PtableEducators looking for ways to keep classrooms interactive in remote settings should check out Ptable, a highly regarded tool for chemistry teachers. Featuring the self-described "world's most popular periodic table," this interactive science site is packed with information and activities. A variety of unique features make Ptable stand out from similar sites. For example, data updates in realtime and is sortable by more than a dozen properties. More information about these features can be found under the About tab. Ptable can be focused on Properties, Electrons, Isotypes, and Compounds (using the corresponding tabs). The information displayed by toggling over individual elements varies based on this initial selection. For instance, the Properties view includes an element's melting and boiling points, while the Electrons view focuses on energy levels. The buttons in the upper-right corner allow users to adjust aesthetics, such as the screen width and background color. To find lesson plans that accompany the site's features, check out the Lesson Plans page under the Products tab (found at the bottom of the page). Michael Dayah created Ptable in 1997 and has frequently updated its content since.
About BioscienceTeachers and students of biology and other biosciences will find first-rate resources on this well-endowed and attractive site. Readers may like to start with the Bioscience Topics tab, where they will find sections dedicated to Animal Biotechnology, Biochemistry, Biodiversity, Bioethics, and a host of other related topics. Each subheading contains an explanatory article, links to resources around the web, and information about sub disciplines. For instance, the Cell Biology page features links to a Virtual Library of Biochemistry & Molecular Cell Biology, among others. Also of interest, the About Bioscience page boasts an entire tab dedicated to Bioscience careers, including job descriptions, salary ranges, educational requirements, and links to more specified sites. Of the many careers covered here, readers will find information about the working lives of Mammalogists, Genetic Counselors, Immunologists, and Entomologists.
Chemistry World BlogThe Chemistry World Blog, from the Royal Society of Chemistry, presents a wide range of chemistry-related concerns, from thoughts on the uses of Botox to winners of the Novartis Prize. Recent posts have examined the history (and chemistry) of synthetic dyes, posited ergotism as a possible contributor to the horrors of the Salem Witch Trials, and celebrated the discovery of four new elements. The site also features podcasts (one representative title: "Killer sausages and the ditching twitches"), and allows readers to scout entries by tags, by categories, and with a keyword search. Finally, the Chemistry World Blog provides links to a number of other equally fascinating, equally erudite chemistry blogs, such as Chembark, Chemical Musings, and In the Pipeline.
Compound InterestAndy Brunning, a chemistry teacher from Cambridge, England, has created this site as a way to examine the chemical compounds we encounter on a day to day basis. With a keen eye to graphic design, Brunning's posts often feature or are accompanied by engaging graphics intended for educational purposes. For example, Brunning has crafted a wonderful category called This Week in Chemistry, in which he presents a colorful infographic with approximately five articles and studies from the weekly news that have discussed chemistry in an accessible and fun manner.
Deep Carbon ObservatoryThe Deep Carbon Observatory (DCO) is an international community of approximately one thousand scientists dedicated to researching various aspects of carbon within the Earth across a wide range of disciplines. DCO's research is organized into four broad themes, each with a link on the main page: extreme physics and chemistry, reservoirs and fluxes, deep energy, and deep life. Scientists may like to explore DCO's data portal, which is a "searchable repository of data, datasets, and publications for helping to advance deep carbon science," as well as DCO's resources for early-career scientists. Science instructors may find their resources for educators helpful, which include downloadable modeling tools, educational videos, infographics, lectures, and webinars. Readers from all backgrounds may enjoy browsing content under DCO's science tab as well as their news section, which features hundreds of stories about DCO's decade of study. For example, in December 2018, DCO scientists reported that their research indicates the deep subterranean Earth contains far more life than previously believed, constituting "245 to 385 times greater than the carbon mass of all humans on the surface." Launched in 2009, DCO was established through seed funding from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.
Inquiry in Action (American Chemical Society)Elementary school science teachers may want to check out Inquiry in Action, a free resource provided by the American Chemical Society. Here, readers will find a collection of fully developed lesson plans on chemistry-related topics that are "based on phenomena students observe and explore through hands-on investigations." As of this write-up, the collection includes lesson plans for kindergarten, second grade, and fifth grade classes, with materials organized into thematic chapters. For example, kindergarteners have six lessons on weather-related phenomena, while the chapters for second grade introduce students to the concept of properties of matter, such as dissolving or floating and sinking. The lessons present the concepts "in a 5-E format (Engage, Explore, Explain, Evaluate, and Extend)." Each lesson plan includes background sheets for teachers, and many lessons for higher grade levels also include student activity sheets and student readings. All of the Inquiry in Action lessons are aligned with Next Generation Science Standards, and their materials can be downloaded for free as PDFs at the link above.
Isotopes MatterThe periodic table of elements is a familiar image for anyone who has spent time in a chemistry classroom, but despite all the information packed into those classic wall posters students today need to understand more than just the elements. This is the inspiration behind Isotopes Matter, a set of interactive educational resources from the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC). Visitors to Isotopes Matter will find a colorful interactive periodic table where clicking on each element brings up information on its isotopes, highlights a current use of that element, and links to a PDF with further isotopic information. In addition to this, Isotopes Matter also provides a set of peer-reviewed educational resources about isotopes and their atomic weights, which may be helpful for chemistry learners and teachers alike. Launched in 2016, these resources were created to accompany the IUPAC Isotopic Periodic Table and "designed to communicate the importance of isotopes and their diverse applications, while helping students and educators understand why atomic weight intervals have been introduced for some elements and how they should be used."
OrgChem101From the University of Ottawa comes OrgChem101, "a set of organic chemistry learning modules that provide structured guidance as you (the student) explore organic chemistry concepts." This resource features three interactive modules: organic chemistry nomenclature, organic reaction mechanisms, and organic acid-base reactions. Each module provides "interactive instructional videos, animations, and interactive activities that promote the mastery of concepts, provide feedback, and link to real-world contexts." Appropriate for use as a supplement to traditional classroom learning or for blended, flipped, or online learning, these modules are designed so that they can stand alone or be completed as a series. OrgChem101 bases its modules on the theory of metacognition, which it defines as "awareness of your knowledge (or lack thereof) and ... the strategies you use to plan and monitor understanding and performance." This valuable study and teaching resource can be accessed with registration for a free account and is available in both English and French. OrgChem101 was created by Alison B. Flynn, an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Ottawa whose research focuses on post-secondary chemistry and science education.
The Physics Classroom: Chemistry Concept BuildersPhysics educators may already be familiar with the highly regarded website The Physics Classroom, but chemistry instructors and students should also check it out. In addition to their numerous Concept Builders for physics (see the 5-18-2018 Scout Report), The Physics Classroom has recently created a series of Concept Builders for chemistry as well. For those unfamiliar with The Physics Classroom's Concept Builders, they describe them as "interactive questioning modules that present learners with carefully crafted questions that target various aspects of a concept." As of this write-up, the site offers 30 of these tutorial modules for chemistry, and the creators plan to add more during the upcoming academic year. Some of the concepts visitors will find covered on the site include fundamentals like significant digits and identifying the difference between chemical and physical properties, as well as topics including stoichiometry and the Bronsted-Lowry model of acids and bases. First launched in 1996, The Physics Classroom is the creation of Tom Henderson, a physics and chemistry teacher at Glenbrook South High School in Glenview, Illinois.
Te Secret Life of GoldChemistry educators and anyone curious to learn about gold may want to check out this article written by Grant Currin for the October 2019 issue of ChemMatters (see the 8-21-2015 Scout Report), an educational magazine published by the American Chemical Society. This informative and approachable article tells the story of how gold came into existence, an origin story that researchers have only recently begun to understand. In addition to the article, readers should take a look at the sidebar, where they will find a word puzzle about gold's diverse uses, an explanation of 24-karat gold and other gold alloys, a link to a related article exploring the idea of space mining, and more. High school chemistry teachers interested in assigning this article to their classes may appreciate its accompanying 11-page downloadable teacher's guide, which includes a pre-reading quiz, reading comprehension questions, the solution to the word puzzle, and suggestions for teaching strategies, among other tools. The article can be viewed online in full and also downloaded as a PDF that includes some of the sidebar content, and a Spanish translation is also available to download.
Stinks, Bangs and Booms: The Rise and Fall of the American Chemistry SetAs captivating as it is well designed, this unique website provides an interactive and cinematic experience that details the stages of invention, popularity, public disenchantment, and the eventual rebirth of the chemistry set. We love that users are kept engaged throughout the entire experience, progressing through the timeline by completing brief games and activities. Brimming with interesting facts, images, and quotations, this resource can be considered among the best examples of digital humanities for its use of digital tools and technologies to highlight the historical, cultural, and scientific facets behind this now iconic artifact.
Women in ChemistryMarie Curie, famous for her two Nobel Prizes and her work with radioactive elements, may be one of the most prominent women in the history of chemistry but many other women have also made significant contributions to this field. Here, readers will find nine videos created by the Science History Institute (formerly the Chemical Heritage Foundation) celebrating the contributions of eight of these women chemists. The first video, produced in partnership with WHYY Philadelphia for broadcast in 2013, is an hour-long television documentary showcasing the accomplishments of all eight women. Readers curious to learn more about any of these individuals should check out the remaining eight videos, which comprise a series of 15-minute films that each highlight one of the women and include a brief text description of her background and career. Examples include Stephanie Kwolek, who invented the Kevlar material used in body armor and Paula Hammond, a Professor of Engineering at MIT who researches nanotechnology.
Beyond the Elements: ReactionsJust about every solid, liquid or gas in the world begins with reactions between individual atoms and molecules. David Pogue dives into the transformative world of chemical reactions, from the complex formula that produces cement to the single reaction that's allowed farmers to feed a global population--a reaction that when reversed, unleashes the powerful chemistry of high explosives. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
Beyond the Elements: IndestructibleScientists and engineers have created virtually indestructible versions of common materials by manipulating the chains of interlocking atoms that give them strength--but have they made them too tough? Host David Pogue explores the fantastic chemistry behind the everyday materials we depend on, and how the quest for durability can be balanced with products' environmental impact. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
CEN OnlineFrom the American Chemical Society comes Chemical & Engineering News (CEN) Online - a YouTube channel designed to keep viewers informed about the latest news and developments in the world of chemistry research. Chemical & Engineering News, which is published weekly, is the flagship magazine of the American Chemical Society. Visitors will find the most recent CEN videos on the channel's homepage. Visitors can also browse past episodes through a number of themed playlists. For example, the Speaking of Chemistry series offers short videos about how chemistry impacts our life and society. The Headline Science series offers succinct and helpful overviews of new research studies and their significance. CEN Online may especially appeal to chemistry instructors interested in incorporating chemistry news into the classroom.
Chemistry : Conservation of MassChemistry teacher Jack Forrest carries out a number of quick and simple experiments with his year 7's to reinforce the idea that mass is always conserved. First, students mix colourless solutions of potassium iodide and lead nitrate together, to form a bright yellow mixture, clearly showing a chemical reaction has taken place. They weigh the solutions before and after mixing and observe that mass remains the same. Jack then demonstrates a classic Carbonate reaction, reacting marble chips and hydrochloric acid. Knowing mass is conserved; the group discuss why the mass decreases in this reaction. Finally, he finishes of by cooking popcorn kernels, which increase in volume when boiled, but the mass stays the same. Jack, a chemistry teacher at Stocksbridge High School finds these short, snappy experiments work well with lower age groups.
Corrosion ChemistryThis program is designed to introduce students to the chemistry involved in the process of corrosion. After illustrating how iron is refined and steel is made, Corrosion Chemistry explains the causes of corrosion, necessary conditions for corrosion to occur, which metals will corrode, redox reactions, galvanic cells, and corrosion minimization. Laboratory experiments and animated graphics are interspersed throughout. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (30 minutes)
Equilibrium and Advanced ThermodynamicsSome chemical reactions, like metal rusting, happen spontaneously. Others require external energy in order to occur. Expanding upon the basic thermodynamics of enthalpy from Unit 7, disorder (entropy) and Gibbs free energy are key to understanding what makes chemical reactions proceed thermodynamically. When the thermodynamics of a reaction prevent it from reaching completion, (both products and reactants are always present) it is called equilibrium. When equilibrium reactions are disrupted, such as the binding of oxygen by hemoglobin, as in carbon monoxide poisoning, it can be life threatening. Conversely, controlling an equilibrium reaction is important in chemical manufacturing, like in the synthesis of ammonia.
Introduction to PolymersThis in-depth, graphics-driven program introduces students to the world of synthetic and naturally occurring polymers. The video sheds light on a number of monomers and the processes of addition polymerization and condensation polymerization which produce a desired polymer. Properties of thermosetting and thermoplastic polymers are also investigated; likewise, the relationship between the physical properties of a material and the type of bonding that occurs both within and between molecules. The video also looks at elastomers, various degrees of cross-linking, and the process of vulcanization pioneered by Charles Goodyear. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. (29 minutes)
Teaching Systems Chemistry SeriesThe award-winning Standard Deviants tackle the massive world of chemistry. The positively charged cast of young actors will explain a massive amount about the materials that make up our universe and what happens when they react. No matter is left untouched as animated characters and on-screen graphics help viewers visualize the bonding at an atomic and massive level.
