Essential Effects : water, fire, wind, and more by
Animate the world around you! Follow along with veteran Disney effects artist Mauro Maressa as he teaches you how to create and animate natural phenomena like water, fire, smoke, lightning, lava, mud, and wind. Essential Effects will help you plan, draw, design, and animate traditional 2D effects, taking your ideas all the way from rough sketch to finished product. Using a series of full-color visual breakdowns and diagrams, this book gives you a clear, concise understanding of what it takes to create credible, compelling effects in your own projects.
Key Features
Build a strong foundation of observation and drawing skills that you can rely on for the rest of your career
Tips and tricks for applying classic effects principles to computer-animated and CG projects
Over 400 full-color images and diagrams for clear step-by-step learning
The Military-Entertainment Complex by
With the rise of drones and computer-controlled weapons of war, comparisons between war and video games have multiplied. The authors trace how the realities of war are represented in popular entertainment. In the early days of the video game industry personnel and expertise flowed from contractors building military simulations to game companies; in a middle period the military drew significantly on the booming game industry to train troops; now in our cultural present media corporations and the military draw upon one another cyclically to predict the future of warfare. The book argues that commercial video wargame franchises commodified and marketed the weapons, tactics, and threat scenarios of the Pentagon's War on Terror. Many of the best-selling video games (and television and films) of the last five years depict small special forces units that can deploy at a moment's notice anywhere in the world against non-traditional enemies. This intermediation of media forms within the military-entertainment complex has shaped the popular imaginary of war in the post 9/11 era and has naturalized the Pentagon's vision of a new American way of warfare.
Photoshop Elements 15 for Dummies by 
3D Character Development Workshop : rigging fundamentals for artists and animators by
3D Character Development Workshop is designed to fast-track comprehension of the concepts, tools, and methods of character rigging so that you can get past the technical hurdles and on to animating. This comprehensive guide is simple enough for non-technical artists to follow, yet presented in a holistic, comprehensive, best-practices approach so professional and student animators and artists can begin designing and animating their own fully-functioning characters.
Computational Drawing by 
Building an RPG with Unity 2018 by
Build a high-end, multiplayer role-playing game (RPG) from scratch with C# and Unity 2018Key FeaturesGet insights into Unity's user interface (UI) system and and build UIs for your RPGImplement artificial intelligence (AI) to build intelligent entities that take your game to the next levelDevelop multiplayer features for an RPG using Unity 2018Book DescriptionIn a role-playing game (RPG), users control a character, usually in the game's imaginary universe. Unity has become a top choice for developers looking to create these kinds of immersive RPGs.Building an RPG with Unity 2018, based on building some of the most common RPG features, teaches you tips, tricks, and techniques that can be applied to your own game.To start with, the book guides you through the fundamentals of role-playing games. You will learn the necessary aspects of building an RPG, such as structuring the game environment, customizing characters, controlling the camera, and designing other attributes such as inventory and weapons. You will also explore designing game levels by adding more features. Once you have understood the bigger picture, you will understand how to tackle the obstacles of networking in Unity and implement multiplayer mode for your RPG games.By the end of the book, you will be able to build upon the core RPG framework elements to create your own immersive games.What you will learnConstruct a framework for inventory, equipment, characters, enemies, quests, and game eventsUnderstand how to load and unload scenes and assetsCreate multiplayer game settings for your RPGDesign a UI for user input and feedbackImplement AI for non-character playersCustomize your character at runtimeWho this book is forBuilding an RPG with Unity 2018 is for you if you are a programmer interested in developing and further enhancing your skills when developing RPGs in Unity 2018. This book does not cover the basics of Unity, and so is for intermediate or more advanced users.
Computer Graphics Programming in OpenGL with JAVA by
This new edition provides step-by-step instruction on modern 3D graphics shader programming in OpenGL, along with its theoretical foundations. It is appropriate both for computer science undergraduate graphics programming courses in degree programs that emphasize Java, and for professionals interested in mastering 3D graphics skills who prefer Java. It has been designed in a 4-color, “teach-yourself” format with numerous examples that the reader can run just as presented. New sections have been added covering soft shadows, performance optimization, Nsight debugging, as well as updated industry-standard libraries and steps for running the examples on a Macintosh. Includes companion DVD with source code, models, textures, etc. used in the book.Features:• Includes new sections on implementing soft shadows, performance optimization, and updated tools and libraries such as the JOML math library and Nvidia's Nsight.• Covers modern OpenGL 4.0+ shader programming in Java, using Windows or Mac.• Illustrates every technique with complete running code examples. Everything needed to install JOGL and run every example is provided and fully explained.• Includes step-by-step instruction for every GLSL programmable pipeline stage (vertex, tessellation, geometry, and fragment) -- with examples.
Game AI Pro 3 : Collected Wisdom of Game AI Professionals by
Game AI Pro3: Collected Wisdom of Game AI Professionals presents state-of-the-art tips, tricks, and techniques drawn from developers of shipped commercial games as well as some of the best-known academics in the field. This book acts as a toolbox of proven techniques coupled with the newest advances in game AI. These techniques can be applied to almost any game and include topics such as behavior trees, utility theory, path planning, character behavior, and tactical reasoning. KEY FEATURES Contains 42 chapters from 50 of the game industry's top developers and researchers. Provides real-life case studies of game AI in published commercial games. Covers a wide range of AI in games, with topics applicable to almost any game. Includes downloadable demos and/or source code, available at http://www.gameaipro.com SECTION EDITORS Neil KirbyGeneral Wisdom Alex Champandard Architecture Nathan Sturtevant Movement and Pathfinding Damian Isla Character Behavior Kevin Dill Tactics and Strategy; Odds and Ends mp;lt;LI>Includes downloadable demos and/or source code, available at http://www.gameaipro.com SECTION EDITORS Neil KirbyGeneral Wisdom Alex Champandard Architecture Nathan Sturtevant Movement and Pathfinding Damian Isla Character Behavior Kevin Dill Tactics and Strategy; Odds and Ends
Game physics cookbook by
Discover over 100 easy-to-follow recipes to help you implement efficient game physics and collision detection in your games About This Book • Get a comprehensive coverage of techniques to create high performance collision detection in games • Learn the core mathematics concepts and physics involved in depicting collision detection for your games • Get a hands-on experience of building a rigid body physics engine Who This Book Is For This book is for beginner to intermediate game developers. You don't need to have a formal education in games―you can be a hobbyist or indie developer who started making games with Unity 3D. What You Will Learn • Implement fundamental maths so you can develop solid game physics • Use matrices to encode linear transformations • Know how to check geometric primitives for collisions • Build a Physics engine that can create realistic rigid body behavior • Understand advanced techniques, including the Separating Axis Theorem • Create physically accurate collision reactions • Explore spatial partitioning as an acceleration structure for collisions • Resolve rigid body collisions between primitive shapes In Detail Physics is really important for game programmers who want to add realism and functionality to their games. Collision detection in particular is a problem that affects all game developers, regardless of the platform, engine, or toolkit they use. This book will teach you the concepts and formulas behind collision detection. You will also be taught how to build a simple physics engine, where Rigid Body physics is the main focus, and learn about intersection algorithms for primitive shapes. You'll begin by building a strong foundation in mathematics that will be used throughout the book. We'll guide you through implementing 2D and 3D primitives and show you how to perform effective collision tests for them. We then pivot to one of the harder areas of game development―collision detection and resolution. Further on, you will learn what a Physics engine is, how to set up a game window, and how to implement rendering. We'll explore advanced physics topics such as constraint solving. You'll also find out how to implement a rudimentary physics engine, which you can use to build an Angry Birds type of game or a more advanced game. By the end of the book, you will have implemented all primitive and some advanced collision tests, and you will be able to read on geometry and linear Algebra formulas to take forward to your own games! Style and approach Gain the necessary skills needed to build a Physics engine for your games through practical recipes, in an easy-to-read manner. Every topic explained in the book has clear, easy to understand code accompanying it.
How to Cheat in Blender 2. 7x by
Blender is a vast and customizable 3D-modeling application used by many artists across creative industries, from television to games. This newest book, in Alan Thorn's How to Cheat series, offers insightful and bite-sized power-tips to help you develop Blender mastery. More than five hundred figures illustrate interesting shortcuts and clever ways to improve your Blender workflow. A companion website at http://www.alanthorn.net provides bonus content, including videos and resources to help sharpen your skills further. How to Cheat in Blender 2.7x is for Blender users of all levels, offering time-saving tips and powerful techniques to increase your productivity...
Introducing Autodesk Maya 2016 by
Start modeling right away with this hands-on guide to learning Autodesk Maya 2016 Introducing Autodesk Maya 2016 is the official guide to the most popular and complex 3D application on the market. Building from the ground up, this book combines straightforward text with practical examples that make it easy to absorb the basics and start designing and animating your own digital models and scenes. The tutorials offer realistic challenges and clear explanations, laid out in fun, step-by-step lessons that help you gain confidence and learn by doing. You'll delve into CG and 3D core concepts and production workflows, then get right to work designing an animation of the solar system as you learn the interface and basic tools. As your modeling skills grow, you'll build a steam locomotive, a starfish, a table lamp, and much more as you learn to rig your model for animation, create fabric motion with nCloth, and add the lighting and effects that bring your scenes to life. The companion website features downloadable project files that help you see how the pros do it, and the book includes real-world examples from talented users who were beginners just like you. Master the Maya 2016 interface, menus, and plug-ins Begin building simple animations right away Explore modeling, rendering, animation, and cloth motion Add lighting, rendering, dynamics, simulations, and effects If you want to work like the pros, Introducing Autodesk Maya 2016 is the perfect primer for getting started.
Mastering Autodesk Maya 2016 by
Go from 'beginner' to 'expert' with this professional, tutorial-based guide to Maya 2016 Mastering Autodesk Maya 2016 is your professional hands-on coverage to getting the most out of Maya. If you already know the basics of Maya, this book is your ticket to full coverage of all Maya 2016's latest features, and showcases the tools and methods used in real-world 3D animation and visual effects. From modeling, texturing, animation, and effects to high-level techniques for film, television, games, and more, this book expands your skill set, and helps you prepare for the Autodesk Maya certification exam. Filled with challenging tutorials and real-world scenarios this book provides valuable insight into the entire CG production timeline. Take your Maya skills to the next level with step-by-step instruction and insight from the industry professionals. Learn professional techniques used in real-world visual effects Master Dynamics, Maya Muscle, Stereo Cameras, mental ray, and more Expand your skills with advanced techniques for cloth, fur, and fluids Understand everything you need to know for the Maya certification exam
Practical Game Design : Learn the Art of Game Design Through Applicable Skills and Cutting-edge Insights by
Design accessible and creative games across genres, platforms, and development realitiesKey FeaturesImplement the skills and techniques required to work in a professional studioAce the core principles and processes of level design, world building, and storytellingDesign interactive characters that animate the gaming worldBook DescriptionIf you are looking for an up-to-date and highly applicable guide to game design, then you have come to the right place! Immerse yourself in the fundamentals of game design with this book, written by two highly experienced industry professionals to share their profound insights as well as give valuable advice on creating games across genres and development platforms.Practical Game Design covers the basics of game design one piece at a time. Starting with learning how to conceptualize a game idea and present it to the development team, you will gradually move on to devising a design plan for the whole project and adapting solutions from other games. You will also discover how to produce original game mechanics without relying on existing reference material, and test and eliminate anticipated design risks. You will then design elements that compose the playtime of a game, followed by making game mechanics, content, and interface accessible to all players. You will also find out how to simultaneously ensure that the gameplay mechanics and content are working as intended.As the book reaches its final chapters, you will learn to wrap up a game ahead of its release date, work through the different challenges of designing free-to-play games, and understand how to significantly improve their quality through iteration, polishing and playtesting.What you will learnDefine the scope and structure of a game projectConceptualize a game idea and present it to othersDesign gameplay systems and communicate them clearly and thoroughlyBuild and validate engaging game mechanicsDesign successful business models and prepare your games for live operationsMaster the principles behind level design, worldbuilding and storytellingImprove the quality of a game by playtesting and polishing itWho this book is forWhether you are a student eager to design a game or a junior game designer looking for your first role as a professional, this book will help you with the fundamentals of game design. By focusing on best practices and a pragmatic approach, Practical Game Design provides insights into the arts and crafts from two senior game designers that will interest more seasoned professionals in the game industry.
Type and Color : how to design and use multicolored typefaces by 
Unity 2018 by Example : Learn About Game and Virtual Reality Development by Creating Five Engaging Projects by
Build exciting 2D/3D games and virtual reality applications with the help of hands-on examplesKey FeaturesCreate five different types of games from scratch with Unity 2018Import custom content into Unity from third-party tools such as Maya and Blender Learn to build NPCs with artificial intelligent behavior. Book DescriptionUnity is the most exciting and popular engine used for developing games. With its 2018 release, Unity has become the primary source of both game development and virtual reality content.In Unity 2018 By Example, you'll learn how to use Unity in order to make amazing games from popular genres - from action shooters to mind-bending puzzle games to adventure and Virtual Reality (VR) games. Even if you have no previous experience of using Unity, this book will help you understand the toolsets it provides in depth. In addition to this, you'll understand how to create time-critical collection games, twin-stick space shooters, platformers, and action-fest games with intelligent enemies. Finally, you'll get to grips with creating VR games with the new toolsets introduced by Unity to help you develop amazing VR experiences.To make things easier, you will be provided with step-by-step tutorials for making five great games in Unity 2018, along with a detailed explanation of all the fundamental concepts. By the end of this book, you'll have established a strong foundation in making games with Unity 2018.What you will learnUnderstand core Unity concepts, such as game objects, components, and scenesStudy level-design techniques for building immersive and interesting worldsMake functional games with C# scriptingUse the toolset creatively to build games with different themes and stylesHandle player controls and input functionalityWork with terrains and world-creation toolsGet to grips with making both 2D and 3D gamesWho this book is forYou don't need to have any previous experience with Unity to enjoy Unity 2018 By Example, although you need to have basic knowledge of C#.
Unity 2018 Cookbook : Over 160 Recipes to Take Your 2D and 3D Game Development to the Next Level by
Develop quality game components and solve common gameplay problems with various game design patternsKey FeaturesBecome proficient at traditional 2D and 3D game developmentBuild amazing interactive interfaces with Unity's UI systemDevelop professional games with realistic animation and graphics, materials and cameras, and AI with Unity 2018Book DescriptionWith the help of the Unity 2018 Cookbook, you'll discover how to make the most of the UI system and understand how to animate both 2D and 3D characters and game scene objects using Unity's Mecanim animation toolsets.Once you've got to grips with the basics, you will familiarize yourself with shaders and Shader Graphs, followed by understanding the animation features to enhance your skills in building fantastic games. In addition to this, you will discover AI and navigation techniques for nonplayer character control and later explore Unity 2018's newly added features to improve your 2D and 3D game development skills. This book provides many Unity C# gameplay scripting techniques.By the end of this book, you'll have gained comprehensive knowledge in game development with Unity 2018.What you will learnGet creative with Unity's shaders and learn to build your own shaders with the new Shader Graph toolCreate a text and image character dialog with the free Fungus Unity pluginExplore new features integrated into Unity 2018, including TextMesh Pro and ProBuilderMaster Unity audio, including ducking, reverbing, and matching pitch to animation speedsWork with the new Cinemachine and timeline to intelligently control camera movementsImprove ambiance through the use of lights and effects, including reflection and light probesCreate stylish user interfaces with the UI system, including power bars and clock displaysWho this book is forUnity 2018 Cookbook is for you if you want to explore a wide range of Unity scripting and multimedia features and find ready-to-use solutions for many game features. This book also helps programmers explore multimedia features. It is assumed that you already know basics of Unity and have some programming knowledge of C#.
Mathematics for Computer Graphics and Game Programming by Index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
CSI Graphic Design Review
