Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by
An indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field.
Collins Dictionary of Sociology
A clear, balanced guide to the terms and concepts used in every area of sociology, and to related terms in political science, economics and anthropology
Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia by
This landmark reference is a comprehensive, one-stop, interdisciplinary resource that examines current, critical social issues in historical and global contexts. Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration.
The Harpercollins Dictionary of Sociology by
This complete and timely sourcebook provides professionals and the more than 490,000 students annually enrolled in sociology courses with the terms and concepts used in every area of sociology, and with related terms in psychology, economics, political science, and anthropology.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by
This landmark scholarly work offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the United States. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. The Encyclopedia fills a void in the historical scholarship of an underserved population.
The Oxford Handbook of the Welfare State by
The Oxford Handbook of the Welfare State is the authoritative and definitive guide to the contemporary welfare state. In a volume consisting of nearly fifty newly-written chapters, a broad range of the world's leading scholars offer a comprehensive account of everything one needs to know aboutthe modern welfare state. The Handbook is divided into eight sections. It opens with three chapters that evaluate the philosophical case for (and against) the welfare state. Surveys of the welfare state's history and of the approaches taken to its study are followed by four extended sections, running to some thirty-five chapters in all, which offer a comprehensive and in-depth survey of our current state of knowledge across the whole range of issues that the welfarestate embraces. The first of these sections looks at inputs and actors (including the roles of parties, unions, and employers), the impact of gender and religion, patterns of migration and a changing public opinion, the role of international organisations and the impact of globalization. The nexttwo sections cover policy inputs (in areas such as pensions, health care, disability, care of the elderly, unemployment, and labour market activation) and their outcomes (in terms of inequality and poverty, macroeconomic performance, and retrenchment). The seventh section consists of seven chapterswhich survey welfare state experience around the globe (and not just within the OECD). Two final chapters consider questions about the global future of the welfare state.The individual chapters of the Handbook are written in an informed but accessible way by leading researchers in their respective fields giving the reader an excellent and truly up-to-date knowledge of the area under discussion. Taken together, they constitute a comprehensive compendium of all thatis best in contemporary welfare state research and a unique guide to what is happening now in this most crucial and contested area of social and political development.
The Penguin Dictionary of Sociology by
This edition has been updated to reflect the shifts of sociological thought in the last five years. It is designed to support students and teachers of sociology and other related courses and the general reader.
Population and Urbanization by
The Sociology Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various sociological topics. This volume offers a comprehensive overview of sociology as it applies to population and urbanization. Introducing these topics are essays that highlight demography and the different trends in population growth. The volume then takes an in-depth look at the urban population tendencies before concluding with an outline of the main urban sociology schools.
The Social Science Jargon Buster
This practical, down-to-earth dictionary helps students new to the social sciences gain a thorough understanding of the key terms, from Action research to Utilitarianism. Each entry includes a concise core definition, a more detailed explanation, and an introduction to the associated debates and controversies. In addition, the book includes a useful outline of the practical application of each term, as well as a list of key figures and recommendations for further reading.
The A-Z of Social Research
The A-Z is a collection of entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000. Most entries are approximately 1500 words in length and are supported by suggestions for further reading.
Society at a Glance: OECD Social Indicators
A complete overview of social indicators, this report addresses the growing demand for quantitative evidence on social well-being and its trends. It includes data for the 34 OECD Member countries and where available data for key partners (Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russia and South Africa) and for other G20 countries (Argentina and Saudi Arabia).
Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
This work includes numerous entries in A-Z order, critically reviewing the literature on specific topics from abortion to world systems theory. In addition, nine major entries cover each of the major disciplines (political economy; management and business; human geography; politics; sociology; law; psychology; organizational behavior) and the history and development of the social sciences in a broader sense.
A Dictionary of Sociolinguistics by
The first comprehensive dictionary of the field of sociolinguistics, this is a valuable reference book for students and teachers of sociolinguistics, others concerned with the socially-oriented study of language and those with a professional interest in language.
The Handbook of Economic Sociology by
Focuses on international and global concerns in economic sociology, institutional analysis, the transition from socialist economies, organization and networks, and the economic sociology of the ancient world.
SAGE Key Concepts series: Key Concepts in Family Studies by
Key Concepts in Family Studies provides individual entries that introduce, explain and contextualize the key topics within the study of the family.
Mapping the Sociology of Health and Medicine: America, Britain and Australia Compared by
This title poses sociological questions about the formation of intellectual fields and their social relations, and offers an in-depth, historical study of one of the largest specialities of the discipline of sociology - the sociology of health and medicine - across three countries: the United States of America, Britain and Australia.
