Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library Catalog
Art and Practice of Dance and Movement Therapy by
Call Number: RC489.D3B44 1999
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
The Art of Making Dances by
Call Number: GV1782.5.H86 1987
Publication Date: 1991-08-01
Ballet and Modern Dance: a concise history by
Call Number: GV1787.A467 1992
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Brain-Compatible Dance Education by
Call Number: GV1799.G55 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Choreographing Difference: the body and identity in contemporary dance by
Call Number: GV1588.6.A43 1997
Publication Date: 1997-11-28
Choreography: a basic approach using improvisation by
Call Number: GV1782.5.M56 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-29
The Dance Claimed Me: a biography of Pearl Primus by
Call Number: GV1785.P73S39 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-31
Dance Composition Basics: capturing the choreographer's craft by
Call Number: GV1782.5.S64 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-20
The Dancing Goddesses: folklore, archaeology, and the origins of European dance by
Call Number: GR139.5.B37 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-11
Dancing to Learn: the brain's cognition, emotion, and movement by Explores the rationale for dance as a medium of learning to help engage educators and scientists to explore the underpinnings of dance, and dancers as well as members of the general public who are curious about new ways of comprehending dance. Among policy-makers, teachers, and parents, there is a heightened concern for successful pedagogical strategies. They want to know what can work with learners. This book approaches the subject of learning in, about, and through dance by triangulating knowledge from the arts and humanities, social and behavioral sciences, and cognitive and neurological sciences to challenge dismissive views of the cognitive importance of the physical dance. Insights come from theories and research findings in aesthetics, anthropology, cognitive science, dance, education, feminist theory, linguistics, neuroscience, phenomenology, psychology, and sociology. Using a single theory puts blinders on to other ways of description and analysis. Of course, all knowledge is tentative. Experiments necessarily must focus on a narrow topic and often use a special demographic--university students, and we don t know the representativeness of case studies.
Call Number: GV1588.5 .H36 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-17
The Diary of Vaslav Nijinsky by
Call Number: GV1785.N6N582D 1936
Publication Date: 1936
Embodied Philosophy in Dance : Gaga and Ohad Naharin's Movement Research by Representing the first comprehensive analysis of Gaga and Ohad Naharin's aesthetic approach, this book follows the sensual and mental emphases of the movement research practiced by dancers of the Batsheva Dance Company. Considering the body as a means of expression, Embodied Philosophy in Dance deciphers forms of meaning in dance as a medium for perception and realization within the body. In doing so, the book addresses embodied philosophies of mind, hermeneutics, pragmatism, and social theories in order to illuminate the perceptual experience of dancing. It also reveals the interconnections between physical and mental processes of reasoning and explores the nature of physical intelligence.
Call Number: GV1783 .K38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-27
Fonteyn and Nureyev: The Great Years by
Call Number: LARGE GV1785.A1M66 1994
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
Isadora: a sensational life by
Call Number: GV1785.D8K87 2001
Publication Date: 2001-11-15
Jump into Jazz: the basics and beyond for the jazz dance student by
Call Number: GV1784.K73 2005
Publication Date: 2004-07-21
The last guru : Robert Cohan's life in dance : from Martha Graham to London Contemporary Dance Theatre by
Call Number: GV1785.C598J335 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Modern Dance by
Call Number: GV1783.A54 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Nureyev: His Life by
Call Number: GV1785.N8S66 1998
Publication Date: 1999-11-01
Performance Studies: An Introduction by
Call Number: PN2041.A57S34 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-14
Quickstart to Social Dancing by
Call Number: GV1751.A44 1998
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Taking Flight: from war orphan to star ballerina by Michaela DePrince was known as girl Number 27 at the orphanage, where she was abandoned at a young age and tormented as a "devil child" for a skin condition that makes her skin appear spotted. But it was at the orphanage that Michaela would find a picture of a beautiful ballerina en pointe that would help change the course of her life. In this engaging, moving, and unforgettable memoir, Michaela shares her dramatic journey from an orphan in West Africa to becoming one of ballet's most exciting rising stars.
Call Number: GV1785.D37 A3 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Thinking with the Dancing Brain: embodying neuroscience by Thinking with the Dancing Brain examines the mind in action as it orchestrates skilled movement and how it understands the kinesthetic, symbolic language of dance. As seasoned dancers and dance educators, Minton and Faber's neurological research about the thought processes in learning and performing dance encompasses a vision of dance as creative art, communication, education, and life. This book seeks to inform neuroscientists, educators, and dancers about the complex interdependence of brain localities and the networking of human neurology through an integration of physiology, cognition, and the art of dance.
Call Number: QP376 .M56 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-14
Ebooks in the Library Catalog
African Dance by The ancient tradition of African dance has influenced dance styles all over the world. It is used to commemorate many annual ceremonies and activities, such as rites of passage and the harvest, and it is also an important form of recreation, religious expression, and storytelling. In African Dance, Second Edition, the varied cultures of Africa and their respective dances are explored, along with the effects that colonialism had on the art form.
Latin and Caribbean Dance by The various cultures in Latin America and the Caribbean have produced their own unique forms of dance. Latin and Caribbean Dance highlights dances indigenous to Cuba (mambo and cha-cha-cha), the Dominican Republic (merengue and bachata), Haiti (compas and Vodou ritual dances), Argentina (tango), and Brazil (samba and capoeira). Explore how each dance has developed and been adapted through European and African influences, as well as how they continue to develop in the modern world.
The Modern Dance by John Martin, arguably the first modern dance critic in America and trail-blazer for the art form's validity in the public sector, first published The Modern Dance in 1933 and claimed it to be "perhaps the first attempt...to analyze the American modern dance." The book is the text of four lectures delivered by Martin at the New School for Social Research in New York City (1931-1932) on the dance form as a philosophic perspective. Certain common principles underlie the many systems and methods of modern dancing, and these texts endeavor to discover a full explanation of the modern dance. The distinguishing characteristicswhat it is made of and how it differs from other types of danceform the starting point. Martin discusses the dance form as a philosophic perspective, considering (among other topics) the basic experience of physical movement, the effectiveness of beauty in form, metakinesis, vertical and horizontal rhythms and divergent approaches to art. The content is organized in four parts: Characteristics of the Modern Dance; Form; Technique; The Dance and the Other Arts.
Publication Date: 1989-01-01
The Place of Dance: A Somatic Guide to Dancing and Dance Making by The Place of Dance is written for the general reader as well as for dancers. It reminds us that dancing is our nature, available to all as well as refined for the stage. Andrea Olsen is an internationally known choreographer and educator who combines the science of body with creative practice. This workbook integrates experiential anatomy with the process of moving and dancing, with a particular focus on the creative journey involved in choreographing, improvising, and performing for the stage. Each of the chapters, or "days," introduces a particular theme and features a dance photograph, information on the topic, movement and writing investigations, personal anecdotes, and studio notes from professional artists and educators for further insight. The third in a trilogy of works about the body, including Bodystories: A Guide to Experiential Anatomy and Body and Earth: An Experiential Guide, The Place of Dance will help each reader understand his/her dancing body through somatic work, create a dance, and have a full journal clarifying aesthetic views on his or her practice. It is well suited for anyone interested in engaging embodied intelligence and living more consciously.
Publication Date: 2014-01-30
Tango Nuevo by The Argentine tango is one of the world's best-known partner dances. Though tango is much admired and discussed, very little has been written on its ongoing evolution. In this innovative work, Carolyn Merritt surveys tango history while focusing on the most recent iteration of the dance, tango Nuevo, and the pr#65533;ctica scene that has exploded in Buenos Aires since the early 2000s. After starting with an overview of tango, Merritt leads readers on a great adventure through the traditional dance halls and the less formal pr#65533;cticas of Buenos Aires to tango communities on both coasts of the United States. Along the way, Merritt's personal observations show the dance's emotional depth and the challenges dancers face in tango venues old and new. Her investigation also demonstrates how innovation, globalization, and fusion, which many associate with nuevo, have always been at work in tango. Combining sensuous prose, provocative images, and often heartbreaking stories, this book takes an unflinching look at the complex motivations driving the pursuit to master this intricate dance. Throughout, Merritt questions the "newness" of Nuevo through portraits of machismo, violence, and elitism in contemporary tango. The result is a volume that highlights the tensions between preservation and evolution of this--or any--cultural art form. Members of the global tango community as well as students of dance, folklore, anthropology, and the social sciences will embrace this book. For those who are devoted to Argentine tango as dance, this book will be indispensable to understanding its most recent transformations.
Publication Date: 2012-11-11
Getting Started with Your Research
Where to Look for Articles
ERIC Contains more than 1.4 million citations and abstracts, and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966. Covers journal articles, books, dissertations, and curriculum plans.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) Periodical database for serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.
Professional Development Collection Provides full text of over 520 education journals and nearly 230 educational reports.
Magazines in the Library
Dance Magazine (November 2008 - present)
JOPERD (Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, & Dance) 2003 - present