Aftermath: following the bloodshed of America's wars in the Muslim world by
Nir Rosen's Aftermath , an extraordinary feat of reporting, follows the contagious spread of radicalism and sectarian violence that the U.S. invasion of Iraq and the ensuing civil war have unleashed in the Muslim world.
Rosen--who the Weekly Standard once bitterly complained has "great access to the Baathists and jihadists who make up the Iraqi insurgency"-- has spent nearly a decade among warriors and militants who have been challenging American power in the Muslim world. In Aftermath , he tells their story, showing the other side of the U.S. war on terror, traveling from the battle-scarred streets of Baghdad to the alleys, villages, refugee camps, mosques, and killing grounds of Jordan, Syria, Egypt, Lebanon, and finally Afghanistan, where Rosen has a terrifying encounter with the Taliban as their "guest," and witnesses the new Obama surge fizzling in southern Afghanistan.
Rosen was one of the few Westerners to venture inside the mosques of Baghdad to witness the first stirrings of sectarian hatred in the months after the U.S. invasion. He shows how weapons, tactics, and sectarian ideas from the civil war in Iraq penetrated neighboring countries and threatened their stability, especially Lebanon and Jordan, where new jihadist groups mushroomed. Moreover, he shows that the spread of violence at the street level is often the consequence of specific policies hatched in Washington, D.C. Rosen offers a seminal and provocative account of the surge, told from the perspective of U.S. troops on the ground, the Iraqi security forces, Shiite militias and Sunni insurgents that were both allies and adversaries. He also tells the story of what happened to these militias once they outlived their usefulness to the Americans.
Aftermath is both a unique personal history and an unsparing account of what America has wrought in Iraq and the region. The result is a hair- raising, 360-degree view of the modern battlefield its consequent humanitarian catastrophe, and the reality of counterinsurgency.
The Arab Americans by
Generations reunite in Arbeen, Syria -- Seeds to the wind: the first wave of Arab immigration (1878-1924) -- Transplanting the fig tree: the first generation on American soil (1924-1947) -- The Palestine debacle: the second wave of Arab immigration (1948-1966) -- The third wave: west bank captured, Lebanon torn Asunder, Iraq wars with Iran, Kuwait, and the US (1967-2005) -- The political awakening (1972-1981) -- Back to Lebanon (1982-1983) -- Stumbling toward peace (1984-2000) -- After the flames: Arab Americans and American fear (2001-2005) -- A celebration of community.
The Arab Spring by
The 21st century includes a wide variety of family structures beyond the traditional, nuclear family. Same sex marriage and adoption, unmarried partnerships of all kinds, combined with the aging of the country, are causing households and family structures to change considerably. These changes challenge legal structures, insurance laws, societal expectations and the workplace.
The Arab Spring by
What caused the Arab Spring? The Arab Spring was triggered by a desire for democracy and social justice / The Arab Spring is more of a power grab than a democratic awakening / Social media ignited the Arab Spring / Social media did not cause the Arab Spring / Corrupt economic policies were the driving force behind the Arab Spring / Education played a key role in the Arab Spring How should the international community respond to the Arab Spring? The international community must strengthen anticorruption efforts in the Arab world / The international community should foster democratic principles in the Arab world / The international community should apply universal human rights standards to the Arab Spring / The international community should launch an Arab Marshall plan / The International community should have intervened in Libya / The international community should not have intervened in Libya How should the United States respond to the Arab Spring? The United States should support democratic movements in the Middle East / The United States should not continue to support Middle East dictators / The United States should refrain from intervening in the Middle East / The United States needs to make aid to Arab countries conditional / The United States should better prepare for political upheaval in the Middle East What are the social and political effects of the Arab Spring? The Arab Spring has destabilized the Middle East / The Arab Spring provides an opportunity for Islamists and secularists to forge peace / The Arab Spring has ushered in religious intolerance and persecution / The Arab Spring complicates the Palestinian peace process / The Arab Spring makes al Qaeda less relevant / Gays in Egypt, Tunisia worry about post-revolt era
The Cambridge Atlas of the Middle East and North Africa by
The Cambridge Atlas is designed as a topical reference source on the whole Middle East, from Iran to North Africa, with an emphasis on economic and social developments. In 60 pages of two-colour maps, each accompanied by a page of commentary and supplementary figures, the Atlas presents detailed information on the Middle East essential to the international business, political and journalistic community and to a wide range of students and specialists. The Atlas represents map coverage of all these themes for some years and is one of the most accessible reference tools on the region.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East and North Africa by
There is no similar one-volume encyclopedia available for this area. It differs from other general reference works, such as Europa's annual Middle East and North Africa , whose main emphasis is political and economic. The Cambridge volume, while similar in having both thematic and country chapters, provides significantly greater coverage of cultural and social topics, including art, music, etc. It has a more general thrust, should appeal to a broader audience, and does not need to be updated annually. Along with its copious illustrations and readable style, this book nicely complements the business/academic tone of the Europa publication and should be an especially welcome addition to school and general reference collections.
The Closed Circle by
This text explains how Arabs are closed in a circle defined by tribal, religious and cultural traditions. Pryce-Jones examines the forces which drive the Arabs in their dealings with each other and with the West.
Diaries of an Unfinished Revolution: Voices from Tunis to Damascus by
Greetings to the dawn : living through the bittersweet revolution Cairo, city in waiting Bayou and Laila We are not swallows The Resistance : armed with words Coming down from the tower Wishful thinking And the demonstrations go on : diary of an unfinished revolution
The Eclipse of the Sunnis by
Hundreds of thousands of Sunni Muslims displaced or exiled by the conflict in Iraq have spread across the Middle East, unbalancing that sensitive region. From Amman to Beirut and Damascus, Deborah Amos follows the impact of one of the great migrations of modern times.
The history of the Middle East tells us that one of the greatest problems of the last forty years has been that of a displaced population, angered by their inability to safely return home and resume ownership of their property--as they see it. Now, the pattern has been repeated. A new population of exiles, as large as the Palestinians, has been created.
This particular displacement stirs up the historic conflict between Sunni and Shia. More significant even than the creation of colonial nation states a century ago, the alienation of the Sunni middle class has the capacity to cause resounding resentments across the region for generations to come.
God's War by
'God's War' is a definitive history of the Crusades, drawing on all the most recent scholarship to give a vigorous, intelligent and absorbing account of one of the great movements of the Middle Ages.
A History of the Middle East by
As the birthplace of three principal religions, the Middle East is holy to 15 million Jews, 2 billion Christians, and 1 billion Muslims. As the cradle of western civilization, it is fundamental to world history, the place where humans transformed themselves from nomadic hunters to settled farmers capable of building great cities and societies. This detailed history covers the Middle East from its ancient beginnings to the present. The confluence of events that produced civilized society is fully discussed, along with the establishment of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. The emergence and decline of the Byzantine and Ottoman empires, which laid much of the framework for the region to move into the modern era, is covered in depth. Analysis of the area in recent decades focuses on World War I and II and the regional conflicts that inflame the Middle East of the 21st century. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here .
The Middle East by
Weighs issues important to the future of the Middle East, including how the Israeli-Palestinian conflict can be resolved, whether United States military action in the region has been effective, and if United States involvement is necessary.
The Middle East: Opposing Viewpoints Series by
The United States should promote democracy in the Middle East / George W. Bush -- The United States should not promote democracy in the Middle East / Robert D. Kaplan, Peter Berkowitz -- U.S. troops should pull out of Iraq / Bruce Bartlett -- U.S. troops should stay in Iraq / Victor Davis Hanson -- The United States' close relationship with Israel is harmful to U.S. interests / Chris Hedges -- The United States' close relationship with Israel is beneficial to U.S. interests / Steve Rothman, David Frum -- Peace negotiations between Israel and Palestine are possible / Marwan Muasher -- Peace negotiations between Israel and Palestine are not possible / Ghada Karmi -- Peace negotiations are possible under Hamas rule / Henry Siegman -- Peace negotiations are possible under Fatah rule / Dennis Ross -- Palestine must abandon terrorism and accept Israel's legitimacy if peace is to be achieved / Newt Gingrich -- Israelis and Palestinians should share one democratic state / Michael Tarazi -- Iran is a threat to the United States and its allies / U.S. House of Representatives Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence -- Iran is not a threat to the United States and its allies / Scott Ritter -- Military strikes against Iranian nuclear targets would slow nuclear progress / John R. Bolton -- Military strikes against Iranian nuclear targets would be counterproductive / Zbigniew Brzezinski -- The United States should promote the integration of Iran into the new order of Arab states / Vali Nasr and Ray Takeyh -- The United States should promote democracy and regime change in Iran / Steven Groves -- The U.S. media has perpetuated negative stereotypes about Iran and its people / Nina Hamedani -- Saudi Arabia breeds terrorists / Nick Fielding and Sarah Baxter -- Saudi Arabia is promoting counterterrorism / Caryle Murphy -- Lebanon is a haven for terrorists / Council on Foreign Relations -- Lebanon is promoting counterterrorism / Bilal Y. Saab -- Yemen's counterterrorism efforts have had mixed results / Kevin Whitelaw.
Rise of ISIS by
The world's wealthiest and most powerful jihadists, ISIS originated within Al Qaeda with the goal of creating an Islamic state across Iraq and Syria and unrelenting jihad on Christians. This book gives a better understanding of the modern face of terror, and provides an overview of the laws of war and war crimes. These laws differentiate between the guilty and innocent, and explain why the US military and the Israeli Defense Forces are often limited in their defensive measures.
Rock the Casbah by
Written by a veteran reporter, this is an up close portrait of the fierce struggle between moderates and extremists taking place within the Islamic world today. Why don't Muslims challenge the violent extremists among them? Well, they do. Here she cites the clerics, comedians, and rappers who challenge al Qaeda violence; the women who are launching liberation movements; and the former jihadists who openly reject violence. These Muslims all want to build a better Islam, on their own, not Western, terms.
The Spiders of Allah by
In his fascinating, terrifying and often very funny book, James Hider takes his doubts about religious beliefs straight into the dark heart of the world's holy wars--from Israel to Gaza to Iraq--the birthplace that spawned so many faiths--and then back to Jerusalem. From hardcore Zionist settlers still fighting ancient Biblical battles in the hills of the West Bank to Shiite death squads roaming the lawless streets of Iraq in the aftermath of Saddam; whether it's the misappropriation and martyrdom of Mickey Mouse by Gaza's Islamists, or a US president acting on God's orders, Hider sees the hallucinatory effect of what he calls the 'crack cocaine of fanatical fundamentalism' all around him. As he meets terrorists, suicide bombers, soldiers, ayatollahs, clerics, and ordinary and extraordinary people alike, the question that sparked his journey continues to plague his thoughts: how can people not only believe in this madness, but die and kill for it too? This extraordinary and timely book takes the God Delusion debate onto the streets of the Middle East. It casts an unflinching yet compassionate eye on the very worst and most violent crimes committed in the name of religion, and then sharply asks the questions the world needs to answer if we are ever to stand a chance of facing our own worst demons.
Tea with Hezbollah: sitting at the enemies' table : our journey through the Middle East by
Is it really possible to love one's enemies?
That's the question that sparked a fascinating and, at times, terrifying journey into the heart of the Middle East during the summer of 2008. It was a trip that began in Egypt, passed beneath the steel and glass high rises of Saudi Arabia, then wound through the bullet- pocked alleyways of Beirut and dusty streets of Damascus, before ending at the cradle of the world's three major religions: Jerusalem.
Tea with Hezbollah combines nail-biting narrative with the texture of rich historical background, as readers join novelist Ted Dekker and his co-author and Middle East expert, Carl Medearis, on a hair-raising journey. They are with them in every rocky cab ride, late-night border crossing, and back-room conversation as they sit down one-on-one with some of the most notorious leaders of the Arab world. These candid discussions with leaders of Hezbollah and Hamas, with muftis, sheikhs, and ayatollahs, with Osama bin Laden's brothers, reveal these men to be real people with emotions, fears, and hopes of their own. Along the way, Dekker and Medearis discover surprising answers and even more surprising questions that they could not have anticipated--questions that lead straight to the heart of Middle Eastern conflict.
Through powerful narrative Tea With Hezbollah will draw the West into a completely fresh understanding of those we call our enemies and the teaching that dares us to love them. A must read for all who see the looming threat rising in the Middle East.
The Terror Years: From al-Qaeda to the Islamic State by
Eleven powerful pieces first published in The New Yorker recall the path terror in the Middle East has taken from a more peaceful time in 1990s Israel to the recent beheadings of reporters by ISIS.With the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Looming Tower, Lawrence Wright became generally acknowledged as one of our major journalists writing on terrorism in the Middle East. This collection draws on several articles he wrote while researching that book as well as many that he's written since, following where and how Al Qaeda and its core cult-like beliefs have morphed and spread. They include: a picture of Saudi Arabia under the control of the religious police; the Syrian film industry, then compliant at the edges but already exuding a feeling of the barely masked fury that erupted into civil war; Israel and Hamas waging war over Gaza. Others continue to look into Al-Qaeda as it forms a master plan for its future, experiences a rebellion from within the organization, and spins off a growing web of terror in the world. The American response is covered in profiles of two FBI agents and a head of the CIA. It ends with the recent devastating capture and beheadings by ISIS of four American journalists and how our government handled the situation
Almanacs of American Wars - Middle East by
The Middle East has been one of the most troubled regions in modern history. Terrorism and wars plague not only its nations, but the international community as well. In response, the United States military—as well as other United Nation members—have become deeply involved in the affairs of the Middle East over the past 30 years.
The new Middle East Almanac contains a detailed, day-by-day chronology of events in the region as well as an A-to-Z biographical dictionary of the key figures involved in the conflicts. A comprehensive listing of vital statistics is included in the appendix along with maps, illustrations, and an extensive bibliography for further research.
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient near East by
A comprehensive and authoritative overview of ancient material culture from the late Pleistocene to Late Antiquity Features up-to-date surveys and the latest information from major new excavations such as Qatna (Syria), G#65533;bekli Tepe (Turkey) Includes a diverse range of perspectives by senior, mid-career and junior scholars in Europe, USA, Britain, Australia, and the Middle East for a truly international group Includes major reviews of the origins of agriculture, animal domestication, and archaeological landscapes Includes chapters dealing with periods after the coming of Alexander the Great, including studies of the Seleucid, Arsacid, Sasanian, Roman and Byzantine empires in the Near East, as well as early Christianity in both the Levant and Mesopotamia Fills a gap in literature of the Ancient Near East, dealing with topics often overlooked, including ethical and legal issues in antiquities markets and international scholarship
Diplomacy in the Middle East by
The Middle East has a distinctive diplomatic culture, shaped by history, geography and the social structures of Middle Eastern states.'Diplomacy in the Middle East'seeks to survey the diplomatic relationships and the foundations of foreign policy-making among the principal players in the region - Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, Iran, Turkey and Morocco. It also explores the Middle East policies of the four leading outside powers who have played such a crucial role in the region – the US, Britain, France and Russia. Searching for common themes and disparities in Middle East diplomacy, the contributors pose a number of questions: do states conduct their foreign policy consistently over time? Do perceptions of interest survive major regime changes? How far do domestic political criteria impact on diplomacy on the Middle East? Westerners tend to patronise Arabs for patterns of alliance-making and breaking, unity schemes that go awry, efforts to overthrow the neighbouring regime at one moment and meetings of brother Arabs the next. But is there an underlying logic to such actions missed by outside observers? This important work, edited and introduced by L. Carl Brown, who has also produced a wide-ranging bibliographic essay, will become a crucial addition to student reading lists and a valuable comparative survey for specialists of the Middle East, diplomatic history and international relations. The contributors to this volume are some of the most eminent specialists in their field. They include Remy Leveau, Wm. Roger Louis, William B. Quandt, Alvin Z. Rubinstein, Michael Doran, Bernard Reich, Laurie A. Brand, C. Ernest Dawn, Phebe Marr, I. William Zartman, Herman F. Eilts, Shaul Bakhash, George S. Harris and, of course, L. Carl Brown.
Economic and Political Issues in the Middle East by
This new book presents and discusses economic and political issues in the Middle East, with a particular focus on U.S. involvement and policies put in place as a result of these problems. Topics discussed herein include Israeli-Arab negotiations; Iran's economic conditions; U.S. foreign aid to the Palestinians; government formation and performance in Afghanistan; the Conflict of Gaza and the United Arab Emirates Nuclear Program and proposed U.S. nuclear cooperation.
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East by
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East is a two-volume A-to-Z reference to the history and culture of the peoples of Africa and the Middle East. This fascinating resource includes about 900 entries on the major peoples that have maintained a cultural identity in the area—from ancient to modern times—summarizing their history, migration, culture, belief system, social organization, and relationship to other peoples. Students will find entries on the Assyrians and the Asante, as well as entries on "Iraqis: nationality" and "Ghanaians: nationality," describing who they are today with cross-references to the various ancestral peoples.
Entries on all large or well-known groups include up-to-date information on their geography, origins, languages, history, and culture, with subsections on topics such as subsistence, religion, social and political structures, economy, government, military practices, dwellings and architecture, clothing, transportation, technology, art, music, and literature. Invaluable reference features include a chronology, glossary, bibliography, and a comprehensive index, and a fact sheet, timeline, examples of further reading, maps, and pictures complete this authoritative reference. Appendixes offer helpful background information on topics such as the regions of Africa, kinship systems, religious systems, and subsistence systems.
Freedom's Unsteady March by
President Bush promised to democratize the Middle East, but the results so far have dispirited democracy advocates and brought their project into disrepute. After the debacle in Iraq and the electoral success of Hamas, the pursuit of Arab democracy seems to many observers a fool's errand, an unfortunate combination of ideology and wishful thinking. In F reedom's Unsteady March , Tamara Cofman Wittes dissects the Bush administration's failure to advance freedom in the Middle East and lays out a better strategy for future efforts to promote democracy. Wittes argues that only the development of a more liberal and democratic politics in the Arab world will secure America's long-term goals in the region and that America must continue trying to foster progress in that direction. To do so, however, it must confront more honestly the risks of change and act more effectively to contain them. A dangerous combination of growing populations, economic stagnation, and political alienation poses the primary threat to Middle East stability today, severely testing the legitimacy and governability of key states such as Egypt and Saudi Arabia. If Arab governments cannot sustain the support of their citizens, they will find it difficult to work with America on issues of common concern such as stabilizing Iraq, confronting Iran on nuclear weapons, and promoting Arab-Israeli peace. Despite President Bush's failures, Wittes argues, the United States cannot afford to ignore the momentous social, economic, and political changes already taking place in Arab states. Wittes' detailed analysis of Arab politics and American policy presents an alternativein her view, the only alternative: overcoming America's deep ambivalence about Arab democracy to support positive, liberal change in the region that will create a firmer foundation for Arab-American ties.
Need to Know? Islam by
Essential overview for everyone who wants to understand what Islam is and what it means today.
The Next Founders by
The Next Founders brings to light the stories of seven remarkable people, six Arabs and an Iranian. Five are men; two, women. Four are Sunnis, two are Shiites, and the seventh is mixed. Their lives revolve around a sense of mission, and while the angles from which they attack it are varied, this mission is the same for all seven--to make their countries more free and democratic.
Power and Succession in Arab Monarchies by
This exhaustive reference traces the rise of each ruling family, outlines key constitutional developments, provides details on current rulers and their approaches to succession, and discusses potential contenders to power.
Lawrence in Arabia by
A narrative chronicle of World War I's Arab Revolt explores the pivotal roles of a small group of adventurers and low-level officers who orchestrated a secret effort to control the Middle East, demonstrating how they instigated jihad against British forces, built an elaborate intelligence ring and forged ties to gain valuable oil concessions.
