A Beginner's Guide to Investing by
Whether you're a complete investing novice or just confused about all the contradictory advice out there, A Beginner's Guide to Investing is an accessible guide to growing your money the smart and easy way.Throw away the get-rich quick schemes that never work and turn off the financial news and it's constant noise. Whether your dream is protecting your assets in a turbulent market or growing your wealth so that you can retire in style, this book is the blueprint.You can be a successful investor - really.Join Ivy Bytes, an innovative start-up dedicated to creating accessible content on crucial issues, and Alex Frey, a lifelong investor and Harvard MBA, as they show you:- How you can realistically expect to double your money every 7-10 years- Why most investors achieve stunningly poor returns on their money - and how to avoid turning into one of them- How to choose an investment account that you can keep for the rest of your life- How to out-perform the vast majority of professional investors while taking less risk- How to quickly create a portfolio of diversified ETFs (exchange traded funds)- How to put in as few as three to five hours every year on your investing - and still beat 80% of investors- Why you may not be properly diversified in holding the most popular index mutual funds- How endowments like Yale university have consistently beaten the overall stock market - and what you can learn from them- Why the vast majority of mutual funds fail to live up to their promise- Why your financial adviser and mutual fund manager might be getting more rich than you off of your investments- What the terms "beta" and "alpha" mean - and why understanding them is critical to retiring rich- How to maximize your tax savings by using a 401(k) and IRA- When and how to re-balance your portfolio- How to have the confidence to manage your money for life- And more. About the AuthorsAlex Frey has been engrossed in the investing world since the age of 16. He has served previously as a research analyst for a major mutual fund company. Alex has successfully passed all three Chartered Financial Analyst examinations, and has an MBA from the Harvard Business School. He lives in San Francisco, CA. When he is not writing, he enjoys reading, investing, and doing just about anything outdoors.Ivy Bytes is an innovative start-up building authoritative, yet accessible guides to subjects in the fields of politics, current events, economics, and finance. Ivy Bytes books are thoroughly researched and extensively fact-checked, so that you can be sure you are getting the latest in mainstream thought - not misguided conspiracy theories or reckless self-promotion.
Broke Millennial Takes on Investing by
A guide to investing basics by the author of Broke Millennial, for anyone who feels like they aren't ready (or rich enough) to get into the market Millennials want to learn how to start investing. The problem is that most have no idea where to begin. There's a significant lack of information out there catering to the concerns of new millennial investors, such as: *Should I invest while paying down student loans? *How do I invest in a socially responsible way? *What about robo-advisors and apps--are any of them any good? *Where can I look online for investment advice? In this second book in the Broke Millennial series, Erin Lowry answers those questions anddelivers all of the investment basics in one easy-to-digest package. Tackling topics ranging from common terminology to how to handle your anxiety toretirement savings and even how to actually buy and sell a stock, this hands-on guide will help any investment newbie become a confident player in the market on their way to building wealth"-- "A guide to investing basics by the author of Broke Millennial, for anyone who feels like they aren't ready (or rich enough) to get into the market
Finance and Investment Handbook by
Updated to reflect changes in financial regulation and investment strategies caused by the recent global financial crisis, this large reference volume includes an analysis of the full range of current investment opportunities, guidelines for non-experts on what to look for when reading corporate reports and financial news sources, an up-to-date directory of hundreds of publicly traded corporations in the United States and Canada, and a directory listing the names and addresses of brokerage houses, mutual funds families, banks, federal and state regulators, and other major financial institutions. Also includes a financial dictionary with more than 5,000 terms defined. Previous editions of this comprehensive reference book have been called "required reading for students, investors, and writers" by USA Today , "a fast resource, loaded with information" by Newsday , and "a teeming reservoir of information" by the Oakland Tribune . The brand-new ninth edition is bigger and better than ever, packed with indispensable information for planning and maintaining a healthy investment portfolio.
Financially Fearless: the LearnVest program for taking control of your money by
"Finally, a financial plan that lets you be YOU, only richer. It's time to throw away all your old notions of what financial advice should look like. Because if you're looking for a book to put you on an austerity savings plan that has you giving up vacations and lattes, you're out of luck. But if you're looking to get your finances in rock-hard shape - in less time than it takes to finish a workout - then Alexa von Tobel, Founder and CEO of LearnVest, has your back. How? Through the LearnVest Program. First, you'll take stock of where you stand today. Then, you'll create your customized 50/20/30 plan. 50/20/30 simply refers to the percentage breakdown of how to spend your take-home pay each month. The 50 gets the essentials out of the way so you don't have to stress about them. The 20 sets your foundation for the future, then the 30 is left to spend on the things that bring happiness to your life. By the time you're finished reading this book, you'll walk away with a financial game plan tailored to your priorities, your hopes and dreams, and your lifestyle. And, because von Tobel and the team at LearnVest are experts at financial planning in the online era, you'll also learn how to integrate your financial plan into your mobile, social, digital life. Like your own personal financial planner between two covers, this book will set you up for a secure, worry-free money future, without having to give up things you love. So toss those old-school financial guides out the window, and get ready to start living your richest life"
Good Returns: Making Money by Morally Responsible Investing by
Offering time-tested wisdom on the complexities of the investment process, this guide provides advice on how to invest in a morally responsible way. It provides information on how to screen and exclude companies according to a clear set of faith-based criteria: those who support or service the abortion industry, producers and distributors of pornography, and companies involved in embryonic stem cell research. Based on this set of guidelines, as well as the success of the Ave Maria Mutual Funds, the guide demonstrates that high returns are achievable without supporting companies that do not support similar values. Also included is insightful commentary on the current political policies affecting the country’s financial state.
High-Powered Investing All-in-One for Dummies® by
Looking for help making smarter, more profitable high-end investment decisions? This resource arms you with an arsenal of advanced investing techniques, and gets you up to speed on using business fundamentals and technical analysis to make smarter decisions and maximize your returns.
The Impact Investor: lessons in leadership and strategy for collaborative capitalism by
Your money can change the world
The Impact Investor: Lessons in Leadership and Strategy for Collaborative Capitalism offers precise details on what, exactly, impact investing entails, embodied in the experiences and best and proven practices of some of the world's most successful impact investors, across asset classes, geographies and areas of impact. The book discusses the parameters of impact investing in unprecedented detail and clarity, providing both context and tools to those eager to engage in the generational shift in the way finance and business is being approached in the new era of Collaborative Capitalism.
The book presents a simple thesis with clarity and conviction: "Impact investing can be done successfully. This is what success looks like, and this is what it requires." With much-needed lessons for practitioners, the authors view impact investing as a harbinger of a new, more "multilingual" (cross-sector), transparent, and accountable form of economic leadership.
The Impact Investor: Lessons in Leadership and Strategy for Collaborative Capitalism serves as a resource for a variety of players in finance and business, including:
Investors: It demonstrates not only the types of investments which can be profitable and impactful, but also details best practices that, with roots in impact investing, will increasingly play a role in undergirding the success of all investment strategies. Wealth advisors/financial services professionals: With unprecedented detail on the innovative structures and strategies of impact investing funds, the book provides guidance to financial institutions on how to incorporate these investments in client portfolios. Foundations: The book explores the many catalytic and innovative ways for for-profit and non-profit investors to partner, amplifying the potential social and environmental impacts of philanthropic spending and market-rate endowment investment. Business students: By including strategies for making sound impact investments based on detailed case studies, it provides concrete lessons and explores the skills required to enhance prospects for success as a finance and business professional. Policy makers: Reinforcing the urgency of creating a supportive and enabling environment for impact investing, the book demonstrates ways policy has already shaped the sector, and suggests new ways for policymakers to support it. Corporate leaders: The book includes essential advice on the way business is and must be responding to a new generation of Millennial clients and customers, with unique insights into a form of value creation that is inherently more collaborative and outcomes-driven.
Independent Financial Planning by
Let's face it-financial planning is confusing and overwhelming for most people. There's more information than you can possibly sort through, and too many voices telling you what to do with it. Feeling lost? You're not the only one-but you don't have to navigate the wilds of financial planning alone. The right financial advisor is the best ally you can have as you build wealth and secure your future. But how do you know who to choose? Independent Financial Planning walks you step-by-step through the process of finding and choosing the right financial advisor. If you're ready to take control of your financial future and start planning for success, you need this straightforward, user-friendly, and no-nonsense guide. You'll learn how to find and vet financial advisors, discover the six steps to financial planning, and determine which financial products best suit your needs. And you'll find out how to distinguish between a financial advisor and a salesman-and who that distinction can make a huge difference in your financial security. Comprehensive but accessible, Independent Financial Planning will show you how to find an advisor who can meet you where you're at financially-and understand where it is you want to go. Whether you're planning for retirement or planning to travel the world, Independent Financial Planning is the only guide you'll need to finding the best financial advisor for your needs.
Investing for a Lifetime: managing wealth for the "new normal" by
Investing for a Lifetime is designed to make saving and investing understandable to the investor. Wharton Professor Richard C. Marston, 2014 recipient of the Investment Management Consultants Association's prestigious Matthew R. McArthur Award, guides an investor through the main investment decisions throughout a lifetime.
Investing for a Lifetime shows:
how younger investors can set savings goals how both younger and older investors can choose investment portfolios to achieve these goals how investors can sustain spending once reaching retirement.
Younger and older investors alike should understand savings goals that will provide enough income to sustain spending in retirement. They should devise rates of saving that allow them to reach their goals by the time of retirement. Though retirement is often the main goal of investing, it's not the only one. Marston discusses how funding a child's education or saving for a down payment for a home affects overall saving.
Sensible investing is also necessary for savings goals to be realized. Investing need not be complicated, but Marston explains that a diversified portfolio should include a mix of different types of U.S. stocks, foreign stocks, real estate as well as bonds. He describes each of these asset classes and shows how they fit in an investor's portfolio. He shows how investors can monitor the performance of their portfolios by establishing benchmarks for each asset class to judge how well their investments are doing.
He focuses particular attention on those investors nearing retirement. In today's low interest rate environment, he discusses whether it is possible to fund retirement from interest and dividends alone. He shows how savings combined with Social Security can fund retirement spending. And he asks how the "New Normal" of lower returns might force investors to save more than in past decades, and to spend less in retirement than in the past.
Investing for a Lifetime is for investors who want to understand more about the savings and investment process, particularly those who worry about whether their retirement savings will last a lifetime.
Investing for Dummies® by
Invest in your financial future with this valuable, popular, and easy-to-use guide This latest edition is infused with new and updated material to help you ramp up your portfolio today! This includes time-tested advice, updates to investing recommendations, and strategies that reflect changing market conditions. Investing may be an intimidating prospect, but this resource will serve as your primer on all aspects of the topic, including how to develop and manage a portfolio, invest in stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and real estate, open a small business, and more.
Jim Cramer's Get Rich Carefully by
Tired of phony promises about getting rich quickly, promises that lead to reckless decisions (the stepping stones to the poor house)? How about trying something different? How about going for lasting wealth-and doing it the cautious way? In Get Rich Carefully, Jim Cramer uses his thirty-five years of experience as a Wall Street veteran and host of CNBC's Mad Money to create a guide to high-yield, low-risk investing. In our recovering economy, this is the plan you need to make big money without taking big risks. Drawing on his unparalleled knowledge of the stock market and on the mistakes and successes he's made on the way to his own fortune, Cramer explains-in plain English-why you can get rich in a prudent, methodical way, as long as you start now. In his own inimitable style, Cramer lays it on the line, no waffling, no on-the-one-hand-or-the-other hedging, just the straight stuff you need to accumulate wealth. This is a book of wisdom as well as specifics. Cramer names names, highlights individual and sector plays, and identifies the best long-term investing themes-and shows you how to develop the disciplines you need to exploit them. The personal finance book of the year, Get Rich Carefully is the invaluable guide to turning your savings into real, lasting wealth in a practical, and yes-because this is, after all, a book by Jim Cramer-highly readable and entertaining way
The Money Compass: where your money went and how to get it back by
A layman investor's guide to staying afloat in rough economic waters. The recession has drained off the assets of millions of Americans. Debt, unemployment, and tanking 401(k)s have left people searching for ways to safeguard what they have in uncertain times. In The Money Compass, accounting professor G. Stevenson Smith and money manager Mark Grimaldi offer a clear-eyed look at the links between macro-economic conditions and asset class allocation, including current investment opportunities for individual investors. The book looks at key related issues that investors have faced over the last five years, including the financial recession, the housing crash, collapsing government programs, long-term unemployment, crashing 401(k)s, and more. Offers real-world investing advice for today's uncertain economic climate Looks at such macro-economic topics as Alan Greenspan's role in the current recession and how persistent unemployment effects investors and the market Gives investors practical strategies and advice for navigating today's financial markets
The Most Important Thing Illuminated: uncommon sense for the thoughtful investor by
Second-level thinking -- Understanding market efficiency (and its limitations) -- Value -- The relationship between price and value -- Understanding risk -- Recognizing risk -- Controlling risk -- Being attentive to cycles -- Awareness of the pendulum -- Combating negative influences -- Contrarianism -- Finding bargains -- Patient opportunism -- Knowing what you don't know -- Having a sense for where we stand -- Appreciating the role of luck -- Investing defensively -- Avoiding pitfalls -- Adding value -- Reasonable expectations -- Pulling it all together.
Picture Your Prosperity: smart money moves to turn your vision into reality by
A unique book on the investing needs of women. Based on a hugely successful workshop, this book offers an interactive, enjoyable, motivating plan for women who want to take control of their finances and feel secure about the things that matter most to them. Too often, financial advice jumps right to the minutiae of investments, skipping over the deeper questions of what people really want from their money, both now and in the future. Ellen Rogin and Lisa Kueng teach their clients and workshop audiences to do the opposite. First, people need to think deeply about their short-term and long-term goals, whether they're as practical as paying for college and setting up a retirement plan or as aspirational as buying a sailboat and traveling the world. Only then should people start considering their investment options. Rogin and Kueng provide a clear, seven-step process for envisioning goals, designing a customized plan, and breaking the plan into manageable steps. Their fun voice, emphasis on positive thinking, and deep grasp of the nuances of investing will help women see the financial planning process as inspirational, full of possibility, and even fun. The end result for readers: having the resources they need to create the life they've imagined"
Pragmatic Capitalism: what every investor needs to know about money and finance by
Being successful in the modern world of finance requires a more in-depth understanding of our global economies on a macro level. What does a shifting demographic cycle mean? How does the explosive growth of emerging markets matter? Why does the world's population affect my portfolio? Does the global monetary system impact my results this year? How does government intervention in markets impact my strategy? In Pragmatic Capitalism, Cullen Roche explores how our global economy works and why it is more important now than ever for investors to understand macroeconomics. Cullen Roche combines his expertise in global macro portfolio management, quantitative risk management, behavioral finance, and monetary theory to explain to readers how macroeconomics works, and provides insights and suggestions for getting the most out of their investment strategies. This book will uncover market myths and explain the rise of macroeconomics and why it impacts the readers' portfolio construction.
Private Wealth Management: the Complete Reference for the Personal Financial Planner, Ninth Edition by
Where financial advisors go for answers--revised and updated to address consequential legal and economic changes
From the oil crisis and stock market crash in the 1970sthrough deregulation into the 1990s to the 2008 financial crisis--every financial planner worth their salt turned to Victor Hallman and Jerry Rosenbloom's classic reference for answers. To maintain its iconic position in the industry, this bible of wealth development moves into its Ninth Edition to ensure today's professional investors and financial stewards have reliable guidance to the latest legislation, economic developments, and wealth managementtrends and techniques.
This latest edition of Private Wealth Management provides everything you need to operate with sophistication and savvy in today's markets--from setting financial objectives and executing the planning process to investing in equities and fixed-income securities to retirement income planning to methods for lifetime wealth transfers, and more. Written for the serious practitioner, this one-of-a-kind guide gives you a solid foundation for planning a prosperous financial future in the real world, which means it makes you an expert in:
Major new tax legislation, including the "Tax Relief, Unemployment Insurance Reauthorization and Job Creation Act of 2010" and the "American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012" A variety of economic benefits and investment products Changes in individual annuities and retirement products with an increased focus on retirement planning Modifications to health and disability insurance The Patient Protection and Affordable Care and Health Care Reconciliation Act of 2010 Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 New developments in estate and marital deduction planning such as "portability"
This completely updated edition remains a wealth-building and income management tool by presenting many useful strategies, including those for dealing with the current "super-low" interest rates.
Private Wealth Management , Ninth Edition, is thecornerstone of financial planning.
Stock Investing for Dummies® by
The fast and easy way to grow your stock investments in today's changing market The changes, events and conditions affecting stock investors since the recent economic crisis have been dramatic. Today's economic and financial landscape offers new challenges and opportunities for investors and money managers. This new edition of Stock Investing For Dummies provides you with the information you need to protect and grow your stock investments in today's changing market. Stock Investing For Dummies contains 25 percent new and revised material designed to help investors navigate an ever-changing stock market with: information on ETFs, a safer way to be more diversified in the stock market; new rules, exchanges, and investment vehicles; the latest on the European debt crisis; and much more. Explores how technological changes mean new products, services, and ways of doing business Shows you how to use the latest research and information available Covers how (and why) to protect yourself Stock Investing For Dummies is for anyone new to investing in the stock market who is looking for a trusted, comprehensive reference to make sure their investments grow.
Trading and Money Management in a Student-Managed Portfolio by
Contents: ch. 1 Investment Philosophy and Process -- The student-managed investment fund as an investment management firm -- Investment Philosophy and Process -- Investment Philosophy -- Scope of an investment philosophy -- Statement of Beliefs -- Statement of Opportunities -- Statement of Ability -- Statement of Value -- Examples of Investment Philosophy -- Investment Process -- Examples of Investment Process -- Internal and external uses of the investment philosophy and process -- Appendix A Common Investment Strategy Classifications -- Appendix B The role of investment philosophy in evaluating investment managers: a consultant's perspective on distinguishing alpha from noise -- What Is an Investment Philosophy? -- How does analysis of a manager's investment philosophy aid in distinguishing alpha from noise? -- Common ways of failing the investment philosophy test -- Uncommon ways of passing the investment philosophy test -- Concluding thoughts: implications for managers and consultants -- Endnotes -- References -- ch. 2 Organization -- Organizational Structure -- Oversight -- Roles and Responsibilities -- Student-managed investment fund as a for-credit course or a volunteer student organization -- Challenges to a student-managed investment fund -- Personnel recruiting and turnover -- Academic Calendar -- Fund structure -- Appendix: Operating guidelines for Philip M. Dorr and Alumni Endowed Investment Fund -- Baylor University -- Hankamer School of Business -- ch. 3 Security Selection -- Quantitative analysis -- Security analysis -- Company analysis -- A good company versus a good investment -- Valuation -- Dividend Discount Model -- Steps to using the multistage dividend discount model -- Discounted cash flow model -- Steps to using the multistage discounted cash flow model -- Free cash flow to equity model -- Steps to using the free cash flow to equity model -- Valuation using earnings -- Steps to using the earnings model -- Market valuation measures -- Price-to-Earnings -- Price-to-Sales -- Price-to-Cash Flow -- Security analysis application -- Example: Texas Christian University's Educational -- Investment fund -- Valuation -- Checks and balances -- DDM and FCFE Models: An Illustration -- Potential variations -- Appendix: Cutting through the hype -- The role of analysts -- Resources and bibliography -- ch. 4 Portfolio construction -- Portfolio weights and returns -- Relative returns and active weights -- Expected returns -- Total risk of a portfolio -- Tracking error and relative risk -- Tracking error and relative risk using active weights -- Portfolio Optimization -- Minimize Total Risk -- Minimize Tracking Error -- Maximize Sharpe Ratio -- Maximize Information Ratio -- Trading and Rebalancing -- Practical Considerations -- ch. 5 Presentations -- Internal Presentations -- General presentation style and delivery guidelines -- External presentations -- ch. 6 Performance evaluation -- Performance calculation -- Performance reporting -- Performance analysis -- Performance attribution -- Performance attribution examples -- Performance Attribution Commentary and Interpretation -- Performance attribution complexities -- Trading and rebalancing effects -- Attribution over multiple periods -- Geometric attribution vs. arithmetic attribution -- Returns-based performance analysis -- Single factor model -- Average returns in the single factor model -- Analysis of portfolio risk in the single factor model -- Multifactor Models -- Fama-French 3-Factor Model -- Style analysis using a multifactor returns model -- Example of returns-based attribution using the fama-french 3-factor model -- Beyond the Fama-French 3-Factor Model -- Risk-adjusted return and reward-to-risk measures -- Transactions cost analysis -- ch. 7 Tools -- Primary data sources -- Other information and data sources -- Web portals, search engines, and business news -- Brokers and financial service providers -- Index providers -- Licensed services -- ch. 8 Forums, symposiums, and competitions -- Texas Investment Portfolio Symposium (TIPS) -- Overview -- History -- Portfolio Managers Finals Competition -- The CFA Institute Global Investment Research Challenge -- History and growth of the CFA Institute Global Investment Research Challenge -- Investment research challenge -- Texas (2010--2011) -- R.I.S.E.: Redefining Investment Strategy Education -- TVA Investment Challenge -- Overview -- History -- Structure -- Investment Guidelines -- University investment manager guidelines -- Trading Process -- Performance -- Performance awards -- Future -- The Cornell-Fidelity MBA stock pitch competition -- What happens at the MBA Stock Pitch Competition? -- ch. 9 The present and future of student-managed portfolios -- The role of security trading rooms in business schools -- Why a trading room? -- How to develop these rooms -- Equipment and data -- The impact of trading rooms on the stakeholders -- Summary and conclusions -- Student-managed investment funds: an international perspective -- Previous studies -- The survey -- The growth and size of programs -- SMIFs versus professionally managed funds -- Funding sources and organizational structure -- Student Participation -- Faculty and professional involvement -- Investment activity -- Comparisons of US and Foreign Funds -- Benefits to the university community -- Recent developments -- Conclusion -- References.
Why bother with bonds : a guide to build an all-weather portfolio including CDs, bonds, and bond funds--even during low interest rates by
A practical how-to guide for every investor. "For ordinary investors who want to build an all-weather portfolio." It is time-proven wisdom, and encourages you to take control of your finances. Learn how to use CDs, bonds, and bond funds to manage risk/reward even during low interest rates. You will learn: How to choose your stocks/bonds allocation How to become immune to changing interest rates When to use CDs and individual bonds How to choose a good bond fund How to hedge against unexpected inflation
