Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Culture & History
Culture and Customs of the Central Asian Republics by
Seoul, South Korea
Mia is an outsider. The child of an English mother, she defies the rigid expectations of her Korean stepmother to work as a translator at the British Embassy.
Her uncle runs a charitable - and controversial - school for North Korean defectors, and prevails upon Mia's stepmother to shelter a traumatised young student. Mia is too preoccupied to note the defector's strange behaviour - or its implications.
She has become infatuated with Thomas, a diplomat with a self-destructive streak. When an outrageous indiscretion endangers his position, it is Mia who saves him from humiliation and rescues his career. And the boundaries between them are crossed.
As a reward for his reformation, Thomas is commissioned to audit security amongst Embassy staff. Learning of Mia's connections to the defector, he is compelled to dig deeper into the life of the woman who has captivated him.
Suddenly, all that Mia has done to get close to Thomas begins to cause her undoing.
Call Number: DK859.5.A23 2007
Publication Date: 2006
Culture and Customs of the Hmong by
This book is the first to balance an account of the traditional life and history of the Hmong as a global people, with a full account of their modern, urban lives.
* A chronology from the earliest history of the Hmong to the present day
* Numerous photographs depicting Hmong culture and artifacts
* Glossaries of English, Hmong, Latin, and Chinese terms
Call Number: DS509.5.H66L44 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations by
The civilizations of Ancient Asia have played a major role in humankind's development through their accumulated knowledge and impressive achievements, yet they are little known to most Americans. Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations is a new and exciting addition to Facts On File's series of encyclopedias on ancient history. Written by one of the preeminent scholars in the field, this authoritative single-volume reference covers ancient Asia from the Indus Valley Civilization in approximately 3000 BCE through the Cambodian empires of Funan, Chenla, and Angkor that lasted until the 15th century. No previous work has brought together the complete range of early states under one cover. In many cases—for example, the states of Champa in present-day Vietnam, which are only described in French and Vietnamese texts, and the Dvaravati state of central Thailand, which is best covered in the Thai language—the civilizations included have thus far been treated only marginally in the English language.
Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania by
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania is a two-volume A-to-Z reference to the peoples of the Asia-Pacific region east of the Caspian Sea, not including the countries of the Middle East. More than 400 entries cover the major peoples that for a time maintained a cultural identity in the area—from ancient to modern times—describing their history, migration, culture, belief system, social organization, and relationship to other peoples. This accessible resource makes it easy for students to find not only entries on the Han and Jurchens but also on "Chinese: nationality," describing who they are today with cross-references to the various ancestral peoples.
Entries on all large or well-known groups include information on their geography, origins, languages, history, and culture. Subsections cover such topics as subsistence, religion, social and political structures, economy, government, military practices, dwellings and architecture, clothing, transportation, technology, art, music, and literature. The back matter includes a chronology, bibliography, and comprehensive index, as well as several appendixes with useful background information on topics such as kinship systems, religious systems, and subsistence systems.
Publication Date: 2009
The Silk Road by
In The Silk Road, Valerie Hansen describes the archaeological finds that revolutionize our understanding of these trade routes. Hansen explores seven oases along the road, from Xi'an to Samarkand, where merchants, envoys, pilgrims, and travelers mixed in cosmopolitan communities, tolerant of religions from Buddhism to Zoroastrianism. There was no single, continuous road, but a chain of markets that traded between east and west. China's main partners were the peoples of modern-day Iran, whose tombs in China reveal much about their Zoroastrian beliefs. Silk was not the most important good on the road; paper had a bigger impact in Europe, while metals, spices, and glass were just as important as silk. Perhaps most significant of all was the road's transmission of ideas, technologies, and artistic motifs.
Call Number: DS33.1.H36 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Women's Roles in Asia by
All around the world, women's important role in history has only recently been acknowledged. Asia is no exception. Despite a long record of achievements, women's experiences in South, Southeast, and East Asia go largely untold. This compelling book looks at women's lives in contemporary Asia, and reviews the cultural similarities--and differences--in the patterns and experiences of women across various regions. Women's Roles in Asia examines the full scope of women's lives throughout history, including specific topics such as education, family life, marriage and childbearing, religion, public life, economics, legal status, and literature and the arts. A timeline and introduction provide a backdrop to the events, achievements, and issues that have impacted Asian women from pre-colonial time to the present day.
Publication Date: 2013
Reference Shelf: the South China Sea Conflict by
This volume will deal with the ongoing territorial dispute in the South China Sea where numerous countries lay claim to fishing waters and exclusive economic zones in Southeast Asia. At issue is China's historical claim to lucrative fisheries and supply routes. The contested area concerns six nations, one third of global maritime traffic, untapped oil and natural gas reserves, military buildup and 5 trillion dollars worth of trade. The volume will explore the economic, diplomatic, military and environmental impact of resolving this conflict.
Call Number: KZA1692 .S68 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Mythology and Religion
Dictionary of Hindu Lore and Legend
Provides accessible, informative and authoritative entries to answer any major question about Hinduism, its mythology, practices, customs and laws.
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy by
Covers the main traditions within Asian thought: Persian; Indian; Buddhist; Chinese; Japanese; and Islamic philosophy. Each section provides comprehensive coverage of the origins of the tradition, its approaches to, for example, logic and languages, and to questions of morals and society. Also contains useful histories of the lives of the key influential thinkers, as well as a thorough analysis of the current trends
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Connect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
Indexed biographical material on people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
An engaging database of contextual information on the world's most influential people. Over 650,000 biographical entries cover a range of historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Weekly reports on current social issues. Includes references to good books, articles, and websites.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online source for over 1100 reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographical information.
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals that explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Our largest general-interest periodical resource allows users to find the information they want quickly, with intuitive searching that ensures they tap into quality sources.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and non-fiction books, and nearly 150 history periodicals.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text of nearly 1700 periodicals, plus reference books, primary source documents, and an image collection.
Open Access Journals from DOAJ This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Database designed to support science, social studies, current events, and language arts presents each side of important issues and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
ProQuest Arts & Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
400+ journals in arts, photography, literature, history, and music.
Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Over 300 full text journals covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
World History (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage of events in world history with relevant articles updated daily - both current thinking and established scholarly work
World History (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Database designed to provide an overview of world history covering the most-studied events, cultures, civilizations, religions, people, and more.