Boxing's Ten Commandments : Essential Training for the Sweet Science by Alan Lachica and Doug WernerThis boxing handbook provides up-to-date, in-depth coaching for serious contenders. Weaving fundamental skills into a progression of drills that hone technique in increasingly complex, demanding, and realistic fighting situations, the handbook aids fighters in developing the reflexes of a complete boxer and teaches the move from a process-and-react mentality to one of seeing-and-reacting. Hundreds of sequential images illustrate vital steps in the progressionfrom proper stance, effective footwork, and range to defense and counters, the importance of angles, and creating winning strategies.
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Counterpunch : The Cultural Battles over Heavyweight Prizefighting in the American West by Meg FrisbeeBoxing was popular in the American West long before Las Vegas became its epicenter. However, not everyone in the region was a fan. "Counterpunch" examines how the sport's meteoric rise in popularity in the West ran concurrently with a growing backlash among Progressive Era social reformers who saw boxing as barbaric. These tensions created a morality war that pitted state officials against city leaders, boxing promoters against social reformers, and fans against religious groups. Historian Meg Frisbee focuses on several legendary heavyweight prizefights of the period and the protests they inspired to explain why western geography, economy, and culture ultimately helped the sport's supporters defeat its detractors. A fascinating look at early American boxing, " Counterpunch" showcases fighters such as "Gentleman" Jim Corbett, Bob Fitzsimmons, and Jack Johnson, the first African American heavyweight champ, and it provides an entertaining way to understand both the growth of the American West and the history of this popular--and controversial--sport.
Publication Date: 2016-04-25
A History of Womens Boxing by Malissa SmithRecords of modern female boxing date back to the early eighteenth century in London, and in the 1904 Olympics an exhibition bout between women was held. Yet it was not until the 2012 Olympics—more than 100 years later—that women’s boxing was officially added to the Games. Throughout boxing’s history, women have fought in and out of the ring to gain respect in a sport traditionally considered for men alone. The stories of these women are told for the first time in this comprehensive work dedicated to women’s boxing. A History of Women’s Boxing traces the sport back to the 1700s, through the 2012 Olympic Games, and up to the present. Inside-the-ring action is brought to life through photographs, newspaper clippings, and anecdotes, as are the stories of the women who played important roles outside the ring, from spectators and judges to managers and trainers. This book includes extensive profiles of the sport’s pioneers, including Barbara Buttrick whose plucky carnival shows launched her professional boxing career in the 1950s; sixteen-year-old Dallas Malloy who single-handedly overturned the strictures against female amateur boxing in 1993; the famous “boxing daughters” Laila Ali and Jacqui Frazier-Lyde; and teenager Claressa Shields, the first American woman to win a boxing gold medal at the Olympics. Rich in detail and exhaustively researched, this book illuminates the struggles, obstacles, and successes of the women who fought—and continue to fight—for respect in their sport. A History of Women’s Boxing is a must-read for boxing fans, sports historians, and for those interested in the history of women in sports.
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
An Illustrated History of Boxing by Nat Fleischer and Sam Andre
Call Number: GV1121.F63 1997
Publication Date: 2000-06-20
Straight Writes and Jabs : An Inside Look at Another Year in Boxing by Thomas HauserCommenting on Thomas Hauser's annual collections of articles on boxing, Ring Magazine declared, "What makes Hauser's stories so extraordinary is that the man many consider 'The Dean of Boxing Writers' refuses to allow his admiration for the sport to blind him to its dark side. His annual volumes on boxing have become required reading for hardcore and casual fans alike." Straight Writes and Jabs is the latest in the popular series. It brings readers into the dressing room with elite champions in the moments before some of 2012's biggest fights. Hauser's award-winning investigative journalism is on display in a groundbreaking exposé of the use of performance-enhancing drugs. There's a look back in time at the incomparable Archie Moore and much more. Thomas Hauser is the author of forty-five books. His first work, Missing, was made into an Academy Award–winning film. He later authored Muhammad Ali: His Life and Times, the definitive biography of the most famous fighter ever. In 2004, the Boxing Writers Association of America honored Hauser with the Nat Fleischer Award for Career Excellence in Boxing Journalism.
A Flame of Pure Fire : Jack Dempsey and the roaring '20s by Roger Kahn
Call Number: GV1132.D4K35 1999
Publication Date: 1999-10-05
Jack Johnson, Rebel Sojourner : Boxing in the Shadow of the Global Color Line by Theresa RunstedtlerIn his day, Jack Johnson--born in Texas, the son of former slaves--was the most famous black man on the planet. As the first African American World Heavyweight Champion (1908-1915), he publicly challenged white supremacy at home and abroad, enjoying the same audacious lifestyle of conspicuous consumption, masculine bravado, and interracial love wherever he traveled. Jack Johnson, Rebel Sojourner provides the first in-depth exploration of Johnson's battles against the color line in places as far-flung as Sydney, London, Cape Town, Paris, Havana, and Mexico City. In relating this dramatic story, Theresa Runstedtler constructs a global history of race, gender, and empire in the early twentieth century.
Publication Date: 2012-05-14
Joe Louis by Randy Roberts; Don Lamm (Other Primary Creator)A “humbling, inspiring... deeply emotional” biography of the boxing legend who held the heavyweight world championship for more than eleven years (Kirkus Reviews, starred review). Known as the Brown Bomber, Joe Louis defended his heavyweight title an astonishing twenty-five times. Through the 1930s, he got more column inches of newspaper coverage than President Roosevelt. At a time when the boxing ring was the only venue where black and white could meet on equal terms, Louis embodied Black America's hope for dignity and equality. And in 1938, his politically charged defeat of German boxer Max Schmeling made Louis a national hero on the world stage. Through meticulous research and first-hand interviews, acclaimed biographer Randy Roberts presents a complete portrait of Louis and his outsized impact on sport and country. Digging beneath the simplistic narratives of heroism and victimization, Roberts reveals an athlete who carefully managed his public image, and whose relationships with both the black and white communities—including his relationships with mobsters—were deeply complex. “Roberts is a fine match with his subject. He supports with powerful evidence his contention that Louis's impact was enormous and profound.” —The Boston Globe
Publication Date: 2010-10-26
King of the World : Muhammad Ali and the rise of an American hero by David Remnick
Call Number: GV1132.A44R46 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-20
Larry Holmes : against the odds by Larry Holmes; Phil Berger; Phil Berger
Call Number: GV1132.H65A3 1998
Publication Date: 1998-10-15
The Muhammad Ali Reader by Gerald Early
Call Number: GV1132.A44M83 1999
Publication Date: 1999-01-20
Rocky Marciano : the rock of his times by Russell Sullivan
Call Number: GV1132.M3S85 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-01
Ali & Cavett: The Tale of the TapesThis HBO Documentary Films presentation highlights the courage and undeniable charisma of boxing legend Muhammad Ali through the unlikely bond he formed over the years with pioneering television host Dick Cavett. An intuitively genius television personality, Ali appeared more than a dozen times on The Dick Cavett Show, where the duo regularly discussed the news of the day, Ali’s latest bouts, and engaged in playful yet provocative debates about race relations in America. Interweaving priceless archival footage of Ali’s many appearances on the show with insights from a number of authors, sports commentators and members of Ali’s inner circle, Ali & Cavett: The Tale of the Tapes tracks the three-time heavyweight boxing champion’s most memorable fights and personal battles to paint an illuminating portrait of a man whose impact on the civil rights movement rivals his feats in the boxing ring. Timely and nostalgic, the 95-minute film ultimately explores how Muhammad Ali leveraged his influence as one of the world’s most high-profile athletes to bring difficult conversations about race, religion and political difference to the mainstream. An HBO Production.
The BoxerAs the city of Baltimore continued to heal from the violence and turmoil that had sprung up after the death of Freddie Gray, Religion & Ethics NewsWeekly visited one church that draws young people to its ministry with a boxing gym, which teaches discipline, respect, and a sense of pride.
15: A Quinceañera Story: AshleyWhile training for her amateur debut as a boxer in East Los Angeles, Ashley must navigate the pressures her family feels due to their immigration status: her mother is a Dreamer who came to the U.S. as a child and her father has been deported. As Ashley prepares for both her boxing match and her quinceañera, she worries her boxing coach may also face deportation and miss her special day.
Jack Dempsey: The Achievers"I can't sing; I can't dance; but I can lick every man in the place," said Jack Dempsey, and he was right. A superb boxer, the "Manassa Mauler" brought about the Golden Age of Sports in the 1920s. (22 minutes)
Joe Louis: The AchieversCalled the "Brown Bomber," the slugging personality of Joe Louis in the ring stood in stark contrast to the kind, gentle man he was in everyday life. In his time, he represented the United States and the black population, to worldwide acclaim. (23 minutes)
Muhammad Ali: In Their Own WordsHe changed boxing almost as much as he changed the world. Follow Muhammad Ali's rise from Columbia Gym in Louisville, Kentucky to international fame, as he transcended his great athletic achievements to become one of the most influential Americans of his time. His once-polarizing figure ultimately became a beloved and honored national hero. Witness key events unfold in Ali's life, including his stunning conversion to Islam and his change of name, his dramatic stand against the Vietnam-era draft, his three-year exile from the ring, his legendary comeback fights, his courageous battle with Parkinson's disease, and his inspirational reemergence on the world stage at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics. Hear from Ali’s daughters Laila and Maryum Ali, former wife Khalilah Camacho Ali, NFL great Jim Brown, boxing champion Sugar Ray Leonard, rappers and actors LL Cool J and Common, boxing promoter Bob Arum, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member Lloyd Price, and biographer Thomas Hauser. Distributed by PBS Distribution
Unforgivable Blackness: The Rise and Fall of Jack Johnson (2 parts)Jack Johnson, whose dominance over his white opponents spurred furious debates and race riots in the early 20th century, enters the ring once again in this provocative PBS documentary by acclaimed filmmaker Ken Burns. The Emmy Award–winning two-part film follows Johnson’s journey from his beginnings as the son of former slaves, to his entry into the brutal world of professional boxing, where he was able to battle his way up through the ranks and become the first African-American Heavyweight Champion of the World. The biography of Jack Johnson is accompanied by more than 50 photographs and draws from a wealth of new material. Distributed by PBS Distribution. 2-part series, 120 minutes each.
Zambia's Female BoxersLearn about the legacy of Zambian boxer Catherine Phiri, the first African woman to win the World Boxing Council gold title.
Creed by directed by Ryan CooglerAdonis Johnson never knew his famous father, world heavyweight champion Apollo Creed, who died before he was born. Still, there's no denying that boxing is in his blood, so Adonis heads to Philadelphia, the site of Apollo Creed's legendary match with a tough upstart named Rocky Balboa.
Call Number: DVD PN1997 .C744 2016
Publication Date: 2016
The Fighter by directed by David O. RussellOnce upon a time, Dicky Eklund was known as the pride of Lowell, Massachusetts. There isn't a person in Lowell who doesn't know about the time that Dicky knocked down the great Sugar Ray Leonard. By the early 1990s, Dicky's crack addiction has soured everything, although he dreams of making a comeback. The real contender is his half-brother Micky Ward. 31-year-old Micky is an unassuming nice guy, long regarded as little more than a stepping-stone for rising fighters, but with undeniable potential. Between his controlling mom Alice, who manages his career, his crack head trainer brother, and a Greek chorus of seven sisters, Micky doesn't have a chance. Until his tough-chick bartender girlfriend Charlene gives him the confidence and support to consider a different course. But his success comes at a cost--as he must leave his family behind in the process.
Reading Level: MPAA rating: Rated R for language throughout, drug content, some violence and sexuality
Call Number: DVD PN1997.F54 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The Hurricane by directed by Norman JewisonRubin "Hurricane" Carter, in the prime of his boxing career, finds himself wrongfully convicted of murder. Sentenced to life in prison, Carter's published memoir, The Sixteenth Round, inspires a teenager from Brooklyn and three Canadian activists who believe in the truth, to join forces with Carter to prove his innocence.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.H867 2000
Publication Date: 2000
Raging Bull by director, Martin Scorsese
Call Number: DVD PN1997.R34 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Real Steel by directed by Shawn LevyCharlie Kenton is a washed-up fighter who lost his chance at a title when 2000-pound, 8-foot-tall steel robots took over the ring. Now nothing but a small-time promoter, Charlie earns just enough money piecing together low-end bots from scrap metal to get from one underground boxing venue to the next. When Charlie hits rock bottom, he reluctantly teams up with his estranged son Max to build and train a championship contender.
Call Number: DVD PN1997.R435 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Rocky by directed by John G. AvildsenRocky Balboa is a struggling boxer trying to make the big time. He works in a meat factory in Philadelphia for a meager wage so he also earns extra cash as a debt collector. When heavyweight champion Apollo Creed visits Philadelphia, his managers want to set up an exhibition match between Creed and a struggling boxer. The promoters are touting the fight as a chance for a "nobody" to become a "somebody". The match is supposed to be easily won by Creed, but someone forgot to tell Rocky, who sees this as his only shot at the big time.