Artificial Intelligence has become a byword among students and teachers alike, as well as administrators and professionals. Many are nervous about the effects of ChatGPT, Lensa, GPT-4, and other AI technologies on education, culture, work efficiency, and ethics. However, these tools do not have to be feared if they are used appropriately. The following links will help you understand artificial intelligence and how you can use it ethically.
Deep Thinking by
The former world chess champion who played, and lost, against Deep Blue, a supercomputer, in 1997 discusses why he thinks humans should embrace the competition between themselves and machine intelligence.
The Future of Work: Robots, AI, and Automation by
Looking for ways to handle the transition to a digital economy
Robots, artificial intelligence, and driverless cars are no longer things of the distant future. They are with us today and will become increasingly common in coming years, along with virtual reality and digital personal assistants.
As these tools advance deeper into everyday use, they raise the question--how will they transform society, the economy, and politics? If companies need fewer workers due to automation and robotics, what happens to those who once held those jobs and don't have the skills for new jobs? And since many social benefits are delivered through jobs, how are people outside the workforce for a lengthy period of time going to earn a living and get health care and social benefits?
Looking past today's headlines, political scientist and cultural observer Darrell M. West argues that society needs to rethink the concept of jobs, reconfigure the social contract, move toward a system of lifetime learning, and develop a new kind of politics that can deal with economic dislocations. With the U.S. governance system in shambles because of political polarization and hyper-partisanship, dealing creatively with the transition to a fully digital economy will vex political leaders and complicate the adoption of remedies that could ease the transition pain. It is imperative that we make major adjustments in how we think about work and the social contract in order to prevent society from spiraling out of control.
This book presents a number of proposals to help people deal with the transition from an industrial to a digital economy. We must broaden the concept of employment to include volunteering and parenting and pay greater attention to the opportunities for leisure time. New forms of identity will be possible when the "job" no longer defines people's sense of personal meaning, and they engage in a broader range of activities. Workers will need help throughout their lifetimes to acquire new skills and develop new job capabilities. Political reforms will be necessary to reduce polarization and restore civility so there can be open and healthy debate about where responsibility lies for economic well-being.
This book is an important contribution to a discussion about tomorrow--one that needs to take place today.
Human + Machine: Reimagining Work in the Age of AI by
Artificial intelligence (AI) is transforming how we work right now. Are you ready? In the past, robots were typically large pieces of machinery, sectioned off from human workers to perform precise, mechanical tasks on an assembly line. But now, bots and other AI technologies go far beyond this in augmenting human capabilities--not just robots on the factory floor of an auto plant, but algorithms in the back office of a healthcare insurer and chatbots interacting with retail customers. Unlike any software tool or service that's come before, artificial intelligence has the power to profoundly change the very nature of work itself--and this is happening in all kinds of enterprises and across all functions of the organization. There's a current and growing imperative: businesses that understand how to harness AI can surge ahead, while those who neglect it are in danger of being left behind. In Human + Machine, Accenture technology leaders H. James Wilson and Paul R. Daugherty vividly illustrate how AI is redefining work and the economy. At the core of this paradigm shift is the transformation of business processes--all the step-by-step tasks that take place within an organization, from operations to customer service to workers' own personal productivity habits. As humans and smart machines collaborate ever more closely, work processes become more fluid and adaptive, enabling companies to change them on the fly--or completely reimagine them.
The 3-D Global Spatial Data Model by
Traditional methods for handling spatial data are encumbered by the assumption of separate origins for horizontal and vertical measurements, but modern measurement systems operate in a 3-D spatial environment. The 3-D Global Spatial Data Model: Principles and Applications, Second Edition maintains a new model for handling digital spatial data, the global spatial data model or GSDM. The GSDM preserves the integrity of three-dimensional spatial data while also providing additional benefits such as simpler equations, worldwide standardization, and the ability to track spatial data accuracy with greater specificity and convenience. This second edition expands to new topics that satisfy a growing need in the GIS, professional surveyor, machine control, and Big Data communities while continuing to embrace the earth center fixed coordinate system as the fundamental point of origin of one, two, and three-dimensional data sets. Ideal for both beginner and advanced levels, this book also provides guidance and insight on how to link to the data collected and stored in legacy systems.
3D A-to-Z: An Encyclopedic Dictionary
This encyclopedic dictionary offers information on the art and science of stereoscopic 3D, including still and moving images; film and digital image acquisition; production, post-production, distribution, and exhibition; and human visual perception.
100 Ideas that Changed the Web
This innovative title looks at the history of the Web from its early roots in the research projects of the US government to the interactive online world we know and use today.
BCS Glossary of Computing and ICT
Written in an easily accessible style, this unrivaled study aid and reference tool is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used, including GCSE, A-Level, ECDL and 14-19 Diplomas in Functional Skills in schools and further education colleges.
Computer: A History of the Information Machine by
This book traces the history of the computer and shows how business and government were the first to explore its unlimited, information-processing potential. This third edition provides updated analysis on software and computer networking, including new material on the programming profession, social networking, and mobile computing. It expands its focus on the IT industry with fresh discussion on the rise of Google and Facebook as well as how powerful applications are changing the way we work, consume, learn, and socialize.
Dictionary of Computing by
The Dictionary of Computing provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, programme languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet.
HTML, XHTML and CSS All-In-One for Dummies by
A new edition of a bestseller covers the latest advances in web development! HTML5 and CSS3 are essential tools for creating dynamic websites and boast updates and enhanced features that can make your websites even more effective and unique. This friendly, all-in-one guide covers everything you need to know about each of these technologies and their latest versions so that you can use them together. Building on the bestselling formats of the first two editions, this new edition teaches you the fundamentals of HTML5 and CSS3, and then presents ways for using them with JavaScript, MySQL, and Ajax to create websites that work. Covers using JavaScript, PHP, MySQL, and Ajax in the context of programming dynamic web pages with CSS3 and HTML5 Includes self-contained minibooks that review HTML, CSS, design and layout, client-side JavaScript, Ajax and server-side, and putting it all together Examines new web development advancements including new technologies and changes to the standards Features a website that contains supporting materials including code and several valuable programs that are useful for web development HTML5 and CSS3 All-in-One For Dummies, 3rd Edition serves as the perfect reference for both web development beginners and seasoned professionals looking to learn more about how to get the most out of the powerful combination of HTML5 and CSS3.
HTML5 and CSS3 for Dummies by
Learn to create powerful and unique websites with HTML5 and CSS3 HTML5 and CSS3 have ushered in an entirely new era in web development and web design. This easy-to-understand full-color guide presents the elements of design and development as equal; therefore, both designers and developers will benefit from learning how to leverage the power behind HTML5 and CSS3. The two-page spreads and helpful insight show you how to use HTML5 and CSS3 in conjunction in order to create websites that possess both powerful function and beautiful design. Incorporates all the trademark elements of the For Dummies series writing style - approachable, friendly, reliable, and functional - to assist you in gaining a solid foundation of the basics Fills the void for both developers and designers who are looking to merge the power and function of HTML5 and CSS3 Features a website with code and templates HTML5 and CSS3 For Dummies covers what you need to know to use HTML5 and CSS3, without weighing you down in unnecessary information.
HTML, XHTML and CSS for Dummies® by
Even though new technologies enable people to do much more with the Web, in the end HTML, XHTML and CSS are still at the root of any Web site. The newest edition of this bestselling guide is fully updated and revised for the latest technology changes to the field, including HTML5 and CSS3. Illustrated in full color, this book provides beginner and advanced coders the tools they need to be proficient at these programming languages.
Shows you how to create a Web page and formulate XHTML document structure Addresses working with content management systems (WordPress, Drupal, and Joomla), and designing for mobile devices (iPhone, BlackBerry, and Android) Introduces HTML5 and CSS3, tools critical to mobile Web development Reviews working with text, lists, and images, and customizing links Demonstrates ways to employ cascading style sheets (CSS) and get creative with colors and fonts Details integrating scripts with XHTML and understanding deprecated HTML markup tags
The Book of CSS3 by
CSS3 is the technology behind most of the eye-catching visuals on the Web. But the docs can be dry, murky, and full of dastardly caveats for inconsistent browser implementations.This completely updated second edition of the best-selling Book of CSS3 distills the dense technical language of the CSS3 specification into plain English and shows you what CSS3 can do now, in all major browsers. Youll find fully revised coverage of the updated syntax of gradients, grids, and flexible box layout, as well as all-new chapters on values and sizing, and graphical effects like filter effects and blend modes.With an abundance of real-world examples and a focus on the principles of good design, The Book of CSS3 will help you expand your CSS skills, as you learn how to:Style text with custom font choices, drop shadows, and other effectsCreate, position, and resize background images on the flySpice up static web pages with event-driven transitions and animationsApply 2D and 3D transformations to text and imagesUse linear and radial gradients to create smooth color transitionsTake control of layout with grids, columns, and flexible alignmentTailor a websites appearance to every type of web-capable deviceThe companion website includes up-to-date browser compatibility charts, links to tutorials and resources, and live CSS3 examples.The Web can be an ugly place. Make it pretty with The Book of CSS3.
HTML5 Games by
HTML5 Gamesshows you how to combine HTML5, CSS3 and JavaScript to make games for the web and mobiles - games that were previously only possible with plugin technologies like Flash. Using the latest open web technologies, you are guided through the process of creating a game from scratch using Canvas, HTML5 Audio, WebGL and WebSockets. Inside, Jacob Seidelin shows you how features available in HTML5 can be used to create games. First, you will build a framework on which you will create your HTML5 game. Then each chapter covers a new aspect of the game including user input, sound, multiplayer functionality, 2D and 3D graphics and more. By the end of the book, you will have created a fully functional game that can be played in any compatible browser, or on any mobile device that supports HTML5. Topics include: Dealing with backwards compatibility Generating level data Making iOS and Android web apps Taking your game offline Using Web Workers Persistent Game Data Drawing with Canvas Capturing player input Creating 3D graphics with WebGL Textures and lighting Sound with HTML5 Audio And more...
CSS3 Foundations by
Master innovative and eye-catching website design with the exciting new Treehouse Series of books Turn plain words and images into stunning websites with CSS3 and this beautiful, full-color guide. Taking web designers beyond the constraints of prebuilt themes and simple site-building tools, this new Treehouse book combines practicality with inspiration to show you how to create fully customized, modern websites that make viewers stop and stay. The exciting new Treehouse Series of books is authored by Treehouse experts and packed with innovative design ideas and practical skill-building. If you're a web developer, web designer, hobbyist, or career-changer, every book in this practical new series should be on your bookshelf. Part of the new Treehouse Series of books, teaching you effective and compelling website development and design, helping you build practical skills Provides career-worthy information from Treehouse industry pros and trainers Explains the basics of cascading style sheets (CSS), such as how to structure with CSS, use CSS syntax, how to manipulate text, and visual formatting Also covers the box model, how to animate page elements, cross-browser compatibility, and more Leverage pages of dazzling website design ideas and expert instruction with a new Treehouse Series book.
More on Computer Graphics
Help Your Kids with Computer Science by
A clear, visual guide to the technical, societal, and cultural aspects of computers and social media, using step-by-step diagrams and graphics to explore how kids can get the most from computers while staying safe.
Covering everything from data to digital life, from computer coding to cyber attacks, this unique guide gives parents and kids the most up-to-date and comprehensive facts and information in a visually appealing way. It examines the technical aspects of computers, such as how they function, the latest digital devices and software, and how the Internet works. It also builds the confidence of parents and kids when facing challenges such as staying safe online, digital etiquette, and how to navigate the potential pitfalls of social media. Jargon-free language helps to explain difficult and potentially dread-inducing concepts such as hacking, Bitcoin, and malware, while colorful graphics help make learning about the world of computer science exciting. For those who want to make the most out of the digital world, Help Your Kids with Computer Science is the perfect platform to discover more.
Computational Drawing by
This book explores computation, specifically the craft of writing computer code, as a medium for drawing. Exercises, essays, algorithms, diagrams, and drawings are woven together to offer instruction, insight, and theories that are valuable to practicing architects, artists, and scholars. This book can serve as a primer for those new to programming or motivation and context for those with experience. "Computing" and "drawing" are both deeply historical and loaded terms. Although digital media is often positioned in opposition to the "manual" act of drawing, the broader territory of "computing" includes matters of language, rules, procedures, and orders that are very much compatible with the presence of ink on paper. Indeed, the nature of drawing--a temporal medium governed by marks that can be precisely defined, but not easily edited--provides welcome structure for computational methods.
In electronics, system of wires or other conductors used to transmit or receive radio or other electromagnetic waves (see radio); sometimes called an aerial.