Communication: Contemporary Issues

Tells stories of barrier-breaking pioneers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, inventing, journalism, religion, science, sports, and more.

This companion gives a concise and accessible overview of Hispanic Studies as taught today and suggests new directions for future developments.

Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.

Provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.

Featuring alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.

Thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations. Comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin.

A collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.

Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences, providing easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.

This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.

Consisting of original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics, this landmark work maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this young and growing field.

In the current era of globalisation, national governments are increasingly exposed to international influences that present new constraints and opportunities for domestic environmental policies. This comprehensive, revised Handbook pushes the frontiers of theoretical and empirical knowledge, and provides a state-of-the-art examination of the multifaceted effects of globalisation on environmental governance.

The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.

A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.

Provides a concise history of each critical term, explores the issues raised by the term, and puts the term to use in an analysis of a religious work, practice, or event. Moving across Judaism, Christianity, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam, and Native American and Mayan religions, contributors explore terms ranging from experience, territory, and image, to God, sacrifice, and transgression.

Provides a unique introduction to Buddhism by examining categories essential for a nuanced understanding of its traditions.

Essential overview for everyone who wants to understand what Islam is and what it means today.

Includes hundreds of special articles covering subjects in analytical depth, as well as short biographies of the major figures in the story of Judaism.

This compelling volume introduces the current generation of moderate reformist thinkers and activists within Islam, the intellectual traditions they carry on, and the reasons why reformist movements have been overshadowed by fundamentalist, revolutionary, and jihadist movements in the Islamic world today.

A comprehensive, authoritative source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions. It also provides concise information about the beliefs, practices, and history of major religions.

Examines the religious right and its influence on our government, citizens, society, and politics. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin’s theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.

This Dictionary offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area. The Dictionary also raises key issues and areas of contention and academic debate. Coverage is comprehensive, with c.400 entries, each providing analysis of the subject. Terms are presented in an A-Z format with cross-referencing where appropriate.

Terms covering world politics, international relations, local and national government and the European Union.

Captures the aims and scope of nationalism. This volume covers fundamental themes.

Captures the aims and scope of nationalism. This volume covers leaders, movements, and concepts.

Provides crucial and contemporary information about antagonism and reconciliation within both the public and private realms.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.

Covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption.

Provides an exhaustive and authoritative guide to technical terms used in contemporary scholarly research on poverty.

The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.

The Encyclopedia of Gender covers gender differences, the "Psychology of Women" and the "Psychology of Men", discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior.

A comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.

Gathers together articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation'’s past.

The Lesbian and Gay Movements explores this dilemma in both contemporary and historical contexts, describing the sources of these conflicts, to what extent the conflicts have been resolved, and how they might be resolved in future.

A uniquely authoritative and comprehensive reference work on the key men and women in the history of homosexuality from antiquity to the middle of the twentieth century. It includes biographies, with references, on figures - famous, notorious or unknown - in politics, social activism, culture and the arts, medicine, religion and other fields throughout Europe, North and South America, South Africa and Australasia.

This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.

A complete reference on CSR, compiled by the Institute for Corporate Cultural Affairs (the ICCA). The entries have been written by leading experts, leading global thinkers and CSR practitioners.

This book is about development and measuring development progress. While precise definitions may vary, development is, at heart, a process of building wealth, the produced, natural, human, and institutional capital which is the source of income and wellbeing. Divided into 2 major parts, coverage includes a big picture of changes in wealth by income group and geographic region as well as case studies in wealth accounting and how it is being implemented in various countries.

In this title some 40 development economists, most of them from the World Bank's poverty reduction and economic management network, an epicenter of the profession, tell us what they see on the horizon of their technical disciplines and of their geographic areas of specialization. Following the 2008-09 global financial crises, much economic policy is up for reexamination. This synthesis picks from each chapter what is new, what is likely to change, and what will be different in the future.

A collection of historical research on strikes in America comprised of two types of essays, those focused on an industry or economic sector and those focused on a theme. This approach provides a detailed perspective as well broad historical and social coverage of the topic

Provides context and analysis to the modern era of corporate corruption.

Focuses on the growth and expansion of banking, securities, and insurance from the colonial period right up to the incredible growth of the stock market during the 1990s and the attack on the World Trade Center in 2001.

OECD Factbook is the best-selling, annual title from the OECD. It provides a global overview of todays major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa.

An essential resource for anyone who needs to better understand the global economy.

American Constitutional Law provides a comprehensive account of the nations defining document. Based on the premise that the study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America, this text puts current events in terms of what those who initially drafted and ratified the Constitution sought to accomplish.

The definitive report on the overall well-being of all Americans. How are Americans doing—compared to one another and compared to the rest of the world? This important, easy-to-understand guide will provide all of the essential information on the current state of America.

From a team of leading experts comes a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research including the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Addresses the key defining issues of contemporary American society through the lens of political and social controversy.

This dictionary provides a basic vocabulary of terms used in the media and entertainment industries, from A&R to zydeco. It is ideal for all students of Media Studies and related subjects, as well as those working for the first time in jobs such as journalism, radio and television production and advertising.

This updated encyclopedia provides ready information on all aspects of capital punishment in America. It details virtually every capital punishment decision rendered by the United States Supreme Court through 2006, including more than 40 cases decided since publication of the first edition.

This award winning text draws on history, science, and philosophy to examine the development of evolutionary thought through the past two and a half centuries.

Spanning nearly 400 years from the early abolitionists to the present, this guide book profiles people, places, and events that have shaped the history of the black struggle for freedom.

In this masterwork, Russell H. Tuttle synthesizes a vast research literature in primate evolution and behavior to explain how apes and humans evolved in relation to one another, and why humans became a bipedal, tool-making, culture-inventing species distinct from other hominoids. This encyclopedic volume is both a milestone in primatological research and a critique of what is known and yet to be discovered about human and ape potential.

With public perception of gun violence at an all-time high, this second edition of Encyclopedia of Gun Control and Gun Rights is a must-have resource for all libraries.

Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.

This book discusses a series of issues currently at the forefront of educational debate internationally, using works of distinguished authors from many regions of the world.