Skip to Main Content
Podcasts & Blogs
Black Girl Film Club
Filmmakers and moviegoers alike will want to tune in to Black Girl Film Club, a podcast co-hosted by Ashley (an art director) and Britney (a writer) that explores "movies and the film industry from their unique, and often underrepresented, point of view." While episodes do air on the long side (averaging around two hours), they are packed full of exciting content. Each episode includes an in-depth discussion about a particular movie (recent picks include Hollywood Shuffle, Marie Antoinette, and Romeo + Juliet), film recommendations, and other topical discussions. For example, Episode 49 analyzes "Black stereotypes in film." New episodes are released every two weeks. Listeners can stream episodes on Apple Podcasts and Soundcloud. Black Girl Film Club is just over two years old and has more than 50 episodes available for listeners to enjoy as of this write-up. Plus, listeners can explore bonus content on the podcast's Twitter (@blkgirlfilmclub) and Instagram (@blackgirlfilmclub) accounts.
Websites
The Accessible Filmmaking Guide
Designed for filmmakers and other industry professionals, "The Accessible Filmmaking Guide" uses research-based approaches to ensure that both aesthetics and accessibility are at the forefront of filmmaking processes. As the guide notes, despite over half of current film revenue coming from "translated ... and accessible versions," of films, less than one percent of filmmaking budgets are devoted towards these other versions. This six-part pamphlet discusses various methods to achieve "audiovisual translation and accessibility," in all stages of the filmmaking process, delivering a clear message: "Everybody benefits from accessible filmmaking." Additionally, Part 4 provides a useful "workflow" template that outlines 17 suggested steps toward accessibility, following the usual pre- and post-production process. Dr. Pablo Romero-Fresco, a professor of Translation and Filmmaking, wrote and published the guide in 2018 with assistance from Dr. Louise Fryer, an educator and accessibility advisor. The project received funding from the British Film Institute, as well as support from Archer's Mark, Bertha Foundation, and Doc Society.
Coffee Break Film School
Branded as a "short and sweet overview of every part of the filmmaking process," Coffee Break Film School offers a fun and free way to expand on basic filmmaking skills. With 6 units and more than 10 videos per unit, the curriculum covers a lot of ground. However, as the name Coffee Break implies, each video's brevity allows for digestible browsing. Plus, most videos are flagged by difficulty (from beginner to intermediate), allowing students to learn and practice at their own pace. Lessons cover all aspects of film production, from writing to shooting to editing. Various cinematography personnel contribute to these webinars, ensuring that users are learning from experts in the field. This course is produced by the company Moviola, credited with designing "the very first film editing machine." In addition to this course, Moviola's site has plenty of other useful resources (all available for free, though some require registration). These additional tools include camera guides, software classes, and other courses specific to niche filmmaking topics.
Filmsourcing
Filmsourcing, a resource hub designed by and for filmmakers, is driven by a simple premise: "Amazing things should be easier to find." Sharing articles, tutorials, templates, and many more resources of interest, the website is reminiscent of a giant Google Drive for the filmmaking community. The impact of the innovative site has been applauded by major media outlets, including Indiewire and Mic. Users should note that some of the site's content requires a paid subscription. However, there are several free templates and resources available (and readily labeled as free for easy sorting). Resources span the spectrum from serious (e.g. production document templates found under Downloads/Resources) to silly (e.g. the Romantic Comedy Plot Generator found under Just For Fun). Additionally, the Articles section hosts a variety of free and informative content, including script writing tips and guidelines for a safe, healthy set. These resources can be sorted by following the various options on the Menu tab or scrolling to the bottom of the site and using the Quick Links feature.
Indigenous Cinema
Discover the NFB’s rich online collection
of Indigenous-made films.
New York Film Academy: Student Resources
Although primarily intended for New York Film Academy (NYFA) students, this website from NYFA contains a ton of valuable material for anyone interested in filmmaking. The short videos are arranged into four main categories: How-To's, Industry Trends, Q&A, and Featured Directors. There is also a query box and a list of topic tags to further refine searches. Resources delve into relevant professionalization subjects and provide information about the work of those who have successful careers in film. For example, an Industry Trends piece from February 2020, "The 6 Black Filmmakers Nominated for Academy Award for Best Director," features capsule biographies and trailers from films directed by the late John Singleton, Lee Daniels, Steve McQueen, Barry Jenkins, Jordan Peele, and Spike Lee. How To's cover topics such as "Best Tips for Making a Short Film in a Short Amount of Time," building a creative brand (see the November 16, 2018 post), and sound in filmmaking (see the July 20, 2018 post). The Q&A section profiles recent graduates and alumni of the NYFA program, showing the career paths that they took post-degree.
Streaming Video
Documentary Filmmaking: Tips from the Trenches
Learning to make documentaries requires several important steps. One is getting your hands on equipment and shooting footage whenever possible. Another is absorbing wisdom from those who have mastered the art form. This program provides much of that wisdom through interviews with successful documentary filmmakers—including D. A. Pennebaker, Chris Hegedus, Ross McElwee, Julia Reichert, Steven Bognar, and 25 others. Topics include the shifting definitions of documentary film, ways to learn about filmmaking, finding a good story, research, building trust with subjects, shooting, editing, using copyrighted music, screening the rough cut, ethical issues, finance, distribution, and promotion. A viewable/printable study guide is available online. (73 minutes)
Free Film Voices: Why Go to Film School?
For the cost of tuition, an independent filmmaker could do a feature-length movie—so why go to film school? Three film students at Columbia and New York Universities, along with NYU alumnus Spike Lee, talk about why school was right for them and how academic experience helps them as filmmakers. The strengths and differences of the two schools are discussed by numerous professors, including Mary Schmidt Campbell, dean of NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts; Bruce Ferguson, dean of Columbia’s School of the Arts; Janet Roach, Columbia screenwriting professor; Bill Reilly, NYU directing professor; and Annette Insdorf, Columbia film history professor. This program provides a good sense of what a film curriculum is all about and how these skills and opportunities can be put to use creatively as well as financially. (43 minutes)
Getting Started in Tinseltown: Making It in Hollywood—The Directors Series
This documentary is a fascinating compilation of some of Hollywood’s most acclaimed directors, based on extensive interviews with the subjects and the stars who have worked with them. This program looks at how each director got started in the business and asks the question: “Just what is a director and what do they do?” Part of the series Making it in Hollywood: The Directors Series. (84 minutes)
Hollywood’s Best Directors Choose Their Best Movies: Making It in Hollywood—The Directors Series
In their own words, each director selects one of their most compelling films and reveals intimate details about their most influential work while reviewing specific clips from each film. This program includes how famous scenes were staged and shot, how characters were cast, and how the directors first reacted to the scripts that became film classics. Part of the series Making it in Hollywood: The Directors Series. (90 minutes)
Successful Teamwork in Filmmaking: Making It in Hollywood—The Directors Series
This program explores the art of writing a movie or choosing a script, the care and feeding of actors, how to work successfully with each actor, and why your cinematographer is your best friend, while looking ahead to the future of the industry. Part of the series Making it in Hollywood: The Directors Series. (47 minutes)
