LibGuides: Agriculture & Food: Forestry: DVD, Web, etc.

DVD

Going to Green : implementing urban greening. by Beverly Baroff "Going to Green deals with the restoration of America's urban landscape through the creation of sustainable neighborhood ecosystems. Each chapter is devoted to a specific subject and is accompanied by a lesson with service learning extension activities"
Call Number: DVD GE196.G65 2009 PT. 4
ISBN: 9780793670598
Publication Date: 2009

Podcasts & Blogs

YourForest Guided by a desire to better understand the natural world, inventory forester Matthew Kristoff launched Your Forest in 2017. The podcast is structured as a conversation between Kristoff and guests, who discuss "the things [they] love about the natural world and [their] work to protect and preserve it." In doing so, Kristoff hopes to "challenge our ideas of sustainability," and push listeners to think about the reasons for and results of our actions towards our planet. Recent episodes have covered the scientific stories housed in tree rings (see Episode 82, "Travel Back in Time with Trisha Hook") and the impact of wetlands on maintaining healthy ecosystems (see Episode 81, "Bogged Down with Ducks Unlimited: National Boreal Program"). As of this write-up, there are more than 80 episodes are available. Installments range in length, but are typically over an hour. Readers can find the full collection of episodes at the link above or on popular streaming services such as Apple Podcasts, Spotify, Google Play, and Stitcher.

Websites

British Columbia Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations
Forest Inventory & Analysis One-Click Factsheet Readers interested in exploring the forestry statistics about their home state may enjoy this Forestry Inventory & Analysis Factsheet. The resource provides "a brief overview of forest resources in each state based on an inventory conducted by the FIA program in cooperation with each State forestry agency." Factsheets were created using data from the USDA Forest Service's Forest Inventory and Analysis database. To explore the data, toggle over the map and click on a state, or use the dropdown bar in the lower left-hand corner to select a state from the alphabetized list. A link at the bottom of the page also provides a text-only version of the site. Once users have selected a state, they will be able to analyze and download state-specific data, including forest land ownership statistics, acreage estimates, and usage of forest resources. Readers should note that the data used were collected between 2016 to 2019, with data added as the site is updated. Those interested in archived versions of the data can find information under the Backpage tab.
Forestry Images
New Zealand Journal of Forestry Science
TreeGenes TreeGenes provides tools and data "to manage the flood of information resulting from high-throughput genomics projects in forest trees from sample collection to downstream analysis." Data is generated from a combination of sources, including the NCBI Genbank, PLAZA, and user suggestions. With connections to these federal databases, the resource curates data for over 2,000 species and nearly 200 genus. The genomic and phenomic information can be viewed on the Species page, which offers the option of conducting a search or browsing the samples. This information can also be found on (and downloaded from) the Data page, or filtered on the Search page. If visitors do not find a species they are looking for on the site, they may use the contact form to submit requests. In addition to data, TreeGenes houses other forestry resources. For example, the Community page hosts information about forestry-related jobs and conferences. On the Literature page, readers will find more than 25,000 articles from a diverse set of publications with records "connected to authors, species, and associated data." Finally, the Tools page links to genetic map repositories and other data submission applications. TreeGenes is supported by the National Science Foundation and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
US Forest Service: Fire Effects Information System
US Forest Service: Regions
Urban Forestry Toolkit Close your eyes and try to picture yourself in the middle of a forest. Where are you? Perhaps you are in Brazil's Amazon Rainforest or California's Redwood Park, or maybe Pittsburg, Pennsylvania's Urban Forest? While traditional notions of forestry often exclude urban settings, the Urban Forestry Toolkit provides resources to bring tree canopies to cities. The resources within the toolkit "are designed to help community managers and advocates in jurisdictions of all sizes to determine their current situation and be guided through a process at their own pace to reach goals of comprehensive urban forest management." The toolkit's 17 steps take users from start (Assess) to finish (Sustain). Each step has a range of supporting content, from statistics to studies to samples. For example, the seventh step , "Planning: Best Practices in Urban Forestry" (under the Plan tab), includes examples of cities that have successfully created and implemented urban forestry plans. The toolkit is a project of Vibrant Cities Lab, a collaboration between the U.S. Forest Service, American Forests, and the National Association of Regional Councils, on a mission to help individuals "discover how healthy tree canopy can enrich their own community and help guide them as they build an effective urban forestry program."
Virginia Tech: Forest Biology & Dendrology Education

Streaming Video

Career Options for Women: Forestry Meet three women who have embarked on successful careers in the forestry industry. This program profiles Karen Trimmer, a helicopter pilot who transports raw lumber by air; Lorraine Muskwa, a dispatch attendant for a large pulp mill; and Chantal Isabelle, a forest technician responsible for ensuring that woodland development stays within legal boundaries. Remarks from coworkers and supervisors provide additional layers to the descriptions of each job. Part of the series Career Options for Women: Emerging Opportunities. (24 minutes)
Congo Basin: Sustainable Forestry Among the largest, most pristine areas of tropical woodland on the planet, the Congo Basin forests could easily fall prey to shortsighted and exploitative commercial interests. This program looks at sustainable lumber production initiatives taking root in the region, with a focus on cutting-edge forestry management as well as economic growth through increased cooperation between local concession holders. Viewers join a planning team and a chain-saw crew in the remote woodlands of Gabon as they take great care to preserve the fragile ecosystem, and another team of advisors as they set up meetings between small African foresters—who, despite initial skepticism, see a need for collective economic leverage. Part of the series Sustainable Development: The World Challenge. (25 minutes)
The Green Economy: Sustainable Forestry Growing trees is not totally the job of Mother Nature anymore! Making sure logging doesn’t tax future growth too much is an ever more increasingly important task. Using a relatively new high tech invention, the helicopter, to harvest hasn’t been around that long but offers an interesting alternative to logging. We look at growing, managing and cutting of the new sustainable forest.