100 Great Poems by Women by
Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Carolyn Kizer has compiled the 100 best poems by women, from the 15th century to the present. Although the book contains many of the obvious choices -- poems by Marianne Moore, Sylvia Plath, Emily Dickinson, and Adrienne Rich -- it is Kizer's selection of lesser-known but extraordinary poets that makes this collection stand out.
The Ahsahta anthology : modern & contemporary poetry of the American west by 
All the Odes by
Pablo Neruda was a master of the ode, which he conceived as an homage to just about everything that surrounded him--from an artichoke to the clouds in the sky, from the moon to his own friendship with Federico García Lorca, from the seasons to his favorite places in Chile. He was in his late forties when he committed himself to writing an ode a week and in the end produced a total of 225, which are dispersed throughout his varied oeuvre. This bilingual volume, edited by Ilan Stavans, the distinguished translator and scholar of Latin American literature, gathers all the odes together for the first time in any language. Rendered into English by an assortment of accomplished translators that includes Philip Levine, Paul Muldoon, Mark Strand, and Margaret Sayers Peden, collectively they read like the personal diary of a man in search of meaning who sings to life itself, to our connections with one another, and to the place we have in nature and the cosmos. All the Odes is a lasting statement on the role of poetry as a lightning rod during tumultuous times.
American Poetry - The Nineteeth Century (2 vols) by
In nineteenth-century America, poetry was part of everyday life, as familiar as a hymn, a love song, a patriotic exhortation. The two volumes of The Library of America's American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century reveal the vigor and diversity of a tradition embracing solitary visionaries and congenial storytellers, humorists and dissidents, songwriters and philosophers. These extraordinary anthologies reassess America's poetic legacy with a comprehensive sweep that no previous anthology has attempted.
Extending chronologically from the classic couplets of Philip Freneau to the pioneering free verse of Walt Whitman, this first volume charts the formation of a distinctly American poetry. Here, in generous selections, are the major figures: Poe, Emerson, Bryant, Longfellow, Whittier--as well as such unexpected contributors as the landscape painter Thomas Cole, the actress Fanny Kemble, and the presidents John Quincy Adams and Abraham Lincoln.
This collection offers the unique opportunity to appreciate anew such classics as Whittier's "Snow-Bound," Bryant's "Forest Hymn," and Emerson's "Hamatreya," while discovering a world of less familiar pleasures: the mystical sonnets of Jones Very, the Romantic fantasias of Maria Gowen Brooks, the whimsical meditations of Transcendentalist Christopher Pearse Cranch, the stirring political poems of Joel Barlow and John Pierpont, and the somber and undervalued late lyrics of Longfellow.
The range of the poems' subject matter is equally extraordinary and suggests the wide-ranging interests and passions of a national culture in the making: the War of 1812 and Napolean's retreat from Moscow, the horrors of slavery and the struggle for Greek independence, historical figures from Dante to Rubens to Daniel Webster and Red Jacket, Byzantine history and New England folklore, the landscapes of Italy and India, Florida, and Niagara Falls.
Woven among the poetry of the early nineteenth century is a wealth of popular ballads, recitations, and songs both secular and religious: "Home, Sweet Home," "The Old Oaken Bucket," "A Visit from St. Nicholas," "It Came Upon the Midnight Clear," "Battle Hymn of the Republic." From Lydia Maria Child's Thanksgiving poem ("Over the river and through the wood") to George Pope Morris's "The Oak" ("Woodman, spare that tree!"), these pages ring with the phrases that have become part of the national memory.
Unprecedented in its textual authority, the anthology includes newly researched biographical sketches of each poet, a year-by-year chronology of poets and poetry from 1800 to 1900, and extensive notes.
American Poetry - The Twentieth Century (2 vols) by
In the years between the beginning of the twentieth century and the end of World War II, American poetry was transformed, producing a body of work whose influence was felt throughout the world. Now for the first time the landmark two-volume Library of America anthology of twentieth-century poetry through the post-War years restores that era in all its astonishing beauty and explosive energy.
This first volume of the set, organized chronologically by the poets' birthdates, takes the reader from Henry Adams (1838-1918) to Dorothy Parker (1893-1967), and in the process reveals the unfolding of a true poetic renaissance. Included are generous selections from some of the century's greatest poets: Edwin Arlington Robinson, Robert Frost, Wallace Stevens, William Carlos Williams, Marianne Moore, H.D., Ezra Pound, T. S. Eliot. Here they are seen as part of an age that proposed new and often contentious definitions of what American poetry could be and fresh perceptions of a society undergoing rapid and often tumultuous change.
The multifarious aesthetic influences brought to bear--Chinese and Japanese poetry, the African-American sermon, the artistic revolutions of Cubism and Dada, the cadences of jazz, the brash urgencies of vernacular speech--resulted in a poetic culture of dynamic energy and startling contrasts.
The poets of this era transformed not only style but traditional subject matter: there are poems here on a silent movie actress, a lynching, the tenements of New York, the trench warfare of World War I, the Russian Revolution, and the landscape of Mars. Here too are folk ballads on events like the assassination of McKinley and the sinking of the Titanic ; popular and humorous verse by Don Marquis and Franklin P. Adams; the famous "Spectra" hoax; song lyrics by Ma Rainey, Joe Hill, and Irving Berlin; and poems by writers as unexpected as Djuna Barnes, Sherwood Anderson, John Reed, and H. P. Lovecraft. Included are some of the century's most important poems, presented in full: Pound's Hugh Selwyn Mauberley , Eliot's The Waste Land , Steven's Notes Toward a Supreme Fiction .
Best American Poetry (new edition each year) by 
A Book of Luminous Things: an international anthology of poetry by
Nobel laureate Czeslaw Milosz selects and introduces 300 of his favorite poems in this "magnificent collection" that ranges "widely across time and continents, from eighth century China to contemporary americanca" (San Francisco Chronicle).
City Lights Pocket Poets Anthology by
"This comprehensive selection from the influential City Lights Pocket Poets Series is a landmark retrospective, celebrating forty years of publishing and cultural history.
From the introduction by Lawrence Ferlinghetti:
"Even though some say that an avant-garde in literature no longer exists, the smaller independent publisher is itself still a true avant-garde, its place still out there, scouting the unknown . . . From the beginning, the aim was to publish across the board, avoiding the provincial and the academic . . . I had in mind rather an international, dissident, insurgent ferment . . ."
The Columbia Anthology of American Poetry by
In the nineteenth century, Alexis de Tocqueville suggested that the poetry of the new American democratic state, free from the staggering weight of centuries of European aristocracy and tradition, would focus on "man alone... his passions, his doubts, his rare properties and inconceivable wretchedness."
For hundreds of years, American poets have presented their various images of the land and its people. But what is "American poetry?" Is there truly such a thing as an American poetic tradition, spanning over nearly four centuries from colonial times to the turn of the millennium? In The Columbia Anthology of American Poetry, Jay Parini, a respected American poet and critic in his own right, offers an authoritative survey of the elusive category that is the poetry of the American people.
The Columbia Anthology of American Poetry covers all of the canonical American poets, from the colonial to the contemporary-Anne Bradstreet, Walt Whitman, T.S. Eliot, Ezra Pound, and Adrienne Rich are all included.
But Parini has also selected a broad sampling of poetry from voices that have been heard as widely over the years. Here, for the first time, is a thorough collection of nineteenth- and twentieth-century poetry by women, Native American, and African Americans. Within these pages readers will find the many different traditions that make up the expansive collage of American poetry. Here are the Transcendentalists-Ralph Waldo Emerson, Margaret Fuller, and Henry David Thoreau; and the Imagists-William Carlos Williams, Amy Lowell, H.D., and Carl Sandburg.
Readers will discover also the early twentieth-century movement of African-American poetic expression, known as the Harlem Renaissance-James Weldon Johnson, Countee Cullen, Gwendolyn Bennett, and Langston Hughes are all solidly represented in The Columbia Anthology of American Poetry.
Jay Parini's introduction deftly guides us into the rich tradition of poetry in our country. Whether in search of a well-known classic or a poem that is not yet considered part of the American poetic tradition, readers will find much to enjoy in The Columbia Anthology of American Poetry.
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies by
For over a hundred years, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies has been the preeminent index for answers to questions about the world of poetry, identifying the author of a poem or the anthologies in which it can be found when only a title, first line, or last line is known. This latest edition-a "must have" for libraries-brings its index up to date as of May 31, 2006.
This latest version features 85,000 classic and contemporary poems by 12,000 poets. Also included are works in translation and for the first time poetry in Spanish, Vietnamese, and French. The subject organization of the poems is especially useful. Hundreds of new subjects have been added, indexing poems on highly relevant topics such as Osama bin Laden, the war in Iraq, Dick Cheney, the Internet, and Rosa Parks, as well as timeless subjects like the Bill of Rights, unspoken love, faith, and inspiration.
Our impressive team of consultants includes J. D. McClatchy, Harvey Shapiro, and former poet laureate Mark Strand. From The Norton Anthology of Poetry (2005 edition) to Poetry after 9/11 and Garrison Keillor's Good Poems , this new edition puts readers in touch with the best of the latest anthologies and the lasting favorites.
Cross Worlds: transcultural poetics : an anthology by
Cross Words refers to cultural hybrids, trans-cultural alliances, and associations. This fascinating compendium documents--in essays, conversations, and socratic raps--the vital work poets perform when they write across borders.
Anne Waldman is the author of more than forty collections of poetry, the editor of numerous anthologies, and, for The Iovis Trilogy , the winner of the Shelley Memorial Award and the USA PEN Center Award for Poetry. She is a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.
Laura Wright is a poet, translator, and librarian. With Anne Waldman, she co-edited Beats at Naropa (Coffee House Press, 2009).
Eleven More American Women Poets in the 21st Century by
Eleven More American Women Poets in the 21st Century is an exciting sequel to its predecessors in the American Poets in the 21st Century series. Like the earlier anthologies, this volume includes generous selections of poetry by some of the best poets of our time as well as illuminating poetics statements and incisive essays on their work. This unique organization makes these books invaluable teaching tools. Broadening the lens through which we look at contemporary poetry, this new volume extends its geographical net by including Caribbean and Canadian poets. Representing three generations of women writers, among the insightful pieces included in this volume are essays by Karla Kelsey on Mary Jo Bang's modes of artifice, Christine Hume on Carla Harryman's kinds of listening, Dawn Lundy Martin on M. NourbeSe Phillip (for whom "english / is a foreign anguish"), and Sina Queyras on Lisa Robertson's confoundingly beautiful surfaces. A companion web site will present audio of each poet's work.
From Totems to Hip-Hop by
Celebrated novelist, poet, and MacArthur fellow Ishmael Reed pushes the boundaries once again in the publication of From Totems to Hip Hop--a truly all-inclusive multicultural anthology--a literary event which will finally even the playing field. This important collection synthesizes and presents broad swaths of work from poets of all races and backgrounds, as only Reed can, ranging from Gertrude Stein to Ai, from Bessie Smith to Askia Toure, from W. C. Handy to the little-known poetry of Ernest Hemingway. Through his unique position in American letters, as writer, teacher, and even publisher, Reed has an unparalleled working knowledge of many of the more marginalized voices in American poetry. This collection will reflect that unique access by including acknowledged masters as well as lesser known talents in greater variety than any previous anthology. From Totems to Hip Hop will cover American poetry from its pre-Columbian origins to the hip hop lyricists of today and, with the guidance of Reed's thoughtful and provocative introduction and headnotes, trace the remarkably rich cross-pollination which has continually occurred across racial and cultural lines.
Great American Prose Poems: from Poe to the present by
A prose poem is a poem written in prose rather than verse. But what does that really mean? Is it an indefinable hybrid? An anomaly in the history of poetry? Are the very words "prose poem" an oxymoron? This groundbreaking anthology edited by celebrated poet David Lehman, editor of The Best American Poetry series, traces the form in all its dazzling variety from Poe and Emerson to Auden and Ashbery and on, right up to the present.In his brilliant and lucid introduction, Lehman explains that a prose poem can make use of all the strategies and tactics of poetry, but works in sentences rather than lines. He also summarizes the prose poem's French heritage, its history in the United States, and the salient differences between verse and prose. Arranged chronologically to allow readers to trace the gradual development of this hybrid genre, the poems anthologized here include important works from such masters of American literature as Gertrude Stein, William Carlos Williams, e. e. cummings, Hart Crane, Ernest Hemingway, James Schuyler, Allen Ginsberg, Frank O'Hara, and Elizabeth Bishop. Contemporary mainstays and emerging poets -- Robert Bly, John Ashbery, Charles Simic, Billy Collins, Russell Edson, James Tate, Anne Carson, Yusef Komunyakaa, and Lydia Davis, among them -- are represented with their best work in the field.The prose poem is beginning to enjoy a tremendous upswing in popularity. Readers of this marvelous collection, a must-have for anyone interested in the current state of the art, will learn why.
How Snow Falls by
In his first poetry collection for a decade, Craig Raine addresses themes of transformation in human nature and the natural world and confronts the quiddities of death and sex, memory and desire, commemoration and love. At the core of How Snow Falls are four long poems that explore the possibilities of the form; there are two ardent elegies, one for the poet's mother and one for a dead lover; a sparkling reworking of Ryunosuke Akutagawa's story In a Grove ; lastly a "film-poem," High Table . These poems are sometimes joyous, often moving, and always turn an unflinching gaze on the world. Taken together, this collection reawakens us to forgotten worlds and gives voice to the hidden language of existence. As Raine writes in Night : "don't give way to drowsiness, poet. / You are the pledge we give eternity / and so the slave of every second."
An Invitation to Poetry: a new Favorite Poem Project anthology by
For a reader unaccustomed to reading poetry, or who has fallen away from the custom, this collection offers an inviting way into the art, or back into it. For readers devoted to poetry, it offers illuminating examples of the infinitely various ways a poem reaches a reader.In both the book and the videos on the accompanying DVD, poems by Sappho, Shakespeare, Keats, Whitman, and Dickinson as well as contemporary poets are introduced by people from across the United States--a construction worker, a Supreme Court justice, a glassblower, a marine--each of whom speaks about his or her connection to the poem. Their comments are variously poignant, funny, heartening, tart, penetrating, and eccentric, showing some of the ways poetry is alive for American readers. An Invitation to Poetry will inspire a fresh experience of poetry's pleasure and insight.
The Language of Life by
"Poets live the lives all of us live," says Bill Moyers, "with one big difference. They have the power--the power of the word--to create a world of thoughts and emotions other can share. We only have to learn to listen." In a series of fascinating conversations with thirty-four American poets, The Language Of Life celebrates language in its "most exalted, wrenching, delighted, and concentrated form," and its unique power to re-create the human experience: falling in love, facing death, leaving home, playing basketball, losing faith, finding God. Listening to Linda McCarriston's award-winning poems about a child trapped in a violent home, or to Jimmy Santiago Baca explaining how words changed his life in prison, or to David Mura describing his Japanese American grandfather's experience in relocation camps, or to Sekou Sundiata stitching the magic of his childhood church in Harlem to the African tradition of storytelling, or to Gary Snyder invoking the natural wonder of mountains and rivers, or to Adrienne Rich calling for honesty in human relations, all testify to the necessity and clarity of the poet's voice, and all give hope that from such a wide variety of racial, ethnic, and religious threads we might yet weave a new American fabric. "'Listen,' said the storytellers of old, 'listen and you shall hear,'" explains Bill Moyers. The Language Of Life is a joyous, life-affirming invitation to listen, learn, and experience the exhilarating power of the spoken word.
Looking Out, Looking In by
The poems included in this comprehensive anthology run the gamut of styles and themes, but all are by Latinos writing from the mid- twentieth century to the present. Some deal with issues specific to the Hispanic experience, such as displacement, identity and language. Others ponder universal concerns, such as love, family and humanity. In "Letter to Arturo," Mexican-American poet Lucha Corpi pens a song of love to her son: "You've hardly left / and already I miss the light / caress of your hands / on my hair, / and your laughter and your tears, / and all your questions / about seas, / moons and deserts. / And all my poems / are tying themselves together / in my throat."More than 60 Latino poets are represented in this wide-ranging collection that focuses on poetry from the four largest groups in the United States: Mexican Americans, Cuban Americans, Puerto Ricans and Dominican Americans.Included are distinguished poets such as Julia Álvarez, Gloria Anzaldúa, Jimmy Santiago Baca, Martín Espada and Pedro Pietri, as well as less well-known writers who deserve more recognition. Whether writing about timeless issues or themes specific to their community, the poets in this volume craft a multilayered look at what it means to be Latino in the United States. Looking Out, Looking In is an indispensable and welcome addition to American and Latino literatures.
The Making of a Poem: a Norton anthology of poetic forms by
The anthology uses example and explanation to demonstrate the excitement and entertainment of various poetic forms, including the sonnet, the ode, the elegy and the pastoral. Included are essays by the editors describing their own personal journeys to a form for their poetic voice. Above all this anthology shows that poetic form is a continuing adventure. Poetic form is illustrated not as a series of rules but as a passionate conversation in which every reader can become involved.
May Sky: there is always tomorrow : an anthology of Japanese American concentration camp kaiko haiku by
Traces the literary activities of Japanese Americans who became members of the haiku clubs while in internment camps during World War II.
New Poets of the American West by
New Poets of the American West is a panoramic (and revealing) view of the West through the eyes of more than 250 poets and 450 poems, including poems in English, Spanish, Navajo, Salish, Assiniboine, and Dakota languages. In these pages you will visit flea markets, military bases, internment camps, reservations, funerals, weddings, rodeos, nursing homes, national parks, backyard barbecues, prisons, forests, meadows, rivers, and mountain tops. In your ¿mind¿s eye,¿ you will meet a simple-minded girl who gets run over by a bull, two mothers watching a bear menacingly nosing toward unsuspecting children, and children who ¿have yet to be toilet trained out of their souls.¿ You will learn to ¿reach into the sacred womb, / grasp a placid hoof / and coax life toward this certain moment.¿ You¿ll teach poetry to third graders, converse with hitchhikers, lament for an incarcerated brother ¿trying to fill the holes in his soul / with Camel cigarettes / and crude tattoos.¿ You will sit at the kitchen table where perhaps the world will end ¿while we are laughing and crying, eating of the last sweet bite.¿ In the short time each of us has in this world, here¿s your chance to experience life widely and to reflect on your experiences deeply.
Norton Anthology of Modern and Contemporary Poetry (2 vols) by
Thirty years later, this innovative, cover-to-cover revision renders with fresh eyes and meticulous care the remarkable range of styles, subjects, and voices in English-language poetry. The newly titled Norton Anthology of Modern and Contemporary Poetry--now available in two paperback volumes--includes 1,596 poems by 195 poets (half of the poems are new), from Walt Whitman and Thomas Hardy in the late nineteenth century to Anne Carson and Sherman Alexie in the twenty-first.nbsp;The Norton Anthology of Modern and Contemporary Poetry continues to be the most comprehensive collection of twentieth-century poetry in English. It richly represents the major figures, while also giving full voice to ethnic American poetries, experimental traditions, postcolonial poetry, and the long poem, eclipsing all other anthologies in scope, clarity, and balance.
The Oxford Book of American Poetry by
Here is the eagerly awaited new edition of The Oxford Book of American Poetry brought completely up to date and dramatically expanded by poet David Lehman. It is a rich, capacious volume, featuring the work of more than 200 poets-almost three times as many as the 1976 edition. With a succinctand often witty head note introducing each author, it is certain to become the definitive anthology of American poetry for our time. Lehman has gathered together all the works one would expect to find in a landmark collection of American poetry, from Whitman's Crossing Brooklyn Ferry to Stevens's The Idea of Order at Key West, and from Eliot's The Waste Land to Ashbery's Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror. But equally important,the editor has significantly expanded the range of the anthology. The book includes not only writers born since the previous edition, but also many fine poets overlooked in earlier editions or little known in the past but highly deserving of attention. The anthology confers legitimacy on theObjectivist poets; the so-called Proletariat poets of the 1930s; famous poets who fell into neglect or were the victims of critical backlash (Edna St. Vincent Millay); poets whose true worth has only become clear with the passing of time (Weldon Kees). Among poets missing from Richard Ellmann's 1976volume but published here are W. H. Auden, Charles Bukowski, Donald Justice, Carolyn Kizer, Kenneth Koch, Stanley Kunitz, Emma Lazarus, Mina Loy, Howard Moss, Lorine Niedecker, George Oppen, James Schuyler, Elinor Wylie, and Louis Zukosky. Many more women are represented: outstanding poets such asJosephine Jacobsen, Josephine Miles, May Swenson. Numerous African-American poets receive their due, and unexpected figures such as the musicians Bob Dylan, Patti Smith and Robert Johnson have a place in this important work. This stunning collection redefines the great canon of American poetry from its origins in the 17th century right up to the present. It is a must-have anthology for anyone interested in American literature and a book that is sure to be consulted, debated, and treasured for years to come. Web Site A companion web site is now available at a href="http://www.oxfordpoetry.com"www.oxfordpoetry.com/a
Poems for the Millennium, Volume 3 : The University of California Book of Romantic and Postromantic Poetry by
The previous two volumes of this acclaimed anthology set forth a globally decentered revision of twentieth-century poetry from the perspective of its many avant-gardes. Now editors Jerome Rothenberg and Jeffrey C. Robinson bring a radically new interpretation to the poetry of the preceding century, viewing the work of the romantic and post-romantic poets as an international, collective, often utopian enterprise that became the foundation of experimental modernism. Global in its range, volume three gathers selections from the poetry and manifestos of canonical poets, as well as the work of lesser-known but equally radical poets. Defining romanticism as experimental and visionary, Rothenberg and Robinson feature prose poetry, verbal-visual experiments, and sound poetry, along with more familiar forms seen here as if for the first time. The anthology also explores romanticism outside the European orbit and includes ethnopoetic and archaeological works outside the literary mainstream. The range of volume three and its skewing of the traditional canon illuminate the process by which romantics and post- romantics challenged nineteenth-century orthodoxies and propelled poetry to the experiments of a later modernism and avant-gardism.
Poems for the Millennium, Volume 4 : The University of California Book of North African Literature by
In this fourth volume of the landmark Poems for the Millennium series, Pierre Joris and Habib Tengour present a comprehensive anthology of the written and oral literatures of the Maghreb, the region of North Africa that spans the modern nation states of Libya, Tunisia, Algeria, Morocco, and Mauritania, and including a section on the influential Arabo-Berber and Jewish literary culture of Al-Andalus, which flourished in Spain between the ninth and fifteenth centuries. Beginning with the earliest pictograms and rock drawings and ending with the work of the current generation of post-independence and diasporic writers, this volume takes in a range of cultures and voices, including Berber, Phoenician, Jewish, Roman, Vandal, Arab, Ottoman, and French. Though concentrating on oral and written poetry and narratives, the book also draws on historical and geographical treatises, philosophical and esoteric traditions, song lyrics, and current prose experiments. These selections are arranged in five chronological "diwans" or chapters, which are interrupted by a series of "books" that supply extra detail, giving context or covering specific cultural areas in concentrated fashion. The selections are contextualized by a general introduction that situates the importance of this little-known culture area and individual commentaries for nearly each author.
Poems for the Millennium, Volumes 1 & 2: : the University of California book of modern & postmodern poetry by
As we come to the end of the century, the entire vista of modern poetry has dramatically changed. Poems for the Millennium captures the essence of that change, and unlike any anthology available today, it reveals the revolutionary concepts at the very heart of twentieth-century poetry. International in its coverage, these volumes depart from the established poetic modes that grew out of the nineteenth century and instead bring together the movements that radically altered the ways that art and language express the human condition.
Poetry After 9/11: an anthology of New York poets by
This collection features the work of some of New York's pre-eminent poets, including Pulitzer Prize winner Stephen Dunn and National Book Award finalist Alicia Suskin Ostriker, at a pivotal moment in America's history -- one year after the World Trade Center and Pentagon terrorist attacks. The poems, including many that have never been published before, cover an extraordinary variety of responses to the experience of writing and living in the aftermath of September 11. Some pieces offer eyewitness accounts of poets at the scene; others touch more indirectly upon the events and reflect the sombre resonance of the tragedy's impact upon life in the city. All reflect a gravitation toward the healing powers of self-expression, which were visible everywhere in the days after the attacks: on the walls of the firehouses, in letters to the editor at local newspapers, even scrawled in the dusty ash covering lower Manhattan.
The Poetry Anthology, 1912-2002: ninety years of America's most distinguished verse magazine by
The history of poetry and of Poetry in America are almost interchangeable, certainly inseparable, wrote A. R. Ammons. Founded by Harriet Monroe in 1912, Poetry magazine established its reputation immediately by printing T. S. Eliot s Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock, Carl Sandburg s Chicago Poems, Wallace Stevens s Sunday Morning, and the first important poems of Ezra Pound, Marianne Moore, William Carlos Williams, Robert Frost, and many other then unknown, now classic authors. Publishing monthly without interruption, Poetry has become America s most distinguished magazine of verse, presenting, often for the very first time, virtually every notable poet of the last nine decades an unprecedented record. Decade by decade, this bountiful ninetieth-anniversary anthology from Poetry includes the poems of the major talents along with several lesser known in all their variety: William Butler Yeats, Edgar Lee Masters, Sara Teasdale, D. H. Lawrence, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Vachel Lindsay, Robert Graves, May Sarton, Langston Hughes, W. H. Auden, Stephen Spender, Hart Crane, Robert Penn Warren, Dylan Thomas, e. e. cummings, Gwendolyn Brooks, James Merrill, John Ashbery, Frank O Hara, Randall Jarrell, Elizabeth Bishop, Robert Lowell, Robinson Jeffers, Theodore Roethke, Karl Shapiro, Anne Sexton, Thom Gunn, John Berryman, Sylvia Plath, Maxine Kumin, Ted Hughes, Adrienne Rich, and Galway Kinnell. In recent decades, Poetry has presented Seamus Heaney, Rita Dove, Billy Collins, Kay Ryan, Eavan Boland, Stephen Dunn, Mary Oliver, Yusef Komunyakaa, Jane Kenyon, James Tate, Sharon Olds, Louise Gluck, Marilyn Hacker, and many, many others. T. S. Eliot called Poetry an American institution. The Poetry Anthology is sure to be an American keepsake."
The Poets Laureate Anthology by
Its success was something no one before had ever known. The Spartacus Road is the route along which this rebel army outfought the world's finest military forces between 73and 71 BC, bringing both fears and hopes that have never wholly left the modern mind.Sweepingly erudite and strikingly personal, The Spartacus Road is a book like none other--at once a journalist's notebook, a reflection on life's fragility, including the author's own fight against cancer; and a classicist's celebration. As he travels along the Spartacus Road and into the classical Italian landscape, Stothard breathes new life into a singular war in antiquity, recounting one of the greatest stories of the ages.
Till I End My Song: A gathering of last poems by
"A colossus among critics. . . . His enthusiasm for literature is a joyous intoxicant." --New York Times
In this charming anthology, esteemed literary critic Harold Bloom collects the last poems of history's most important and celebrated poets. As with his immensely popular Best Poems of the English Language, Bloom has carefully curated and annotated the final works of one hundred poets in Till I End My Song, with selections from John Keats, T.S. Eliot, Elizabeth Bishop, Emily Dickinson, Dylan Thomas, Robert Frost, D.H. Lawrence, W.H. Auden, John Milton, Herman Melville, Emily Bront#65533;, and others. Written with the same wise and discerning commentary of earlier books--including his acclaimed Shakespeare: The Invention of the Human and The Book of J--Till I End My Song is a moving and provocative meditation on the relationship between art, meaning, and ultimately, death, from the literary titan of our time.
Twentieth-Century Latin American Poetry by
Latin Americans have written some of the world's finest poetry in the twentieth century, as the Nobel Prizes awarded to Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and Octavio Paz attest. Yet this rich literary production has never been gathered into a single volume that attempts to represent the full range and the most important writers-until now. Here, under one cover, are the major poets and their major works, which appear both in the original language (Spanish or Portuguese) and in excellent English translations.
Under a silver sky [computer file] : an anthology of Pacific Northwest poetry. Volume 1 by
A collection of poetry, assembled by faculty members Bill Ransom and Matthew Smith for the Evergreen State College course entitled A silver sky : poetry and place in the Pacific Northwest.
When the Light of the World Was Subdued, Our Songs Came Through by
"United States Poet Laureate Joy Harjo gathers the work of more than 160 poets, representing nearly 100 indigenous nations, into the first historically comprehensive Native poetry anthology. This landmark anthology celebrates the indigenous peoples of North America, the first poets of this country, whose literary traditions stretch back centuries. Opening with a blessing from Pulitzer Prize-winner N. Scott Momaday, the book contains powerful introductions from contributing editors who represent the five geographically organized sections. Each section begins with a poem from traditional oral literatures and closes with emerging poets, ranging from Eleazar, a seventeenth-century Native student at Harvard, to Jake Skeets, a young Diné poet born in 1991, and including renowned writers such as Luci Tapahanso, Natalie Diaz, Layli Long Soldier, and Ray Young Bear. When the Light of the World Was Subdued, Our Songs Came Through offers the extraordinary sweep of Native literature, without which no study of American poetry is complete"--
Working the Dirt by
A loamy volume of verse thematically inspired, Working the Dirt celebrates Southerners' connection to the land. The selected poems share themes of gardening, farming, and the rich Southern soil. The approximately one hundred poets, known and lesser known, living and dead, include: Fred Chappell, Walter McDonald, A. R. Ammons, Robert Morgan, Wendell Berry, Henry Taylor, Tom Dent, Jesse Stuart, Jim Wayne Miller, Ellen Bryant Voigt, Marion Montgomery, James Whitehead, C. D. Wright, George Scarbrough, Ahmos Zu-Bolton II, Thad Stem, Jr., William Sprunt, Donald Justice, Thomas Rabbitt, James Dickey, Rick Lott, John Allison, Edwin Godsey, Richard Jackson, Nikki Giovanni, Alvin Aubert, Margaret Walker, Emily Hiestand, Robert Gibbons, John Stone, Coppie Green, Bonnie Roberts, Coleman Barks, Anne George, Edward Eaton, Margaret Gibson, Naomi Shihab Nye, Jack Butler, R. H. W. Dillard, George Scarbrough, Jane Gentry, Rodney Jones, Dannye Romine, Miller Williams, George Garrett, Charles Edward Eaton, Sandra Agricola, Patricia Hooper, Gerald Barrax, Gibbons Ruark, Catherine Savage Brosman, Loretta Cobb, and Pattiann Rogers.
A Poet's Glossary by
A joyful, elegant glossary of poetic terms spanning centuries and continents, from the famed poet and author of the best-selling How to Read a Poem (and Fall in Love with Poetry).
Poet's Market 2017 by
Want to get your poetry published? There's no better tool for making it happen than Poet's Market 2017, which includes hundreds of publishing opportunities specifically for poets, including listings for book publishers, publications, contests, and more. These listings include contact information, submission preferences, and--when offered--payment information.
In addition to the listings, Poet's Market offers all-new articles devoted to the craft and business of poetry, featuring advice on the art of finishing a poem, the anatomy of a poetry book, ways to get the most out of your writing residency, homegrown promotions, and more!
A History of Feminist Literary Criticism
This book offers a comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field.
Critical Terms for Literary Study
Exploring the concepts that shape the way we read, the essays combine to provide an extraordinary introduction to the work of literature and literary study.
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
The key attractions are entries on writers, entries on individual works, Biblical and mythological characters and events, literary and critical terms and movements, and entries describing historical, cultural and social events.
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
An authoritative and international survey of world literature in English. The Guide covers everything from Old English to Contemporary Writing from all over the English-speaking world. It covers poems, novels, literary journals and plays.
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
An A-Z reference with entries on writers, on individual texts, and on general terms, genres and movements. The earliest written documents in medieval English (the visionary writings of Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe) are covered in an historical - and geographical - sweep that takes us up to the present day
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
A comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of poetry: its history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology.
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works.
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Documents the history and development of post-colonial literature and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories.
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and their Work
Featuring alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature by
Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century by
Contains entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.
The Chronology of American Literature by
An authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide, this book outlines the indispensable information in America's rich literary past - from major publications to lesser-known gems - while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline.
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story by
With lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States, this title offers readers a wealth of information and insight into the work of many of the finest short story writers in literary history.