Effective resumes and job applications by Louise Welsh SchrankShows how writing can help an applicant win a job, in preparing resumes, cover letters, thank you letters, and comprehensive job applications.
Call Number: DVD HF5383.E34 2000
Publication Date: 2000
People Like Us: Social Class in America by Louis AlvarezCampus use only. Shows how social class plays a role in the lives of all Americans, whether they live in Park Avenue penthouses, Appalachian trailer parks, bayou houseboats or suburban gated communities. The documentary travels across the country presenting stories that will resonate with viewers regardless of where they see themselves on the social spectrum--stories of family traditions, class mobility, and different lifestyle choices.
Call Number: DVD HN57.P46 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Virtual Job Interview by Carrie Rafanello-BazarInterview preparation with simulated interview and interactive questions, also includes tips on interviewing attire and handling illegal questions, plus a review.
Call Number: DVD HF5549.5.I6V57 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Podcasts & Blogs
Switch, Pivot, or Quit PodcastLooking for advice on personal and professional life? The Switch, Pivot, or Quit podcast may be of interest of interest. Hosted by Ahyiana Angel, a former sports publicist and current author, the podcast "shar[es] stories of women who have learned best practices through personal and professional development resulting in sound advice and actionable tips." With more 250 episodes, as of this write-up, the show covers a variety of topics, including: self-confidence (Episode 258), working remotely (Episode 257), and increasing productivity (Episode 243). These episodes range in length, with options for a quick listen to start the day or a longer lunch break companion. Solo episodes feel like a pep talk directly from Angel to the listener, and other episodes include guests for a panel of insights. The podcast garnered attention for its empowering message and valuable advice, including features in Apple Podcast's "Inspiring Women" and "Bold Women" collections. Tune in on Apple Podcasts, Stitcher, and Spotify, and find additional show notes at the link above.
AlisonLifelong learners will want to bookmark this resource. Alison is highly regarded as "one of the world's largest free learning platforms for education and skills training." Launched in Galway, Ireland in 2007, the platform has grown and garnered a worldwide base, with more than 18 million learners across 195 countries. Users should click the green "Sign Up" button in the top-right corner to get started. Then, readers can search for courses by category or type, or try the job-based search engine to find learning opportunities relevant to the user's career goals. Learners can expand vocational skill sets with the health and safety and project management courses, build their business's brand with social media marketing lessons, and explore different interest areas with a broad array of offerings across humanities and STEM disciplines. Though the courses are free, users have paid subscription options that unlock additional features. The website can be viewed in five languages. To switch the default language, click the globe icon in the top-right corner. [EMB]
Career Development ResourcesCompiled by the American Library Association (ALA), these Career Development Resources offer various templates and tips to "help you prepare for a productive and effective job search as well as enhance your career development efforts." Last updated in July 2020, these valuable materials are categorized by topic (for example, "Cover Letters" and "Networking"), with each broad category containing several specific tools. For example, the Interviewing section houses sets of sample questions, while the Resumes section offers visitors a collection of design and format guides. Additionally, at the top of the Career Development Resources page readers can download a printable version of the ALA's "Career Development Resource Guide," with more than 50 pages of insights on everything from professional etiquette to negotiating salaries. The guide also contains a useful "Evaluating Yourself" template that invites users to take inventory of their skills and interests and consider compatible career paths.
CAREERwiseBoth readers who are entering the job market for the first time and those returning after a career change may benefit from Minnesota State's CAREERwise platform. This resource provides a collection of "online tools for Minnesotans in the areas of career planning and education." Under the Explore Careers tab, users will find useful resources such as the Career Cluster Interest Survey (matching interests with potential career paths) and the Start Exploring Careers page (highlighting more than 800 career opportunities). Prospective students may want to begin with the Plan Your Education tab. Though geared toward students at Minnesota State colleges, some of the tools are universal. For example, the Prepare for College section (under Plan For Success) features tips for adult students returning to the classroom after life experience. Under the Find a Job tab, readers may want to check out the various guides to creating resumes, writing cover letters, and interviewing. The site even features a specific section on "COVID-19 Job Search Resources," with a list of virtual job fairs and current openings. CAREERwise is supported by Minnesota State's Workforce Development Department.
Careers in PsychologyCareersInPsychology.org provides numerous tools and resources for young minds interested in the various degree paths and career options in mental health and psychology. The site opens with a big question: "Where will a career in Psychology take you?" From there, informative articles attempt to provide an answer through discussions of popular psychology trends and pressing issues. Organizational sections (Careers, Degrees, Jobs, Psychologists, Counselors, Social Workers, Therapists) let readers research specific careers, degree programs, licensure information, and even internship opportunities. For instance, selecting the Psychologists tab produces a drop down menu with a number of subcategories, such as Psychologist Licensure, which lists the requirements for getting licensed as a psychologist in each of the 50 states, including degree requirements, clinical requirements, and other details.
CV MakerSeptember is International Update Your Resume Month, offering a great excuse to use CV Maker. This tool is designed specifically for resume optimization, helping users "create beautiful, professional resumes in minutes." While certain features require a paid user subscription, the basic content is available free of charge. Click the "Create a CV Now" button to get started. After filling in basic personal, educational, and work experience information, readers can generate polished products with the existing design templates. The home page highlights several of these templates for users to get a feel for what is available. Looking for additional assistance? Check out the Help and Resume Tips sections (linked at the bottom of the home page). The Resume Tips page provides a short but useful guide to framing resumes for a particular audience and proofreading for quality and clarity. Readers should also note that CV Maker is available in more than 30 languages.
Education and career information, labor laws and statistics for Idaho
Khan Academy: Navigate Your CareerWell known for its instructional videos in mathematics and science, Khan Academy also launched this Navigate Your Career unit as part of its Careers section. The resource, which is designed for both students who are exploring their first career as well as for those who are considering a job change, features interviews with a variety of professionals, as well as instructional written material and videos. As of this write-up, professions profiled include a freelance journalist/podcaster, a hairstylist, and a director of photography. These written and video materials cover job search topics ranging from networking to salary negotiation, as well as providing helpful hints for those seeking to build their own business. Readers who enjoy this unit may want to check out the Careers section of Khan Academy's site for additional guidance through units that address preparing for and navigating the job market.
Occupational Mobility ExplorerFrom the Federal Reserve Bank Philadelphia. In Exploring a Skills-Based Approach to Occupational Mobility, researchers from the Philadelphia and Cleveland Feds analyze the skills that employers request in the 33 largest metro areas and look for opportunities for workers to transfer their skills from one occupation to a similar — but higher-paying — occupation in the same labor market. This application is designed to make the findings interactive and wholly accessible to those interested in economic mobility.
TryEngineering.orgFrom the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) comes TryEngineering.org, a collection of resources designed to engage youth in computer science. K-12 instructors may want to start by checking out the Lesson Plan section, which features 28 lesson plans as of this write up. In Choose Your Best Way, middle school and high school students build their own mathematical model to help them solve problems, and, in the process, learn about computer algorithm. Another lesson, Networks, engages middle school learners with the concepts behind graph theory via a number of interactive, kinesthetic activities. Meanwhile, in the Career Profiles section, visitors can read a collection of short interviews with individuals who work in different careers related to computer science, from academia to game development to engineering, and more.
Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight (16 parts)In this series of candid video interviews with professionals across multiple industries, viewers get a no-nonsense account from working professionals on topics such as: keys to success in the field, education and certification requirements, general workplace atmosphere, a typical day on the job, industry-specific challenges, what the future holds, advice for breaking into the profession, and more. A valuable collection of videos that allow students and job seekers the ability to essentially go on “informational interviews” across a wide array of industries and professions.
The Employables (8 parts)This series follows job seekers with conditions such as autism or Tourette Syndrome as they work to overcome obstacles and find fulfilling employment that provides them with the skills to excel long term in their careers.
PBS American PortraitThis unique crowdsourced series blends stories filmed by people into documentaries revealing what it really means to be American today. It’s the story of what brings us together and what keeps us apart as we strive to understand each other.
2 Minutes to Success (12 parts)This series of short videos provides quick advice and tools for dealing with common workplace issues, and for developing your skills.
Vice Special Report: The Future of WorkThe next Industrial Revolution is upon us, and the way we work in 2019 is already unrecognizable to previous generations. Whole industries are in the process of being automated, with workers being replaced by AI and algorithms – and America is only now grappling with the huge questions raised by this shift. Produced in partnership with the Council on Foreign Relations, VICE Special Report: The Future of Work examines how radical developments in automation and artificial intelligence are set to change the world of work as we know it. Hosted by VICE News correspondent Krishna Andavolu, with contributions from correspondents Gianna Toboni and Michael Moynihan, the special looks at how entire industries are being disrupted, and how these changes are upending the global economy. Over the course of an hour, VICE correspondents sit down with a wide variety of experts – including Nobel Laureate economists, CEOs, and workers whose jobs will radically change in the years to come – documenting how industries that long seemed immune from automation, such as fast food, contract law and long-haul trucking, are rapidly being automated, with workers replaced by AI and algorithms.