Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Achieving Musical Success in the String Classroom by
Call Number: MT259 .B88 2019
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
The Art of Practicing: a guide to making music from the heart by This landmark book enlightens amateur and professional musicians about a way of practicing that transforms a sometimes frustrating, monotonous, and overly strenuous labor into an exhilarating and rewarding experience. Acclaimed pianist and teacher Madeline Bruser combines physiological and meditative principles to help musicians release physical and mental tension and unleash their innate musical talent. She offers practical techniques for cultivating free and natural movement, a keen enjoyment of sounds and sensations, a clear and relaxed mind, and an open heart and she explains how to Prepare the body and mind to practice with ease Understand the effect of posture on flexibility and expressiveness Make efficient use of the hands and arms Employ listening techniques to improve coordination Increase the range of color and dynamics by using less effort Cultivate rhythmic vitality Perform with confidence, warmth, and freedom Photographs show essential points of posture and movement for a variety of instruments.
Call Number: ML3838.B78 1997
Publication Date: 1997-01-21
The Art of Successful Teaching: a blend of content & context by
Call Number: MT733.L34 1992
Publication Date: 1992-04-01
Basics of Music: Opus 1 by
Call Number: MT7.Z75 1994
Publication Date: 1993-12-17
Children Sing, Children Play: first and lasting experiences in music by
Call Number: MT948.W65 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-01
Developing Literacy and the Arts in Schools by
Call Number: LC149 .B37 2020
Publication Date: 2019-08-19
Finger Plays for Nursery and Kindergarten by Reprint of the 1893 ed.
Call Number: LB1177.P864 1971
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
A Galaxy of Games for the Music Class by
Call Number: MT948.A78 1975
Publication Date: 1975-07-01
Including Everyone by
Call Number: MT1.J45 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Inside the Music Classroom: Teaching the Art with Heart by
Call Number: MT10.B68 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The Kodaly Method: comprehensive music education from infant to adult by
Call Number: MT1.C537 1988
Publication Date: 1987-11-01
Lessons from the Music Room: a how-to guide for the beginning music teacher by
Call Number: MT1.B35 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-24
Line by Line : progressive staff method arrangements for elementary music literacy by In Line by Line: Progressive Staff Method Arrangements for Elementary Music Literacy, author Stephanie L. Standerfer harnesses years of pedagogical expertise in a practical guide that promotes music learning by experience rather than imitation and memorization. Using well-known songs andinstrumental accompaniments, this book contains a new practical method for teaching music literacy. The book's lesson plans first introduce concepts to the ear and body that allow students to internalize the sound and feeling before learning the symbol. Through this method, students learn andunderstand songs without the teacher modeling them and develop musicianship skills in the process. The arrangements include instrument parts for the typical complement of melodic instruments including glockenspiels, xylophones, and metallophones. Each arrangement includes at least one instrumentpart for more advanced learners, and one or more parts for students at lower skill levels. Music educators then complete individual lesson plans by teaching instrumental parts, again from notation instead of imitation. In this method, each song is taught over five to seven class periods as shortsegments of a regular class meeting, leaving time for other musical experiences such as listening lessons or folk dances. Taking every student into consideration, Line by Line also suggests ways to address specific student needs for those who need more time to process or who have specific diagnosed issues.
Call Number: MT1 .S73 2019
Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Marsalis on Music by Companion book to the PBS television series.
Call Number: MT7.M338 1995
Publication Date: 1995-10-17
Music in Childhood: from preschool through the elementary grades by
Call Number: MT1.C226 1995
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
The Music and Literacy Connection by The second edition of The Music and Literacy Connection expands our understanding of the links between reading and music by examining those skills and learning processes that are directly parallel for music learning and language arts literacy in the pre-K, elementary, and secondary levels. This edition includes two new chapters: one dedicated to secondary music education and teacher evaluation, and another that offers a literature review of latest literacy research in education, neuroscience, and neuropsychology. Readers will find extensive instructional examples for music and reading teachers so that they may enrich and support each other in alignment with current initiatives for twenty-first-century curricula. Instructional examples are aligned with The National Core Music Standards and the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts and Media Arts. Readers will find an in-depth review of the benefits of music learning in the listening, viewing, speaking and writing literacy as well as comprehensive information for children with special needs. The Music and Literacy Connection is a valuable resource for professional development, college literacy courses, and curriculum administrators.
Call Number: MT930 .H36 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-24
Music in Every Classroom: a resource guide for integrating music across the curriculum, grades K-8 by When used appropriately music can be a powerful tool to support and enrich learning. Developed for music specialists and nonspecialists, this annotated bibliography helps you find print and nonprint materials that support the integration of music across the K-8 curriculum. Arranged by subject area and topics within disciplines, the annotations describe the works and provide information on format and media, musical arrangement, individual song titles (for recorded material), and grade appropriateness in addition to standard bibliographic information. Emphasis is on educational resources and materials with practical applications rather than on theoretical works. Author/title and subject indexes provide quick and easy access.
Call Number: ML128.S25S66 1998
Publication Date: 1998-09-15
My Many Hats: juggling the diverse demands of a music teacher by
Call Number: MT10.W49 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
A Song Is a Rainbow: music, movement, and rhythm instruments in the nursery school and kindergarten by
Call Number: MT920.Z37 1982
Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Thinking with the Dancing Brain: embodying neuroscience by Thinking with the Dancing Brain examines the mind in action as it orchestrates skilled movement and how it understands the kinesthetic, symbolic language of dance. As seasoned dancers and dance educators, Minton and Faber's neurological research about the thought processes in learning and performing dance encompasses a vision of dance as creative art, communication, education, and life. This book seeks to inform neuroscientists, educators, and dancers about the complex interdependence of brain localities and the networking of human neurology through an integration of physiology, cognition, and the art of dance.
Call Number: QP376 .M56 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-14
This Is Your Brain on Music: the science of a human obsession by Explores the relationship between the mind and music by drawing on recent findings in the fields of neuroscience and evolutionary psychology to discuss such topics as the sources of musical tastes and the brain's responses to music.
Call Number: ML3830.L38 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-28
When Music Goes to School: perspectives on learning and teaching by Experts in child psychology and pedagogy concur that how children are schooled today seriously conflicts with how they learn and develop. Children are being left behind and the promises and possibilities of childhood are slipping away. This book aims to disclose a deeper understanding of music's importance in children's lives and their need to know, explore, wonder, and play. Directed toward music teachers, teacher educators, and scholars, this text invites inquiries and provides insights into contemporary challenges to learning and teaching in an era of standardization. A compendium of essays, classroom voices and vignettes is supported by relevant research in music education and companion disciplines in psychology, philosophy, and sociology. Storytelling with scholarship contributes authenticity and strengthens the premise of this book
Call Number: MT1 .L58 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-04
Alternative Approaches in Music Education: Case Studies from the Field by Explore the creative ways music educators across the country are approaching emerging practices in music teaching and learning. Outlined in twenty-five unique case studies, each program offers a new perspective on music teaching and learning, often falling outside the standard music education curriculum. Find innovative ideas and models of successful practice to incorporate into your teaching, whether in school, university, or community settings. Close the gap between music inside and outside the music classroom and spark student interest. The diversity of these real-world case studies will inspire questioning and curiosity, stimulate lively discussion and innovation, and provide much food for thought. Designed for music teachers, preservice music education students, and music education faculty, this project was supported by Society for Music Teacher Education's (SMTE) Areas of Strategic Planning and Action on Critical Examination of the Curriculum, which will receive a portion of the proceeds.
Publication Date: 2010-10-16
Art in Motion II: Motor Skills, Motivation, and Musical Practice by Musicians, dancers and athletes spend a tremendous amount of time and effort preparing for performance in the hope of success, aiming for certainty, flexibility and expressiveness. Their use of visualization, verbal labels, muscle energy, and emotion is often based upon intuition instead of knowledge. Art in Motion intends to fill this vacuum. Effective training and teaching hinge on motivation, self-regulation, useful feedback, and an understanding of perception, cognition, timing, motor skill learning, and automation. Information about empirical research concerning mental representations of movement and musical goals can drive the creative process, facilitating the artist at work. Innovative and intentional – purposeful and meaningful – techniques of practice are developed.
Publication Date: 2012-04-09
Building Strong Music Programs: A Handbook for Preservice and Novice Music Teachers by Building Strong Music Programs uniquely focuses on music programs in the public school community, providing strategies and tools for developing a vibrant music program and building community support. Covering relationships with colleagues, parents, staff, administrators, and the community at large, Charlene Ryan also provides tactics for developing courses, performances, and publicity to enhance your program. Build a repertoire of tried-and-true strategies covering curriculum, classroom management, special needs, concerts, assessment, budget, and more that are based on years of teaching at all levels. While program building is an essential, time-consuming part of every music teacher's job, students are rarely prepared for it. The questions for discussion and student assignments make this an excellent choice for preservice teacher training courses. Ryan covers issues important to student teachers, new teachers, teachers changing schools, and teachers looking to rejuvenate their existing programs. From student trips to music software to district ensembles to advocacy to entry-level instrumental courses, Ryan covers it all in this comprehensive handbook.
Publication Date: 2009-03-16
Children Composing 4-14 by Composing is part if the mainstream music curriculum for many children yet children's music does not receive the same attention as their art or creative writing. Children Composing 4-14 traces the ways in which composing can be organised and taught within the school music curriculum, drawing on children's own music-making activities. This practical book looks at how teaching composing can enable hildren to progress by acquiring musical skills and understanding, whilst developing their own sense of musical purpose. One of the main concern's of the book is the need to sustain continuity and quality in children's composing experience as they mover through each phase of music education. Children's Composing is considered in relation to the wider musical context in which they grow up, including cultural differences in composing roles and in perceptions of composing and composers. Projects that bring children into contact with professional composers are critically examined, and suggestions are made for ways of ensuring that composing in schools is rooted in the musical world outside. For more information, please visit the authors web site at: http://www.bathspa.ac.uk/children-composing/
Publication Date: 2000-12-13
Democracy and Music Education: Liberalism, Ethics, and the Politics of Practice by On the basis of Dewey's principles, Paul G. Woodford explores the social foundation of current music education practices in the context of democratic values of freedom, creativity, and contribution to society. He then critiques the means by which this ideal is learned by teachers and taught to students. Woodford concludes with recommendations for acknowledging democratic and non-democratic values in music teaching, teacher training, and performance, and suggests steps toward a "liberal" music education. Counterpoints: Music and Education
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Engaging Musical Practices: A Sourcebook for Middle School General Music by Middle school general music may be a student’s last encounter with school music. A practical book with accessible pedagogical resources on middle school general music is needed for methods courses and music practitioners' use. The book Engaging Musical Practices: A Sourcebook for Middle School General Music presents numerous ways to engage adolescents in active music making that is relevant to their lives so that they may be more apt to continue their involvement with music as a lifetime endeavor. Structured in twelve chapters, the book begins with perspectives on adolescent development and working with students with special needs. Five chapters are devoted to the pedagogy of teaching students practical musical skills such as singing, playing the keyboard, guitar, drums and percussion. Chapters on starting a steel band, using informal and formal music learning strategies, incorporating technology, implementing world music techniques, composing in the classroom, and the use of music-based learning centers lead the reader into implementing musical approaches focused on the doing of making music. The book is filled with musical examples, sample rubrics, and resource lists that take the reader beyond the book’s content. Engaging Musical Practices provides exciting and classroom-tested content that connects in and out of school music making for adolescents, generating excitement for musical participation. This book is a necessity for any practitioner who teaches students in the middle grades or as a text for secondary general music methods courses.
Publication Date: 2012-03-22
Getting Started with Middle School Chorus by New to teaching chorus? If so, you may be filled with anticipation and anxiety. Getting Started with Middle School Chorus is here to point you in the right directions. Like other books in the Getting Started series, there's enough specific information here to get you started and on your way! This second edition of Getting Started with Middle School Chorus gives you new information on working with young adolescent changing voices, designing optimal rehearsals for middle schoolers, managing growing choral programs, and helping youngsters gain musical skills they can carry with them for a lifetime of making music. This practical outline will help build your confidence as you take on the new responsibilities associated with teaching middle school chorus.
Publication Date: 2009-08-15
Max/MSP/Jitter for Music by In Max/MSP/Jitter for Music, expert author and music technologist V. J. Manzo provides a user-friendly introduction to a powerful programming language that can be used to write custom software for musical interaction. Through clear, step-by-step instructions illustrated with numerous examples of working systems, the book equips readers with everything they need to know in order to design and complete meaningful music projects. The book also discusses ways to interact with software beyond the mouse and keyboard through use of camera tracking, pitch tracking, video game controllers, sensors, mobile devices, and more. The book does not require any prerequisite programming skills, but rather walks readers through a series of small projects through which they will immediately begin to develop software applications for practical musical projects. As the book progresses, and as the individual's knowledge of the language grows, the projects become more sophisticated.This new and expanded second edition brings the book fully up-to-date including additional applications in integrating Max with Ableton Live. It also includes a variety of additional projects as part of the final three project chapters.The book is of special value both to software programmers working in Max/MSP/Jitter and to music educators looking to supplement their lessons with interactive instructional tools, develop adaptive instruments to aid in student composition and performance activities, and create measurement tools with which to conduct music education research.
Publication Date: 2016-08-01
Pop-Culture Pedagogy in the Music Classroom : Teaching Tools from American Idol to YouTube by Teachers the world over are discovering the importance and benefits of incorporating popular culture into the music classroom. The cultural prevalence and the students' familiarity with recorded music, videos, games, and other increasingly accessible multimedia materials help enliven course content and foster interactive learning and participation. Pop-Culture Pedagogy in the Music Classroom: Teaching Tools from American Idol to YouTube provides ideas and techniques for teaching music classes using elements of popular culture that resonate with students' everyday lives. From popular songs and genres to covers, mixes, and mashups; from video games such as Dance Dance Revolution and Guitar Hero to television shows like American Idol, this exciting collection offers pedagogical models for incorporating pop culture and its associated technologies into a wide variety of music courses. Biamonte has collected well-rounded essays that consider a variety of applications. After an introduction, the essays are organized in 3 sections. The first addresses general tools and technology that can be incorporated into almost any music class: sound-mixing techniques and the benefits of using iPods and YouTube. The middle section uses popular songs, video games, or other aspects of pop culture to demonstrate music-theory topics or to develop ear-training and rhythmic skills. The final section examines the musical, lyrical, or visual content in popular songs, genres, or videos as a point of departure for addressing broader issues and contexts. Each chapter contains notes and a bibliography, and two comprehensive appendixes list popular song examples for teaching harmony, melody, and rhythm. Two indexes cross-reference the material by title and by general subject. While written with college and secondary-school teachers in mind, the methods and materials presented here can be adapted to any educational level.
Publication Date: 2010-10-28
Seven Days of Possibilities: One Teacher, 24 Kids, and the Music That Changed Their Lives Forever by Johanna Grussner arrived in New York City starry-eyed. She was a young Finnish jazz singer looking for the big time. But it was hard to find steady gigs. Propelled by pluck, determination, and a smidgen of desperation, she obtained a job teaching music at P.S. 86, a public school in the Bronx. At first, it was just to pay the bills. But over the course of several years, Johanna formed an intense, transformative connection with her students. She helped turn them from tough, angry, street-smart city kids into a disciplined, technically proficient, soaringly beautiful gospel chorus. Johanna came to identify so strongly with her students that she eventually took them to her hometown in rural Finland, to meet her family and friends, to perform in a gospel concert, and to show them what an alternate childhoodone of tiny schools, quiet classrooms, fresh air, wholesome meals, and endless musiccould be like. Seven Days of Possibilities offers an inside look at the politics, history, and complex personal relationships that govern one typical New York City public school. But more importantly, it is the story of how one person can make a difference against those odds, rising above corruption, indifference and regimentation with hope, music, and love.
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Transforming Music Education by This quintet of essays examines the reasons why music education should be transformed, investigates the nature of education and musical transformation, and suggests alternative educational models and strategies. Estelle Jorgensen frames her argument for new approaches against the backdrop of historical musical and educational practice and draws on literature from various fields. Transforming Music Education is addressed to current and future music teachers, those who train them, and all who are interested in revolutionizing music education.
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
Threading the Concept: Powerful Learning for the Music Classroom by This book provides both preservice and seasoned music educators with a unique and powerful way of teaching. The premise of the book is to offer a pedagogical approach that emphasizes focus on conceptual learning that is sensory oriented. From the musical concepts we teach_melody, harmony, rhythm, and form_the teacher targets one concept per lesson (e.g., melody), and provides learning experiences in singing, listening, performing, moving, reading/writing, and improvising/composing that are all focused on only that concept. Essentially, the learners are bombarded visually, aurally, and kinesthetically, gaining a firm grasp of the concept because they have heard, sung, moved, performed, written, and created in that class, all in small time segments. The teacher has a greater ability to reach all students' learning needs and engage them in active learning in each class. The book not only offers background information about the learning process, but also specific lesson templates that serve as conceptual models for music classes.
Publication Date: 2010-10-16
Travel on and On: Interdisciplinary Lessons on the Music of World Cultures by Incorporate the music of our global community into your classroom with Travel On and On: Interdisciplinary Lessons on the Music of World Cultures. With both traditional and newly composed music and material from other content areas, each ready-to-use lesson plan has an interdisciplinary approach to teaching multicultural music. Intended for use in general music classrooms, the lessons encourage collaboration with teachers of other subjects but can also effectively be taught solely by music teachers. Based on the National Standards for music and other subject areas and intended for grades 4-8, each lesson can be adapted for younger or older students with suggested extensions and materials. Bring the music of Latin America, Africa, and the United States into your classroom, with special emphasis on Native Americans, African Americans, and Cajuns. Most lessons also incorporate Orff-Schulwerk pedagogy, with written ostinati for multiple Orff instruments.
Publication Date: 2010-12-16
Waltz the Hall : The American Play Party by What did young people do for diversion and socialization in communities that banned most dancing and considered the fiddle to be the devil's instrument? The American play party was the fundamentalist's answer. Here the singing was a cappella, the dancers followed prescribed steps, and arm and elbow swings would be the only touching. The play party was a popular form of American folk entertainment that included songs, dances, and sometimes games. Though based upon European and English antecedents, play parties were truly an American phenomenon, first mentioned in print in 1837. The last play parties were performed in the 1950s. Though documented in rural and frontier areas throughout the United States, they seem to have been most popular and lasted the longest in the rural South and Midwest. "Skip to My Lou" and "Pig in a Parlor" are still sung today but without the movements and games. This is the first book since the 1930s to study this important and little-remembered phenomenon of American folk culture. The author interviewed a large number of Americans, both black and white, who performed play parties as young adults. Many of our parents and grandparents experienced these events, which harken back to a time when people created their own forms of entertainment. Today play parties are an important source of song and movement material for elementary-school-age children. A songbook of ninety musical examples and lyrics completes the picture of this vanished tradition. Alan L. Spurgeon, Oxford, Mississippi, is associate professor of music at the University of Mississippi. He is the editor of Pig in the Parlor and Twenty Other Authentic Play Parties, and his work has appeared in several music-related periodicals.
Publication Date: 2005-02-11
Getting Started with Your Research
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new windowConnect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ERIC This link opens in a new window