Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DVD, Websites, Streaming video
Between earth & sky by
Call Number: DVD DS79.767.R43B48 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Children of Syria by
Presents the story of four children surviving in war-torn Aleppo, Syria, and their escape to a new life in Germany. The film follows the family over three years, from the siege of their city, to the kidnapping of their father and the struggle to become refugees. Originally produced as an episode of the television series: Frontline.
Call Number: DVD HV640.S97 C45 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Exodus: The Journey Continues by
The intimate stories of refugees and migrants, caught in Europe's tightened borders. Amid the ongoing migration crisis, the film follows personal journeys over two years, as countries become less welcoming to those seeking refuge.
Call Number: DVD HV640 .E963 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Call Number: DVD F129.F33F37 2007
Publication Date: 2007
From Transylvania to the Magic Valley by
Dr. Edit Szanto will take the audience through her family's journey from Transylvania to the Magic Valley. The journey begins in a former Eastern Bloc country ruled with an iron fist by draconian communist dictator Nicoloe Ceausescu and crawls through the years under the brutal and repressive regime. The journey breaks free after the 1989 Revolution that led to Ceausescu's execution, flies across the ocean into the unknown, struggles to find its place in a new world, and eventually finds home.
Call Number: DVD DR267.5.I85 S93 2013
Publication Date: 2013
God grew tired of us by
Call Number: DVD DT157.67.G63 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Liminal: The Refugee Experience by
A quick introduction of history and events leading up to Liyah Babayan's family being forced out of their home and country in the former Soviet Republic. Ms. Babayan discusses the years waiting for refugee status, homelessness, violence and process; the psychology and emotions of children of war ; the expectation to assimilate without tools, mentors or resources in Twin Falls 20 years ago; fragmented identities, zero generation beings, stages of assimilation; assimilation as a community trait, a new conversation for integrating global humanity into adopting communities. And, rescuing the whole human, mind, body and spirit - addressing PTSD, and re-humanizing refugee children, healing women and families.
Call Number: DVD JV8188 .B33 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Miral: is this the face of a terrorist? by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.M57 2011
Publication Date: 2011
El Norte / The North by
Call Number: DVD PN1997.N668 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Race: The Power of an Illusion by
Call Number: DVD GN269.R33 2003
Publication Date: 2003
Well-founded fear by
Call Number: DVD KF4836.W45 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Americanization: Then and Now
From the American Philosophical Society (APS) Library comes Americanization: Then and Now, a digital exhibition examining a 1919 pamphlet entitled "Americanization: What Is It? -- What To Do," which advocated for a particular viewpoint regarding immigrants to the United States in ways that may be both familiar and surprising. The exhibition begins by first delving into the substance and rhetoric of the pamphlet itself, which is made available to readers in its entirety, as well as the historical context surrounding its publication. Next, the exhibition provides background information on the organization behind the pamphlet, the National Security League, as well as on some of its members who were also part of the APS. Finally, readers are given a brief explanation of the project, accompanied by a list of further reading and links to other relevant digital resources. Launched in 2018, Americanization: Then and Now was conceived and written by Will Fenton, who recently earned his PhD from Fordham University and specializes in early American literature and digital humanities.
Child Migrant Stories
Readers interested in learning about the stories and experiences of children who migrated to East London between 1930 and the present day may enjoy Child Migrant Stories. The project was launched in 2016 with inspiration from Dr. Eithne Nightingale's research on "life stories of departure, arrival, and settlement [in East London]." Through pictures, films, and biographies, this website explores the meaning of "home" and the multi-cultural narratives that shape it. Users may want to begin by navigating the East London Stories tab (under the Stories drop-down menu), which will bring them to a database of images. By clicking on each image, users can read the story of a child who migrated to Hackney, Tower Hamlets, or Newham, East London, sharing their origin and the reasons for their journey. The stories encapsulate a spectrum of feelings, from "poignant [to] powerful [to] sometimes very funny." The website also features several short films, which depict migrant experiences "through images, music, and art." Teachers may find the Learning Resources provided to accompany these films particularly useful, as they include film guides with context and key words. Finally, under Worldwide Stories users can explore tales of migration from other corners of the globe, from Norway to New Zealand.
Europeana Migration is a new online exhibit that documents the history of migration "to, from, and within Europe." The collection, which currently contains 200,000 items, is part of the European Commission's European Year of Cultural Heritage. As explained on this website, "Europeana will run a series of collection days and events involving museums, libraries, archives and audiovisual collections across Europe that specialise in or are interested in the theme of migration." As of this write-up, visitors can explore this growing collection in a few different ways. The exhibit currently features a Famous Migrants Gallery, which features portraits, photographs, and sculptures of famous Europeans including Camille Pissarro and Frederic Chopin. Visitors can browse items in this collection by format (text, image, video) and filter results by language. Alternatively, visitors can conduct a keyword search on the site's homepage. Readers are also invited to share their own migration histories in the stories section.
First Days Project
Launched in 2013, the First Days Project is a community-based digital archive that collects and shares "stories of immigrants' first experiences in the United States." Here, readers will find over four hundred personal accounts of immigrants, refugees, and tourists from all over the world sharing memories of the beginnings of their experiences in the US as written stories, oral histories, and videos. Visitors can browse these stories via a map based on where people came from and where they initially arrived, and they can also browse a gallery of stories which can be filtered by country of origin, US state of arrival, and by year, with stories going as far back as 1939. Examples include an audio and transcribed interview with Isabel Loomis, who arrived in Washington, D.C. from Costa Rica in 1951 at the age of 17 and now lives in Seattle, and a written account by Ulrika Haglund, who traveled from Sweden to New York in 2014 at the age of 21 and now lives in Massachusetts. The First Days Project is presented by the South Asian American Digital Archive, a nonprofit organization led by Samip Mallick, who is the former director of the Ranganathan Center for Digital Information at the University of Chicago Library.
Immigration Since 1840
For researchers, instructors, and others interested in the history of U.S. immigration, the Digital Public Library of America offers this rich collection of digitized resources (including photographs, documents, letters, newspaper clippings, and much more) related to the topic. This collection was curated by Andrea Ledesma and includes dozens of items from heritage and memory institutions, including the University of Minnesota's Immigration History Research Center, the National Museum of American History, the New York Public Library, the Los Angeles Public Library, and many others. Visitors can browse these items by eight thematic categories. For instance, in the Coming to America section, visitors will find a number of items that document immigrants' experiences and obstacles upon arrival to the US. These items include a 1847 book by Fredrich Pauer that "[describes] Texas and the United States for people interested in emigrating from Germany" and an oral history interview with Mustafa Jumale, who, along with his family, immigrated to the U.S. as a small child in the early 1990s due to civil war in Somalia. Other categories include Becoming an American, Discrimination and Reform, and Immigration Since 1965.
Missing Migrants Project
Each year, thousands of people perish or go missing while trying to migrate to another country, many as refugees or asylum-seekers. The Missing Migrants Project, an effort that began in 2013 by the International Organization for Migration (IOM), "tracks deaths of migrants, including refugees and asylum-seekers, who have gone missing along mixed migration routes worldwide." Here, readers will find the "Latest Global Figures" for migrant deaths as well as detailed breakdowns by regions, with annual and monthly data available going back to 2014. The Migration Flows Europe section leads to an interactive map visualizing the population flows of migrants in Europe. The downloads tab allows readers to download the project's datasets as Excel or CSV files (with IOM's methodology available under the about tab), as well as reports, data briefs, infographics, and other publications. Geographers, social scientists, and concerned readers will likely find the Missing Migrants Project to be informative and illuminating.
Origins and Destinations of the World’s Migrants, 1990-2017
The Pew Research Center recently released this interactive map that allows visitors to view a series of data visualizations about how migration around the world has evolved between 1990 and 2017. These visualizations are based on data from the United Nations Population Division. This division defines a migrant as "someone who has been living for one year or longer in a country other than the one in which he or she was born," along with, "refugees and, in some cases, their descendants (such as Palestinians born in refugee camps outside of the Palestinian territories)." To use this visualization, visitors can select a year and a country. Next, visitors may select whether they are interested in information about emigration out of that country (labeled "out of" on this map) or immigration into that country (labeled "into"). This interactive map may especially be of interest to geography instructors, along with grant writers, journalists, and others interested in world migration data. The map contains links to previous Pew Research Center articles about the UN Population Division datasets.
Podcasts & Blogs
"What does it mean to be an American?" It is a deep question, and one of many posed by My America. Launched in November of 2019, the virtual exhibition "explores the influence of modern immigrant and refugee writing in America on our culture, history, and daily lives." Under The Exhibit, readers will find various themed pages, such as Language and Community, explored through embedded video interviews. Creatives may particularly enjoy the Why Writing? page, which explores perspectives on what makes the work meaningful. Readers can preview contributors under the Our Writers tab, or add their own contribution under the Your Story tab. Looking to use these resources in a classroom setting? Educators can submit a request for materials on the Education page. My America is a project of the American Writers Museum (Chicago, IL) and was created by Marie Arana, Ilan Stavans, Vu Hoang Tran, Chris Abani, Laila Halaby, Dipika Mukherjee, and special advisor Viet Thanh Nguyen. It is supported by numerous donors, including the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Consequences of Conflict
The consequences of armed conflict are complex and long-lasting. Using Zimbabwe, Sierra Leone, and Afghanistan as points of departure, this program examines some of the economic, environmental, and social impacts of conflicts at the national and international levels. Topics include the pernicious phenomenon of child soldiers; the plight of refugees and internally displaced persons; thorny issues related to aid money and international assistance; the enduring scars of war on the landscape; the repercussions of ruined infrastructural elements such as power grids; and the unquantifiable losses—the what-could-have-beens—that inevitably occur when a nation’s money is diverted from education and health care. Viewable/printable educational resources are available online. A part of the series Geography of Conflict. (26 minutes)
Displaced But Not Defeated
For decades, Civil War in Colombia has displaced thousands of people like 16-year-old María Ceballos, who fled her home when guerrillas killed her father. Moving from gang-infested settlements to over-crowded rooms, María’s family finds comfort among fellow displaced families. Through her lens and mentored by filmmaker Susan Hoenig, María puts a human face on displacement.
Europe's Border Crisis: The Long Road
As Europe witnesses the dramatic movement of people across its borders, BBC reporter John Sweeney joins thousands making the journey from the Greek island of Kos to the Austrian border with Hungary. He meets families fleeing conflict and terror in Syria, refugees separated from their loved ones, children, the old and sick being forced to march to safety. Among this tide of humanity, he also finds economic migrants seeking a better life in northern Europe and he asks, with winter on the way, is the crisis about to claim even more lives? A BBC Production.
Flashpoint: Refugees in America
Nightiline follows the journey of Syrian refugees who now call America home. Meet students attending American schools for the first time and see protests against refugee arrivals.
Humanitarian Intervention Does More Harm Than Good: A Debate
The international community currently faces a global refugee crisis and mass atrocities in Iraq, Myanmar, Syria, Yemen, and other countries. How should the West respond? Proponents of humanitarian intervention—the use of force to halt human rights abuses—argue that the world’s most powerful nations have a responsibility to protect innocent people around the planet. Beyond saving lives, they contend, intervention deters would-be abusers and ensures global stability, thereby strengthening peace, security, and order. But opponents argue that humanitarian intervention is a thinly veiled form of imperialism that imposes Western values on other nations and undermines state sovereignty and independence. It's also often ineffective, they add, and can increase death tolls and worsen the conflicts it sets out to resolve. Does humanitarian intervention do more harm than good?
It Will Be Chaos
An epic, yet intimate and heartbreaking portrait of lives in transit from all sides, It Will Be Chaos unfolds between Italy and the Balkan corridor, focusing on two unforgettable refugee stories of human strength and resilience in search for a better and safer future. Aregai, an Eritrean man fleeing repression and deprivation, embarks on a risky Mediterranean crossing from Libya. The overloaded boat capsizes at night, tragically killing hundreds including members of his family, but Aregai manages to survive and is rescued by Italian fishermen. On the small Italian island of Lampedusa, Aregai faces new challenges as he becomes trapped in Italy’s faltering immigration system. Later, Syrian couple Wael and Doha make the perilous Mediterranean crossing from Turkey with their four young children in a small, inflatable dingy, only to face the long trek across multiple countries to Germany, a journey that’s even more physically and emotionally taxing than they imagined. Both of these dramatic tales are intercut with scenes illustrating the escalating clash between the growing number of migrants and concerned locals in small towns, who are often left to deal with the influx without help from the government. Stirring, honest and revealing, It Will Be Chaos puts a human face on the tens of thousands of refugees who risk their lives to reach the shores of Europe, only to encounter rising anti-immigrant populism and a slew of logistical issues keeping them from living in freedom and safety.
An HBO Production.
In 2077, we will be three billion more people. On the one hand, we have technological possibilities like never before at our disposal. On the other hand, we have the pressure of demographic growth and the threats of resource scarcity, pollution, and climate change. How can we meet energy and food needs in a sustainable way, without jeopardizing our permanence on this planet? Ten thousand years after having become sedentary, in many parts of the globe man will be forced to return to a new nomadism, leading to the largest migration movement in history. A new global order will arise. In 2077, there may be more than 20 nuclear powers, almost all of them located in areas of great political instability. The possibility of a new world war in space is not out of the equation. In the time of nanotechnology and dangerously minuscule weapons, big politics will be increasingly more important.
A Requiem for Syrian Refugees
Viewer discretion is advised. This video contains violent images.
Shot unembedded less than one hundred miles from ISIS controlled territory, this program offers an unprecedented in-depth perspective on the daily lives and feelings of refugees. Requiem was shot with a crew of refugees who felt the urgency to convey their situation to the world. Albeit set against a bleak background, Requiem is a film about hope. As the adolescent refugee Mizgin says: “This experience has made us stronger”. The film ends with a cathartic wedding ceremony revealing their unwavering joy of life. Scored to Gabriel Faure’s Requiem, the film is a touching portrait of the dire conditions and anxiety faced by refugees, as well as a celebration of the human spirit facing adversity. Shot on location in Northern Iraq in stark black and white, Requiem is a powerful tale of suffering and courage, a universal reminder of the civilian toll and trauma of the 21st century wars.
The U.S. Should Let in 100,000 Syrian Refugees: A Debate
Since the Syrian civil war began in 2011, more than 4 million Syrians have fled the country, creating the greatest refugee crisis since World War II (1939–45). Most have fled to neighboring countries such as Turkey, Lebanon, and Jordan, but many have risked death to reach Europe and the possibility of a better life. Unlike Europe and Syria’s neighbors, the United States has had the advantage of picking and choosing from afar, taking in just over 2,000 Syrian refugees since the war’s start. The Obama administration pledged to take another 10,000 refugees in 2016, but some believe that the United States should accept far more, as many as 100,000. America has a moral obligation, they argue, to provide refuge to people fleeing war, persecution, and danger. But opponents argue that accepting so many refugees could threaten national security and cause economic and social problems. Should the United States let in 100,000 Syrian refugees?
What Happened When Struggling City Opened Its Arms To Refugees
After decades of decline, the city of Utica, New York, is growing again, thanks in part to its reputation as "the town that loves refugees." And their basic reason for loving refugees is simple: An influx of new residents and workers have helped keep its economy afloat. But are there also downsides to an refugee-driven recovery? Economics correspondent Paul Solman reports.