Presents a performance of Irish dance and music, with American, Spanish, and Russian performers as well.
Beyond the steps: Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater by Phil Bertelsen
Call Number: DVD GV1786.A42B49 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Black Swan by Darren Aronofsky
Call Number: DVD PN1997.B53 2010
Publication Date: 2011
Carmen by Mats Ek
Call Number: DVD GV1790.C376 C37 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Dance Composition Basics: capturing the choreographer's craft by Pamela Anderson Sofras
Call Number: DVD GV1782.5.S64 2006
ISBN: 0736055320
Publication Date: 2006
Don Quixote: a ballet in three acts by Baryshnikov, MikhailSet in sunny Spain, Don Quixote has always been popular in icy Russia. Choreographed by Mikhail Baryshnikov after Petipa and Gorsky for American Ballet Theatre, it is again a pretext for marvelous dancing. The plot is simple: in Barcelona, young Kitri and her lover Basilio must outwit her father, who wants her to marry the rich Gamache. Kitri's incidental protector is Don Quixote, who sees the feminine ideal in all the women he meets. The path of the plotting lovers travels through a tavern, a gypsy camp, a windmill attack, a fake suicide, and finally a festive wedding. Baryshnikov both pays homage to and revitalizes one of the most popular and joyful ballets in the surviving Russian imperial ballet's repertory.
Call Number: DVD GV1790.D667 D66 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Dynamic dance: principles of choreography by Janet Roston
Call Number: DVD GV1782.6.D96 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Fosse by Ben Vereen
Call Number: DVD GV1785.F67F672 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Foxtrot by Alison Hurwitz
Call Number: DVD GV1751.F6 F69 2007 (2 discs)
Publication Date: 2007
The Freshest Kids by Israel
Call Number: DVD GV1796.B74F74 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Giselle by Marius PetipaA country girl falls in love with a nobleman disguised as a peasant, with tragic results.
Call Number: DVD GV1790.G574 D57 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Glory of the Bolshoi by Matheson, JuliaDuring the Bolshoi Ballet's first tours abroad in the mid-20th century, Western audiences were brought to their feet by the Bolshoi style-thrilling athleticism that never lost the essential beauty of the dance. Five years research in Russia's film archives has unearthed fascinating footage, much of it never before available in the West, of many of the company's great dancers.
Call Number: DVD GV1786.B657 G56 1995
Publication Date: 1995
The Glory of the Kirov by Matheson, JuliaFrom the early days of this century, the Maryinsky Ballet, later the Kirov, dazzled audiences with the beauty of the dance. Five years research in Russia's archives has unearthed fascinating footage, much of it never before available in the West, of many of the company's great dancers.
Publication Date: 1995
The History of Modern Dance by James Holzknecht
Call Number: DVD GV1783.H57 2008
Publication Date: 2008
How to create award-winning competition choreography by Terry Schulke
Call Number: DVD GV1782.5.H69 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Last Dance: A Collaboration between Pilobolus Dance Theatre & the Night Kitchen Theater by Mirra Bank
Call Number: DVD GV1782.L37 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Mao's Last Dancer by Bruce BeresfordBased on an inspiring true story, this emotionally powerful crowd-pleaser emerged as one of the year's most talked about independent films. It's the fascinating and epic tale of Li Cunxin, a peasant boy from rural China who beats impossible odds to become a world-renowned ballet dancer. Through breathtaking talent and sheer determination, Li makes his way to the United States, but when he falls in love with an American woman, he must risk everything to remain in the land of the free.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.2 .M367 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Nutcracker by Peter Tschaikovsky
Call Number: DVD GV1790.N8N88 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Le roi danse = The King is dancing by Gerard Corbiau
Call Number: DVD PN1997.R65 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Rumba by Alison Hurwitz
Call Number: DVD GV1796.R8 R86 2007 (2 discs)
Publication Date: 2007
Swan Lake by Kevin McKenzieAt his 21st birthday celebration, Prince Siegfried is dismayed to learn that now he is of age, his marriage is to be arranged. He goes hunting, and sees beautiful swan wearing a crown. As dusk falls, she is transformed into a beautiful woman. She is Odette, the Swan Queen, and the other swans are other enchanted girls. The spell will be broken if a man, pure in heart, pledges his love to her. Prince Siegfried's mentor, Von Rothbart, is responsible, for he is an evil sorcerer. At a ball, Von Rothbart disguises his daughter Odile as Odette, and the Prince is captivated, and confesses his love. Odette, spying through a window, rushes away in despair, certain that she is doomed to be a swan forever. Will Prince Siegfried betray her, or find some way to free his beloved?
An Invitation to Dance: A History of Social Dance in AmericaThis online exhibit from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) traces the history and culture of social dance in the United States. For early Americans, as the introduction explains, social dance was a form of communication, an acknowledgement of rank and class, and a means of cultural expression. Dances came to 18th and 19th century America from France, England, Scotland, and Ireland, then mixed with one another to create new forms. In addition to the thorough introduction, readers may like to explore sections dedicated to Origins, Language, Types, Fashion, Opposition, and Etiquette, as well as a Bibliography for those interested in browsing the primary and secondary sources behind the exhibit. The Opposition section may be of special interest, as it features diatribes by founding Puritans such as Increase and Cotton Mather, George Whitefield, and others who objected to the spectacle of men and women engaging in the sins of carnality that were implied by "mixed" dances.
New York Public Library Digital Collections: Jerome Robbins Dance Division Audio and Moving Image ArchiveThe Jerome Robbins Dance Division Audio and Moving Image Archive at the New York Public Library offers "a virtual space for dance enthusiasts and researchers alike to browse, search, compare, and comment on dance videos and images." In fact, without even clicking a link readers may view a recorded dance performance on the site's homepage. Moving through the site, there are a couple of easy ways to get to more collection materials. A band of thumbnail images promotes recently digitized items, however, many of these can only be viewed onsite at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Good thing, then, for those unfamiliar with the collection, that it is also possible to conduct a search that excludes all items that can only be viewed onsite. This retrieves a list of close to 800 videos that can be viewed remotely.
America Dances! 1897-1948: A Collector's Edition of Social Dance in FilmThis program presents original film clips of Americans dancing iconic and vintage dances. Dancetime Publications has culled footage from multiple archives and libraries to create this collection of pivotal dance moments reflecting changing trends, expertise, and taste. A chronicle of American dance culture, this retrospective ranges from people dancing at social events to top ballroom performers, as well as showing rare footage of African American and Latin dance heritage. Includes clips from silent films, newsreels, instructional films, and feature films comprise this video. Note: This historical recording may contain variations in audio and video quality based on the limitations of the original source material.
Armitage Gone Dance! Part 1: Alive & KickingIn this video, Karole Armitage discusses her background, influences, and collaborations. The program features excerpts from The Dream Trilogy (2004-2008) and showcases two works: Time is the echo of an axe within a wood (2004) and Ligeti Essays (2007).
BallerinaIn the grand tradition of the Ballets Russes comes a portrait of five Russian ballerinas from the Mariinsky Theatre (also known as the Kirov). Behind any great ballerina lies the discipline and rigor that comes from decades of training and practice. Superstars like Nijinsky, Baryshnikov and Pavlova established the reputation of Russian dancers as the best in the world. The five dancers profiled in this revealing film are tough, insightful and exceptionally talented; onstage they reveal no hint of the sweat, pain and hard work of the rehearsal studio. From Swan Lake to Romeo and Juliet, from the backstage studio to performing on stages around the world, Ballerina captures the sublime beauty of ballet, in all its resplendent glory. Featuring Diana Vishneva, Svetlana Zakharova, Ulyana Lopatkina, Alina Somova and Evgenia Obraztsova.
Dance on ScreenUsing archive footage, this film explores the relationship between dance and the camera and how they grew up together. The range goes from an 1896 “Danse serpentine” to a live cinema of Mahler 3 in 2013 while choreographers and dancers comment on what film and television means to them. TV producer Bob Lockyer and dance critic Clement Crisp present and comment on some of the most fascinating footage you will ever see. (91 minutes)
The DancerThe Dancer follows the young and gifted Katja Björner through years of intensive training at the Royal Swedish Ballet School as she develops into an international ballet star. Filmed with an eye toward conveying the physical aspects of dancing — the pain, sweat, and tears, as well as the exquisite beauty — The Dancer captures the fierce determination and struggle that goes into the desire to dance at the highest level.
Douglas Dunn & Jim Neu #1: Alive & KickingChoreographer Douglas Dunn and Playwright Jim Neu joined their talents to create Aerobia – a dance-theater work that pokes fun at America’s obsession with health clubs. This program features excerpts from a performance of Aerobia which was recorded at P.S. 122 in New York City in November, 2001. Douglas Dunn is one of New York’s most acclaimed choreographers. A former member of the Merce Cunningham Dance Company, Dunn has led his own company for the past 25 years. Jim Neu is one of New York theater’s best kept secrets. An artist who creates language that is comically elliptical and that typically includes phrases that contain both affirm and idea and negate it. In Aerobia dancers talk and dance all while gently poking fun at America’s fitness craze. The program also includes excerpts from an interview with the artists.
Douglas Dunn & Jim Neu #2: Alive & KickingThis is part two of a two-part series on choreographer Douglas Dunn and playwright Jim Neu. This program features additional excerpts from a performance of “Aerobia” which was recorded at P.S. 122 in New York City in November, 2001. Douglas Dunn is one of New York’s most acclaimed choreographers. A former member of the Merce Cunningham Dance Company, Dunn has led his own company for the past 25 years. Jim Neu is one of New York theater’s best kept secrets. An artist who creates language that is comically elliptical and that typically includes phrases that contain both affirm and idea and negate it. In “Aerobia” dancers talk and dance all while gently poking fun at America’s fitness craze. The program also includes additional excerpts from an interview with the artists.
DuetOn film and on stage, the duet is an open invitation, an opportunity for a dance, whether through a stirring expression, an outstretched hand, an arm around a waist, or an idolized body. A key feature of classical ballet and ballroom dancing, the duet still constitutes the very basis of choreographic work for all dancers. Whereas the solo is an act of resistance, inquiry or self-questioning, the duet forms the core of dance structure, the foundation of a critical dialogue, and the key to discovering each dancer’s gestures.
History of Modern DanceIn this program, dance historians, instructors, and choreographers trace the evolution of modern and postmodern dance. They explores the influences of such dance pioneers as Duncan, Fuller, St. Denis, Shawn, Balanchine, Graham, Laban, Wigman, Tamaris, Humphrey, Weidman, Limo+C2n, Sokolow, Ailey, Dunham, Cunningham, Taylor, Hawkins, Nikolais, and Bausch. Modern dance education is also disussed in the program.
Jennifer Muller/The Works: Alive & KickingIn this video, Jennifer Muller discusses her background, inspirations, influences, and technique. Watch excerpts from recent choreography: Miserere Nobis, Alchemy, Grass, Helix Rituals, and Whew!
Martha Graham Dance Company YouTube ChannelThose looking for something to augment their TV viewing are in luck. The Martha Graham Dance Company YouTube Channel provides videos of recent performances from 2020, archival selections dating back to the 1930s, interviews with dancers and choreographers, and compilations that were previously aired on television. Welcoming viewers to the channel is a short video with artistic director Janet Eilber, featuring snippets of several stunning performances. The rest of the channel's videos range in length from brief clips to longer pieces. For example, viewers will find a 30-minute recording of Appalachian Spring from the 1940s, with choreography and costumes by Martha Graham and music by Aaron Copland. Readers will also find an hour-long interview between Lloyd Knight, a dancer who joined the Company in 2005, and Lorenzo Pagano, who joined in 2012. Readers looking to stay active may enjoy the "Graham On Demand" fundamental videos, where viewers can learn dance techniques from the professionals.
Merce Cunningham and Dancers: Performance of an Experimental PieceAn experimental marriage of dance and video with the celebrated choreographer-dancer Merce Cunningham and company. Merce says they are not concerts but "events." His commentary links the various aspects of these performances. With Merce Cunningham, Ellen Cornfield, Meg Harper, Susana Hayman-Chaffey, Cathy Kerr, Chris Komar, Robert Kovich, Brynar Mehl, Charles Moulton, Julie Roess-Smith, Valda Setterfield, (Dancers of the Cunningham Dance Co.)
Prima BallerinaPrima Ballerina is a double portrait of two icons of contemporary Russian ballet. Svetlana Zakharova of the Bolshoi Theater in Moscow and Ulyana Lopatkina from the Mariinsky Theater in Saint Petersburg are perhaps unmatched in today's ballet, and might be ranked amongst the greatest ballerinas of all time. Each have their own unique style and personality, on stage and off, as shown in these breathtaking films. Revealing interviews with Zakharova and Lopatkina, as well as their fellow dancers, coaches and dance critics provide an inside perspective on the motives, the agonies and the joys of a prima ballerina at the top of her game. Extended and transporting sequences from classics of the repertoire such as Swan Lake, Shehezradze, Sleeping Beauty, The Legend of Love and many others provide a front row seat to an incomparable art.
SecundariaThis film follows one high school class on its journey through Cuba's world-famous National Ballet School. The teens love to dance, but for many of them, dance is also their sole escape from a life of poverty. The documentary begins as an observational portrait, but takes a turn when the main character, Mayara, takes charge of her destiny in an astonishing way. Suddenly, this simple portrait shifts dramatically, as Mayara's action surprises everyone: teachers, friends, family and, ultimately, the filmmaker herself.
Story/Time: Bill T. Jones and the Arnie Zane DanceDirector and choreographer Bill T. Jones returns to the stage at the center of a new work for his renowned company. Inspired by legendary artist and composer John Cage’s Indeterminacy, a performance of seventy one-minute stories interrupted by a chance musical score, Jones creates a collage of dance, music, and seventy of his own short stories, arranged anew for each performance by chance procedure. In Story/Time, Jones fuses the age-old art of storytelling with a vibrant landscape of contemporary movement and music. The experience challenges audience members to find meaning and connection in the sweep of randomized, disparate elements. Jones’ short stories are drawn from his own life and tales handed down through the generations of his family. In layering a traditional form against the avant-garde compositional concerns of the mid-century modernists, the tension between high and low art is called in to question. (73 minutes)
Streb: Part 1: Alive & KickingIn part one of the series, Elizabeth Streb discusses her background, influences, action devices, and inspirations. Watch excerpts of The Catapult featuring the following dances: Wall Run Turn, Crash and Burn, Artificial Gravity, Polar Wander, and Roboto. Performed in 2009 at the Streb Lab for Action Mechanics.
Streb: Part 2: Alive & KickingIn the conclusion of this video series, Elizabeth Streb discusses her new work, inspirations, and the development of the Streb Lab for Action Machines (S.L.A.M.). Watch excerpts of Catapult featuring the Translation and Yellow Gizmo. Kidaction also performs. Recorded in 2009 at the S.L.A.M..
