Academic Librarianship Today by Todd Gilman (Editor); Beverly P. Lynch (Foreword by)Intended for use by librarians and students in LIS programs, Academic Librarianship Today is the most current, comprehensive overview of the field available today. Key features include: chapters commissioned specifically for this book with authors who are highly regarded academic librarians or library school faculty--or both; cutting edge topics, such as open access, copyright, digitual curation and preservation, emerging technologies, new roles for academic librarians, cooperative collection, development and resource sharing, and patron-driven acquisitions; thought-provoking questions for discussion and carefully constructed assignments at the end of each chapter that faculty can assign or adapt for their courses. The book begins with Gilman's introduction, an overview that briefly synthesizes the contents of the contributors' chapters by highlighting major themes.
Call Number: Z675.U5 A233 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-02
Building Bridges: connecting faculty, students, and the college library by Monty L. McAdoo
Call Number: Z675.U5M353 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
Complete Copyright for K-12 Librarians and Educators by Carrie Russell
Call Number: KF2995.R87 2012
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
Conducting the Reference Interview : a how-to-do-it manual for librarians by Catherine Sheldrick Ross; Kirsti Nilsen; Marie L. RadfordThis book focuses on a key problem that occurs in a reference transaction at the very first step: finding out, quickly and efficiently what the user really wants to know. We offer readers a comprehensive way to tackle the problem though a multi-faceted approach that includes the following elements: explanatory text that summarizes key aspects of each topic together with relevant research on the topic; cases and exercises that allow for an interactive approach in learning new skills; and annotated bibliographies for further reading. Distinctive features include: 1. An approach that emphasizes teachable skills 2. Authentic examples from extensive research data 3. Cases and exercises useful for training 4. Engaging structure that draws the reader in 5. A detailed index that provides multiple ways to access the materials, including listings of cases and exercises. 6. A new feature New in the third edition will be input from practitioners on "Lessons Learned from My Most Difficult Reference Interview" - i.e., what happened, what they learned. We plan to ask some Super Reference Librarians--for example, some of the RUSA former presidents as well as other reference librarian friends--to provide vignettes, which in edited form we would locate in the section of the book to which they relate
Call Number: Z711 .R67 2019
Publication Date: 2018-12-01
Crash Course in Basic Cataloging with RDA by Heather Lea Moulaison; Assistant Professor, Raegan Nicole WiechertCovering tools, terminology, and the FRBR-based RDA approach to description, this book explains the current principles of organization of information and basic cataloging practices for non-catalogers, enabling readers to understand elements of the cataloging process and interact with records in a basic manner"
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Creating the Customer-Driven Academic Library by Jeannette A. Woodward
Call Number: Z675.U5W66 2009
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Doing Social Media So It Matters: a librarian's guide by Laura Solomon
Call Number: Z674.75.S63S65 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Envisioning the Future of Reference : trends, reflections, and innovations by Diane Zabel (Editor); Lauren Reiter (Editor)"Pick up this book for an in-depth look at new models in reference services, and use it as a hands-on tool to help you incorporate new trends into your library"-- Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Z711 .E58 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Guided Inquiry Design: a framework for inquiry in your school by Carol C. Kuhlthau; Leslie K. Maniotes; Ann K. Caspari
Call Number: LB1060.K84 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
How to Thrive as a Solo Librarian by Carol Smallwood
Call Number: Z675.S57H69 2012
Publication Date: 2011-09-16
Librarian's Guide to Online Searching : cultivating database skills for research and instruction by Christopher C. Brown; Suzanne S. Bell"This book describes the background of how databases work; how they are constructed and in the case of some databases; how they transitioned from the legacy print world to an online environment; how technologies within databases can interact with other products like bibliography citation services, outbound linking to full text content, and social media mentions; and the methods used by libraries to provide access to licensed content from anywhere in the world"
Call Number: ZA4460 .B76 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-20
Library 101: a handbook for the school librarian by Claire Gatrell Stephens; Patricia Franklin
Call Number: Z675.S3S747 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-01
The Library Book by Susan OrleanThe author reopens the unsolved mystery of the most catastrophic library fire in American history. This book chronicles the Los Angeles Public Library (LAPL) fire, and its aftermath, to showcase the crucial role that libraries play in our lives. The author delves into the evolution of libraries around the world, from their humble beginnings to their status as a cornerstone of the community; brings the departments of the library to life through on-the-ground reporting; reflects on her own experiences in libraries; and reexamines the case of Harry Peak, the actor long suspected of setting fire to the LAPL. The fire was disastrous: it reached 2000 degrees and burned for more than seven hours. By the time it was extinguished, it had consumed four hundred thousand books and damaged seven hundred thousand more. Investigators descended on the scene, but more than thirty years later, the mystery remains: Did someone purposefully set fire to the library? In addition to examining the circumstances of the fire, the author delves into the history of the LAPL. The book introduces us to a cast of characters from libraries past and present - from Mary Foy; who in 1880 at eighteen years old was named the head of the LAPL at a time when men still dominated the role, to Dr. C.J.K. Jones, "The Human Encyclopedia," who roamed the library dispensing information. The book introduces readers to Charles Lummis, an eccentric journalist and adventurer who was determined to make the L.A. library one of the best in the world, and to the staff in the twenty-first century, who work every day to ensure that their institution remains a vital part of the city it serves.--adapted from publisher's description and end-papers.
Call Number: Z733.L8742 O75 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Library Programs and Services for New Adults by Kyla Hunt
Call Number: Z711.92.A32 H86 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-06
Managing Library Technology : a LITA guide by Carson BlockThis commonsense guide will help library managers understand the underpinnings of technology and how to powerfully manage tech to serve patrons and staff alike. Learn: ow libraries fit into the overall technology market; Strategies to future-proof library technology efforts; Approaches to technology planning that stick - and strategies to keep the plan on track; Skills to understand technology investments by understanding the total costs of ownership and the specialized library return on technological investment; How to collect and use useful data and statistics without being overwhelmed; How to stay current, knowledgeable and comfortable with rapid technological change You'll find easy-to-follow exercises and tools that have been tested in real-world situations. Step-by-step instructions for crucial processes including technology planning are included.
Call Number: Z678.9 .B56 2017
Publication Date: 2017-08-03
Marketing Today's Academic Library: a bold new approach to communicating with students by Brian Mathews
Call Number: Z716.3.M38 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
MLS Project: an assessment after sixty years by Boyd Keith Swigger
Call Number: Z668.S95 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-19
Neal-Schuman Library Technology Companion: a basic guide for library staff by John BurkeIn its new fifth edition, which has been completely updated and reorganized, this one-stop overview of all technologies used in libraries today is more comprehensive and compelling than ever. The perfect primer for LIS students, Burke's guide should also be at the top of the list for any current or future library professional looking to stay at the forefront of technological advancement. It gives readers a sound and sensible way to consider, access, and use library technologies to better meet the needs of library users. Its incisive coverage includes complete analysis of the librarian's technological toolbox for teaching, security, databases, and more; expert advice on how to compare and evaluate competing technology solutions; mobile devices and technology, social media, streaming media, and privacy; makerspaces and other technology programing; updated content on open source catalog systems, discovery layers, and related elements of library management systems; a new section on learning management systems (LMS); websites, web-based services, and free information resources; improved guidance on usability; new technology predictions for the future, with tips on how to stay up to date with the latest developments; and a glossary of useful terms. Informed by a large-scale survey of librarians across the spectrum of institution types, this guide will be a true technology companion to novices and seasoned LIS professionals alike
Call Number: Z678.9 .B87 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The New Librarianship Field Guide by R. David Lankes
Call Number: Z665 .L36 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-13
Out of Print : mediating information in the novel and the book by Julia Panko"Through technological experiments, readers have seen the concept of the book change over the years, and the novel reflects these experiments, acting as a kind of archive for information. Out of Print reveals that the novel continues to shape popular understandings of information culture, even as it adapts to engage with new media and new practices of mediating information in the digital age. This innovative study chronicles how the print book has fared as both novelists and the burgeoning profession of information science have grappled with unprecedented quantities of data across the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. As the novel's archival project took a critical turn from realism to an investigation of the structures, possibilities, and ideologies of information media, novelists have considered ideas about how data can best be collected and stored. Julia Panko pairs case studies from information history with close readings of modernist works such as James Joyce's Ulysses and Virginia Woolf's Orlando and contemporary novels from Jonathan Safran Foer, Stephen King, and Mark Z. Danielewski that emphasize their own informational qualities and experiment with the aesthetic potential of the print book"--
Call Number: Z116.A2 P36 2020
Publication Date: 2020-12-18
The RDA Workbook: learning the basics of Resource Description and Access by Margaret V. Mering (Editor)
Call Number: Z694.15.R47R33 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Reference Interview Today: negotiating and answering questions face to face, on the phone, and virtually by Dave HarmeyerMore an art than a science, the reference interview requires not only knowing a specific set of skills, but also how to apply those skills in an ever-changing world. Good reference interviews accomplish three goals: establishing contact with the user, determining what the user's information need actually is, and checking to make sure that the answer actually meets that need completely. Built around timeless service principles including Ranganathan's Five Laws, 'The reference interview today: negotiating and answering questions face to face, on the phone, and virtually' is a practical field guide to conducting reference interviews in every modality: face-to-face, phone, chat, text, virtual world such as Second Life, and even mashup reference interviews where multiple modalities are used to answer the question. Following a concise presentation of reference interview basics, the heart of the book is 12 different reference interview scenarios set in different modes and demonstrating a specific principle. Each of these twelve follows a similar construction: a general overview of the principle (for example, save the time of the reader), a script of the reference interview, and then learning questions designed to demonstrate the principle(s) as illustrated in the script. Examples range from assisting faculty members with scholarly resources to helping a high school student with a paper to assisting a hairdresser with a reference question.
Call Number: Z711 .H37 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
Small Libraries, Big Impact: how to better serve your community in the digital age by Yunfei Du
Call Number: Z716.4 .D82 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-01
Successful Campus Outreach for Academic Libraries by Peggy Keeran (Editor); Carrie L. Forbes (Editor)
Demystifying Online Instruction in Libraries people, process, and tools by Dominique Turnbow; Amanda RothThe design of information literacy instruction and the building of it are two distinct skillsets and processes; yet all too often everything gets mashed together, creating needless confusion and stress. In this book Turnbow, an instructional designer, and Roth, an instructional technologist, suggest a better way to organize the work. They shed light on the people, processes, and resources required to create a sustainable portfolio of online instruction. With the goal of fostering conversations in your library about the most streamlined and effective ways to get the work done, they provide guidance on such topics as design and development processes, complete with "I.D. in Action" examples and sample design documents; thumbnail descriptions of ADDIE, SAM, and design thinking methods; creating learning objects; types of software tools and how to evaluate them; crafting the best documentation of your work for efficient maintenance and reuse; adapting assessment to your learning outcomes and purpose; when to design for performance support, an underutilized method in libraries; and starting points for those interested in developing instructional design and development skills. Demystifying the instructional design and development process used to create online learning objects, this book will help you understand how instructional design principles and approaches can benefit your learners.
Incubating Creativity at Your Library : a sourcebook for connecting with communities by Laura Damon-Moore; Erinn BatykeferCreativity needs a platform. As technology consultant David Weinberger puts it, "A platform provides resources that lets other people build things." The library is an ideal platform, and in this book Batykefer and Damon-Moore, creators of the Library as Incubator Project, share the experiences of numerous creative library workers and artists who are making it happen. Their stories will show you how to move beyond merely responding to community needs towards actively building a platform with your community. And best of all, you don't need to start from scratch--rather, you amplify what's already working. Filled with ideas and initiatives that can be customized to suit your library and its community, this book discusses the four elements (Resources, Invitations, Partnerships & Engagement, and Staff) and the two lenses (Community-Led and Evaluation) of the Creative Library platform; outlines six steps for surveying your community's artistic landscape; gives methods for expanding partnerships and connections with individuals and organizations through exploration, hands-on learning, and engagement with the community; shares perspectives on the "ideal library" from several artists, with three examples of artist-in-residence programs; offers examples of community invitations in action, such as the Pittsburgh Fiberarts Guild workshops on creating flowers using recycled materials; shows how to use "orphan photos" from your archives for creative inspiration; advises on using qualitative evaluations to effectively "weed" your initiatives; and shares tips for encouraging library staff to express their creativity, turning avocations into library initiatives like Handmade Crafternoons, the Yahara Music Library, or BOOKLESS. By building on existing elements at your library and filling in the gaps with community-driven additions, your library can be a space that cultivates creativity in both its users and staff.
Intellectual Freedom Manual by Trina Magi (Editor); Martin Garnar (Editor); Magi (Editor); Garnar (Editor)Since it was established in 1967, ALA’s Office for Intellectual Freedom (OIF) has championed the rights of library users to seek and receive information on all subjects from all points of view without restriction and without having the subject of one's interest examined or scrutinized by others. The new edition of the Intellectual Freedom Manual is more than just an invaluable compendium of guiding principles and policies. It’s also an indispensable resource for day-to-day guidance on maintaining free and equal access to information for all people. Fortifying and emboldening professionals and students from across the library spectrum, this manual includes 34 ALA policy statements and documents, 17 new or updated for this edition, addressing patron behavior, internet use, copyright, exhibits, use of meeting spaces, and other common concerns At-a-glance lists summarizing key issues such as access, challenges and censorship, access by minors to controversial materials, and advocacy Explanations of legal points in clear, easy-to-understand language, alongside case citations Numerous checklists to help readers stay organized A glossary and selected bibliography This must-have tool will help librarians ensure that institutions of all kinds remain beacons of intellectual freedom.
Not Free, Not for All : Public Libraries in the Age of Jim Crow by Cheryl KnottAmericans tend to imagine their public libraries as time-honored advocates of equitable access to information for all. Through much of the twentieth century, however, many black Americans were denied access to public libraries or allowed admittance only to separate and smaller buildings and collections. While scholars have examined and continue to uncover the history of school segregation, there has been much less research published on the segregation of public libraries in the Jim Crow South. In fact, much of the writing on public library history has failed to note these racial exclusions. In Not Free, Not for All, Cheryl Knott traces the establishment, growth, and eventual demise of separate public libraries for African Americans in the South, disrupting the popular image of the American public library as historically welcoming readers from all walks of life. Using institutional records, contemporaneous newspaper and magazine articles, and other primary sources together with scholarly work in the fields of print culture and civil rights history, Knott reconstructs a complex story involving both animosity and cooperation among whites and blacks who valued what libraries had to offer. African American library advocates, staff, and users emerge as the creators of their own separate collections and services with both symbolic and material importance, even as they worked toward dismantling those very institutions during the era of desegregation.
by Dave Horalek
Last Updated Jul 8, 2022
615 views this year
Where to Look for Articles
Information Science (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to periodical content covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.
LISTA: Library, Information Science, & Technology AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.