Latin America: Culture

From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
After his doctoral research in Muquiyauyo, Peru, Richard Adams chose to work in applied anthropology in Latin America.

From Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
A dominant figure in Andean studies, professor and rector of the Universidad Mayor de San Marcos, founder (1975) and editor of Revista de crítica literaria latinoamericana, Cornejo Polar also wrote one of the earliest (1973) and best studies of José María Arguedas.

After serving as a professor in various European universities, Dorfman settled into a career as professor of Spanish American literature at the University of Maryland.

From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
The overriding concern of Escobar’s work has been the examination of dominant social orders with an eye to their transformation.

From Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Molloy is one of the most insightful contemporary Latin American literary critics, and a creative writer of remarkable originality.

From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
June Nash’s four decades of highly original ethnographic research has focused on community, culture, capitalism, and globalisation across the political economies of the Americas.

From Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
A survey of the works of P. F. suggests that his family's exile from Cuba in 1961 has exerted a powerful influence on the author's vision as a writer. Through his poetry and prose, P. F. engages in an ongoing literary exploration of the space between Cuban and American cultures in which the identity of bicultural individuals is forged.

From Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
Rama was one of the most vital contemporary cultural thinkers, whose untimely death in a plane crash (along with his wife Marta Traba and the writers Jorge Ibargüengoitia and Manuel Scorza) left a vacuum in Latin American thought.

From Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Anthropologist, communist, politician, public servant, institution-builder, fiction writer, and movie maker, Darcy Ribeiro was a multi-faceted, influential, and prolific author.

From Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
These studies had their origins in the student activism, identity politics, and intellectual foment of the civil rights movement of the 1960s. Like the other nationalist movements of the era, it emerged as a field of scholarly inquiry that placed special emphasis on linking academic research with the politics of social justice.

In conventional usage, the term refers to those countries of the American continent that share a history of Spanish, Portuguese and French colonialism. However, the term also is widely used to denote all countries south of the USA (Lewis and Wigen, 1997, p. 182).

From Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
Social movements of the civil rights era (1954-68) called attention to the plight of Latinos in the United States, particularly that of Chicanos and Puerto Ricans, the largest Latino subgroups, both of which were incorporated into the United States through conquest.

Spanish film director and screenwriter; films include All About My Mother (Todo Sobre Mi Madre, 2003).

From Chambers Film Factfinder
She became a bestselling recording artist and the highest paid Latina actress in the world, noted as much for her diva reputation, shapely derrière and range of perfumes as for her performances.

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Her career took off internationally in the 1980s through her collaboration with Pedro Almodóvar, winning the Best Actress Award at the European Film Awards in 1988 for her performance in his Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Of Mexican-Indian and Mexican-Irish parentage, he was tall, swarthy, and powerfully built, and early in his career played dozens of Native American and outlaw roles. Thereafter, he was cast as a rugged ethnic or exotic of varying backgrounds.

From Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture
One of the greatest idols of Spanish-language cinema, Mario Moreno Reyes, better known as Cantinflas, gained international recognition through his rendering of a purely local character, the peladito.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Spanish film director and screenwriter. He was a key figure in the New Spanish Cinema movement of the 1960s.

Member of the Romance group of the Italic subfamily of the Indo-European family of languages.

Member of the Romance group of the Italic subfamily of the Indo-European family of languages.

Among the more important Romance languages are Catalan, French, Italian, Portuguese, Occitan, Rhaeto-Romanic, Romanian, and Spanish. The spread of some Romance languages to other parts of the world, especially the Western Hemisphere, accompanied the colonizing and empire-building of the mother countries of these languages, notably Spain, Portugal, and France.

Member of the Romance group of the Italic subfamily of the Indo-European family of languages.

Colombian novelist, short-story writer, and journalist, born in Aracataca.

Argentine poet, critic, and short-story writer, b. Buenos Aires.

Chilean poet, diplomat, and Communist leader.

Poet, born in Mexico City, Mexico.

Mexican artist. Self-taught after a crippling accident at the age of 15 which left her in agonizing pain for life.

Mexican mural painter, studied as a youth with Posada and other Mexican painters; husband of Frida Kahlo.