LibGuides: Environment: Websites

Websites

American College & University Presidents Climate Commitment
Attribution of Extreme Weather Events in the Context of Climate Change (2016)
Big Earth Data Measuring and monitoring the Earth, environmental processes and change, as well as the interaction between humans and the Earth has led to the creation of a growing body of large data sets.
Biosphere: Science Research Portal
BLM - Bureau of Land Management
Building the Knowledge Base for Climate Resiliency: New York Panel on Climate Change 2015 Report
CDC: Environmental Health
Center for Watershed Protection
Circle of Blue Award-winning journalism nonprofit Circle of Blue coined the phrase, "where water speaks" â€“ and rightly so. From breaking headlines to daily and weekly newsletters and all podcasts and programs in between, Circle of Blue serves as a resource hub for the intersection of "water, food, and energy in a changing climate." Under the WaterNews tab, readers can explore "The Daily Stream" (a daily post on the latest water topics), subscribe to the weekly newsletter, and read up on other prominent stories. Those who prefer auditory learning may want to check out "What's Up With Water," a weekly podcast found on the Water Podcasts page. The Features section surveys particular areas of interest, such as "Water and Climate" or "Water and Financial Risks." On the Zeropolis page readers will find a new initiative that "highlights cities across the globe that are grappling with severe water shortages." Under HotSpots H2O readers will find information on the "changing, often stressed global waterscape." Similarly, the Choke Point section highlights case studies of agricultural regions stricken by water scarcity and contamination. Readers may want to read the Choke Point: Index section before diving into the specific studies. Finally, the Convenings page includes audio recordings and transcripts from past water-related speakers and events.
Climate Change: Vital Signs of the Planet
Climate Program Office
from NOAA
Closing the Circle on the Splitting of the Atom
US Dept. of Energy
Coastal Flood Risks
Data Snapshots: Reusable Climate Maps
Do the Math: Using physics and estimation to assess energy, growth, options
Earth Portal Community
Encyclopedia of the Earth
Environmental, Chemistry, & Hazardous Materials Information & Resources
Environmental Performance Index
GlobalChange.gov
National Climate Assessment and other climate research
Global Change Master Directory
more...less...
from NASA
Idaho Department of Environmental Quality
Idaho Department of Fish & Game
Idaho Rangeland Atlas The Idaho Rangeland Atlas is a collaboration of the University of Idaho Library and the University of Idaho Rangeland Center. Its purpose is to provide simple, clear information about Idaho's rangelands using open, accessible web technologies.
Indicators of Climate Change in California [08/08/13]
International Rivers: The State of the World's Rivers
International Water Law Project Access to fresh water is a fundamental need of every society. As such, international law and policy have become involved to help maintain the quality and quantity of water resources and balance access to them among all interested parties. The International Water Law Project provides readers with comprehensive information on the subject, featuring full texts of the major diplomatic agreements, including United Nations agreements regarding international watercourses and transboundary groundwater aquifers, treaty drafts, and regional agreements organized by continent. This resource also includes a section on international case law, a helpful list of transboundary water management organizations, an extensive bibliography, and a list of related websites. Readers may also want to check out the International Water Law Project's blog, where they will find thoughtful essays by legal scholars from around the world on various aspects of water law, with blog archives dating back to 2009. The International Water Law Project is created, directed, and actively maintained by Gabriel Eckstein, Professor of Law at Texas A&M University.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
National Snow & Ice Data Center
more...less...
from U of Colorado
Nature Works Everywhere (Nature Conservancy)
Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies
from the University of Wisconsin-Madison
Northwest Power & Conservation Council
Oceanus Magazine: Interactives
from Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Resilience: Building a world of resilient communities
Science.gov
Sea Ice Atlas
University of Alaska Fairbanks
Six Myths About Climate Change that Liberals Rarely Question
Skeptical Science
Getting Skeptical about Global Warming Skepticism
Sustainable Northwest
Tox Town
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers - Walla Walla District
U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit
from NOAA
Understanding Science: Image Library
From UC Berkeley
USGS Idaho Water Science Center
USGS Multimedia Gallery
Water Dialogues Concerned about the erasure of indigenous voices in water management practices, Water Dialogues "explores our conversations around the need to bring our diverse knowledge systems together to address the complex and increasingly critical water issues we face today." The three-chapter podcast (which is available at the link above to stream as individually parts, or as one full episode) was created by Lindsay Day as a part of her Master of Science thesis at the University of Guelph. Day worked in conjunction with a larger project exploring "methods and models for effectively and equitably implementing Indigenous and Western knowledge in water research and management in Canada," which included holding two Water Gatherings, collaborative meetings organized to bring together diverse ideas on water management. Conversations from these gatherings, as well as additional interviews, are included in the podcast. Interested readers may also enjoy Day's full thesis, "Reconciling How We Live With Water: The Development and Use of a Collaborative Podcasting Methodology to Explore and Share Diverse First Nations, Inuit, and Metis Perspectives," which is available for free download following the link embedded in the About section.
Western Regional Climate Center
Western Wildfires & Climate Change
from Union of Concerned Scientists

Invasive Species

Aquatic Hitchhikers
Center for Aquatic and Invasive Plants
from the University of Florida
Invasive Species of Idaho
National Invasive Species Information Center (USDA)
North American Invasive Species Network (NAISN)

United Nations

Water Conservation Websites

EPA: Environmental Protection Agency

*Note: Early in 2017, under the direction of Scott Pruitt (who recently resigned as EPA Administrator) a great deal of information about environmental hazards, fracking, and global warming was removed, relocated, or suppressed from the EPA website. Read more below:

NOAA: National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration

Climate Explorer
Part of the U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit
Climate.gov
Climate Literacy
National Hurricane Center
Northwest Fisheries Science Center

Environment: Websites

Desert