Japanese American Internment: DVD, Photos, Websites, Streaming Video

From the Library of Congress, American Memory Collection: In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's most well-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese-Americans interned there during World War II...
Adams's Manzanar work is a departure from his signature style landscape photography. Although a majority of the more than 200 photographs are portraits, the images also include views of daily life, agricultural scenes, and sports and leisure activities (see Collection Highlights). When offering the collection to the Library in 1965, Adams said in a letter, "The purpose of my work was to show how these people, suffering under a great injustice, and loss of property, businesses and professions, had overcome the sense of defeat and dispair [sic] by building for themselves a vital community in an arid (but magnificent) environment...."

Presented by the National Asian American Telecommunications Association

The Historic American Buildings Survey is part of the American Memory Collection at the Library of Congress. Type the word relocation or the name of a relocation center to see photos and other info about buildings on that site.

Menu: Table of contents -- Abstract -- Acknowledgments -- Introduction -- Essay -- Brief history -- Gila River -- Granada -- Heart Mountain -- Jerome -- Manzanar -- Minidoka -- Poston -- Rohwer -- Topaz -- Tule Lake -- Isolation centers -- Add'l facilities -- Assembly centers -- DoJ and US Army Facilities -- Prisons -- References -- Appendix A -- Appendix B -- Appendix C

Densho is a Japanese term meaning "to pass on to the next generation," or to leave a legacy. The legacy we offer is an American story with ongoing relevance: during World War II, the United States government incarcerated innocent people solely because of their ancestry. Densho uses digital technology to preserve and make accessible primary source materials on the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans. We present these materials and related resources for their historic value and as a means of exploring issues of democracy, intolerance, wartime hysteria, civil rights and the responsibilities of citizenship in our increasingly global society. We encourage use of these resources to expand awareness of our country's diverse history, to stimulate critical thinking, to develop ethical decision-making skills, and to help ensure that democratic principles are upheld now and in the future.

Founded in 1929, the JACL is the oldest and largest Asian American civil rights organization in the United States. The JACL monitors and responds to issues that enhance or threaten the civil and human rights of all Americans and implements strategies to effect positive social change, particularly to the Asian Pacific American community.

"Congress established the Japanese American Confinement Sites (JACS) grant program (Public Law 109-441, 54 USC 320101) for the preservation and interpretation of U.S. confinement sites where Japanese Americans were detained during World War II. The law authorized up to $38 million for the entire life of the grant program to identify, research, evaluate, interpret, protect, restore, repair, and acquire historic confinement sites in order that present and future generations may learn and gain inspiration from these sites and that these sites will demonstrate the nation’s commitment to equal justice under the law. "

The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 250,000 pages from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs. The materials in the Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Digital Archive are pulled from our voluminous holdings and reveal the multifaceted experience from this complex time in US history. We invite you to explore these personal materials and recount the daily lives of Japanese Americans while in the confinement sites during World War II. Access to this material is provided through the Online Archive of California and Calisphere websites.

Japanese American National Museum’s Collections Online featuring selected highlights from our permanent collection of over 60,000 unique artifacts, documents, and photographs.

JARDA contains thousands of Japanese American internment primary source materials:
• Personal diaries, letters, photographs, and drawings
• US War Relocation Authority materials, including camp newsletters, final reports, photographs, and other documents relating to the day-to-day administration of the camps
• Personal histories documenting the lives of the people who lived in the camps as well as the administrators who created and worked in the camps

Includes text of Three Farewells to Manzanar: The Archaeology of Manzanar National Historic Site, California (1996)

Records include: War Relocation Authority (WRA) Records; WWII Alien Enemy Detention and Internment Case Files; Compensation and Redress Case Files; Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment of Civilians (CWRIC) Records; Office of the Provost Marshal General (OPMG) Records; Western Defense Command (WDC) Records.

Provides "Documents and Photographs Related to Japanese Relocation During World War II" and "President Gerald R. Ford's Proclamation 4417, Confirming the Termination of the Executive Order Authorizing Japanese-American Internment During World War II" and "Masumi Hayashi Photography" among other sources.

Contains "Other Resources" and linked "Documents"(and photographs).

The National Japanese American Historical Society (NJAHS), founded in 1980 in San Francisco, is a non-profit membership supported organization dedicated to the collection, preservation, authentic interpretation, and sharing of historical information of the Japanese American experience for the diverse broader national community.

The Center for Oral History (COH), Social Science Research Institute, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa, was established in 1976 by the Hawai‘i State Legislature. COH preserves the recollections of Hawai‘i’s people through oral interviews and disseminates oral history transcripts to researchers, students, and the general community.

This exhibit tells the story of Seattle's Japanese American community in the spring and summer of 1942 and their four month sojourn at the Puyallup Assembly Center known as "Camp Harmony."

The Wing Luke Museum of the Asian Pacific American Experience is dedicated to immersing people in uniquely-American stories of survival, success, struggle, conflict, compassion and hope. ... As our nation’s only museum devoted to the Asian Pacific American experience, it’s one of the few places that can truly give you a new you a new perspective on what it means to be American. The Wing is a Smithsonian Affiliate, a partnership with the Smithsonian Institution