Browse OER Collections and Open Textbooks:
BC Open Textbook Project - managed by College & University in Vancouver, British Columbia (BCcampus): "Search for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats; the first step in adopting open educational resources. Search by subject and download them to your computer."
Cool4Ed - California Open Online Library for Education: "The three State of California Higher Education Systems are working together to provide you easy access to quality FREE and OPEN eTextbooks that everyone and anyone can use for teaching and learning"
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books." Contains over 27005 Academic peer-reviewed books from 371 publishers.
Global Text Project - Free Tech Books - a joint project of the Terry College of Business of the University of Georgia and The Daniels College of Business of the University of Denver. Publishes electronic texts for students in the developing world.
HippoCampus - a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students​.
Library of Congress - "This is a growing online collection of contemporary open access e-books. All of these books have been made available for download on the Library's website in keeping with the intent of their creators and publishers, which chose to publish these works under open access licenses to allow the broadest possible access and reuse."
Mason OER Metafinder - Multi-search platform from over 20 different sources of open educational materials.
MedEdPORTAL - The Journal of Teaching and Learning Resources - Peer-reviewed modules and publications are freely available
MERLOT - provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) - a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
M.O.S.T. Commons - "A collaborative, online space designed to support faculty and staff in adopting, creating, and sharing open educational resources (OER)."
NanoHUB - a resource for nanoscience and nanotechnology, supported by the National Science Foundation and other funding agencies.
OAPEN - "The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search) - open-content search discovery tool from 95 different sources and over 367,883 records.
OER Commons - "OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum." ISKME (Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education)
OKR - Open Knowledge Repository - World Bank
Open Education Consortium - "a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education"
Open Research Library - "The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books. This vital infrastructure is slated to comprise the most comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed Open Access books accessible for everyone."
Open Textbook Library - "The Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks." University of Minnesota
OpenStax - founded at Rice University, OpenStax CNX (formerly Connexion) provides free access to thousands of learning objects in various disciplines.
Pressbooks Directory - "This directory provides an index of 1652 books published across 80 Pressbooks networks. Search and filter books by keyword, subject matter, license, and more."
Teaching Commons - OER resources from leading colleges and universities. Includes Boise State open textbooks added to ScholarWorks.
Wikibooks - "Simply, Wikibooks is a collection of open-content textbooks. Wikibooks is for textbooks, annotated texts, instructional guides, and manuals. These materials can be used in a traditional classroom, an accredited or respected institution, a home-school environment, as part of a Wikiversity course, or for self-learning. As a general rule, only instructional books are suitable for inclusion."
"Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 95 different sources and contains 367,883 records." ~ https://oasis.geneseo.edu/
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)Federated search for traditional OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive, and NYPL Digital Collections. ~ https://oer.deepwebaccess.com/oer/desktop/en/search.html