Combination of weather conditions at a particular place over a period of time - usually a minimum of 30 years.
The continuous flow of nitrogen through the biosphere by the processes of nitrogen fixation, ammonification (decay), nitrification, and denitrification.
The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History
This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
by
Consisting of original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics, this landmark work maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this young and growing field.
A Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy
by
This comprehensive, revised Handbook pushes the frontiers of theoretical and empirical knowledge, and provides a state-of-the-art examination of the multifaceted effects of globalisation on environmental governance.
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
by
The essential reference source to enable all those with an interest in the politics of the environment to explore topics in international environmental politics.
American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
by
A collection of biographies of the men and women who have made a significant contribution to environmental issues over the last 200 years. Biographies range from scientists to advocates, businessmen to musicians, politicians to actors, along with others who have forever altered how we think about the environment.
Environmental History and Global Change: A Dictionary of Environmental History
An introduction to the discipline is followed by almost 1,000 entries covering key terminology, events, places, dates, topics, as well as the major personalities in the history of the discipline.
The Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
Provides a complete guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.
Guide to Global Hazards
by
A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.
Guide to the Oceans
by
An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.
The Princeton Guide to Ecology
by
A concise, authoritative reference to ecology's major subjects and key concepts.
The Visual Guides: Understanding the Earth
The Visual Guides series answers the most important questions on topics that fascinate everyone through a series of videos and animations: weather, the human body, the Earth, the universe and plants. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in these areas.
The Visual Guides: Understanding Weather and The Environment
The Visual Guides series answers the most important questions on topics that fascinate everyone through a series of videos and animations: weather, the human body, the Earth, the universe and plants. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in these areas.
Atlas of Climate Change
by
This highly acclaimed atlas distills the vast science of climate change, providing a reliable and insightful guide to this rapidly growing field. Climate change has climbed even higher up the global agenda. This new edition reflects the latest developments in research and the impact of climate change, and in current efforts to mitigate and adapt to changes in the worlds weather.
Print Titles
Digital Titles (on Flipster)