Discover your voice : how to develop healthy voice habits by Oren L. BrownACCOMPANIED BY: Discover your voice : vocal exercises. AUDIOCD MT821.B76 2008
Companion CD contains instruction and demonstration tracks for voice exercises.
Call Number: MT821.B76 2008
Publication Date: 1996
Essentials of Beautiful Singing : A Three-Step Kinesthetic Approach by Karen Tillots BauerVoice research has revealed much about the singing voice, but science without practical application may fall short of fine singing. In The Essentials of Beautiful Singing: A Three Step Kinesthetic Approach, performer and scholar Karen Tillotson Bauer bridges the gap between science and singing. It reframes the complexities of voice science with a cultivated simplicity of style and terminology that speaks directly to the singer’s experience of singing, a kinesthetic one. Although well grounded in science, Bauer’s book does not linger in scientific terminology, but rather focuses on an action-based pedagogical approach that speaks to the kinesthetic nature of singing. The skillful use of the body as a musical instrument is the source of fine singing and only through heightened kinesthetic awareness can vocal skills be achieved and refined. Fact-based explanations of kinesthetic singing processes are remarkably clear and replace vague notions about good breath management, rich resonance, and clear enunciation. Guided exercises inform both the body and the mind as a kinesthetic unit. The Essentials of Beautiful Singing has received praise in the Journal of Singing, Choice Reviews for Academic Music Libraries, and the International Choral Bulletin, among others. Its practical perspective reflects the efforts and goals of singer, voice teacher, and choral director. Paired with a science focused text in a voice pedagogy class, it provides a needed balance between science and singing.
Publication Date: 2013
The Jazz Singer's Handbook by Michele WeirBook is accompanied by CD-ROM 275 shelved at the Circulation Desk.
Call Number: Book is accompanied by CD-ROM 275 shelved at the Circulation Desk.
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Singing Exercises for Dummies® by Pamelia S. PhillipsThe fast and easy way to take your singing skills to new heights Some people are born with a naturally great singing voice, but even the best singers can benefit from a broader range of knowledge and training. Voice training not only expands your technique and power, but enhances your performance abilities in business and on stage. Singing Exercises For Dummies gives you a trusted, easy way to learn, or improve, your singing. Packed with exercises and drills in the book and on the accompanying CD, Singing Exercises For Dummies helps you strengthen your voice; refine technique; develop consistency, build power and endurance; and increase vocal range. Beginning with warm-up and proper posture then logically transitioning to scales, chords, and arpeggios, Singing Exercises For Dummies contains everything you need to develop and sharpen your singing skills. Exercises and drills on the CD help you practice your skills Covers everything from building power and endurance to singing pitch-perfect arpeggios Whether you're relatively new to singing, have had ongoing instruction, or are looking to break into the music industry, Singing Exercises For Dummies has you covered.
Publication Date: 2012
So You Want to Sing Country: a guide for performers by Kelly K. GarnerCountry music, an original American artform, has been around since before the recording industry began and long before a singer even had the opportunity to sing into a microphone. From the early beginnings in the hills of Appalachia, to the rise of Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, and the more recent megastars, including Garth Brooks and Carrie Underwood, country music has proven to have staying power. It is one of the most popular styles of music in the world today, garnering more sales and downloads currently than any other genre. Many talented individuals are aspiring to sing country music and are determined to turn it into a successful career. Because of this growing popularity, there is a need to educate interested singers with information and methods that will give them the best possible chance at either having a career as a artist, working in the industry as a background vocalist or session singer, or simply realizing their potential in country music. Kelly K. Garner's So You Want To Sing Country is a book devoted to briefly reviewing the rich heritage of country singing and thoroughly examining the techniques and methods of singing in a country style. Additional topics of discussion will include country song types and structure, instrumentation, performing on stage and in the studio, and career options in country music. Additional chapters by Scott McCoy and Wendy LeBorgne, and Matthew Edwards address universal questions of voice science and pedagogy, vocal health, and audio enhancement technology. The So You Want to Sing series is produced in partnership with the National Association of Teachers of Singing. Like all books in the series, So You Want to Sing Country features online supplemental material on the NATS website. Please visit www.nats.org to access style-specific exercises, audio and video files, and additional resources.
Call Number: MT820 .G37 2017
Publication Date: 2016
The Solo Singer in the Choral Setting: A Handbook for Achieving Vocal Health by Margaret Olson; Ingo R. Titze (Foreword by)While there are many similarities between solo and choral singing, they are not the same discipline, and it is important to realize the different approaches necessary for each. In The Solo Singer in the Choral Setting: A Handbook for Achieving Vocal Health, Olson presents the unique perspective of choral singing from a soloist's viewpoint, providing a clear outline of several issues facing the solo singer in the choral setting. She discusses concepts as diverse as body position in rehearsal and acoustic sound production, and she offers practical ideas for solving these challenges. Teaching examples and case studies help illustrate the problems and offer potential solutions for handling the challenges of the choral environment. After a general overview of vocal technique, the chapters address the physiological, psychological, pedagogical, acoustic, and interpretive issues facing the solo singer in the choral setting. Concepts, such as phonation; resonation and timbre; approaches to diction; voice classification; choral blend; interpreting emotion; relationships among choral conductor, singer, and teacher of singing; and the use of vibrato are examined in detail. Concluding with a conversation with two choral conductors, as well as a glossary, bibliography, and index, this volume is beneficial to singers, teachers, and conductors alike.
The Singer's Voice by Joan WallDescribes the five major parts involved in breathing for singing, and shows how they function separately and together. Discusses the vocal tract, describes the functions and implications of the vocal folds (formerly the larynx), and shows scenes of a real larynx using a fiberoptic endoscope.
Accompanied by 5 print volumes, shelved in MAIN under the same call numbers.
Call Number: DVD MT821.S56 2004 (5 discs)
Publication Date: 2004
Chen Reiss: Mozart Arias (masterclass)This new masterclass features one of the world’s most accomplished sopranos, Chen Reiss, with members of the UK's Philharmonia Chorus, and is devoted to the arias of Mozart.Repertoire: Così fan tutte K588Despina’s aria “Una donna a quindici anni”La clemenza di Tito K621Sesto’s aria “Parto! Ma tu ben mio”Die Zauberflöte K620Sarastro’s aria “O Isis und Osiris”Idomeneo K366Ilia’s aria “Padre, germani, addio”Le nozze di Figaro K492Cherubino’s aria “Non so più cosa son”Die Zauberflöte K620Tamino’s aria “Dies Bildnis ist bezaubernd schön”
Jonathan Miller's Opera Works SeriesWith infectious enthusiasm, humour and no-nonsense insight, Jonathan Miller brings opera to life for nine young singers from the Royal Northern College of Music. Taking various famous scenes from scratch, he rehearses them in different aspects of opera: the ensemble, the duet, the chorus, the aria, the recitative and the death scene. There are no sets, no costumes, no orchestras and no rules. Just glorious music, dramatic analysis and a compelling understanding of each situation.
Master Class with Andrew LippaGrab your lunch and join Emmy winner and Tony and Grammy nominee Andrew Lippa for this 2014 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, where he coaches singers on his songs. Lippa is currently receiving critical acclaim for his oratorio I am Harvey Milk which he composed and in which he also is singing the role of Harvey Milk.
Masterclass with Christa LudwigBorn in Berlin on 16 March, 1928, the mezzo soprano Christa Ludwig celebrates her 80th Birthday in 2008. Arthaus Musik is marking this anniversary with a special DVD Birthday Edition: Franz Schubert Winterreise, together with a Lieder recital dating from the last year of her stage career. Both programmes represent something unique in what was one of the world’s longest singing careers. Christa Ludwig was the second female singer, after Lotte Lehmann, to give a concert hall performance of Winterreise. It is a performance we wanted to mark in our birthday edition by releasing for the first time the recording of a private Lieder recital dating from 1994 and featuring Winterreise. That same year Ludwig performed several Lieder recitals as part of a farewell tour. Christa Ludwig sings Lieder by Franz Schubert, Hugo Wolf, Gustav Mahler, Richard Strauss and Leonard Bernstein. Her accompanist for both programmes is Charles Spencer. In the third programme we experience Christa Ludwig giving a master class on the stage of Vienna’s Volkstheater in 1999. This is Ludwig the opera singer using her natural charm to motivate young singers. With friendly advice, she turns notes into music and draws surprising performances from a new generation of soloists.
Master Class with Jane EaglenJane Eaglen has one of the most formidable reputations in the opera world today. She is Professor of Voice at Baldwin Wallace College in Berea, Ohio, and the McGlasham International Chair in Voice at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama. In this 2012 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, four young, professional singers have been selected to perform operatic arias or song literature and receive instruction from Ms. Eaglen in this video presentation.
Masterclass with Julia VaradyIn 2003, after a career spanning nearly forty years, Julia Varady discreetly retired from the public stage. She now dedicates her time to teaching. While for most great singers the transition from performing to teaching generally follows signs of vocal deterioration, Julia Varady’s voice has never been so dazzling. She constantly sings in full voice during her classes, with the same intensity and generosity of spirit that made her one of the very finest lyric sopranos of our time. BONUS: The complete master class with Julia Varady
Master Class with Kelli O’HaraKelli O’Hara has unequivocally established herself as one of Broadway’s great leading ladies. Her portrayal of Anna Leonowens in the critically acclaimed revival of The King and I recently garnered her a Tony Award for Best Leading Actress in a Musical, along with Drama League and Outer Critics nominations. In this 2010 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, she offers a variety of techniques for improving vocal performance.
Master Class with Laura Brooks RiceMezzo-soprano, Laura Brooks Rice has won acclaim on the opera and concert stage for her rich, warm voice, musicality, charm and sensitive acting ability. An professor of voice at Westminster Choir College in Princeton, New Jersey, she offers in this 2012 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing a variety of technique for improving vocal technique.
Master Class with Margo GarrettOne of the country's leading collaborative artists and teachers of the art of collaboration between singer and pianist, Margo Garrett works In this 2014 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing with three singers on art song literature, addressing relevant issues and seeking to fully reveal the composers' intentions and elicit compelling performances.
Master Class with Renée FlemingIn this 2016 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, world-renowned soprano and musical ambassador Renée Fleming explores with singing students important elements and fine points of vocal technique. Known as "the people's diva" and winner of the 2013 Grammy for Best Classical Vocal Solo, Fleming continues to grace the world's greatest opera stages and concert halls, now extending her reach to include other musical forms and media.
Master Class with Stephen KingThe male voice presents a number of unique pedagogical issues. In this 2010 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, Stephen King will offer his insights into these issues and strategies for addressing them. An internationally recognized teacher, Stephen King is the Lynette S. Autrey Professor of Voice and Chair of Vocal Studies at the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University. Additionally, he is Director of Vocal Instruction for the singers of the famed Houston Grand Opera Studio and is a member of the Artist Faculty of the Aspen Music Festival and Ravinia Festival’s Steans Music Institute.
Master Class with Stephen SmithNoted pedagogue Stephen Smith in this 2016 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing works with an undergraduate, graduate and young professional singer and specifically address technical issues at various stages of vocal development. Smith is a professor of music at Northwestern University and maintains a private studio that includes elite singers
Master Class with Thomas HampsonIn this 2014 master class at the annual conference of the National Association of Teachers of Singing, singers works with renowned baritone Thomas Hampson, who has been praised by the New York Times for his "ceaseless curiosity." Hampson enjoys a singular international career as an opera singer, recording artist, and "ambassador of song," maintaining an active interest in research, education, musical outreach and technology. He has performed in the world's most important concert halls and opera houses with many renowned singers, pianists, conductors, and orchestras. Recently honored as a Metropolitan Opera Guild "Met Mastersinger," he is one of the most respected, innovative, and sought-after soloists performing today.
Poppea SeriesBased on David Alden's award-winning production for the Welsh National Opera, this clever, contemporary treatment of Monteverdi's Venetian masterpiece, L'Incoronazione di Poppea, follows the successful soap-style TV adaptations of The Vampyr and The Marriage of Figaro. Each episode begins with a "Previously on Poppea" round-up of the action so far, and the plot has all the ingredients of every good soap: lust, power, greed, corruption, intrigue, revenge, characters one loves to hate and a bit of cross-dressing thrown in for good measure. The setting is ancient Rome and focuses on the schemes of the Emperor Nero and his ambitious mistress, Poppea, to crown her Empress. Sung in Italian and recorded in digital widescreen.