Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current Biography by
Call Number: REFERENCE CT 100.C936
Library has 1940 to the present
Dictionary of American Biography by
Call Number: REFERENCE E176.D561
20 volumes plus supplements
Dictionary of National Biography by
Call Number: REFERENCE DA28.D561
The lives of notable people from the UK. 22 volumes plus supplements
Famous Idahoans by
Call Number: CT231.B388 1989
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
Idaho 100: Stories from Idaho Century Citizens by
Call Number: CT231.K634 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Webster's New Biographical Dictionary by
Call Number: REFERENCE CT103.W399 1988
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Who did what; the lives and achievements of the 5000 men and women--leaders of nations, saints and sinners, artists and scientists--who shaped our world.
Call Number: REFERENCE CT103.W62 1974
Publication Date: 1974
Who Was When? : A Dictionary of contemporaries by
Call Number: REFERENCE CT103.D362 1976
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
The Environmentalists: a biographical dictionary from the 17th century to the present by
Call Number: REFERENCE S926.A2A94 1993
Publication Date: 1993-08-01
The Nobel Scientists: a biographical encyclopedia by
Call Number: REFERENCE Q141.K78 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists by
Call Number: REFERENCE Q141.N68 1995 (4 vols)
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
A Who's Who of Sports Champions: their stories and records by
Call Number: REFERENCE GV697.A1H53 1995
Publication Date: 1995-05-22
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Indexed biographical material on people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor.
Biography (Gale In Context) An engaging database of contextual information on the world's most influential people. Over 650,000 biographical entries cover a range of historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers.
Artists from Latin American Cultures: a biographical dictionary by
Call Number: Reference N6502.5.C65 2002
Publication Date: 2002-10-30
Lives of the Great 20th Century Artists by
Call Number: N6489.L963 1986
Publication Date: 1986-07-15
Queers in History : The Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Historical Gays, Lesbians and Bisexuals by Queers in History is the first comprehensive biographical compendium of important historical and contemporary figures who were/are gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender. From Egyptian pharaohs, Catholic popes and Abraham Lincoln to Bishop Gene Robinson, Neil Patrick Harris and Angelina Jolie, Queers in History brings these figures, from their work to their sexuality, to life. The hundreds of people whose stories appear in this book are some of the most intriguing personalities of their times: actors and actresses, writers and musicians, businessmen and politicians, scientists and soldiers. But this irresistibly readable encyclopedia intended for gays and straights alike doesn’t just report those details that get left out of the standard biographies; it reveals a fascinating picture of queer society and culture throughout recorded history, from the homosexual traditions practiced by samurai in Japan to the modern struggles for equal rights in America. Sir Ian McKellen offers a foreword.
Publication Date: 2009
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History, Routledge A uniquely authoritative and comprehensive reference work on the key men and women in the history of homosexuality from antiquity to the middle of the twentieth century. It includes biographies, with references, on figures - famous, notorious or unknown - in politics, social activism, culture and the arts, medicine, religion and other fields throughout Europe, North and South America, South Africa and Australasia.