LibGuides: Communication: Communication Overview

Terminology

Communication Theory & Concepts

Discourse analysis
From Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology
An omnibus term to describe a wide range of socio-cultural analytic perspectives developed in the aftermath of the linguistic turn in the social sciences during the 1960s, at the broadest level, the domain of discourse analysis encompasses the study of language use beyond the level of the sentence or utterance, in relation to social or societal context. In this broad conception, discourse analysis embraces both speech and interaction and written texts as objects of study.
Hegemony (Communications)
From Key Concepts in Media and Communications
Hegemony is perhaps the most enduring of the concepts contributed to media studies by the Marxian tradition, having survived the ‘post-Marxist’ intellectual fashions of the 1990s surprisingly well.
Ideology: Topic Page
Set of ideas, beliefs, and opinions about the nature of people and society, providing a framework for a theory about how people should live, as well as how society is or should be organized. A nation's ideology is usually reflected in the political system it creates.
Imagined community
From Key Concepts in Radio Studies
This refers to the sense of belonging to a defined community (including the nation), which radio and other media are able to foster among listeners.
Propaganda: Topic Page
Systematic manipulation of public opinion, generally by the use of symbols such as flags, monuments, oratory, and publications. Modern propaganda is distinguished from other forms of communication in that it is consciously and deliberately used to influence group attitudes; all other functions are secondary.
Representation
From Key Concepts in Body and Society
Representation is a functional aspect of the media – within any communication the message is implicitly and explicitly shaped by a variety of influences: authorial preference, editorial vision, political climate, and socio-cultural context.
Rhetoric: Topic Page
In classical approaches to language, the study of effective or persuasive speaking and writing, especially as practised in public oratory.
The Schramm Model of Communication
From Key Concepts in Marketing
The most commonly taught and widely used theory of communication is that proposed by Wilbur Schramm in the late 1940s. The Schramm model views communication as a process that takes place between a sender (transmitter) and a receiver: there will be also a message, and a medium through which the message can be transmitted.

Inetercultural Communication Topics & Related Studies

Anthropological Societies
From Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
The formation of anthropology as a subject of intellectual study was closely associated with the establishment of distinctive institutions.
Anthropology: Topic Page
The study of humankind. It investigates the cultural, social, and physical diversity of the human species, both past and present.
Cross-Cultural communication
From Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
The technological advances that govern our travel, business, and communication patterns today require cross-cultural communication. When decisions are made in a global marketplace, it is not possible to operate effectively only within the cultural premises of the communicator.
Culture: Topic Page
In anthropology, the integrated system of socially acquired values, beliefs, and rules of conduct which delimit the range of accepted behaviors in any given society. Cultural differences distinguish societies from one another.
Ethnicity
From Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Ethnicity identifies and classifies people into groups according to perceived cultural similarities and differences of beliefs, values, customs, histories, and any other relevant views and practices that are subsequently passed on to future generations. The historical presence and use of the idea of ethnicity is important to understanding both transatlantic colonial history and the postcolonial world.
Ethnography
From Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
As a written account, an ethnography focuses on a particular population, place and time with the deliberate goal of describing it to others.
Globalization: Topic Page
Process by which different parts of the globe become interconnected by economic, social, cultural, and political means. Globalization has become increasingly rapid since the 1970s and 1980s as a result of developments in technology, communications, and trade liberalization.
Symbol: Topic Page
Sign representing something that has an independent existence. The most important use of symbols is in language. To say so, however, does not solve the perennial philosophical questions as to the nature of the linguistic sign.

Communication Models

Communication Call Numbers

Here at CSI, we use LC (Library of Congress) call numbers. If you are browsing the stacks or searching with the online catalog, these call numbers will be helpful for you. Happy hunting!

KF 1-9827 : Federal Law. Copyright. Collective State Law
P 87-96 : Communication. Mass Media
P 94.7 : Interpersonal Communication
P 95-95.6 : Oral Communication. Speech
P 99.5-99.6 : Nonverbal Communication
PN 1990-1997 : Broadcasting, Radio, Television, Motion Pictures
PN 4699-5639 : Journalism. The Periodical Press
T : Technology
TR : Photojournalism
Z 40-115 : Communication writing
Z 657-661 : Freedom of the Press. Censorship

Find Articles

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Connect students to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, etc., with indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window Indexed biographical material on people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor.
Biography (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window An engaging database of contextual information on the world's most influential people. Over 650,000 biographical entries cover a range of historically significant figures and present-day newsmakers.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Full text of over 500 journals, indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Brings together information found in more than 400 journals on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Computer Science (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries covering everything from hardware to the cloud.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window Nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Weekly reports on current social issues. Includes references to good books, articles, and websites.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Online source for over 1100 reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias, and biographical information.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window Our largest general-interest periodical resource allows users to find the information they want quickly, with intuitive searching that ensures they tap into quality sources.
Global Issues (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window A database designed to support global awareness. Authoritative content empowers learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window Full text for over 300 law journals, covering criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.
LegalTrac (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provide legal researchers, students, and faculty access to a comprehensive selection of the most prestigious legal publications.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window Full text of nearly 1700 periodicals, plus reference books, primary source documents, and an image collection.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts.
News (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Open Access Journals from DOAJ This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Database designed to support science, social studies, current events, and language arts presents each side of important issues and empowers learners to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills.
Reference Shelf This link opens in a new window Each 200-page volume provides comprehensive, balanced coverage of an issue of importance in modern society. Each volume contains 35-45 notable documents and articles (complete or abstracted) from highly respected periodicals and media outlets.

Ejournals

Open Access Journals from DOAJ This link opens in a new window

Open Content on JSTOR

Magazines in the Library

College Composition and Communication

Credo Reference: Media and Communications

Related LibGuides

Academic Integrity
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Aug 29, 2023 28 views this year
Articles (Databases A-Z)
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 9064 views this year
Citation Styles
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 260 views this year
Research Tips & Peer Reviewed Articles
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 320 views this year
Anthropology
by Allie Beard Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 690 views this year
Business
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 41 views this year
Civility
by Allie Beard Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 4 views this year
Gender & Sexuality
by Allie Beard Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 106 views this year
Government & Law (U.S.)
by Allie Beard Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 31 views this year
News & Journalism
by Allie Beard Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 4 views this year
Political Science
by Allie Beard Last Updated Nov 15, 2022 14 views this year
Psychology
by Allie Beard Last Updated Mar 28, 2024 134 views this year
Sociology
by Allie Beard Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 37 views this year
Statistics Sources
by Ross Sempek Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 230 views this year

Ask Here

Allie Beard