medical Decision Making; Symptom Management at End of Life; Assessing respiratory distress when the patient can't self-report; Barriers to Palliative Care, Legislative Issues; End Stage Liver Disease: Symptoms & Practice Implications; Dying children: Creating opportunities out of a "Last Chance"; Decision making in palliative care; Discussing a family member's serious illness: children's and families' perspectives; Living with cognitive impairments in Long Term Care: Palliative Care & End of Life implications; Withdrawal of Life-Sustaining Therapy; The patient and family perspectives: Living with cancer; Palliative care concepts in the sickle cell population.
Palliative Care by
The long history of medical care for the dying has largely been neglected by scholars. Physicians were first challenged to provide medical and personal care that would enable patients to die peacefully. Today it involves sophisticated palliation of symptoms, various ways of offering emotional care, and respect for the wishes and cultural backgrounds of patients and families. This book chronicles four centuries of professional and personal advances in the quest for a good death, covering the fight against futile end-of-life treatments, the history of life-extending treatments and technologies, the liberation of the dying from isolation in hospitals and hard-won victories to secure patients' right to choose.
Palliative Care Nursing at a Glance by
Divided into six sections, the book includes coverage of all key clinical applications, principles of symptom management, palliative care approaches for a range of conditions and patient groups, exploration of the roles of the multi-professional team, as well as ethical challenges.
Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout
Provides information on delivery of care in a range of settings
Broad coverage makes it ideal reading for anyone involved in palliative care delivery
User-friendly and accessible resource for those working in both specialist and non-specialist adult settings
Transforming Palliative Care in Nursing Homes by
The teacher and gerontological social work scholar Mercedes Bern-Klug joins experts on nursing, law, medicine, sociology, and social work to provide a thorough understanding of nursing home palliative care. Their broad definition of palliative care treats comfort care as appropriate across the illness experience, not just at the end of life. Because a majority of nursing home residents are older adults facing multiple, advanced chronic conditions, this book is grounded in the provision of palliative care-especially palliative psychosocial care. Yet its practice recommendations can also be applied to other long-term care settings, such as assisted living. The contributors combine scholarship with practical wisdom in each chapter, mixing reviews of scholarly literature with insights gleaned from clinical practice. Chapter topics comply with the eight domains of palliative care developed by the National Consensus Project for Quality Palliative Care. Some focus on care of the resident, while others concern the resident's family. A special section addresses self-care for nursing home staff members, and another discusses nursing home rituals to mark the death of a resident. Bern-Klug concludes with an overview of the factors that will shape the future of palliative care for advanced chronic illness.
When Death Comes Knocking for Your Patients by
Introduction : when death came knocking in my life -- Fearing death and the dark void of dementia ; Caring for nurses facing death ; Dealing with difficult patients ; Faith in the face of death ; Making difficult medical decisions ; Unfinished business with family members and friends ; Reassuring loved ones who are not at the bedside ; Don't judge your patients by the mask they wear ; You can help make dreams come true ; When you get personally involved with your patients ; You can learn to live from your patients facing death ; Family and friends can heal and move on -- Preparing for the many responses to terminal illness ; Seeking ongoing support from other nurses ; Developing your self-care commitment plan ; Taking care of your own safety under dangerous situations ; Answering your patient's difficult questions ; You don't have to know everyting to provide quality nursing care ; Supporting family members of terminally ill patients ; Enhancing your communication skills ; Dancing (or not) on a patient's dance floor ; Treat every patient as someone's loved one.
Fast Facts about GI and Liver Diseases for Nurses by
The only resource of its kind, this concise, practical guide to GI and liver disease delivers current information on diagnosing, managing, and treating common GI and liver disorders, along with providing liver transplant guidelines. Written for nurses, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants in varied specialties, it fills a gap in information needed by primary and acute care professionals who are the chief caretakers for GI and liver patients. This guide delivers information on recent important treatment advances that have revolutionized GI and liver care and provides guidance for seeking expert advice or urgent/emergent care for more complex cases. The "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature highlights key takeaway points throughout the text.
The resource reviews common GI symptoms and disorders from irritable bowel disorders (including key differences between Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis) to gallstones and GERD. A section on liver disease describes essential liver functions, reviews liver function tests, and addresses commonly and less commonly seen liver disease diagnoses. Complications of cirrhosis are examined to ensure prompt recognition of these potentially deadly symptoms. Additionally, the book addresses liver transplantation with comprehensive attention to the evaluation process, organ donation/allocation, and post-transplant care for donor and recipient alike. Each chapter includes an overview, significant laboratory or imaging findings, treatment options, expected outcomes, and IDC-10 codes for billing and reimbursement.
Key Features
Provides speedy access to current information on diagnosing, managing, and treating common GI and liver disorders for frontline professionals Includes a comprehensive review of the liver, abnormal liver function tests (LFTs), and transplantation Reflects up-to-date information on the latest treatment guidelines for gastrointestinal and liver disease, including celiac disease and hepatitis C Addresses common gastrointestinal diseases and guidelines for treatment as outlined by the American College of Gastroenterology (ACG) Discusses current liver disease management and guidelines for treatment as outlined by American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD)
Culturally Competent Care, an Issue of Nursing Clinics by
This issue of the Nursing Clinics of North America, Guest Edited by Diane B. Monsivais, PhD, CRRN, will cover Culturally Competent Care topics including such articles as The Clinically Relevant Continuum Model; Culturally Competent Care for Families with Burn Injury, Chronic Pain, End Stage Renal Disease and Parkinson's Disease; an Innovative Model for Teaching Culturally Competent Care; Acculturation, Somatization of Depression, and Function in an Hispanic American Population; Culture of the Colonias/Constructing the Meaning of Asthma in the Colonias; Genetics and its Relevance on Culture and Ethnicity; and Creating Culturally Appropriate Language Translation.
The Legal, Professional, and Ethical Dimensions of Higher Education in Nursing by
The only volume on higher education law written specifically for nursing faculty, this volume imparts the basic foundations of the legal, professional, and ethical issues that concern faculty on a daily basis. It clearly defines the legal rights of students, professors, and educational institutions along with the case laws supporting those rights. Each chapter contains a vivid legal scenario, related legal principles and theoretical foundations, and critical thinking questions. Written by an author who is both a nurse educator and attorney, the volume emphasizes sound decision making so that readers can successfully navigate the complex legal issues confronting them in the faculty role.This second edition reflects recent changes in higher education and includes an emphasis on students'rights and safety. Chapters address the general legal rights of students with expanded content on the interplay with social media, rights of faculty regarding freedom of speech, faculty protection against lawsuits, faculty and the employment relationship, faculty relations, the teaching and scholarship roles of faculty, the service and clinical practice role of faculty, and ethical considerations for patients, students, and faculty in education environments. Appendices include information on how to read a legal case and how to research legal topics.Key Features: Addresses the foundations of the legal, professional, and ethical issues that concern nursing faculty on a daily basis Defines the legal rights of students, professors, and educational institutions and the case laws supporting those rightsIncludes a legal scenario, related principles and theory, and critical thinking questions in each chapterProvides guidelines for legally appropriate actions and strategies to avoid legal problemsReflects recent changes in higher education Emphasizes students'rights and safetyAuthor is perfectly credentialed (JD & PhD) and experienced (Professor, Dean, and experienced Attorney at Law) to write this book
Legal Aspects of Nursing by
Now in its seventh edition, Bridgit Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is the definitive guide to the essential law that nurses and healthcare professionals need to know. Written in an engaging style, the book shows the application of the law to everyday nursing situations showing the relevance and importance of legal considerations to nursing practice. The book covers the legal system and legal issues relating to medicine in general, before examining more specific areas, such as children and the elderly.
Teaching Cultural Competence in Nursing and Health Care by
Praise for the Second Edition: "This book will help educators understand the multidimensional process of cultural competence, and the vignettes it provides will be useful to anyone who teaches cultural competence." -- Nursing Education Perspectives Based on proven research, this textbook is a unique “how-to” for nursing faculty called upon to educate students, nurses, and other health care providers on how to provide optimal care for culturally diverse populations. It offers a systematic approach featuring ready-to-use materials for planning, implementing, and evaluating cultural competence education strategies and programs. A wealth of practical information on all aspects of culturally competent communication and treatment—in both classroom and workplace settings--is supplemented with an assessment and evaluation toolkit that can be adapted for all educational levels. The third edition is reorganized to facilitate the incorporation of cultural competence into a greater variety of environments, and provides additional examples and case studies to better illustrate content. Updated and revised information, research findings, and expanded ready-to-apply strategies and exemplars are woven throughout all chapters. New and expanded chapters address curriculum; traditional classrooms, hybrid, and online courses; and clinical settings, immersion experiences, service learning, simulation, and nursing skills lab. Included are educational activities for academic, clinical, and professional association settings. Integrated reflection boxes, easy-to-apply action steps, toolkit resource boxes, references, and discussion questions help students to fully integrate the book’s content. The text fulfills Cultural Competence accreditation requirements for undergraduate nursing programs and for institutions trying to obtain Magnet Status. New to the Third Edition: Reorganized to address cultural competence in a variety of environments Expanded ready-to-apply strategies and exemplars A wealth of updated and revised information and research New and expanded chapters on curriculum and varied learning modalities New information on clinical settings, immersion experiences, service learning, simulation, and nursing skills lab Reflection boxes, easy-to-apply action steps, toolkit resource boxes, and discussion questions Also available: For PhD students, instructors, institutions, and others who want to take it a step further, can purchase The Cultural Competence Education Resource Toolkit. This product contains questionnaires and evaluation methods for a variety of environments, and will enable the use to assess cultural competence in a group of individuals, and a means to achieve optimal cultural competence. For more information, go to www.springerpub.com/cctoolkit .
Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models by
'Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration is a must read for the nurse currently practicing. National and global changes in demographics, a changing global economy, have further dramatized the need for culturally competent nurses. I found this book to be what I had hoped for and more related to my understanding of the concept of transcultural nursing (TCN)....I would highly recommend this book to any nurse who is looking to deepen her understanding of the many diverse cultures she encounters at the bedside, or out in the community using components of the theory, models and assessment guide presented in this book.'--Advance for Nurses'This book makes a worthwhile contribution to the field of transcultural nursing by complementing texts that introduce theory and models or delve into them individually and more deeply. Sagar contributes her expertise as a Transcultural Nursing Scholar by focusing on how to use the models and guide. She explains and shows the readerhow transcultural nursing theory can be disseminated and implemented.'--Online Journal of Cultural Competence in Nursing and HealthcareThis volume is the first to examine and promote the application of current, major transcultural nursing (TCN) theory and models and assessment tools in nursing education, practice, and administration. As a comprehensive text for master's and bachelor's level nursing students, it features case studies, care plans, initial role playing exercises, and implications of TCN concepts when planning, implementing and evaluating client care.TCN Theory, Models, and Assessment Guide Discussed: Leininger's Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality Purnell's Model for Cultural Competence Campinha-Bacote's Biblically Based Model of Cultural Competence Giger and Davidhizar's Transcultural Assessment Model Spector's Health Traditions Model Andrews and Boyle's Transcultural Nursing Assessment Guide for Individuals and Families Key Features: Reviews one theory and four major TCN models plus one TCN assessment guide Provides assessment tools, case studies, and role playing exercises Discusses implications of TCN concepts for planning, implementing and evaluating client care Reviews TCN in an international context Offers NCLEX-type test questions and answers in each section Fulfills AACN content guidelines for cultural competency
Maternal-Neonatal Nursing by
This friendly guide's colorful images and helpful learning aids offer the latest in nursing interventions for prenatal care basics, including high-risk pregnancy, family planning, contraception and infertility, labor and birth, and postpartum care, presented in the enjoyable Incredibly Easy style. Offering practice questions written in NCLEX® exam format, this is the ideal support for nursing students and new nurses preparing for certification and the everyday challenges of the maternal-neonatal unit.
Maternal-Newborn Nursing by
Here's everything you need to succeed in your maternal-newborn nursing course and prepare for course exams and the NCLEX®. Succinct content reviews in outline format focus on must-know information, while case studies and NCLEX-style questions develop your ability to apply your knowledge in simulated clinical situations. A 100-question final exam at the end of the book as well as two, 75-item comprehensive examinations online at DavisPlus.com provide the practice you need to feel confident about maternal-newborn content. You'll also find proven techniques and tips to help you study more effectively, learn how to approach different types of questions, and improve your critical-thinking skills. An access code inside new printed texts unlocks the questions online at DavisPlus, with answers and rationales for correct and incorrect responses. You can even design your own quizzes to test your knowledge and skills based on specific content areas, client need categories, cognitive level, and phases of the nursing process. -- Provided by publisher.
Neonatology by
Neonatology at a Glance provides a concise, illustrated overview of neonatal medicine. Written by leading international experts, it provides essential information on perinatal medicine, delivery, the normal newborn infant and neonatal problems encountered in neonatal intensive care units and their management. Each topic is supported by excellent illustrations, diagrams, and, for the first time, video clips to show neonatal resuscitation and stabilizing the sick newborn, normal examination, the baby with hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy, recognition of seizures and practical procedures.
Perinatal Nursing by 
Assessment and Decision Making in Mental Health Nursing by
Assessment is an essential part of mental-health nursing and as such a core learning requirement for pre-registration nursing students. Getting assessment right is essential for the nursing student in order for them to become an effective practitioner. Many books on assessment are very theoretical. This is a practical, hands-on guide to the assessment process, underpinned by the latest evidence. The book explains the core principles through running case studies, so that readers can see how each decision they make impacts on the person in their care.Key features: Assessment principles are applied across a variety of modern nursing settings that you may find yourself working in as a registered nurse Each chapter is linked to the relevant NMC standards and Essential Skills Clusters so you know you are meeting the professional requirements Activities throughout help you to think critically and develop essential graduate skills.
Essentials of Psychiatric Mental Health Nursing by
New DSM-5 Content!
Whether it's an entire course on psychiatric nursing or integrating these principles into an existing course, this is the text that's concise, engaging, and informative. It offers an evidence-based, holistic approach to mental health nursing--in a streamlined format that explores nursing diagnoses for both physiological and psychological disorders. It's the psychiatric nursing text that students actually read, understand, and use.
Completely revised, the 6th Edition reflects all of the new knowledge in the field and the practice of mental health nursing today, including DSM-5, NANDA-I 2012-2014, and QSEN.
Fast Facts for Managing Patients with a Psychiatric Disorder by
The continuum of mental health -- Environmental safety and ethical care -- Therapeutic communication : establishing a therapeutic alliance -- Pediatrics and neurodevelopmental disorders -- Thought disorders : psychosis and the schizophrenia spectrum -- Mood disorders -- Anxiety disorders -- Obsessive compulsive disorder and related disorders -- Trauma and stress : post-traumatic stress disorder and related disorders -- Neurocognitive and neurodegenerative disorders -- Medical diagnosis and symptom sharing : metabolic disease -- Medical diagnosis and symptom sharing : respiratory disease -- Medical diagnosis and symptom sharing : neurologic disease -- Addictive disorders, substance use, and dependence -- Dual diagnosis : mental illness and substance use disorder (SUD) -- Challenges treating substance use disorders and dual diagnosis -- Treating the mentally ill outside the psychiatric unit : a review.
Mental Health Nursing by
This text takes a holistic approach to mental health nursing, helping students and beginning practitioners understand the complex causes of mental illness, its diagnosis, effective interventions and treatments, and the client's experience of mental illness. Written by an experienced team of contributors, the client- and student-centred approaches focus closely on providing students with practical examples and guidance on helpful and transformative communication.
Psychiatric Nursing by
Unit one. The foundation for planning psychiatric nursing care. The nursing process in psychiatric/mental health nursing -- Unit two. Alterations in psychosocial adaptation. Disorders commonly associated with infancy, childhood, or adolescence -- Neurocognitive disorders -- Substance-related and addictive disorders -- Schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders -- Depressive disorders -- Bipolar and related disorders -- Anxiety, obsessive-compulsive, and related disorders -- Trauma- and stressor-related disorders -- Somatic symptom and related disorders -- Dissociative disorders -- Sexual disorders and gender dysphoria -- Eating disorders -- Personality disorders -- Unit three. Special topics in psychiatric/mental health nursing. Problems related to abuse or neglect -- Premenstrual dysphoric disorder -- Homelessness -- Psychiatric home nursing care -- Forensic nursing -- Complementary therapies -- Loss and bereavement -- Military families -- Unit four. Psychotropic medications. Antianxiety agents -- Antidepressants -- Mood-stabilizing agents -- Antipsychotic agents -- Antiparkinsonian agents -- Sedative-hypnotics -- Agents used to treat attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder -- Appendices. Comparison of developmental theories -- Ego defense mechanisms -- Levels of anxiety -- Stages of grief -- Relationship development and therapeutic communication -- Psychosocial therapies -- Electroconvulsive therapy -- Medication assessment tool -- Cultural assessment tool -- DSM-5 classification -- Mental status assessment -- Assigning nursing diagnoses to client behaviors -- Brief mental status evaluation -- FDA pregnancy categories -- DEA controlled substances schedules -- Abnormal involuntary movement scale (AIMS) -- Hamilton depression rating scale (HDRS) -- Hamilton anxiety rating scale (HAM-A) -- NANDA nursing diagnoses: taxonomy II.
Abuses and Excuses by
"Abuses and Excuses breaks new ground in helping patients and families hold bad nursing homes accountable, sharing a wealth of insider strategies and insights that show, step-by-step, how to hold the nursing home industry responsible for abuse and neglect. It's an eye opening account of corporate greed, acts of neglect and abuse, an insidious industry culture of cover-up, and the actual harm that inevitably befalls vulnerable nursing home patients all across the country with shocking frequency"
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
Nutrition & Diet Therapy, Eleventh Edition, is an introduction to the essentials of nutrition concepts, good health, and client care that will provide you with a solid foundation in nutrition. This book is organized around three simple concepts. Section one covers the fundamentals of nutrition; Section two explains how to maintain good health through nutrition; and Section 3 addresses the nutrition therapy concepts nurses need to know. This text is a good resource for helping clients move toward better health through nutritional awareness.
Williams' Basic Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
Food, nutrition, and health -- Carbohydrates -- Fats -- Proteins -- Digestion, absorption, and metabolism -- Energy balance -- Vitamins -- Minerals -- Water balance -- Nutrition during pregnancy and lactation -- Nutrition in infancy, childhood, and adolescence -- Nutrition for adults : the early, middle, and later years -- Community food supply and health -- Food habits and cultural patterns -- Weight management -- Nutrition and physical fitness -- Nutrition care -- Gastrointestinal and accessory organ problems -- Coronary heart disease and hypertension -- Diabetes mellitus -- Kidney disease -- Surgery and nutrition support -- Nutrition support in cancer and AIDS.
Pathophysiology and Pharmacology for Nursing Students by
Carefully designed to provide an integrated introduction to both the biology of disease and the therapeutic agents that are used to manage them, this book considers the underlying pathology of many common illnesses and diseases but by focusing on those conditions which have a pharmacological intervention is able to provide nurses with a broader understanding of bioscience that reflects care given in practice.
It covers the basics of pharmacology, the core pathological concepts of inflammation, infection and cancer as well as a systems-based consideration of the pathophysiology and relevant pharmacology of common disorders. Providing the ideal starting point for student nurses to develop a robust, integrated knowledge of human disease and pharmacology, this book will enable them to provide care based on up-to-date knowledge of this important subject.
Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance by
Pathophysiology for Nurses at a Glance covers all the key diseases and disease processes affecting each body system, and key concepts encountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing or healthcare course.
Key features:
Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout
Written specifically for nursing and healthcare students with all the information they need
Self-assessment questions provided for each chapter
Essentials of Pediatric Nursing by
"Essentials of Pediatric Nursing is intended for Pediatric Nursing courses with an integrated pediatric curriculum. It provides a unique concept-based approach and nursing process focus that helps students go from concept to application by building on previously mastered knowledge from other courses. The new edition of the text focuses on allowing students to apply concepts from the book to cases throughout the book. It also emphasizes developmental considerations and atraumatic care, illustrating the unique nature of a pediatric patient. Also new to this edition are highlighted sections, showing student's key areas in the text that students commonly struggle with and real life critical thinking exercises. This edition will have a comprehensive supplements program to support faculty and student needs, in addition to a pediatric nursing videos series available on thePoint"--Publisher.
Perioperative Drill-Based Crisis Management by
It is essential that medical professionals in the operating room regularly undertake emergency drills. This unique book takes what can be an onerous task for leaders and operating room physicians, and makes it easy. Chapters cover drills ranging from medical emergencies such as cardiac arrest and malignant hyperthermia, to non-medical emergencies such as an active shooter and evacuation of a medical facility. Each chapter includes at least three scenarios for a specific type of drill, with expected actions and educational material for debriefing. The latest specialty guidelines and algorithms are included throughout and key learning points are highlighted for each drill, removing the need for further detailed research in advance of each exercise. Written and edited by leading experts in the field and endorsed by the Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia, this manual enables every reader to lead a meaningful drill with educational value for all participants. (Cambridge University Press)
The Perioperative Medicine Consult Handbook by
Patients with a range of medical conditions undergo surgeries of varying levels of risk, and the evolving field of consult medicine aims to address their needs, whether pre- or post-surgery. This new edition of The Perioperative Medicine Consult Handbook provides useful information, advice, and guidelines based on a combination of clinical experience and evidence-based medicine. It covers topics in many major clinical areas (anesthesiology, cardiology, pulmonology, gastroenterology, rheumatology, endocrinology, and many others) and puts critical surgery information at a consult physician's fingertips. New to this edition are chapters on thyroid disease, restrictive lung disease, sickle cell disease, inflammatory bowel disease, nutrition, and perioperative care of elderly patients. The entire volume has been streamlined for a more precise presentation of essential perioperative management guidelines. Originally created by the Medicine Consult Service team at the University of Washington Medical Center, and now fully updated into a comprehensive second edition, this quick reference is sure to be indispensable for residents and consult physicians alike.
Perioperative Practice at a Glance by
From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series comes this new title on all aspects of caring for patients in the perioperative environment. From pre-operative care, through the anaesthetic and surgical phases to post-operation and recovery, this easy-to-read, quick-reference resource uses the unique at a Glance format to quickly convey need-to-know information in both images and text, allowing vital knowledge to be revised promptly and efficiently.
Respiratory Care by
Master the crucial fundamentals of respiratory anatomy, skills, and concepts, with this incredibly easy guide to effective respiratory care. -- From publisher's description.
Respiratory Nursing at a Glance by
From the publishers of the market leading at a Glance series, and in collaboration with the Association of Respiratory Nurses (ARNS), comes this easy-to-read, highly visual guide bringing together key principles of Respiratory Nursing. Highly visual, each topic is covered in a two-page spread, making it easy to quickly read up on key information and grasp the essentials of respiratory care, as well as a focus on preventative measures to prevent, minimise and control respiratory disease.
Covers a wide range of topics, including assessment and diagnosis, respiratory health, medication, communication, models and management of care, acute and chronic care, and common respiratory diseases
Takes a unique, holistic approach to care across the life course – from childhood to end of life care.
Provides need-to-know information in a highly visual, evidence-based, quick-reference format.
Respiratory Nursing at a Glance is ideal for nurses and health care students and practitioners at all levels involved in respiratory care.
Pocket Manual of General Thoracic Surgery by
Pre-Operative Evaluation of the Thoracic Patient -- Operative and Post-Operative Considerations -- Lung and Airway Disorders -- Pleural Disorders -- Mediastinal Disorders -- Chest Wall Disorders -- Chest Trauma -- Benign Esophageal Disorders -- Esophageal Cancer.
Oxford Handbook of Surgical Nursing by
This handbook provides a thorough introduction to the principles and practice of the care of patients undergoing the range of surgical procedures. It covers all of the core elements of surgical care from point of diagnosis, through to discharge and rehabilitation. The Oxford Handbook of Surgical Nursing provides clinical knowledge and skills for managing complex cases in the hospital or clinic. This guide will assist the reader in understanding the core role of the surgical nurse within the modern surgical team, to plan, implement and evaluate patient care delivery, and to manage complications arising from surgery. Evidence-based, and following the latest national guidelines, you can be sure this will be an indispensable companion, for all nurses, whether new to the specialty, or more experienced in surgical care.
Understanding Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Understanding health care issues -- Understanding health and illness -- Understanding life span influences on health and illness -- Understanding the immune system -- Understanding the cardiovascular system -- Understanding the hematologic and lymphatic systems -- Understanding the respiratory system -- Understanding the gastrointestinal, hepatic, and pancreatic systems -- Understanding the urinary system -- Understanding the endocrine system -- Understanding the genitourinary and reproductive system -- Understanding the musculoskeletal system -- Understanding the neurologic system -- Understanding the sensory system -- Understanding the integumentary system -- Understanding mental health care.
ATI TEAS Test Prep 2020 And 2021 by
Developed for test takers trying to achieve a passing score on the TEAS 6 exam. Each section of the test has a comprehensive review that goes into detail to cover all of the content likely to appear on the TEAS test. Practice test questions are each followed by detailed answer explanations. If you miss a question, it's important that you are able to understand the nature of your mistake and how to avoid making it again in the future. The answer explanations will help you to learn from your mistakes and overcome them. Understanding the latest test-taking strategies is essential to preparing you for what you will expect on the exam. A test taker has to not only understand the material that is being covered on the test, but also must be familiar with the strategies that are necessary to properly utilize the time provided and get through the test without making any avoidable errors.
Wound Care at a Glance by
Anatomy and physiology -- The normal healing process: acute wounds -- The abnormal healing process: chronic wound healing -- Wound management in practice -- Dressing selection -- Complexities of wound care.
Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Practical Nursing for the NCLEX-PN® Exam by
Prepare for success on the boards with Mosby's Comprehensive Review of Practical Nursing for the NCLEX-PN#65533; Examination ! An outline format makes studying easier, and chapters organized by core clinical areas make review more efficient. Separate chapters help you focus on the specialty areas such as pharmacology, nutrition, and emergency nursing. Practice questions in each chapter are written in NCLEX examination style and include detailed rationales for both correct and incorrect answers. Developed by NCLEX-PN expert Mary O. Eyles, PhD, RN, this guide also includes a comprehensive exam to prepare you for the test-taking experience. Together, the book and CD offer a total of more than 3,600 practice questions.
More than 3,600 questions provide plenty of practice: 1,494 questions in the book, and 2,193 additional questions on CD. Rationales for both correct and incorrect answers help you understand the reasoning behind each answer option. Page references to Elsevier textbooks provide fast, efficient remediation for each question. Alternate item format questions reflect the NCLEX-PN exam with drag-and-drop prioritization, multiple response, chart/exhibit, and illustrated questions. Questions on the CD let you choose to practice in study, quiz, or exam modes. Test-taking strategies include helpful tips in preparing for nursing exams and the NCLEX-PN exam. The comprehensive exam includes questions in all clinical areas, reflecting content on the current NCLEX-PN exam. A breakdown of the changes to the 2008 NCLEX-PN test plan prepares you for the latest version of the exam. A web link on the CD connects you to updates and technical support.
NCLEX-RN Drug Guide: 300 Medications You Need to Know for the Exam by
This pocket-sized guide provides nursing students with more than 300 frequently tested NCLEX-RN exam terms, including generic names and brand names, drug family, nursing considerations, and side effects, as well as an appendix of medical abbreviations. Terms are grouped by medication category, and each page features two terms with the complete explanations on the reverse side.
NCLEX-RN Prep Plus 2018 by
10 critical thinking pathways to break down what exam questions are asking 8 end-of-chapter practice sets to help you put critical thinking principles into action 2 full-length practice tests to gauge your progress--one in the book, one online Detailed rationales for all answer choices, correct and incorrect Techniques for mastering the computer adaptive test format Expert Guidance In-depth content review, organized along the exam's "Client Needs" framework 60+ minutes of video tutorials on the ins and outs of the NCLEX-RN Kaplan's Learning Engineers and expert psychometricians ensure our practice questions and study materials are true to the test. We invented test prep--Kaplan (www.kaptest.com) has been helping students for almost 80 years. Our proven strategies have helped legions of students achieve their dreams.
The previous edition of this book was titled NCLEX-RN Premier 2017 .
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination 2016 by
"Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX exam - complete content review and 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online ... all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices, as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. [This book is] updated to reflect the most current 2016 NCLEX test plan" -- Publisher.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
Often called the 'the best NCLEX#65533; exam review book ever,' Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX exam - complete content review and over 5,100 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. Don't make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kind of questions that consistently test the critical thinking skills necessary to pass today's NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices, as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri, and updated to reflect the most current NCLEX test plan, Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Examination, 6th Edition is THE book of choice for NCLEX examination review. But don't just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there's nothing else like it!
UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, and guiding you to remediation in Saunders Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX#65533; Exam and Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN#65533; Exam . UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes list actions for clinical emergent situations requiring immediate action, including a detailed rationale and textbook reference. All alternate item-format questions are included, with multiple response, prioritizing, fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration, chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to provide practice with prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. Exam preparation chapters include test-taking strategies, the CAT format, transitional issues for the foreign-educated nurse, and the NCLEX-RN exam from a new graduate's perspective. A comprehensive exam consists of 85 questions that cover all content areas in the book and mirror the percentages identified in the NCLEX-RN examination test plan. NEW and UNIQUE! A summary of key changes to the 2013 NCLEX-RN test plan is included in the front of the book. New! More practice questions have been added to the book and online, bringing the total to 5,172 questions. New! Tracking of practice results on the Evolve companion website makes it easy to check your progress.
Critical Conversations: the NLN Guide for Teaching Thinking by
Understanding the NLN guide for teaching thinking / Susan Gross Forneris and Mary Fey -- Psychological safety / Amy Daniels and Rachel Onello -- Simulation-based conversations / Mary Fey and Amy Daniels -- Classroom conversations / Rachel Onello and Mary Fey -- Clinical conversations / Rachel Onello and Susan Gross Forneris.
