LibGuides: Climate Change: Climate Change Overview

Online Resources & Organizations

(AAAS - American Association for the Advancement of Science) Global Climate-Change Resources
(AMS - American Meteorological Society) - STATE OF THE CLIMATE IN 2009
(C2ES) Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
(Climate.gov) from NOAA
(Climate Central) An independent organization of leading scientists and journalists researching and reporting the facts about our changing climate and its impact on the public.
(Climate Feedback)
(CSIRO Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation ) - Atmosphere and Climate
(DOE) Department of Energy
(EDF) Environmental Defense Fund
(EPA) Climate Change (January 19, 2017) This reflects the information available from the EPA prior to its removal of information in April 2017. “...the United States Environmental Protection Agency is undergoing changes that reflect the agency’s new direction under President Donald Trump and Administrator Scott Pruitt. The process, which involves updating language to reflect the approach of new leadership, is intended to ensure that the public can use the website to understand the agency's current efforts.”
(ICSU) International Council for Science ICSU’s mission is to strengthen international science for the benefit of society. To do this, ICSU mobilizes the knowledge and resources of the international science community to: Identify and address major issues of importance to science and society. Facilitate interaction amongst scientists across all disciplines and from all countries. Promote the participation of all scientists—regardless of race, citizenship, language, political stance, or gender—in the international scientific endeavour. Provide independent, authoritative advice to stimulate constructive dialogue between the scientific community and governments, civil society, and the private sector.
more...less...
The International Council for Science (ICSU) is a non-governmental organisation with a global membership of national scientific bodies (122 Members, representing 142 countries) and International Scientific Unions (31 Members).
(IISD) International Institute for Sustainable Development
(IPBES) Intergovernmental Science-Policy Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services
(IPCC) Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the international body for assessing the science related to climate change. The IPCC was set up in 1988 by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to provide policymakers with regular assessments of the scientific basis of climate change, its impacts and future risks, and options for adaptation and mitigation.
(IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) Climate Change 2014 Synthesis Report Summary for Policymakers This Synthesis Report is based on the reports of the three Working Groups of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), including relevant Special Reports. It provides an integrated view of climate change as the final part of the IPCC’s Fifth Assessment Report (AR5).
(IUGG) International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics
(NAS - National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, & Medicine) Climate Change at the National Academies
(NASA) Climate mobile apps
(NASA) Global Climate Change
(NASA Earth Observatory) Global Warming
(NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC): SEVEN THINGS TO KNOW ABOUT CLIMATE CHANGE
(NCEI) - National Centers for Environmental Information
(NOAA) - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
(NOAA - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) - Global Climate Change Indicators
(NSIDC) Climate Change in the Arctic
(NSIDC - National Snow & Ice Data Center) - Glaciers and climate change
(SDSN) Sustainable Development Solutions Network
(UN) United Nations Due to the powers vested in its Charter and its unique international character, the United Nations can take action on the issues confronting humanity in the 21st century, such as peace and security, climate change, sustainable development, human rights, disarmament, terrorism, humanitarian and health emergencies, gender equality, governance, food production, and more.
(UN) United Nations - Climate Change Newsroom
(UN) United Nations - Convention to Combat Desertification
(UNEP - United Nations Environment Programme) Climate Change
more...less...
UN Environment’s Climate Change Subprogramme helps countries to pursue low- emission development pathways and boost their adaptation and resilience capacities. We provide this support by addressing the different elements of the climate continuum – science, policy, technology and finance. Our work supports the achievement of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, particularly Goal 7 (Affordable and Clean Energy) and Goal 13 (Climate Action).
(USGCRP) U.S. Global Change Research Program The U.S. Global Change Research Program (USGCRP) was established by Presidential Initiative in 1989 and mandated by Congress in the Global Change Research Act (GCRA) of 1990 to “assist the Nation and the world to understand, assess, predict, and respond to human-induced and natural processes of global change.”
(WCP - World Climate Programme) The World Climate Programme (WCP) primarily aims at enhancing climate services with adequate focus on user interaction, to facilitate evermore useful applications of climate information to derive optimal socio-economic benefits and thereby underpins the Global Framework for Climate Services (GFCS). The scope of WCP is to determine the physical basis of the climate system that would allow increasingly skilful climate predictions and projections, develop operational structures to provide climate services and to develop and maintain an essential global observing system fully capable of meeting the climate information needs.
(WCRP) World Climate Research Programme The World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) facilitates analysis and prediction of Earth system change for use in a range of practical applications of direct relevance, benefit and value to society. WCRP aims to determine the predictability of climate and the effect of human activities on climate.
(WGMS) World Glacier Monitoring Service
(WMO - World Meteorological Organization)
(Yale Climate Connections) Yale Climate Connections is a nonpartisan, multimedia service providing daily broadcast radio programming and original web-based reporting, commentary, and analysis on the issue of climate change, one of the greatest challenges and stories confronting modern society.

Climate Change Reports

2018 EMISSIONS GAP REPORT (UN)
Climate Science Special Report Fourth National Climate Assessment (NCA4), Volume I (CSSR)
The Critical Decade (Climate Commission) The Climate Commission brings together internationally renowned climate scientists, as well as policy and business leaders, to provide an independent and reliable source of information about climate change to the Australian public.
FOURTH NATIONAL CLIMATE ASSESSMENT (Volume II: Impacts, Risks, and Adaptation in the United States) (U.S. Global Change Research Program)
Global Change and Extreme Hydrology: Testing Conventional Wisdom (National Research Council)
Global Climate Report (updated monthly) (NOAA)
IPCC Assessment Reports
Kyoto Protocol
Stern Review Report on the Economics of Climate Change (UK National Archives - HM Treasury)
United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change

Global Warming Timeline

Discovery of Global Warming (Spencer Weart & American Institute of Physics, National Science Foundation Here are gathered in chronological sequence the most important events in the history of climate change science.

Climate Change Advocacy Groups

350.org
EDF
EDGI Environmental Data & Governance Initiative The Environmental Data & Governance Initiative (EDGI) is an international network of academics and non-profits addressing potential threats to federal environmental and energy policy, and to the scientific research infrastructure built to investigate, inform, and enforce. Dismantling this infrastructure -- which ranges from databases to satellites to models for climate, air, and water -- could imperil the public's right to know, the United States' standing as a scientific leader, corporate accountability, and environmental protection.
Nature Conservancy
Sierra Club
Union of Concerned Scientists

Articles Search & Reference

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A general knowledge database focused on scholarly research that covers topics like science, art, biology, history, politics, literature, and more.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reporting on current and controversial social issues. Includes multiple viewpoints and references to books, articles, and websites.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
CREDO's got it all. With wide coverage with basic information, access over one thousand reference books including all types of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographies.

Encyclopedia of Earth The Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic specialized encyclopedias and reference books on a wide variety of subject areas that can be searched individually or as a whole
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Environmental Studies (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window An interdisciplinary portal to news, commentary, audio, video, primary source documents, images, conference reports, and statistics related to sustainability and environmental studies.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text resources covering a variety of topics. Discover materials in a collection of over one thousand periodicals, plus reference books, primary source documents, and an image collection.

Science.gov Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
WorldWideScience.ORG WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world.

Journals

EJOURNALS
Click here to access the eJournals listed below.

Print Journals

Bioscience - eJournal
Journal of Soil and Water Conservation
Science Advances (AAAS) - eJournal
Science Magazine Online (AAAS) - eJournal
Science News
Scientific American

Related Libguides

Environment
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Jul 24, 2024 88 views this year
Energy
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 25 views this year

Ask Here

Ross Sempek

Email Me

Contact:

208-732-6505