Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER): Image & Video Resources

IMAGE RESOURCES

Free Image Resources
Note: Always check the license for each image to find out if the work can be freely used and whether you need to attribute the creator.

Artstor  - Images for Academic Publishing (IAP)
IAP images in Artstor that can be used free of charge in scholarly publications.

Embed images for Blogs and Social Media with Embed | Getty
50 million free embeddable images.

flickr: British Library Public Domain Images
Over 1 million images available.

flickr: Creative Commons
Use the Advanced Search to find photos with a Creative Commons license.

freeimages
Over 350,000 stock photos.

Image*After
More than 27,000 free stock images.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.

Open Content Program | The Getty
Free access to the Getty's digital resources.

Pixabay 
Over 330,000 free photos, vectors and art illustrations.

Public Domain Pictures
A repository for free public domain images.

Smithsonian Open Access
"...download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo."

U.S. Government Photos and Images
Includes public domain images that can be used free of charge. Some include the Library of Congress, NASA, and the National Gallery of Art.  

Wikimedia Commons
Free media files (images, sounds and video).  

VIDEO RESOURCES

Free Video Resources

Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR)
Some of the Lesson Plans include links to videos.

Internet Archive's Moving Image Archive
Offers permanent access to historical collections in digital form. Includes cartoons, films, documentaries, movie trailers and more.

Vimeo
A place to upload videos that you create yourself and a place to search for videos.
Search Vimeo by Creative Commons licenses

YouTube
To find videos with a CC license first do a search for your content, then click the "FILTER" button on the results page to find the option to limit videos that have a Creative Commons license. 

FINDING IMAGES IN GOOGLE

Google Image Search https://images.google.com/

After doing an image search, select 'Tools,' and then narrow by 'Usage rights':

FINDING IMAGES IN BING

Bing Image Search - https://www.bing.com/images/
After you do an image search, you can narrow your results by type of license: 
1. Select "Filter" on the far right side of your screen.
2. Then select the drop-down box under "License" to see a list of license types.

 

MUSIC AND SOUND

Sites that offer music and sound published under Creative Commons:

YouTube Audio Library - "Browse and download free music for your project." Includes sound effects and genres. https://www.youtube.com/audiolibrary/music

ccMixter Music on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons license. You are free to download and sample from music on this site and share the results with anyone, anywhere, anytime. http://ccmixter.org/

Archive.org - "All music in this collection is from trade-friendly artists who have opted in and is strictly non-commercial, both for access here and for any further distribution."  https://archive.org/details/etree

Jamendo - "Free music downloads and streaming. Discover and explore 600000+ free songs from 40000+ independent artists from all around the world." https://www.jamendo.com/?language=en

HISTORICALLY UNDERREPRESENTED POPULATIONS

Openly licensed photo collections specializing in historically underrepresented populations:
 

The Gender Spectrum Collection: "The Gender Spectrum Collection is a stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models that go beyond the clichés. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities—people with careers, relationships, talents, passions, and home lives." License: CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 

Disabled And Here Collection "This collection is a disability-led effort to provide free and inclusive stock photos shot from our own perspective, featuring disabled BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) across the Pacific Northwest." 

Nappy: "Beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people." Creative Commons Zero (CC0)

PICNOI: "We are a coop of stock image photography. We recognize that most other FREE stock image sites have very few or no images of people of color. We sought out to create a space where publishers, bloggers, website owners, marketers, designers, graphic artists, advertisers and the like can easily search and find diverse multi-racial images." License: No attribution required, but can give credit by linking to site.

#WOCinTech: Free photos of women and non-binary people of color working in tech. License: CC-BY

CreateHer Stock: Free and for-fee stock photos of women of color. Licensing: Varies.