A Critical Companion to Early Childhood by
In this stimulating and provocative book the editors have drawn together a diverse and international range of respected authors, each of whom has taken a critical approach to the contentious question of how you define and achieve quality early childhood services. It is a book designed to provoke and promote critical dialogue and discourse amongst practitioners and students through critical engagement with the position of the authors within the text. I believe anyone who reads this book will be inspired and motivated to challenge and extend their thinking and professional practice, adopting the critical stance which lies at the heart of quality services for children and families.
Professor Chris Pascal, Director of Centre for Research in Early Childhood (CREC)
Early childhood is a complex and important area of study where it is important to develop your critical thinking and reflect upon key issues. This book will help do both.
It explores interrelated topics such as:
Child development Play Safeguarding Professionalism C urriculum and Policy
Each chapter will not only engage with what you need to know but help you develop your academic skills.
The book also comes with lots of online resources which can be found at https://study.sagepub.com/reedandwalker and include:
Podcasts from the authors of each chapter so you can better understand the key concepts
PowerPoints to help you revise the essential information
Journal articles related to each chapter provide further reading Michael Reed and Rosie Walker are both Senior Lecturers in Early Childhood at the Institute of Education, University of Worcester.
Defending Childhood: keeping the promise of early education by 
Early Learning Theories Made Visible by
Go beyond reading about early learning theories and see what they look like in action in modern programs and teacher practices. With classroom vignettes and colorful photographs, this book makes the works of Jean Piaget, Erik Erikson, Lev Vygotsky, Abraham Maslow, John Dewey, Howard Gardner, and Louise Derman-Sparks visible, accessible, and easier to understand. Each theory is defined-through engaging stories and rich visuals-in relation to cognitive, social-emotional, and physical developmental domains. Use this book to build a stronger comprehension of the foundations of early learning theories and become more reflective and intentional in your work with young children."--
"Go beyond reading about early learning theories and see what they look like in action in modern programs and teacher practices. Each theory is defined--through engaging stories and rich visuals--in relation to cognitive, social-emotional, and physical developmental domains
Enhancing Brain Development in Infants and Young Children by
"A clear explanation for early childhood caregivers and educators of what is presently known about prenatal and early childhood brain development to help them be aware of the important role their child care and teaching practices can play in facilitating positive brain development, and to give them practical suggestions for brain-enhancing curricula practices for these crucial developmental years"--
Helping Children Succeed : what works and why by 
The Littlest Learners: preparing your child for kindergarten by
The Littlest Learners connects the most recent research on emergent literacy, the skills necessary to become a reader and concrete activities that parents and caregivers can do to maximize their child's reading readiness. The book is divided into 5 activities: 1) talking with young children 2) reading with young children 3) playing with young children 4) exploring the world with young children 5) technology tips for young children All while keeping the development of emergent literacy skills in mind. Parent, teachers, librarians and caregivers of young children, ages 0 to 5 will find something useful for engaging with their child. The book contains detailed lists of board books, nursery rhymes, finger plays, play activities, field trips, web-links and much more
Using Developmentally Appropriate Practices to Teach the Common Core : : grades preK-3 by
Foundations. Teaching the common core in developmentally appropriate ways ; Providing rigorous learning experiences for all students ; Knowing your students as learners -- Spotlight skills for teaching the common core state standards: using developmentally appropriate practices. Spotlight skill: observing, documenting, and assessing students' learning ; Spotlight skill: differentiating instruction to maximize learning for every student ; Spotlight skill: planing "integrated-content" lessons ; Spotlight skill: educating families about the CCSS -- Understanding the common core state standards documents. Understanding the CCSS-mathematics standards document ; Understanding the CCSS-English language arts and literacy in social studies, science, and technical subjects standards document -- Using DAP to teach the common core in early childhood settings, grade by grade. Using DAP to teach the CCSS in prekindergarten ; Using DAP to teach the CCSS in transitional kindergarten ; Using DAP to teach the CCSS in kindergarten ; Using DAP to teach the CCSS in first grade ; Using DAP to teach the CCSS in second grade ; Using DAP to teach the CCSS in third grade.
Young Children's Thinking by
Clearly linking theory and practice, this highly accessible book will be valuable to practitioners, teachers and students. The author explores the development of children′s thinking from 0-7 years, and how this affects home, Early Years settings and schools.
The book includes:
- case studies
- professional checkpoints to help reflection
- practical suggestions
- guidance on involving parents
- suggested reading
- questions for discussion.
It will be a great asset for students on Early Years Foundation Degrees, Initial Teacher Education and Early Childhood Studies courses.
Becoming an Early Years Teacher: from Birth to Five Years by
This book provides a handy compendium to support you as you train to become an Early Years Teacher. The eight Teachers'' Standards (Early Years) underpin the core structure of the book, and there is strong linking throughout to the statutory and non-statutory framework and guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage. Offering comprehensive coverage of theories of early learning and child development, this book: Brings together relevant knowledge and skills in a way that challenges you to think critically about key theories of early learning and development in your role as an Early Years Teacher Reflects on the nature of professionalism and offers activities to help you identify your own learning journey and develop your own professional identity Underpins practice with a focus and recognition of the need to identify and develop key communication skills that build positive professional relationships in the best interests of babies and children Includes practical examples and case studies to support reflection and inspire you to creative positive learning opportunities for babies and young children Importantly, the book concludes with valuable guidance on gathering assessment evidence of your personal practice, as well as demonstrating the ability to lead and support early years provision from birth to five years. This is an essential book to support all trainees in developing their role and skills as an Early Years Teacher. Contributors: Kelly Cooper, Fiona Dearman, Jo Elsey, Jessica Johnson, Daryl Maisey, Angela Maxey, Joanne McKibbin, Yasmin Mukadam, Vicky Mummery, Gemma Pawson, Denise Salter, Laltiha Sivalingam, Helen Sutherland. "Authoritative, scholarly and grounded in practice, this is surely destined to become the must-have practical handbook for all those seeking Early Years Teacher status." Geoff Taggart, Lecturer in Early Years, University of Reading, UK "Becoming an Early Years Teacher will prove valuable to all those working in the early years sector, and is an accessible and user friendly resource that promotes increased professional responsibility. Theoretical underpinning and the use of case studies, activities and links to observed practice, provide thought provoking material which recognises the importance of partnership working with families and wider community organisations. Emphasis is placed on the importance of reflection to question values and beliefs and to continually evaluate and challenge practice. This book aims to support inspirational practice that will enhance positive learning opportunities for all early years'' children." Soraya Goni, HE Award Leader Childhood Studies, Kirklees College, UK "I am delighted to recommend this comprehensive, challenging and accessible power-pack of a book, which deserves to become essential reading for all Early Years Teachers in training and equally for those engaged in studying on Early Childhood Studies degrees. The team of contributors bring a wealth of both professional and academic knowledge and experience to their chapters and overall the book promotes critical thinking and reflexive practice. Whilst explicitly addressing the standards for Early Years Teacher Status the book avoids taking an instrumentalist approach and explores a range of perspectives and tensions related to professionalism within the early childhood world." Penny Holland, Early Childhood Consultant "This book provides essential, well-articulated, thought-provoking guidance for students working towards Early Years Teacher Status. Throughout the chapters, for each of the eight standards there are strong themes encouraging reflection, reflective practice, leadership and a commitment that in-depth knowledge of theory is closely linked to practice. Scenarios are presented to encourage extension of thought and knowledge whilst ensuring adherence to the statutory and non-statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. This approach helps to ensure that the students work towards leading continuous improvement in practice so that the babies and young children experience their learning and development through play and individual care needs. This is a very good book that I would recommend to all Early Years Teacher Status students." Tricia Johnson, Retired Lecturer in Early Years, UK
Professionalizing Early Childhood Education As a Field of Practice by
"Where do you begin the important conversation about professionalizing early childhood education (ECE) as a field of practice? This book is the tool you need to advance the conversation and shape the future of ECE. Professionalizing Early Childhood Education As a Field of Practice provides an overview of the topic, a participant guide, a conversation workbook, and a facilitator guide to move the conversation forward. Each section supports deep thought and creative discussions to make the overall conversation meaningful and productive for the entire profession. Don't just sit back and listen; be a part of this important conversation. Stacie Goffin is a widely recognized authority in early childhood education with a passion for raising the competence of ECE as a field of practice. She received a degree in child development from the University of Massachusetts Amherst, followed by her master's in early childhood from George Washington University and her executive education certification from Harvard. Stacie currently serves as Principal of the Goffin Strategies Group, where she uses her experience consulting with educational programs to improve effectiveness and services for young children"-- "Professionalizing Early Childhood Education as a Field of Practice is a tool to help everyone in early childhood education engage in serious discussions about professionalizing the field. Author and thought leader Stacie G. Goffin has written a book that contains an overview of the topic, a participant guide, a conversation workbook, and a facilitator guide; each section supports deep thought and creative discussions about how early childhood education can move toward being a professional field of practice"
Teacher Education in Diverse Settings : Making Space for Intersecting Worldviews by
Teacher Education in Diverse Settings presents a study of initial educator preparation in three social contexts: a training program for immigrant child care educators in Canada, a pre- and lower primary specialization in a teacher education program in Namibia, and a partnership between the Misak indigenous communities in Colombia and the University of Cauca to deliver courses for educators within their communities.
The Teacher You Want to Be : Essays About Children, Learning, and Teaching by
Centering the child / Sir Ken Robinson -- How Reggio ruined me for anything less than inquiry-driven learning / Victoria Vinton -- Why beliefs matter / Heidi Mills with Tim O'Keefe -- Engagement: a hub of human development / Peter Johnston and Gay Ivey -- Expectant? [ELT2] expectations / Katherine Bomer -- What price beauty? A call for aesthetic education / Ellin Oliver Keene -- Joy, choice, and authenticity: a conversation with Simone Dinnerstein, Jeremy Greensmith, and Adrian Greensmith / Zoe Ryder White -- The journey of a single hour: exploring the rich promise of an immediate release of responsibility / Katie Wood Ray -- Making a place for Spencer: placemaking as a political act / Stephanie Jones -- A call to lock arms / Jose Vilson -- Teaching democracy: whose job is it? / Deborah Meier -- Reconsidering readiness / Matt Glover -- Of canyons and questions: interrogative learning / Dennie Palmer Wolf -- Collaboration or compliance? / Kathy Collins -- On the virtue of thinking small: reclaiming teacher research / Thomas Newkirk.
Early Childhood Literacy Teachers in High Poverty Schools: : A Study of Courage and Caring by
Much has been written about the failure of White American public school teachers to effectively teach low-income children of color to read and write. Scholars have offered numerous explanations for this failure, including the reluctance of teacher preparation programs to address cultural competence and the lack of cultural diversity among teacher educators. In response to reported failures such as high attrition rates of novice teachers and low test scores, American public schools are being subjected to increased standardization of the curriculum and high stakes testing. This book provides rich illustrations of White early literacy teachers who choose to remain in low-income school communities, where they effectively and passionately embrace their students, families, and communities. Blending the teachers'successful practices, shown in in-depth interviews excavating their identities and life experiences, with theoretical frameworks about teaching and learning, Early Childhood Literacy Teachers in High Poverty Schools: A Study of Boundary Crossing discusses the responsibility of public educators to cross geographical, economic, and political divisions on behalf of their students, and offers strategies for teacher educators to equip future teachers for these tasks.
The Literacy Teacher's Playbook, Grades K-2 : four steps for turning assessment data into goal-directed instruction by
Collecting data : assessment lenses and tools -- Analyzing data : making discoveries from student work -- Interpreting data and establishing a goal -- Creating an action plan -- Appendices : A. Emre's work and one possible interpretation -- B. Glossary of assessment terms -- C. Forms -- D. Possible reading-writing correlations and goals for emergent readers and writers, and students reading at levels A-F.
A - Z of Inclusion in Early Childhood by
The key themes in inclusion are explored through an A - Z approach covering key concepts, theories / theorists, and figures.
Developing Inclusive Practice for Young Children with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders by
Children with Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) have emerged as a major phenomenon within the education and health care systems. Prenatal exposure to alcohol is known to result in a range of birth anomalies for infants and children. Children with FASD experience a range of developmental delays, which limit their participation and progress in a range of educational and social settings. Written by one of the UK's top experts in the field, this practical and informative resource explores the complex and compounding socio-cultural, historical and political factors surrounding maternal drug and alcohol use, and the implications this has for young children's learning and development across the childhood workforce.
Diversity and Social Justice in Early Childhood Education : Nordic Perspectives by 
First Steps to Preschool Inclusion: How to Jumpstart Your Programwide Plan by
Interested in preschool inclusion, but not sure where to start? This introductory guide gathers everything you need to know to launch a successful inclusive early childhood program—and get critical buy-in from your whole staff. A must for leaders of early childhood programs, this reader-friendly primer reveals how inclusive education benefits all children, how school staff and parents can work as a team to make it happen, and how to knock down common barriers to inclusion. Combining the latest research with the nuts and bolts of program development, this book will help current and future early childhood leaders assemble highly effective inclusion teams and develop programs where every child learns and thrives. READ THIS BOOK TO Understand what inclusion is and what it looks like in practice Assess your program's readiness for inclusion Determine what your program needs to make inclusion work Learn which federal laws support inclusion in different early childhood settings Collaborate with staff and parents to develop and sustain key program changes Break through the myths and misinformation that create resistance to inclusion PRACTICAL FEATURES: Quick tips, vignettes, reflection activities, FYIs, and helpful resource lists make this an ideal preservice text and a practical team-building tool for inservice professional development. A featured book in our Successful Early Childhood Inclusion Kit! See how this product helps strengthen Head Start program quality and school readiness.
Building Blocks for Teaching Preschoolers with Special Needs by
See what's new in the third edition!Expanded with timely new content and consistent with DEC Recommended Practices, the third edition of this bestselling book will fully prepare a new generation of early childhood educators to teach and include every child. Like the groundbreaking previous editions, this updated Building Blocks guide gives pre‐ and inservice teachers three types of practical, evidence‐based inclusion strategies: curriculum modifications, embedded learning opportunities, and child‐focused instructional strategies. Educators will learn how to apply these three strategies for the benefit of all children; review the latest research that supports the Building Blocks model; and find ready‐to‐use tips and guidance on key topics, such as fostering friendships, encouraging independence, and promoting positive behavior. Reproducible forms help with planning and assessment, and seven comprehensive new training modules make it easy to teach the Building Blocks framework in college courses and professional development sessions.Equally useful as a student‐friendly textbook and a go‐to inclusion guide for practicing educators, this is a resource teachers will return to again and again for proven, easy‐to‐use strategies that support the success of every young learner.NEW GUIDANCE AND TIPS ON:Applying UDL principles to engage every student in your diverse classroomIntegrating literacy and STEAM into daily activities and routinesSupporting the executive function skills of all young learnersApplying new and expanded curriculum modificationsCollaborating successfully with other team members to ensure the best child outcomesConducting classroom quality assessmentIncludes 7 training modules!Using the Building Blocks frameworkConducting ongoing child assessmentPlanning for the individual childUsing visuals to support learningApplying the Building Blocks framework to math and scienceApplying the framework to challenging classroom behaviorExtending the framework to infants and toddlers Each module includes a slide deck, presentation notes, learning activities, and a list of other resources and references.
Building Together : Collaborative Leadership in Early Childhood Systems by
Building Together is a journey focused on the leadership necessary for today's early childhood education system building. This book provides a road map to what effective leaders do, how they do it, and the leadership necessary to work towards collaborative systems level change.Building Together includes a wealth of information on the leadership skills, styles and competencies necessary to address today's challenges and opportunities in the field of early childhood education. It also includes how to put leadership skills and knowledge into action to work towards sustainable system planning, implementation, and continuous improvement. Author Fiona Stewart includes success stories throughout the book from professionals in the field as well as examples from her own leadership work.Today's systems-level work requires sophisticated leadership skills. Building Together provides all the leadership information needed for both emerging and experienced leaders.
Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards; Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs by
The fourth edition contains guidelines on the development and evaluation of the health and safety of children in early care and education settings. This guide features 10 chapters of more than 650 standards and dozens of appendixes with valuable supplemental information, forms, and tools. KEY FEATURES More than 100 updated standards and appendixes Updated appendixes, including Signs and Symptoms Chart, Recommended Immunization Schedule, and Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care Completely revised and updated topics on environmental health, infectious diseases, and nutrition TOPICS INCLUDE Staffing Program activities for healthy development Health promotion and protection Nutrition and food service Facilities, supplies, equipment, and environmental health Play areas and playgrounds, and transportation Infectious diseases Children with special health care needs and disabilities Administration Licensing and community action
Celebrating 50 Years of Child Development Research : Past, Present, and Future Perspectives by
For more than fifty years, the Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute has conducted groundbreaking research that revolutionized the field of early childhood care and education. Based on presentations made at FPG's 50th anniversary symposium, this essential reference looks back on the Institute’s trailblazing history, analyzes contemporary issues in child development, and recommends critical new research directions. More than a dozen high-profile contributors thoroughly examine the three themes of the anniversary symposium: early care and education, diversity, and children with disabilities and their families. Readers will learn from in-depth chapters on:understanding the social, cultural, educational, and political forces that affect children’s outcomes meeting the challenge of serving diverse populations as U.S. demographics shift preparing practitioners to work with young dual language learners improving connections between the knowledge base and professional practice strengthening the early childhood workforce through effective professional development analyzing decades of research and policy and examining ways to support continuous improvement A celebration of progress and a compelling call to action for the next generation of professionals, this important volume is a must for researchers, policy makers, and faculty. Whether used as a textbook or a reference, this book will help shape the future of the early childhood field—and improve outcomes for tomorrow's young children and families.
A Chance for Change : Head Start and Mississippi's Black Freedom Struggle by
In this innovative study, Crystal Sanders explores how working-class black women, in collaboration with the federal government, created the Child Development Group of Mississippi (CDGM) in 1965, a Head Start program that not only gave poor black children access to early childhood education but also provided black women with greater opportunities for political activism during a crucial time in the unfolding of the civil rights movement. Women who had previously worked as domestics and sharecroppers secured jobs through CDGM as teachers and support staff and earned higher wages. The availability of jobs independent of the local white power structure afforded these women the freedom to vote in elections and petition officials without fear of reprisal. But CDGM's success antagonized segregationists at both the local and state levels who eventually defunded it. Tracing the stories of the more than 2,500 women who staffed Mississippi's CDGM preschool centers, Sanders's book remembers women who went beyond teaching children their shapes and colors to challenge the state's closed political system and white supremacist ideology and offers a profound example for future community organizing in the South.
Contemporary Perspectives on Research on Child Development Laboratory Schools in Early Childhood Education by
Child development “laboratory schools are dedicated to research-based instruction and furthering innovation in education. Many of these schools are connected to universities, where students are able to benefit from university resources and best practices” (Khan, 2014). They have been in existence on university campuses for centuries in the United States. The earliest colonial colleges (e.g., Harvard, Yale, William and Mary, University of Pennsylvania) administered Latin schools or departments to prepare students for college (Good & Teller, 1973). Rutgers Preparatory School was founded in 1768 and was linked to the university until the 1950s (Sperduto, 1967). During the course of time, the laboratory schools have changed to meet the needs of the teaching professionals and have frequently guided the instructional methods to improve the science and art of teaching [International Association of Laboratory Schools (IALS), 2018]. They have also changed throughout the years from part-day, part-time programs (McBride, 1996, Myers & Palmer, 2017) to full-day child care, some of which is inclusive of care offered through student service funds (Keyes, 1984; Shirah, 1988). Throughout the previous century, college and university institutions have established child development laboratory schools. In the early 1900s, they were initially considered to be sites for the recent discipline of child study but their purposes have progressed gradually. They also have assumed a fundamental function in promoting teaching, research, and service (such as outreach/engagement practice) in child development and early childhood education. However, a lot of them had to struggle for their survival when economic periods turned out to be problematic. Several extended operating programs were discontinued (Barbour & McBride, 2017). In 1894 John Dewey founded the University of Chicago Laboratory School. His laboratory school is unquestionably the most well-known of experimental schools. It was used to research, develop, and confirm innovative theories and principles of child development and education. Later at the beginning of the early 1900s, exemplary schools were developed as important centers for the preparation of teachers. Dewey's laboratory school and the preparation of interns in a hospital were used as a model for laboratory schools to focus on methodical research, dual faculty university appointments, and the preparation of preservice teachers. During the initial half of the 20th century, laboratory schools increased in colleges and universities, especially between 1920 and 1940. University-based child development laboratory programs assumed a critical responsibility in contributing to the knowledge base on child development and early childhood education as well as the professional development of early childhood educators. This concept of the child development laboratory schools has heavily influenced modern views. Researchers and educators need to understand the current sources based on theoretical frameworks that contribute to the purposes of the child development laboratory schools. The contents of the volume reflect the major shifts in the views of early childhood researchers and educators in relation to the research on child development laboratory schools, the role of child development laboratory programs in early childhood education, and their relationship to theory, research, and practice. The chapters in this special volume reviews and critically analyzes the literature on several aspects of the child development laboratory schools. This volume can be a valuable tool to researchers who are conducting studies in the child development laboratory schools and practitioners who are working directly or indirectly in these schools. It focuses on important contemporary issues on child development laboratory schools in early childhood education (ages 0 to 8) to provide the information necessary to make judgments about the
Contemporary Perspectives on Research on Motivation in Early Childhood Education by
Researchers from different disciplines (e.g., physiological, psychological, philosophical) have investigated motivation using multiple approaches. For example, in physiology (the scientific study of the normal function in living systems such as biology), researchers may use “electrical and chemical stimulation of the brain, the recording of electrical brain-wave activity with the electroencephalograph, and lesion techniques, where a portion of the brain (usually of a laboratory animal) is destroyed and subsequent changes in motivation are noted” (Petri & Cofer, 2017). Physiological studies mainly conducted with animals, other than humans, have revealed the significance of particular brain structures in the control of fundamental motives such as hunger, thirst, sex, aggression, and fear. In psychology, researchers may study the individuals'behaviors to understand their actions. In sociology, researchers may examine how individuals'interactions influence their behavior. For instance, in the classroom students and teachers behave in expected ways, which may differ when they are outside the classroom. Saracho (2003) examined the students'academic achievement when they matched or mismatched their teachers'way of thinking. She identified both the teachers and students individual differences and defined consistencies in their cognitive processes. In philosophy, researchers can study the individuals'theoretical position such as supporting Maslow's (1943) concept that motivation can create behaviors that augments motivation in the future. Abraham H. Maslow's theory of self-actualization supports this theoretical position (Petri & Cofer, 2017). These areas and others are represented in this volume. This volume is devoted to understanding mutual and contemporary themes in the individuals'motivation and its relationship to cognition. The current literature covers several methods to the multifaceted relationships between motivational and cognitive processes. Comprehensive reviews of the literature focus on prominent cognitive perspectives on motivation with young children, which includes ages from birth to eight years of age. The chapters in this special volume review and critically analyze the literature on several aspects of the relationships between motivational and cognitive processes and demonstrates the breadth and theoretical effectiveness of this domain. This brief introduction acknowledges the valuable contributions of these chapters to the study of human motivation. This volume can be a valuable tool to researchers who are conducting studies in the motivation field. It focuses on important contemporary issues on motivation in early childhood education (ages 0 to 8) to provide the information necessary to make judgments about these issues. It also motivates and guides researchers to explore gaps in the motivation literature.
Doing the Right Thing for Children: Eight Qualities of Leadership by 
Early Years Foundations: Critical Issues by
The new edition of this best selling book looks critically at the 2012 Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum and draws attention to issues that underlie the EYFS and the implications for children from birth to five. With its questions for reflection and discussion, further reading and useful websites, Early Years Foundations is essential and informative reading for students studying any early years or early childhood course, or working towards Early Years Teacher Status. Among the many challenges facing early years professionals, there are continual dilemmas arising between perceptions of good practice, the practicalities of provision and meeting OfSTED requirements. This exciting and innovative new edition supports practitioners in thinking through their responsibilities in tackling some of the many challenges they encounter, for example, that children are still perceived as ''deficit'' in some way and in need of ''being school ready'' rather than as developing individuals who have a right to a childhood and appropriate early education. Chapters explore the rationale behind early years practice based on theory and research, covering important topics including: Prime and specific areas of learning and development Observation and assessment Pedagogy Working with parents Difference and diversity Contributors: Sue Bingham, Gill Boag-Munroe, Liz Brooker, Helen Clarke, Anne Cockburn, Rosie Flewitt, Jan Georgeson, Michael Jones, Lilian G. Katz, Caroline Leeson, Paulette Luff, Jayne Osgood, John Parry, Jane Payler, Karen Phethean, Linda Pound, Anne Rawlings, Jonathan Rix, Sue Rogers, Anita Soni, Suzy Tutchell, Judith Twani, Jane Waters, David Whitebread "Early Years Foundations: Critical issues is a timely and valuable edition for the early childhood bookshelf, offering high quality scholarship combined with deep understanding of early childhood practice. This is a book that values early childhood practitioners as critical partners and experts in young children''s learning and development. At a time of fluctuating policy, the authors remind us of the need to advocate for what matters in early childhood and they suggest ways that we can provide excellent experiences for young children with potential to enhance their lives for the long term." Jane Murray PhD, Senior Lecturer, University of Northampton, UK "There seems to be a proliferation of publications currently in the field of early years education and care but this book stands out amongst the crowd for a number of reasons. In particular, the status of the three editing authors means that the content of the book is to be trusted to be both informed and thorough in its attention to detail, and this second edition has been carefully updated to incorporate recent reforms and initiatives. The editing authors'' insistence on the creation of an early years text that centres on a critically reflective review of contemporary policy and research can only help to build the argument for a better future for young children''s care and education. This is a book in which there are many chapters worthy of recommendation and which will form the basis for future debates and publications but Rogers'' scholarly work on Enabling Pedagogy encapsulates some core research, essential to our understanding of our work with children, and is a strong and refreshing contribution, while Katz'' notion of ''standards of experiences'' for young children should give us all food for thought." Dr Kathy Goouch, Reader in Education, Canterbury Christ Church University, UK "This book is not another bland ''how to do it'' manual to accompany the EYFS, it goes much further in offering a truly challenging critique. Helpfully contextualised within the changing policy and political context, each chapter focuses on a different aspect of the curriculum framework and is written by someone with recognised expertise in the field. The strengths of the current EYFS are recognised but the issues and tensions are also made explicit with arguments backed up by theory and research evidence. This should be essential reading for experienced practitioners as well as Early Childhood Studies students." Denise Hevey, Professor of Early Years, University of Northampton, UK.
Exploring Outdoor Play in the Early Years by
Outdoor play is a significant and essential aspect of a young child's development and enjoys a renewed emphasis in early years practice, in keeping with the core principles embedded within the early years tradition. However, this emphasis may sit uneasily alongside a requirement to focus on the development of literacy and numeracy skills and supporting outdoor play can raise a number of thorny issues such as freedom, safety and risk. This book challenges the reader to consider: Why outdoor play is seen to be of significance within early childhood Whether this view is justified (what are the benefits of outdoor play?) The implications for practitioners who may be facing conflicting pressures in their work with young children In particular, the writers skilfully blend theory, research and practical guidance to address three important issues: What constitutes 'good' outdoor provision for young children and babies? How do we respect and respond to the young child in outdoor provision? How do we support risky play within the bounds of a statutory curriculum or regulatory regime? Incorporating chapters from internationally renowned authors working in this field, this book is recommended both for practitioners involved in early years education and care and for students at foundation, degree and post-graduate levels. "This is a thought provoking book that draws on research to encourage the reader to reflect on the essence of outdoor play in early childhood. Recognising that within our society assumptions are made about outdoors and about childhood, this book challenges the reader to reflect on outdoor provision from a number of perspectives. The outdoor environment matters to young children. This book not only makes the case for outdoor play, it considers what that actually looks like in the UK and internationally, and asks us to reflect on the implications for our own working practices. Maynard and Waters set out to provoke critical reflection and inspire practitioners; they have certainly achieved their aim and this book is a welcome addition to the debate about outdoors in the early years." Gail Ryder Richardson, Early Years Consultant and Trainer, Outdoor Matters! Contributors: Valerie Huggins, Sara Knight, Helen Little, Trisha Maynard, Ellen Beate Hansen Sandseter, Alison Stephenson, Helen Tovey, Sue Waite, Jane Waters, Jan White, Karen Wickett, Helen Woolley and Shirley Wyver.
The Great Disconnect in Early Childhood Education: What We Know vs. What We Do by 
Making Sense of Play: Supporting Children in Their Play by
Making Sense of Play straightforwardly describes how self-chosen, engaging and satisfying play is best for children. It explores how adults can best support children's free play with an approach that is holistic, inclusive and practical and offers clear tools to highlight better ways of relating to and providing for playing children. The book extends two key concepts developed by the author, the Integral Play Framework and the Play Cycle, showing how practitioners can implement these ideas on a day-to-day basis. The author makes clear how the Integral Play Framework works, how it helps makes sense of other models and how it can be used to help plan provision for playing children physically, socially, cognitively and culturally. Everyday practice with playing children is explored in line with introductory and extended understandings of the Play Cycle or 'play process'. Accessibly written with a rich range of examples showing the concepts in practice, these models are further used to explore creativity, the ways in which children play, how provision might be improved and how the approaches can be used to research practice. With its distinctive blend of theory and practice together with reflective questions, this book is essential reading for all playwork students and practitioners and helps put these innovative ideas into practice with playing children. "Perry Else's book, Making Sense of Play, is just what we might expect from one of the UK's leading playwork authors. Drawing extensively on Else's work with a number of theorists, it is thought-provoking in its content and challenging in the breadth of its scope. Those of us who value diagrams and tables as a mechanism for clarifying complex concepts will be rewarded by the format of the chapters. I recommend this book to anyone with an analytical preference, and an interest in the way societies cater for the needs of children at play." Fraser Brown, Professor of Playwork, Leeds Beckett University, UK "Perry has the special ability to write a rigorous academic book applying helpful theoretical perspectives to play without ever damaging the precious importance of uninterrupted, spontaneous child-led PLAY." Sara Knight, Forest School Association and Anglia Ruskin University, UK "Making Sense of Play is an accessible and thought-provoking book for all those who are involved or interested in children's play, whether they are practitioners, academics, students or tutors. Written in an engaging and informative manner, it offers opportunities to deepen understanding about different perspectives on play and how this knowledge can aid adults in supporting play. Notably the inclusion of activities and questions for each chapter are invaluable for consolidating understanding and applying the theory to practice." Julia Sexton, Senior Lecturer in Childhood Studies, Sheffield Hallam University, UK
Nurturing Habits of Mind in Early Childhood : Success Stories from Classrooms Around the World by
In the first years of life, as children observe, imitate, and interact with people and their environment, the brain is structuring a foundation for vocabulary, values, cognitive processes, and social skills. Educators, you can help influence that development by teaching the skills and dispositions of intelligent, creative, effective decision makers and problem solvers. Within these pages, Arthur L. Costa and Bena Kallick share the authentic stories and experiences of teachers who have taught these Habits of Mind (HOM) to young children: - Persisting - Managing impulsivity - Listening with understanding and empathy - Thinking flexibly - Thinking about thinking - Striving for accuracy - Questioning and posing problems - Applying past knowledge to new situations - Thinking and communicating with clarity and precision - Gathering data through all senses - Creating, imagining, and innovating - Responding with wonderment and awe - Taking responsible risks - Finding humor - Thinking interdependently - Remaining open to continuous learning The practical examples in this book show how anybody who works with young children can introduce the Habits of Mind in entertaining and concrete ways that are developmentally appropriate. By designing learning experiences that reflect the situations and challenges children face in their lives, educators can help our youngest citizens begin to develop the habits of mind that feed a lifetime of learning.
The Relationship Worlds of Infants and Toddlers: Multiple Perspectives from Early Years Theory and Practice by
The Relationship Worlds of Infants and Toddlers explores the concept of relationships as a core element of early childhood education and care. Taking as its starting point that children from birth to three learn and develop in a network of relationships, it examines what these relationships look and feel like, how they can be fostered and why they are important for children, educators and families who are involved in early years settings. In particular, it examines: Which kinds of relationships are important in early education and care settings? How can we understand the characteristics and meaning of these relationships for individuals and groups? How can we use our understandings to build relationships in early childhood programmes that benefit children, families and educators? The authors approach the topic of relationships in infant-toddler early childhood and care settings from a range of different perspectives. Drawing on real-world examples from their own research, they show how - by understanding the diverse features and functions of the many relationships at play in infant-toddler early childhood programmes - it is possible to create opportunities to strengthen these relationships and enhance the learning opportunities that these relationships provide. Compelling reading for both early years students and professionals this book provides a valuable resource with which to approach the diversity and dynamics of infant and toddler relationships.
Social World of Children's Learning by
Do children still matter in education? With its focus on children's learning in the initial three years of schooling, this book contains the first part of a report of an ethnographic study of individual pupils from the ages of four to 11 in an English primary school.
Understanding Early Childhood: Issues and Controversies by
Understanding Early Childhood is a comprehensive textbook which offers broad and insightful perspectives across a range of themes on the ways in which we understand and study young children. Engaging and clear, it provides students with a user-friendly introduction to a number of difficult concepts and theories in early childhood education, drawing on research evidence from various countries and taking an interdisciplinary approach. Revised and updated throughout, the third edition brings contemporary theories and debates bang up-to-date in a concise, accessible and yet reflective style. Unique features include: A substantial and critically informed discussion of child development An updated overview of theoretical approaches and research methodologies Considerable revisions on neuroscience and genetic research in light of recent developments Extended coverage of ethics The challenges and problematic nature of interdisciplinary working ''Main Messages'' provide helpful summaries of key points ''What to Read Next'' signposts stimulating reading Understanding Early Childhood is an indispensable resource for early childhood students from undergraduate to postgraduate level, and practitioners working with young children. "Understanding Early Childhood draws on Helen Penn''s deep knowledge and exceptionally wide breadth of experience of this topic. This new and updated edition with its pithy explanations provides an invaluable and readable guide to concepts and theories of early childhood education." Bronwen J. Cohen, School of Social and Political Studies, The University of Edinburgh, UK "This updated and revised third edition is informative and thought provoking appealing to an international readership. Drawing from many fields of study and with reference to her own international experience and research, Professor Penn challenges existing normative conceptualisations of childhood and professional practice, standards and expectations. She takes a critical stance urging practitioners who take seriously their profession to explore the ''many kinds of ideas about how the world is understood and what the place and status of young children is within it''. The book is highly recommended as an important reading for all early childhood practitioners, students and researchers." Theodora Papatheodorou, Education Adviser - Early Childhood Care and Development, Save the Children, UK "This book is a must read for anyone studying or working in early childhood education. Penn has the measure of early childhood education, its nemesis and its mainstay, developmental psychology, as well as key issues, contestations and assumptions that characterize the field. The messages are applicable and have resonance across borders and boundaries, majority and minority worlds, and ethnicities. While written originally for undergraduate students, the challenges are for all, from those with the most expertise and experience, to the least." Sue Grieshaber, Chair Professor and Head, Department of Early Childhood Education, Hong Kong Institute of Education, Hong Kong "This (updated) book provides a stunning panorama of issues in early childhood that should really matter to everyone in the field. The writerly style invites readers to engage in a conversation, to be imaginative and thoughtful, to reminiscence, to explore and to grow in criticality. Helen Penn ranges expertly and accessibly across the biggest questions for the field and illustrates how these become manifest or suppressed in folklore, education, research, politics, and practice. Whatever your interest in early childhood, this book should become a wise companion to whom you turn again and again for inspiration, intellectual challenge or solace. I''ve really enjoyed reading the new edition of Helen''s book. She is such a superb author and scholar and we are incredibly fortunate to have her working in the field of early childhood." Dr Sacha Powell, Reader in Early Childhood, Research Centre for Children, Families and Communities, Canterbury Christ Church University, UK
Let's Talk about Math: The LittleCounters® Approach to Building Early Math Skills by 
Uncovering Student Ideas in Primary Science, Volume 1: 25 New Formative Assessment Probes for Grades K2 by 
