LibGuides: More Resources: Online Magazines & Ejournals

Online Magazines & Ejournals

Agricultural Research Service - Tellus "The Agricultural Research Service (ARS) is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific in-house research agency. Our job is finding solutions to agricultural problems that affect Americans every day from field to table."
Amber Waves "The Economics of Food, Farming, Natural Resources, and Rural America."
Amnesty International Annual Report "We have a vision of a world where everyone can enjoy the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international human rights mechanisms. To achieve this vision, our mission is to undertake research and action focused on preventing and ending grave abuses of these rights."
AORN Journal - Association of periOperative Registered Nurses "The AORN Journal provides professional perioperative registered nurses with evidence-based practice information needed to help meet the physiological, behavioral, safety, and health system needs of a diverse patient population."
Association of Mexican American Educators Journal "The Association of Mexican American Educators (AMAE) Journal is an open-access, peer-reviewed, bilingual (English and Spanish), interdisciplinary journal that addresses issues affecting Latinx communities in the United States."
Carnegie Reporter Carnegie Corporation of New York is one of America’s oldest grantmaking foundations. Established in 1911 by Andrew Carnegie to promote the advancement and diffusion of knowledge and understanding. Today the foundation works to reduce political polarization through philanthropic support for the issues that Carnegie considered most important: education, democracy, and peace.
Change: The Magazine of Higher Learning Change, which is published six times a year, is a magazine dealing with contemporary issues in higher education. Using a magazine format rather than that of an academic journal, Change covers anything related to higher education, "all things higher education." It spotlights trends; provides new insights and ideas; and analyzes the implications of educational programs, policies, and practices. It is intended to stimulate and inform reflective practitioners in colleges, universities, foundations, government, and elsewhere. Its readers include faculty, administrators, trustees, state and federal officials, accreditors, foundation officers, and students.
Chemical & Engineering News Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN) is an award-winning go-to news source for members of the worldwide chemistry community in academia, industry, and beyond. Its coverage spans the latest research advances, the business and policy trends that are changing our discipline, crucial chemical safety data, job and career information, and more. Through C&EN Global Enterprise, experts gather and deliver scientific news that can’t be found outside of C&EN, providing balanced journalism that critical thinkers around the world demand.
Chronicle of Higher Education The Chronicle of Higher Education is academe’s most trusted resource for independent journalism, career development, and forward-looking intelligence. Since its founding in 1966, The Chronicle has grown to serve millions of educators, administrators, researchers, and policymakers who rely on its insights to lead, teach, learn, and innovate. The Chronicle’s independent newsroom – the nation’s largest dedicated to covering colleges and universities – is home to award-winning journalists and data analysts with a passion for serving audiences with indispensable news and actionable insights on issues that matter.
College & Research Libraries College & Research Libraries (C&RL) is the official scholarly research journal of the Association of College & Research Libraries, a division of the American Library Association, 225 North Michigan Ave., Suite 1300, Chicago, IL 60601. C&RL is a bimonthly, online-only publication.
College & Research Libraries News Established in 1966, College & Research Libraries News (C&RL News) provides articles on the latest trends and practices affecting academic and research libraries and serves as the official newsmagazine and publication of record of the Association of College and Research Libraries. Monthly columns include Scholarly Communication, The Way I See It, Internet Resources, Grants and Acquisitions, and People in the News. Other regular features include ACRL TechConnect, Perspectives on the Framework, and Academic Library Workers in Conversation. C&RL News is published 11 times per year.
College Composition & Communication College Composition and Communication publishes research and scholarship in rhetoric and composition studies that supports college teachers in reflecting on and improving their practices in teaching writing and that reflects the most current scholarship and theory in the field. The field of composition studies draws on research and theories from a broad range of humanistic disciplines-English studies, rhetoric, cultural studies, LGBT studies, gender studies, critical theory, education, technology studies, race studies, communication, philosophy of language, anthropology, sociology, and others-and from within composition and rhetoric studies, where a number of subfields have also developed, such as technical communication, computers and composition, writing across the curriculum, research practices, and the history of these fields.
College English College English is the professional journal for the college scholar-teacher. CE publishes articles about literature, rhetoric-composition, critical theory, creative writing theory and pedagogy, linguistics, literacy, reading theory, pedagogy, and professional issues related to the teaching of English. Issues may also include review essays.
Diagnostic Imaging Diagnostic Imaging is a comprehensive multimedia platform for radiology and imaging professionals designed to provide expert insights and best practices in each radiology modality. Featuring breaking news, KOL-driven resources, in-depth conference coverage and topic resource centers, Diagnostic Imaging is the legacy voice for radiology and imaging content.
EMS World EMS World serves the full spectrum of emergency medical services providers: EMTs, paramedics, dispatchers, physicians, nurses, educators, researchers, and administrators. Through print publications, websites, podcasts, webinars, and the world's largest EMS-dedicated annual conference, EMS World Expo, EMS World is the leading authority on providing expert-guided clinical, management, and regulatory content to a discerning and dedicated audience on the front lines of out-of-hospital care.
Fugue (U of I English Dept.) Established in 1990 at the University of Idaho, Fugue publishes poetry, fiction, essays, hybrid work, and visual art from established and emerging writers and artists. Fugue is managed and edited entirely by University of Idaho graduate students, with help from graduate and undergraduate readers. We take pride in the work we print, writers we publish, and the presentation of each issue.
Geriatric Nursing Geriatric Nursing is a comprehensive source for timely, evidence-based, and high-quality clinical information and management advice relating to the care of older adults. The journal's peer-reviewed articles report the latest developments in the management of acute and chronic disorders while providing practical advice on innovative programs and practices in clinical care and administration.
Governing Governing provides news, analysis and insights for the people making government work. Published since 1987, Governing is a trusted source of record for people who lead, manage and direct public agencies as they work towards well-managed, vibrant and resilient communities.
Human Rights Watch Human Rights Watch investigates and reports on abuses happening in all corners of the world. We are roughly 550 plus people of 70-plus nationalities who are country experts, lawyers, journalists, and others who work to protect the most at risk, from vulnerable minorities and civilians in wartime, to refugees and children in need. We direct our advocacy towards governments, armed groups and businesses, pushing them to change or enforce their laws, policies and practices. To ensure our independence, we refuse government funding and carefully review all donations to ensure that they are consistent with our policies, mission, and values. We partner with organizations large and small across the globe to protect embattled activists and to help hold abusers to account and bring justice to victims.
InChemistry inChemistry is the information hub for undergraduate student members of the American Chemical Society (ACS). Published by the Education Division of ACS, the magazine covers a range of topics that are unique to students in the chemical sciences, offering insights on career options, professional skills, academic achievement, graduate school, navigating the job market, and preparing for the workplace.
Journal of Accountancy Published continuously since 1905, the Journal of Accountancy is the flagship publication of the American Institute of CPAs. Our articles and features cover a wide variety of subjects including accounting, financial reporting, auditing, taxation, personal financial planning, technology, business valuation, professional development, ethics, liability issues, consulting, practice management, education and related domestic and international business issues.
Journal of Chemical Education The Journal of Chemical Education (JCE) is co-published by the ACS Division of Chemical Education and ACS Publications. Launched in 1924, JCE is the world’s premier chemical education journal. JCE publishes peer-reviewed articles and related information as a resource to those in the field of chemical education and to those institutions that serve them. The journal typically addresses chemical content, laboratory experiments, instructional methods, and pedagogies. JCE serves as a means of communication among people across the world who are interested in the teaching and learning of chemistry. The global audience includes instructors of chemistry from middle school through graduate school, professional staff who support these teaching activities, as well as some scientists in commerce, industry, and government.
Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory & Practice The Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory & Practice provides the educational community, federal and state governmental officials, and the general public a medium to exhibit and explore the complex issue of student retention and attrition. The Journal features articles pertaining to current and new theoretical constructs and current research on student retention and attrition in higher education.
Journal of Hispanic Higher Education The Journal of Hispanic Higher Education (JHHE) is a quarterly international journal devoted to the advancement of knowledge and understanding of issues at Hispanic-serving institutions. JHHE maintains a broad focus and accepts the highest quality scholarly, creative and practical articles that combine research with application, fostering the integration of theory and practice. As such, JHHE publishes both quantitative and qualitative articles that specifically relate to issues of interest at Hispanic-serving institutions of higher learning worldwide. JHHE is particularly interested in research that crosses both cultural and disciplinary boundaries.
Journal of Latinos and Education The Journal of Latinos and Education (JLE) provides a cross-, multi-, and interdisciplinary forum for scholars and writers from diverse disciplines who share a common interest in the analysis, discussion, critique, and dissemination of educational issues that impact Latinos. There are four broad arenas which encompass most issues of relevance: (1) Policy, (2) Research, (3) Practice, and (4) Creative & Literary Works.
Journal of Pediatric Nursing The Journal of Pediatric Nursing: Nursing Care of Children and Families (JPN) covers the life span from birth to adolescence and publishes evidence-based practice, quality improvement, theory, and research papers from global authors. Submissions must relate to the nursing care needs of healthy and ill infants, children and adolescents, addressing their biopsychosocial needs.
Journal of Student Affairs Research and Practice The vision of the Journal of Student Affairs Research and Practice (JSARP) is to publish the most rigorous, relevant, and well-respected research and practice making a difference in student affairs practice. JSARP especially encourages manuscripts that are unconventional in nature and that engage in methodological and epistemological extensions that transcend the boundaries of traditional research inquiries.

Online Magazines & Ejournals

Journal of Veterinary Medical Education The Journal of Veterinary Medical Education (JVME) is the peer-reviewed scholarly journal of the American Association of Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC). As an internationally distributed journal, JVME provides a forum for the exchange of ideas, research, and discoveries about veterinary medical education. This exchange benefits veterinary faculty, students, and the veterinary profession as a whole by preparing veterinarians to better perform their professional activities and to meet the needs of society. The journal’s areas of focus include best practices and educational methods in veterinary education; recruitment, training, and mentoring of students at all levels of education, including undergraduate, graduate, veterinary technology, and continuing education; clinical instruction and assessment; institutional policy; and other challenges and issues faced by veterinary educators domestically and internationally. Veterinary faculty of all countries are encouraged to participate as contributors, reviewers, and institutional representatives.
Library Journal In the 140 years since it was created, Library Journal has been inspired by the belief that libraries transform lives, at every stage of life. We were there to help libraries in the United States begin organizing as a profession, and as the national and global network of libraries took their place in town squares, campus centers, and schools. As libraries have adapted, we have been there all the way--leading the profession forward by identifying trends on the brink of impact, surfacing best practices and innovations to invest in, identifying emerging leaders, sharing important news and perspectives that shape the field, guiding purchasing decisions, acting as an advocate for librarians and libraries--leading the field through the great changes and innovations required to keep libraries strong. Each day we build on this storied tradition by fueling the innovation engine at the center of every community--your library. We can’t think of a community that doesn't rely on its library, and we can’t think of a better mission than having everyone at those libraries -- town, city, campus, school students--rely on Library Journal and School Library Journal to help them inform learning, inspire kids to read, spark the inquisitive impulse and instill a lifelong love of reading—all the while building the community’s capacity to thrive and spurring economic development.
The Modernist Journals Project The Modernist Journals Project digitizes English-language literary magazines from the 1890s to the 1920s. We also offer essays and other supporting materials from the period.
Monthly Labor Review Established in 1915, the Monthly Labor Review (MLR) is the principal journal of fact, analysis, and research from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), an agency within the U.S. Department of Labor. Through MLR articles, economists, statisticians, and experts from BLS join with private sector professionals and federal, state, and local government specialists to provide a wealth of research in a wide variety of fields. Subjects include the labor force, the economy, employment, inflation, productivity, occupational injuries and illnesses, wages, prices, and more.
Nautilus Our stories take you into the depths of science and spotlight its ripples in our lives and cultures. We believe any subject in science, no matter how complex, can be explained with clarity and vitality. We venture into the fields of anthropology, geology, and paleontology. We infiltrate the labs of astronomy, genetics, and physics. When science ventures into the arts, we follow. There’s a story in everything and we follow the story wherever it leads us.
New Directions for Community Colleges Essential to the professional libraries of presidents, vice presidents, deans, directors, and faculty leaders in today's open-door, ever-changing institutions, New Directions for Community Colleges provides expert guidance in meeting the challenges of their distinctive and expanding educational mission. Our journal publishes practical recommendations on current trends in the field of community college education and include contributions from community college leaders and researchers through evidence-based and research-oriented accounts that shape policy and practice.
NIH MedlinePlus The NIH MedlinePlus Magazine is a free, digital consume health publication featuring trusted health information from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The NIH is the nation’s premier medical research agency, made up of 27 different Institutes and Centers. Articles in this publication are written by professional journalists. All scientific and medical information is reviewed for accuracy by representatives of the National Institutes of Health. However, personal decisions regarding health, finance, exercise, and other matters should be made only after consultation with the reader’s physician or professional advisor. Opinions expressed herein are not necessarily those of the National Library of Medicine.
NIH News in Health The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the nation’s medical research agency. Our goal is to improve health and save lives through scientific discovery. NIH News in Health is a monthly newsletter that provides practical health information and tips based on NIH research findings. NIH medical experts and NIH-supported scientists at universities and medical schools ensure accuracy by reviewing articles before publication. A new issue is published on the first Monday of each month.
Nursing Outlook Nursing Outlook, a bimonthly journal, provides innovative ideas for nursing leaders through peer-reviewed articles and timely reports. Each issue examines current issues and trends in nursing practice, education, and research, offering progressive solutions to the challenges facing the profession. Nursing Outlook is the official journal of the American Academy of Nursing and the Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science and supports their mission to improve health and achieve health equity by impacting policy through nursing leadership, innovation, and science.
Occupational Outlook Career Outlook articles provide data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, jobseekers, and others planning careers.
Police Chief Articles are contributed by practitioners in law enforcement or related fields.
Prehospital Emergency Care Prehospital Emergency Care publishes peer-reviewed information relevant to the practice, educational advancement, and investigation of prehospital emergency care, including the following types of articles: Special Contributions - Original Articles - Education and Practice - Preliminary Reports - Case Conferences - Position Papers - Collective Reviews - Editorials - Letters to the Editor - Media Reviews
Progressive Dairyman Progressive Publishing creates and distributes industry-focused magazines, email newsletters and podcasts for dairy, beef and forage producers throughout the U.S. and Canada.
Public Library of Science PLOS is a non-profit organization on a mission to drive open science forward with measurable, meaningful change in research publishing, policy, and practice.  Building on a strong legacy of pioneering innovation, PLOS continues to be a catalyst, reimagining models to meet open science principles, removing barriers and promoting inclusion in knowledge creation and sharing, and publishing research outputs that enable everyone to learn from, reuse and build upon scientific knowledge.
Radiologic Technology Radiologic Technology is an official scholarly journal of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. Published continuously since 1929, it circulates to more than 145,000 readers worldwide.
Real Estate Commission The Division of Occupational and Professional Licenses (DOPL) provides consumer protection and public safety through its regulation of more than 204,000 licensees within more than 48 Boards and Commissions here in the great State of Idaho. To learn more about each of the Boards, follow the specific link under the top menu item “Professions & Occupations” . On each Board’s page you can learn how to apply for a license, manage your existing license, complete continuing education, review new program information, read frequently asked questions, and more.
School Library Journal School Library Journal is the premiere publication for librarians and information specialists who work with children and teens. A source of quality journalism and reviews for 70 years, SLJ produces award-winning features and news coverage on: literacy, best practices, technology, education policy and other issues of interest to the school library and greater educator community. We evaluate a broad range of resources, from books and digital content to databases, in 6000+ reviews published annually.
Science Advances Science Advances is the American Association for the Advancement of Science’s (AAAS) open access multidisciplinary journal, publishing impactful research papers and reviews in any area of science, in both disciplinary-specific and broad, interdisciplinary areas. The mission of Science Advances is to provide fair, fast, and expert peer review to authors and a vetted selection of research, freely available to readers. Led by a team of distinguished scientists and allowing flexible article formats, Science Advances supports the AAAS mission by extending the capacity of Science magazine to identify and promote significant advances in science and engineering across a wide range of areas. The journal’s use of evolving digital publishing technologies plays a critical role in building and sustaining AAAS’s mission as a global participant and advocate for the communication and use of science to benefit humankind.
Science Magazine Online Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its founding in 1880—with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
Silo (CSI English Dept.) SILO is a non-profit, peer-reviewed, annual electronic publication managed by the Department of English, Languages, and Philosophy at the College of Southern Idaho. The journal has been published in print form and online for creative writing and visual art, and we now hope to expand the tradition by developing SILO into an online collecting place not just for exceptional creative writing, but also multi-media art representing the works of both current CSI students and alumni in the Humanities. In our future edition, you will find not only fiction, poetry, non-fiction, photography, but representations of our work in fields such as sculpture, theater, music, and dance.
SMM (Sales & Marketing Management) Sales & Marketing Management is the leading authority for executives in the sales and marketing field. Our website, regular Web casts, e-newsletters, white papers, broadcasts and more, all provide our readers easy access to the most relevant trends, strategies, exclusive research, expert voices, and cutting-edge case studies designed to help them sell more, manage better, and market smarter.
Survey of Current Business The Survey of Current Business (SCB) has served as the journal of record for the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) since 1921. The SCB offers a variety of economic content, including detailed presentations of recent data releases, explanations of annual and benchmark updates, summaries of key methodologies, updates about in-development data sets, research by BEA economists, briefings on key issues, and ongoing statistical and related innovations. Tables, charts, and links to interactive data sets—with charting and mapping functions—accompany nearly every article.
Teaching English in the Two-Year College Teaching English in the Two-Year College (TETYC), the journal of the Two-Year College English Association (TYCA), is for instructors of English studies in the two-year college. TETYC publishes theoretical and practical articles across the range of English studies at the two-year college, including composition and rhetoric, developmental education, technical and business communication, reading and literacy, literature, creative writing, language, dual and concurrent enrollment, as well as professional issues.
T.H.E. Journal (Technological Horizons in Education) THE Journal is dedicated to informing and educating K–12 senior-level district and school administrators, technologists, IT professionals, and tech-savvy educators who serve the nation's public schools, so they may improve and advance the learning process through the use of technology. Launched in 1972, THE Journal was the first magazine to cover “Technological Horizons in Education,” which has since come to be known as "ed tech." THE Journal is now all-digital and remains the leading K–12 information source — delivering valuable information via daily news updates on THEJournal.com and via newsletters, webinars, and virtual summits focused on ed tech trends and the technologies influencing K–12 education across the United States.
US News & World Report U.S. News & World Report is a multifaceted digital media company dedicated to helping consumers, business leaders and policy officials make important decisions in their lives. We use world-class data and technology to publish independent reporting, rankings, journalism and advice that has earned the trust of our readers and users for more than 90 years. Our platforms on usnews.com include Education, Health, Money, Travel, Cars, Real Estate, Careers, News and 360 Reviews.
Western Writers Series: Digital Editions The Boise State University Western Writers Series provides brief, authoritative introductions to writers and classic texts of the American west. The purpose of all the booklets in the Western Writers Series is to deepen the understanding and appreciation for the literature of the American west, in all its range and complexity. The Western Writers Series Digital Editions, produced in collaboration with Albertsons Library Special Collections and the Department of English Literature, now allows readers to view all 23 of the out-of-print volumes, and a selection of the 140 in-print items, with subjects ranging from Vardis Fisher to N. Scott Momaday, from Jack Kerouac to Sam Shepard.