UNESCO - Open Educational ResourcesOpen Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Open Access Ebooks
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search EngineBASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 140 million documents from more than 6,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
doab (directory of open access books)The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
epubBooksChoose from our hand picked collection of the best public domain books to be found in the English language over the last four hundred years.
Register now to get free access to our books, which are available in both EPUB and Kindle ebook format. All ebooks are provided without DRM protection and can be read on any device, including Android, Apple (iPad, iPhone, macOS), Amazon Kindle, Kobo, and many other digital devices and smartphones.
Remember, all ours ebooks are completely free!
feedbooksDiscover thousands of public domain books
Hathi TrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archiveis a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more
ManyBooksManyBooks was established in 2004 with the vision to provide an extensive library of books in digital format for free on the Internet. Many of the early eBooks are from the Project Gutenberg archives, which means you will be able to find a lot of classics on the site.
Over a decade later, we are still going strong in our mission to provide a valuable service to our readers. ManyBooks has grown into a platform where self-publishing authors have the opportunity to introduce their work to our community and new books are uploaded to our site daily - provided they comply to our quality standards.
OAPENThe OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.
The Online Books PageListing over 3 million free books on the Web - Updated Friday, June 7, 2019
Open Access books on JSTORMore than 5,000 Open Access ebooks are now available at no cost to libraries or users. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content and are freely available for anyone in the world to use.
Open Book PublishersWe are the leading Open Access publisher in the Humanities and Social Sciences in the UK: a not-for-profit Social Enterprise run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research available to readers around the world. We publish monographs and textbooks in all areas, and offer the academic excellence of a traditional press combined with the speed, convenience and accessibility of digital publishing. All our books are available to read and download for free online.
Open Humanities PressOHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory. We have operated as a independent volunteer initiative since 2006, promoting open access scholarship in journals, books and exploring new forms of scholarly communication.OHP’s organization is a community interest company headquarted in London. Its Directors are Gary Hall, Sigi Jöttkandt and David Ottina. The OHP Editorial Board is at the heart of all our activities: participating in journal assessments, reviewing and approving book series proposals, performing and managing peer review, and editing the OHP book series. We act on the principles of access, scholarship, diversity and transparency. We have partnered with a number of groups and institutions to explore grass-roots solutions to the crisis in Humanities publishing. You can find readings and podcasts about our Radical OA philosophy, and more information about open access. Please feel free to contact us with suggestions, support, book proposals or join our mailing list for updates.
SpringerNatureSpringer Nature publishes open access (OA) books and chapters under its SpringerOpen and Palgrave Macmillan imprints. We helped to pioneer open access book publishing, first piloting open access publication for books in 2011. We publish open access books across a wide range of areas in science, technology, medicine (STM), and humanities and social sciences (HSS).
World Digital LibraryThe WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
