Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in the Library Catalog
Color by Number: understanding racism through facts and stats on children by
Call Number: E185.86.M86 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Damned Lies and Statistics: Untangling Numbers from the Media, Politicians and Activists by
Call Number: HM535.B47 2001
Publication Date: 2001-05-08
Everybody Lies : big data, new data, and what the Internet can tell us about who we really are by A former Google data scientist presents an insider's look at what the vast, instantly available amounts of information from the Internet can reveal about human civilization and society.
"How much sex are people really having? How many Americans are actually racist? Is America experiencing a hidden back-alley abortion crisis? Can you game the stock market? Does violent entertainment increase the rate of violent crime? Do parents treat sons differently from daughters? How many people actually read the books they buy? In this groundbreaking work, Seth Stephens-Davidowitz, a Harvard-trained economist, former Google data scientist, and New York Times writer, argues that much of what we thought about people has been dead wrong. The reason? People lie, to friends, lovers, doctors, surveys--and themselves. However, we no longer need to rely on what people tell us. New data from the internet--the traces of information that billions of people leave on Google, social media, dating, and even pornography sites--finally reveals the truth. By analyzing this digital goldmine, we can now learn what people really think, what they really want, and what they really do. Sometimes the new data will make you laugh out loud. Sometimes the new data will shock you. Sometimes the new data will deeply disturb you. But, always, this new data will make you think. [This] book will change the way you view the world. There is almost no limit to what can be learned about human nature from Big Data--provided, that is, you ask the right questions
Call Number: QA76.9.D343 S74 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
How to Lie with Statistics by
Call Number: HA29.H84 1993
Publication Date: 1993-10-17
Measure What Matters: how Google, Bono, and the Gates Foundation rock the world with OKRs by In the fall of 1999, John Doerr met with the founders of a start-up whom he'd just given $12.5 million, the biggest investment of his career. Larry Page and Sergey Brin had amazing technology, entrepreneurial energy, and sky-high ambitions, but no real business plan. For Google to change the world (or even to survive), Page and Brin had to learn how to make tough choices on priorities while keeping their team on track. They'd have to know when to pull the plug on losing propositions, to fail fast. And they needed timely, relevant data to track their progress, to measure what mattered. Doerr taught them about a proven approach to operating excellence: Objectives and Key Results. He had first discovered OKRs in the 1970s as an engineer at Intel, where the legendary Andy Grove drove the best-run company Doerr had ever seen. Later, as a venture capitalist, Doerr shared Grove's brainchild with more than fifty companies. Wherever the process was faithfully practiced, it worked. In this goal-setting system, objectives define what we seek to achieve; key results are how those top-priority goals will be attained with specific, measurable actions within a set time frame. Everyone's goals, from entry level to CEO, are transparent to the entire organization. The benefits are profound. OKRs surface an organization's most important work. They focus effort and foster coordination. They keep employees on track. They link objectives across silos to unify and strengthen the entire company. Along the way, OKRs enhance workplace satisfaction and boost retention. Doerr shares a broad range of first-person, behind-the-scenes case studies, with narrators including Bono and Bill Gates, to demonstrate the focus, agility, and explosive growth that OKRs have spurred at so many great organizations, helping a new generation of leaders capture the same magic.
Call Number: HD30.28 .D64 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
Statistics Demystified by
Call Number: QA276.12.G53 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-24
Statistics for Dummies® by
Call Number: QA276.12.R86 2003
Publication Date: 2003-09-19
Ebooks in the Library Catalog
How's Life? 2017: Measuring Well-Being by How's Life? 2017 charts the promises and pitfalls for people's well-being in 35 OECD countries and 6 partner countries. It presents the latest evidence from 50 indicators, covering both current well-being outcomes and resources for future well-being, and including changes since 2005. During this period there have been signs of progress, but gains in some aspects of life have been offset by losses elsewhere.
Publication Date: 2017
Information Visualization : Perception for Design by Most designers know that yellow text presented against a blue background reads clearly and easily, but how many can explain why, and what really are the best ways to help others and ourselves clearly see key patterns in a bunch of data? When we use software, access a website, or view business or scientific graphics, our understanding is greatly enhanced or impeded by the way the information is presented. This book explores the art and science of why we see objects the way we do. Based on the science of perception and vision, the author presents the key principles at work for a wide range of applications--resulting in visualization of improved clarity, utility, and persuasiveness. The book offers practical guidelines that can be applied by anyone: interaction designers, graphic designers of all kinds (including web designers), data miners, and financial analysts. Complete update of the recognized source in industry, research, and academic for applicable guidance on information visualizing Includes the latest research and state of the art information on multimedia presentation More than 160 explicit design guidelines based on vision science A new final chapter that explains the process of visual thinking and how visualizations help us to think about problems Packed with over 400 informative full color illustrations, which are key to understanding of the subject
Publication Date: 2012-05-21
Introduction to Business Analytics by This book presents key concepts related to quantitative analysis in business. Business analytics has grown to be a key topic in business curricula, and there is a need for stronger quantitative skills and understanding of fundamental concepts. This book is aimed at business students, undergraduate and graduate, taking an introductory core course. Topics covered include knowledge management, visualization, sampling and hypothesis testing, regression (simple, multiple, and logistic), as well as optimization modeling. It concludes with a brief overview of data mining. Concepts are demonstrated with worked examples.
Publication Date: 2018-10-29
The Little Data Book 2015 by The Little Data Book 2015 is a pocket edition of World Development Indicators 2015. It is intended as a quick reference for users of the World Development Indicators database, book, and mobile app. The database covers more than 1,200 indicators and spans more than 50 years. The 214 country tables present the latest available data for World Bank member countries and other economies with populations of more than 30,000. The 14 summary tables cover regional and income group aggregates.
Publication Date: 2015-04-14
A Panorama of Statistics : Perspectives, Puzzles and Paradoxes in Statistics by This book is a stimulating panoramic tour - quite different from a textbook journey - of the world of statistics in both its theory and practice, for teachers, students and practitioners. At each stop on the tour, the authors investigate unusual and quirky aspects of statistics, highlighting historical, biographical and philosophical dimensions of this field of knowledge. Each chapter opens with perspectives on its theme, often from several points of view. Five original and thought-provoking questions follow. These aim at widening readers' knowledge and deepening their insight. Scattered among the questions are entertaining puzzles to solve and tantalising paradoxes to explain. Readers can compare their own statistical discoveries with the authors' detailed answers to all the questions. The writing is lively and inviting, the ideas are rewarding, and the material is extensively cross-referenced. A Panorama of Statistics: Leads readers to discover the fascinations of statistics. Is an enjoyable companion to an undergraduate statistics textbook. Is an enriching source of knowledge for statistics teachers and practitioners. Is unique among statistics books today for its memorable content and engaging style. Lending itself equally to reading through and to dipping into, A Panorama of Statistics will surprise teachers, students and practitioners by the variety of ways in which statistics can capture and hold their interest. Reviews: "As befits the authors' statement that 'this is not a textbook', the structure is unusual. There are twenty-five chapters organised in five sections, each beginning with a brief perspective of a theme in statistics and finishing with five questions related to that theme. The answers provided to the questions, in section six, are as discursive and illuminating as the main body of the text. Even if you are pretty sure you know the answer, it is always worth checking what the authors have to say. Chances are that you will learn something every time. The glimpses and insights given into this enormous and far-reaching discipline succeed in being bewitching, entertaining and inviting; coverage was never the aim." "In summary, this splendid book lives up to the four 'p-values' of its title. It is panoramic in the scope of its survey of statistics, it is full of illuminating perspectives, it sets entertaining and challenging puzzles, and it explores fascinating paradoxes. Read it, enjoy it and learn from it." From Neil Sheldon, Teaching Statistics, volume 9, no. 2, May 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-03
Society at a glance 2016: OECD social indicators by This report addresses the growing demand for quantitative evidence on social well-being and its trends. It updates some indicators included in the previous editions published since 2001 and introduces several new ones, with 25 indicators in total. It includes data for the 35 OECD member countries and where available data for key partners (Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russia and South Africa); other G20 countries (Argentina and Saudi Arabia) are also included.
Publication Date: 2016
SPSS Statistics for Data Analysis and Visualization by Dive deeper into SPSS Statistics for more efficient, accurate, and sophisticated data analysis and visualization SPSS Statistics for Data Analysis and Visualization goes beyond the basics of SPSS Statistics to show you advanced techniques that exploit the full capabilities of SPSS. The authors explain when and why to use each technique, and then walk you through the execution with a pragmatic, nuts and bolts example. Coverage includes extensive, in-depth discussion of advanced statistical techniques, data visualization, predictive analytics, and SPSS programming, including automation and integration with other languages like R and Python. You'll learn the best methods to power through an analysis, with more efficient, elegant, and accurate code. IBM SPSS Statistics is complex: true mastery requires a deep understanding of statistical theory, the user interface, and programming. Most users don't encounter all of the methods SPSS offers, leaving many little-known modules undiscovered. This book walks you through tools you may have never noticed, and shows you how they can be used to streamline your workflow and enable you to produce more accurate results. Conduct a more efficient and accurate analysis Display complex relationships and create better visualizations Model complex interactions and master predictive analytics Integrate R and Python with SPSS Statistics for more efficient, more powerful code These "hidden tools" can help you produce charts that simply wouldn't be possible any other way, and the support for other programming languages gives you better options for solving complex problems. If you're ready to take advantage of everything this powerful software package has to offer, SPSS Statistics for Data Analysis and Visualization is the expert-led training you need.
Publication Date: 2017-05-01