Addressing Faculty and Student Classroom Improprieties by Alan E. Bayer (Editor); John M. Braxton (Editor)
Call Number: LB1779.A33 2004
Publication Date: 2005-01-20
Cheating by Stefan Kiesbye
Call Number: HM665.C484 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-02
Cheating in School: what we know and what we can do by Stephen F. Davis; Patrick F. Drinan; Tricia Bertram Gallant
Call Number: LB3609.D38 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Gifts of Imperfection: let go of who you think you're supposed to be and embrace who you are by Brené BrownIn this groundbreaking New York Times best seller, Dr. Brené Brown, a research professor and thought leader on vulnerability, courage, worthiness, and shame, shares ten guideposts on the power of wholehearted living -- a way of engaging with the world from a place of worthiness
Call Number: BF575.S37B76 2010
Publication Date: 2010
The (Honest) Truth about Dishonesty: how we lie to everyone--especially ourselves by Dan ArielyMost of us think of ourselves as honest, but, in fact, we all cheat. From Washington to Wall Street, the classroom to the workplace, unethical behavior is everywhere. None of us is immune, whether it's a white lie to head off trouble or padding our expense reports. In The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty, award-winning, bestselling author Dan Ariely shows why some things are easier to lie about than others; how getting caught matters less than we think in whether we cheat; and how business practices pave the way for unethical behavior, both intentionally and unintentionally. Ariely explores how unethical behavior works in the personal, professional, and political worlds, and how it affects all of us, even as we think of ourselves as having high moral standards. But all is not lost. Ariely also identifies what keeps us honest, pointing the way for achieving higher ethics in our everyday lives. With compelling personal and academic findings, The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty will change the way we see ourselves, our actions, and others. With a new chapter from the author.
Call Number: BJ1533.H7A75 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Integrity by Stephen L. Carter
Call Number: BJ1533.I58C37 1996
Publication Date: 1996-02-01
Predictably Irrational: the hidden forces that shape our decisions by Dan ArielyWhy do smart people make irrational decisions every day? The answers will surprise you. This book is a look at why we all make illogical decisions. Why can a 50-cent aspirin do what a penny aspirin can't? If an item is "free" it must be a bargain, right? Why is everything relative, even when it shouldn't be? How do our expectations influence our actual opinions and decisions? In this book, the author, a behavioral economist cuts to the heart of our strange behaviour, demonstrating how irrationality often supplants rational thought and that the reason for this is embedded in the very structure of our minds. This book blends everyday experiences with a series of illuminating and often surprising experiments, that will change the understanding of human behaviour. And, by recognizing these patterns, the author shows that we can make better decisions in business, in matters of collective welfare, and in our everyday lives from drinking coffee to losing weight, buying a car to choosing a romantic partner.
Call Number: BF448.A75 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Preventing Plagiarism: tips and techniques by Laura Hennessey DeSena
Academic Integrity in the 21st Century: a teaching and learning imperative by Tricia Bertram Gallant
Call Number: LB3609.B47 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-14
Assessing Character Outcomes in College by IR; Jon C. Dalton (Editor); Terrance R. Russell (Editor); Sally Kline (Editor)
Call Number: LC311.A87 2004
Publication Date: 2004-10-06
Cheating in College: why students do it and what educators can do about it by Donald L. McCabe; Linda K. Treviño; Kenneth D. ButterfieldToday’s students are tomorrow’s leaders, and the college years are a critical period for their development of ethical standards. Cheating in College explores how and why students cheat and what policies, practices, and participation may be useful in promoting academic integrity and reducing cheating. The authors investigate trends over time, including internet-based cheating. They consider personal and situational explanations, such as the culture of groups in which dishonesty is more common (such as business majors) and social settings that support cheating (such as fraternities and sororities). They also focus on how faculty and administrators are increasing their efforts to promote academic honesty among students. Orientation and training sessions, information on college and university websites, student handbooks that describe codes of conduct, honor codes, and course syllabi all define cheating and establish the consequences. Based on the authors’ multiyear, multisite surveys, Cheating in College quantifies and analyzes student cheating to demonstrate why academic integrity is important and to describe the cultural efforts that are effective in restoring it.
Call Number: LB3609.M33 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-11
Cheating Lessons: learning from academic dishonesty by James M. Lang
Facilitating the Moral Growth of College Students by Diane L. Cooper (Editor); Debora L. Liddell (Editor)
Call Number: LC251.F33 2012
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Generation on a Tightrope: a portrait of today's college student by Arthur Levine; Diane R. DeanAn understanding of today's college students is vital to the effectiveness of our nation's colleges and universities. The third in a series on college student expectations, aspirations, academics, attitudes, values, beliefs, social life and politics, this book presents an accurate portrait of today's undergraduate college students. Covering the main topic areas of the two previous works, it also contains new chapters and makes comparisons across generations. Timely and comprehensive, this volume gives researchers, practitioners, and policymakers a much-needed grasp of the forces shaping the experiences of current undergraduates
by Dave Horalek
Last Updated Sep 16, 2022
712 views this year
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Educators Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)This link opens in a new windowProvides periodical and journal articles on multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration and more.
ERICThis link opens in a new windowContains more than 1.4 million citations and abstracts, and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966. Covers journal articles, books, dissertations, and curriculum plans.
College (Gale In Context)This link opens in a new windowResource for papers, projects, and presentations that empowers the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills with content aligned to national and state curriculum standards.