LibGuides: Technology: Data & Information

Data, Information, and Knowledge Management

An Introduction to Information Design by Kathryn Coates, Andy Ellison
This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery, An Introduction to Information Design gives a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication.
Key Concepts and Techniques in GIS
A concise overview of the fundamental ideas that inform Geographic Information Science. It provides detailed descriptions of the concepts and techniques that anyone using GIS software must fully understand to analyze spatial data.

Information Access
From Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Information access refers to the ability to keep watch on how governments govern and the right to peruse freely the facts and figures that officials have collected about everything from annual rainfall to budget expenditures to criminal records.
Assange, Julian Paul
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
Australian Internet publisher and activist, founder and editor-in-chief of WikiLeaks.
WikiLeaks
From Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices
An online, nonprofit organization that collects and publishes secret and classified documents from governments and organizations of various kinds, WikiLeaks was founded in 2006 by Australian-born Internet activist Julian Assange.

Technology in Education
From Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
Philosophical thinking about technology in education, such as it exists, may be placed into three categories: substantive, instrumentalist, and pluralist.
Electronic Learning/E-Learning
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Online training delivered to personal computers over the Internet, with the advantage that classes can be taken at any time and in any place, so that students are able to learn at their own pace.

Information Technology: Topic Page
Office automation is the most widely implemented form of information technology and has had major implications for the organization and experience of clerical work.
Informatics: Topic Page
The application of computers and statistics to the management of information.
Big Data: Topic Page
Big data sets provide researchers with large amounts of information on many topics, ranging from demographics and psychographics to social networking statistics. These sets are often made usable and archived through data mining techniques.

Information Literacy: Topic Page
The ability to access, manage, and utilize information to make decisions and solve problems.
Information Theory: Topic Page
Or communication theory, mathematical theory formulated principally by the American scientist Claude E. Shannon to explain aspects and problems of information and communication.
Knowledge Management: Topic Page
Knowledge management is based on the idea that companies should make better use of their existing knowledge

Data encryption: Topic Page
The process of scrambling stored or transmitted information so that it is unintelligible until it is unscrambled by the intended recipient [...] It is also now used increasingly by the financial industry to protect money transfers, by merchants to protect credit-card information in electronic commerce, and by corporations to secure sensitive communications of proprietary information.
Database: Topic Page
In computing, a structured collection of data, which may be manipulated to select and sort desired items of information.
Geographic Information Systems (GIS): Topic Page
Geographic information describes the locations, characteristics, and shapes of features and phenomena on the surface of the earth.

Digital Audio Tape: Topic Page
Digitally recorded audio tape produced in cassettes that can carry up to two hours of sound on each side and are about half the size of standard cassettes.
CD-ROM: Topic Page
Computer storage device developed from the technology of the audio compact disc.
CD: Topic Page
A small plastic disc used for the storage of digital data.
Cloud Computing
From The Columbia Encyclopedia
The delivery of shared computing resources over a network in a manner that makes accessing and configuring those resources convenient and largely independent of the use of a required location, device, and the like.
Disk: Topic Page
In computing, a common medium for storing large volumes of data.
DVD: Topic Page
Disk format for storing digital information.

Privacy: Topic Page
Concern has arisen in recent years that modern computer technology may alter the balance of power between individuals, corporations, and the government in ways that compromise privacy.
Computers and Privacy
From Encyclopedia of Computer Science
Computer technology can affect privacy in a number of ways.
Data Security
From Encyclopedia of Computer Science
In the Internet age, data security has become of paramount importance because of the literally millions of users in cyberspace who might, accidentally or otherwise, invade and compromise the integrity of data on the computer calling into the Net.

Cybercrime: Topic Page
The use of a computer network, especially the internet, for crime.
Cyberbullying
Cyberbullying refers to the use of technological communication tools and devices to intentionally inflict harm on an individual or group.
Cyberterrorism: Topic Page
The convergence of terrorism and cyberspace, particularly the politically motivated sabotage of information systems.
Computer Virus: Topic Page
Rogue computer program, typically a short program designed to disperse copies of itself to other computers and disrupt those computers' normal operations.
Hacking: Topic Page
Unauthorized access to computer systems, either for fun or for malicious or fraudulent purposes.
Identity Theft: Topic Page
Identity theft is one of the fastest growing crimes of the new millennium.

File Sharing
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
Copying of digital files from one computer to another, usually over a network or the Internet.
Intellectual Property: Topic Page
Intellectual property is knowledge or expression owned by an individual or a corporate entity. Intellectual property consists of three customary domains: copyright, patent, and trademark.
Napster, Inc.: Topic Page
Napster is the name of an Internet music company and of a real-time system by which Internet users can locate the MP3 files (a standard technology and format for compressing a sound sequence into a very small file) of other users.
Open Source Software: Topic Page
Free and open source software (F/OSS) is emerging as a promising alternative to proprietary software.
Piracy (Copyright): Topic Page
Piracy of intellectual property refers to the unauthorized use, reproduction, and/or distribution of protected material such as computer software, video games, music, or movies.